DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alspach et al (US Pub 2021/0252709) in view of HAYASHI (US Pub 2021/0181328); HELNERUS et al (US Pub 2020/0280201) and Kuchner at al (US Pub 2023/0040504).
With respect to claim 1, Alspach discloses an interaction device (fig. 1; device 100) comprising: a main body that is deformable (fig. 3; deformable sensor 112; par 0031; discloses the robot 100 includes at least one deformable sensor 112 provided on the edge surface 108 of the casing 102; par 0027; discloses the deformable sensors described herein comprise a deformable membrane coupled to a housing that maintains a sensor capable of detecting displacement of the deformable membrane by contact with an object); a radar sensor disposed on one inner surface of the main body (fig. 3; sensor 330; par 0046; discloses the proximity sensor 254 may include a laser scanner, a capacitive displacement sensor, a Doppler effect sensor, an eddy-current sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a magnetic sensor, an internal sensor, a radar sensor, a LiDAR sensor, a sonar sensor), wherein the radar sensor is configured to detect a location of a target within a detection range extended from the one inner surface, the detection range includes an inside of the main body, to an outside of the main body opposite the one inner surface (fig. 13; discloses object 615 being detected by deformable sensor; par 0051; discloses An internal sensor 330 capable of sensing depth may be disposed within the enclosure 313, which may be measured by the depth resolution of the internal sensor 330. The internal sensor 330 may have a field of view 332 directed through the medium and toward a bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320. In some embodiments, the field of view 332 of the internal sensor 330 is 62°×45°+/−10%.; par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor; i.e. detection range of the sensor 330 extends from inside to outside of the deformable sensor; see par 0044 discloses robot 100 travels to a desired location, such as a location that the user wishes to acquire environmental information (e.g., the location of particular objects within at or near the desired location); and a first detection target object disposed inside of the main body and within the detection range, the detection target object is configured to move in response to deformation of the main body (fig. 10; plurality of dot 325; par 0063; discloses a pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320; par 0064; discloses the displacement of each dot may be used to determine the amount of deformation at individual quadrants or sections of the dot pattern 325. The amount of displacement of each dot is then converted into a distance measurement to determine the specific deformation of the deformable membrane 320, or sections thereof, to discern a geometry and/or pose of the object deforming the deformable membrane 320), wherein the location of the target detected by the radar sensor is subjected to predetermined processing (par 0065; discloses measurements between each dot, or at least some of the dots, of the dot pattern 325 may be stored within a memory module, such as memory module 232 (FIG. 2) of the deformable sensor 112 or an associated processor, such as processor 230 (FIG. 2). Thus, instead of merely determining a geometry and/or pose of the target object, the dimensions of various sections of the target object may be determined by calculating specific deformations between adjacent dots of the dot pattern 325);
Alspach doesn’t expressly disclose the detection range being a predetermined range;
In the same field of endeavor, HAYASHI discloses device and method for sensing object using radar sensor (see abstract); HAYASHI discloses the sensor detects location of the object within a detection range that is a predetermined range (fig. 1; discloses specific detection area 4; par 0045; discloses as illustrated in FIG. 1, specific detection area 4 extends from radar sensor 8 (will be described later) of sensing device 2 to, for example, a range of distance D (for example, 5 m) in a substantially fan shape; par 0053; discloses Transmission antenna 20 transmits the first sensor signal and the second sensor signal output from power amplifier 18 to specific detection area 4. Par 0055; discloses Reception antenna 22 receives a reflected signal of the first sensor signal and a reflected signal of the second sensor signal that are reflected off one or more objects (including object 6) that are present in specific detection area 4; par 0089; discloses when object 6 goes outside specific detection area 4 and presence detector 34 detects absence of object 6 in specific detection area 4 (YES in S107),);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach to incorporate the teachings of HAYASHI to set a specific detection area for the sensor such that object detected only within the specified range are detected and processed in order to prevent any false detection of objects and reducing extra processing by the device, saving power;
Alspach as modified by HAYASHI doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the radar sensor is further configured to detect a second detection target that is positioned outside of the main body, wherein the second detection target is spaced from the main body;
HELNERUS discloses an electronic apparatus comprising a sensor disposed inside the housing (see abstract); HELNERUS discloses wherein the radar sensor is further configured to detect a second detection target that is positioned outside of the main body, wherein the second detection target is spaced from the main body (par 0011; discloses the arrangement of the proximity sensor is designed in such a way that the proximity sensor preferably detects objects in the area of the outside of the housing without requiring contact; par 0029; discloses the proximity sensor is a radar sensor; see par 0030 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HAYASHI to incorporate the teachings of HELNERUS to detect object located outside the housing without contact such that object nearby the apparatus is readily detected;
Alspach as modified by HAYASHI and HELNERUS don’t expressly disclose wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region; wherein the radar sensor is in direct contact with the main body;
In the same field of endeavor, Kuchner discloses deformable sensor (see abstract); Kuchner discloses wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region (par 0026; discloses Referring now to FIG. 1A, an example deformable sensor 100 is schematically illustrated in a side view. The example deformable sensor 100 generally comprises a housing 103 and a deformable membrane 102 coupled to the housing 103 to define a sensor cavity 104 filled with a medium, such as air); wherein the radar sensor is in direct contact with the main body (fig. 1A; discloses sensor 105 formed in direct contact with main body; par 0028; discloses Although located atop the housing 103 in this embodiment, a floor sensor 105 may be located in any suitable location within or outside of a deformable sensor 100);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HAYASHI and HELNERUS to incorporate the teachings of Kuchner to disposed the radar sensor within the main housing such that structure of the deformable is simplified while still detect the location/contact to the external objects with the deformable sensor.
With respect to claim 2, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the one inner surface on which the radar sensor is disposed is a bottom surface of the main body, and wherein the detection range is a predetermined range above the bottom surface of the main body (Alspach; fig. 3; discloses sensor 330 is disposed at the rear of the deformable sensor 112 and detection range 332 extends towards the deformable membrane 320).
With respect to claim 3, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the one inner surface on which the radar sensor is disposed is a bottom surface of the main body, and the detection range is a predetermined range above the bottom surface of the main body, (Alspach; fig. 3; discloses sensor 330 is disposed at the rear of the sensor 112 and detection range 332 extends towards the deformable membrane 320 ) and the first detection target object includes a portion projecting into the inside of the main body (Alspach; par 0063; discloses A pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320),
Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner doesn’t expressly disclose the first detection target object is positioned at a predetermined distance from an upper surface of the main body;
However, Alspach further discloses dots may be any share or pattern and arranged in an array or any manner (par 0065; discloses In embodiments in which the dots of the dot pattern 325 is arranged in an array, the dots may be equidistantly spaced apart from one another or arranged in any other suitable manner. However, in some embodiments, the distances between the dots when not equidistantly spaced from one another are stored within the memory module to identify the arrangement of the dots; Par 0066; discloses the pattern on the bottom surface 321 may be random and not necessarily arranged in a grid pattern 322 or an array as shown in FIG. 11. It should be understood that embodiments are not limited to grid patterns and dot patters as discussed herein, as other types of patterns are possible, such as shapes and the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner to dispose the target object at any specific location inside the body in order to achieve the same predictable result of detecting the deformation of the deformable body as disclosed by Alspach.
With respect to claim 4, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the first detection target object has a dot shape that projects inside of the main body from a base that moves according to the deformation of the main body (Alspach; par 0064; discloses the displacement of each dot may be used to determine the amount of deformation at individual quadrants or sections of the dot pattern 325. The amount of displacement of each dot is then converted into a distance measurement to determine the specific deformation of the deformable membrane 320, or sections thereof, to discern a geometry and/or pose of the object deforming the deformable membrane 320.);
Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner don’t expressly disclose the first detection target object has a cantilever shape;
However, Alspach further discloses the first detection target may have any shape (Par 0066; discloses the pattern on the bottom surface 321 may be random and not necessarily arranged in a grid pattern 322 or an array as shown in FIG. 11. It should be understood that embodiments are not limited to grid patterns and dot patters as discussed herein, as other types of patterns are possible, such as shapes and the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner to form the target object having cantilever shape or any other shape and still achieve the same predictable result of detecting the deformation of the deformable body as disclosed by Alspach.
With respect to claim 5, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein inside the main body is filled with a filling material that is not to be detected by the radar sensor (Alspach; par 0048; discloses the housing 310 and the deformable membrane 320 define an enclosure 313 that is filled with a medium through one or more fluid conduits 312, which may be a valve or any other suitable mechanism. The fluid conduit 312 may be utilized to fill or empty the enclosure 313. In one example, the medium is gas, such as air. Thus, air may be pumped into the enclosure 313 to a desired pressure such that the deformable membrane 320 forms a dome shape as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, although any suitable shape may be utilized in other embodiments. In another example, the medium is a gel, such as silicone or other rubber-like substance. In some embodiments, a substance such as solid silicone may be cast in a given shape before assembly of the deformable sensor 112. In various embodiments, the medium may be anything that is transparent to an internal sensor 330).
With respect to claim 6, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses further comprising a plurality of detection target objects to be detected by the radar sensor, wherein the plurality of detection target objects includes the first detection target object, and wherein the plurality of detection target objects are dispersedly disposed in the filling material (Alspach; par 0063; discloses A pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320; par 0048; discloses the housing 310 and the deformable membrane 320 define an enclosure 313 that is filled with a medium through one or more fluid conduits 312, which may be a valve or any other suitable mechanism. The fluid conduit 312 may be utilized to fill or empty the enclosure 313. In one example, the medium is gas, such as air. Thus, air may be pumped into the enclosure 313 to a desired pressure such that the deformable membrane 320 forms a dome shape as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, although any suitable shape may be utilized in other embodiments. In another example, the medium is a gel, such as silicone or other rubber-like substance. In some embodiments, a substance such as solid silicone may be cast in a given shape before assembly of the deformable sensor 112).
With respect to claim 7, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the plurality of detection target objects are dispersed on a first side of the main body that is closer to the radar sensor than on a second side of the main body (Alspach; Par 0066; discloses the pattern on the bottom surface 321 may be random and not necessarily arranged in a grid pattern 322 or an array as shown in FIG. 11. It should be understood that embodiments are not limited to grid patterns and dot patters as discussed herein, as other types of patterns are possible, such as shapes and the like).
With respect to claim 8, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses further comprising a plurality of the detection target objects: wherein the plurality of detection target objects includes the first detection target object (Alspach; par 0063; discloses A pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320;).
With respect to claim 9, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the radar sensor detects, as the target, both the first detection target object (Alspach; par 0063; discloses a pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320;) and an object located outside the main body (par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor;).
With respect to claim 10, Alspach as modified by HAYASHI, HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the detection range includes a bottom surface of the main body and has an inverted cone shape (Alspach; fig. 3; discloses the range 332 of the sensor 330 is inverted cone shape).
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alspach et al (US Pub 2021/0252709) in view of HELNERUS et al (US Pub 2020/0280201) and Kuchner at al (US Pub 2023/0040504).
With respect to claim 11, Alspach discloses an interaction device (fig. 1; device 100) further comprising: a main body that is deformable (fig. 3; deformable sensor 112; par 0031; discloses the robot 100 includes at least one deformable sensor 112 provided on the edge surface 108 of the casing 102; par 0027; discloses the deformable sensors described herein comprise a deformable membrane coupled to a housing that maintains a sensor capable of detecting displacement of the deformable membrane by contact with an object); a radar sensor disposed inside of the main body (fig. 3; sensor 330; par 0046; discloses the proximity sensor 254 may include a laser scanner, a capacitive displacement sensor, a Doppler effect sensor, an eddy-current sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a magnetic sensor, an internal sensor, a radar sensor, a LiDAR sensor, a sonar sensor), wherein the radar sensor is configured to detect information regarding a target within a detection range, wherein the detection range includes an inside of the main body, to an outside of the main body (fig. 13; discloses object 615 being detected by deformable sensor; par 0051; discloses An internal sensor 330 capable of sensing depth may be disposed within the enclosure 313, which may be measured by the depth resolution of the internal sensor 330. The internal sensor 330 may have a field of view 332 directed through the medium and toward a bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320. In some embodiments, the field of view 332 of the internal sensor 330 is 62°×45°+/−10%.; par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor; i.e. detection range of the sensor 330 extends from inside to outside of the deformable sensor; see par 0044 discloses robot 100 travels to a desired location, such as a location that the user wishes to acquire environmental information (e.g., the location of particular objects within at or near the desired location); and a first detection target object disposed inside of the main body and within the detection range, wherein the detection target object is configured to move in response to deformation of the main body (fig. 10; plurality of dot 325; par 0063; discloses a pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320; par 0064; discloses the displacement of each dot may be used to determine the amount of deformation at individual quadrants or sections of the dot pattern 325. The amount of displacement of each dot is then converted into a distance measurement to determine the specific deformation of the deformable membrane 320, or sections thereof, to discern a geometry and/or pose of the object deforming the deformable membrane 320); a processor configured to: receive the information regarding the target detected by the radar sensor (fig. 2; processor 230; par 0035; discloses the processor 230 to receive data from the one or more deformable sensors 112); determine a user operation based on the received information (par 0073; discloses the deformable sensors 112 may also be utilized to map a space when contacting an object or a wall of the space during an exploratory operation. This allows the robot 100 to automatically map the space during an exploratory operation of the robot 100 and reduces, or in some instances eliminates, the need for manual input by the user of the information of the space and the objects provided therein);
Alspach doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the radar sensor is further configured to detect a second detection target that is positioned outside of the main body, wherein the second detection target is spaced from the main body;
HELNERUS discloses an electronic apparatus comprising a sensor disposed inside the housing (see abstract); HELNERUS discloses wherein the radar sensor is further configured to detect a second detection target that is positioned outside of the main body, wherein the second detection target is spaced from the main body (par 0011; discloses the arrangement of the proximity sensor is designed in such a way that the proximity sensor preferably detects objects in the area of the outside of the housing without requiring contact; par 0029; discloses the proximity sensor is a radar sensor; see par 0030 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach to incorporate the teachings of HELNERUS to detect object located outside the housing without contact such that object nearby the apparatus is readily detected;
Alspach as modified by HELNERUS don’t expressly disclose wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region; wherein the radar sensor is in direct contact with the main body;
In the same field of endeavor, Kuchner discloses deformable sensor (see abstract); Kuchner discloses wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region (par 0026; discloses Referring now to FIG. 1A, an example deformable sensor 100 is schematically illustrated in a side view. The example deformable sensor 100 generally comprises a housing 103 and a deformable membrane 102 coupled to the housing 103 to define a sensor cavity 104 filled with a medium, such as air); wherein the radar sensor is in direct contact with the main body (fig. 1A; discloses sensor 105 formed in direct contact with main body; par 0028; discloses Although located atop the housing 103 in this embodiment, a floor sensor 105 may be located in any suitable location within or outside of a deformable sensor 100);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HELNERUS to incorporate the teachings of Kuchner to dispose the radar sensor within the main housing such that structure of the deformable is simplified while still detect the location/contact to the external objects with the deformable sensor.
With respect to claim 12, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine a movement direction of the target based on the received information (Alspach; par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor).
With respect to claim 13, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine, based on the received information: a first state where the target is close to the main body (Alspach; par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor), a second state where the target is in contact with the main body, (Alspach; par 0050; discloses the number of pixels may range from 1 (e.g., a sensor that simply detects contact with a target object) to thousands or millions (e.g., the dense sensor provided by a time-of-flight sensor having thousands of pixels) or any suitable number) a third state where the target is moving while maintaining contact with the main body (Alspach; par 0076; discloses In some embodiments, the robot 100, such as the edge surface 108 of the robot 100, may contact an object at a point between adjacent deformable sensors 112 such that none of the deformable sensors 112 deform against an object. In this case, the robot 100 may turn or rotate to reposition itself so that one of the deformable sensors 112 contact the object and deforms (i.e. deformation requires continuous contact with motion and pressure to depress the deformable sensor)).
With respect to claim 14, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine, based on the received information: a fourth state where the target is pressing the main body along a vertical axis, and a fifth state where the target is pressing the main body along a horizontal axis, the vertical axis being perpendicular to horizontal axis (Alspach; fig. 3; discloses the deformable sensor is hemispherical shape spreads at 180 degree allowing object to be detected in different directions; fig. 13; discloses an example where object 615 is detected on a side of the deformable sensor; par 0076; discloses the robot 100 may turn or rotate to reposition itself so that one of the deformable sensors 112 contact the object and deforms; hence allowing the object to contact the deformable sensor from different directions such as X-axis and Y-axis);
With respect to claim 15, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the radar sensor is disposed on a bottom surface of the main body (Alspach; fig. 3; discloses sensor 330 is disposed at the rear of the deformable sensor 112).
With respect to claim 16, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the inside of the main body is filled with a filling material that is not to be detected by the radar sensor, and the filling material deforms in response to deformation of the main body (Alspach; par 0048; discloses the housing 310 and the deformable membrane 320 define an enclosure 313 that is filled with a medium through one or more fluid conduits 312, which may be a valve or any other suitable mechanism. The fluid conduit 312 may be utilized to fill or empty the enclosure 313. In one example, the medium is gas, such as air. Thus, air may be pumped into the enclosure 313 to a desired pressure such that the deformable membrane 320 forms a dome shape as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, although any suitable shape may be utilized in other embodiments. In another example, the medium is a gel, such as silicone or other rubber-like substance. In some embodiments, a substance such as solid silicone may be cast in a given shape before assembly of the deformable sensor 112. In various embodiments, the medium may be anything that is transparent to an internal sensor 330; par 0049; discloses By using a softer material (e.g., soft silicone), the deformable sensor 112 may be more easily deformed).
With respect to claim 17, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses further comprising a plurality of detection target objects to be detected by the radar sensor, wherein the plurality of detection target objects includes the first detection target object, and the plurality of detection target objects are dispersedly disposed in the filling material (Alspach; par 0063; discloses A pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320; par 0048; discloses the housing 310 and the deformable membrane 320 define an enclosure 313 that is filled with a medium through one or more fluid conduits 312, which may be a valve or any other suitable mechanism. The fluid conduit 312 may be utilized to fill or empty the enclosure 313. In one example, the medium is gas, such as air. Thus, air may be pumped into the enclosure 313 to a desired pressure such that the deformable membrane 320 forms a dome shape as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, although any suitable shape may be utilized in other embodiments. In another example, the medium is a gel, such as silicone or other rubber-like substance. In some embodiments, a substance such as solid silicone may be cast in a given shape before assembly of the deformable sensor 112; par 0065; discloses In embodiments in which the dots of the dot pattern 325 is arranged in an array, the dots may be equidistantly spaced apart from one another or arranged in any other suitable manner;).
With respect to claim 18, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the first detection target object includes a portion projecting into the inside of the main body (Alspach; par 0063; discloses A pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320;);
Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner doesn’t expressly disclose the first detection target object is positioned at a predetermined distance from an upper surface of the main body;
However, Alspach further discloses dots may be any share or pattern and arranged in an array or any manner (par 0065; discloses In embodiments in which the dots of the dot pattern 325 is arranged in an array, the dots may be equidistantly spaced apart from one another or arranged in any other suitable manner. However, in some embodiments, the distances between the dots when not equidistantly spaced from one another are stored within the memory module to identify the arrangement of the dots; Par 0066; discloses the pattern on the bottom surface 321 may be random and not necessarily arranged in a grid pattern 322 or an array as shown in FIG. 11. It should be understood that embodiments are not limited to grid patterns and dot patters as discussed herein, as other types of patterns are possible, such as shapes and the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner to dispose the target object at any specific location inside the body in order to achieve the same predictable result of detecting the deformation of the deformable body as disclosed by Alspach.
With respect to claim 19, Alspach as modified by HELNERUS and Kuchner discloses wherein the radar sensor detects, as the target, both the first detection target object (Alspach; par 0063; discloses a pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320;) and an object located outside the main body (Alspach; par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor;).
With respect to claim 20, Alspach discloses an interaction device (fig. 1; device 100) further comprising: a main body that is deformable (fig. 3; deformable sensor 112; par 0031; discloses the robot 100 includes at least one deformable sensor 112 provided on the edge surface 108 of the casing 102; par 0027; discloses the deformable sensors described herein comprise a deformable membrane coupled to a housing that maintains a sensor capable of detecting displacement of the deformable membrane by contact with an object), wherein the main body including a filling material that is not to be detected by a radar sensor (par 0048; discloses the housing 310 and the deformable membrane 320 define an enclosure 313 that is filled with a medium through one or more fluid conduits 312, which may be a valve or any other suitable mechanism. The fluid conduit 312 may be utilized to fill or empty the enclosure 313. In one example, the medium is gas, such as air. Thus, air may be pumped into the enclosure 313 to a desired pressure such that the deformable membrane 320 forms a dome shape as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, although any suitable shape may be utilized in other embodiments. In another example, the medium is a gel, such as silicone or other rubber-like substance. In some embodiments, a substance such as solid silicone may be cast in a given shape before assembly of the deformable sensor 112. In various embodiments, the medium may be anything that is transparent to an internal sensor 330; par 0049; discloses By using a softer material (e.g., soft silicone), the deformable sensor 112 may be more easily deformed); the radar sensor disposed inside of the main body, (fig. 3; sensor 330; par 0046; discloses the proximity sensor 254 may include a laser scanner, a capacitive displacement sensor, a Doppler effect sensor, an eddy-current sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a magnetic sensor, an internal sensor, a radar sensor, a LiDAR sensor, a sonar sensor) wherein the radar sensor is configured to detect information regarding a target within a detection range, wherein the detection range includes an inside of the main body to an outside of the main body (fig. 13; discloses object 615 being detected by deformable sensor; par 0051; discloses An internal sensor 330 capable of sensing depth may be disposed within the enclosure 313, which may be measured by the depth resolution of the internal sensor 330. The internal sensor 330 may have a field of view 332 directed through the medium and toward a bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320. In some embodiments, the field of view 332 of the internal sensor 330 is 62°×45°+/−10%.; par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor; i.e. detection range of the sensor 330 extends from inside to outside of the deformable sensor; see par 0044 discloses robot 100 travels to a desired location, such as a location that the user wishes to acquire environmental information (e.g., the location of particular objects within at or near the desired location); and a first detection target object disposed inside of the main body within the detection range, wherein the first detection target object is configured to move in response to deformation of the main body (fig. 10; plurality of dot 325; par 0063; discloses a pattern may be provided on either the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 320 of the deformable sensor 112 or the bottom surface of the deformable membrane 420 of the deformable sensor 112′. Referring again to FIG. 10, in a non-limiting example, a dot pattern 325 including a plurality of arranged dots may be applied to the bottom surface 321 of the deformable membrane 320 on the optional filter layer 323 or the deformable membrane 320 itself to assist in the detection of the deformation of the deformable membrane 320; par 0064; discloses the displacement of each dot may be used to determine the amount of deformation at individual quadrants or sections of the dot pattern 325. The amount of displacement of each dot is then converted into a distance measurement to determine the specific deformation of the deformable membrane 320, or sections thereof, to discern a geometry and/or pose of the object deforming the deformable membrane 320); and a processor configured to: receive the information regarding the target detected by the radar sensor, (sensor (fig. 2; processor 230; par 0035; discloses the processor 230 to receive data from the one or more deformable sensors 112)) a first state where the target is close to the main body (par 0050; discloses the deformable sensor 112 may also have a depth resolution to measure movement toward and away from the sensor), a second state where the target is in contact with the main body, (par 0050; discloses the number of pixels may range from 1 (e.g., a sensor that simply detects contact with a target object) to thousands or millions (e.g., the dense sensor provided by a time-of-flight sensor having thousands of pixels) or any suitable number) a third state where the target is moving while maintaining contact with the main body (par 0076; discloses In some embodiments, the robot 100, such as the edge surface 108 of the robot 100, may contact an object at a point between adjacent deformable sensors 112 such that none of the deformable sensors 112 deform against an object. In this case, the robot 100 may turn or rotate to reposition itself so that one of the deformable sensors 112 contact the object and deforms (i.e. deformation requires continuous contact with motion and pressure to depress the deformable sensor));
Alspach doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the radar sensor is further configured to detect a second detection target that is positioned outside of the main body, wherein the second detection target is spaced from the main body;
HELNERUS discloses an electronic apparatus comprising a sensor disposed inside the housing (see abstract); HELNERUS discloses wherein the radar sensor is further configured to detect a second detection target that is positioned outside of the main body, wherein the second detection target is spaced from the main body (par 0011; discloses the arrangement of the proximity sensor is designed in such a way that the proximity sensor preferably detects objects in the area of the outside of the housing without requiring contact; par 0029; discloses the proximity sensor is a radar sensor; see par 0030 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach to incorporate the teachings of HELNERUS to detect object located outside the housing without contact such that object nearby the apparatus is readily detected;
Alspach as modified by HELNERUS don’t expressly disclose wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region; wherein the radar sensor is in direct contact with the main body;
In the same field of endeavor, Kuchner discloses deformable sensor (see abstract); Kuchner discloses wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region (par 0026; discloses Referring now to FIG. 1A, an example deformable sensor 100 is schematically illustrated in a side view. The example deformable sensor 100 generally comprises a housing 103 and a deformable membrane 102 coupled to the housing 103 to define a sensor cavity 104 filled with a medium, such as air); wherein the radar sensor is in direct contact with the main body (fig. 1A; discloses sensor 105 formed in direct contact with main body; par 0028; discloses Although located atop the housing 103 in this embodiment, a floor sensor 105 may be located in any suitable location within or outside of a deformable sensor 100);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by Alspach as modified by HELNERUS to incorporate the teachings of Kuchner to dispose the radar sensor within the main housing such that structure of the deformable is simplified while still detect the location/contact to the external objects with the deformable sensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 have been fully considered however they are not persuasive and do not put the application in condition for allowance.
With respect to claims 1, 11 and 20 applicant’s representative argued that the cited references fails to disclose wherein the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region;
However, examiner respectfully disagrees, Kuchner discloses deformable sensor having a deformable body. Kuchner discloses the deformable body comprises surfaces having outer surfaces and inner surfaces that are connected to each other to form the dome deformable body (par 0026; discloses an example deformable sensor 100 is schematically illustrated in a side view. The example deformable sensor 100 generally comprises a housing 103 and a deformable membrane 102 coupled to the housing 103 to define a sensor cavity 104 filled with a medium, such as air); Fig. 1 discloses the deformable sensor 100 comprises membrane 102 that is connected to housing 103 to form the deformable sensor and define a cavity 104 filled with air (see fig. 1). Therefore, Kuchner disclsoes the main body comprises inner surfaces that are connected to one another to form an enclosed region;
Further applicant’s representative argued that Alspach discloses radar sensor that detect object within the deformable body where HELNERUS disclsoes a radar sensor that detects object that is outside of the device. Applicant’s representative argued that neither references teach or disclose detecting object inside the deformable body and outside the deformable body simultaneously.
However examiner respectfully disagrees, The claim limitations are broad and doesn’t limit the invention to detect object inside the deformable body and outside the deformable body simultaneously. Further Alspach disclsoes detecting object within the deformable body using the radar sensor and HELNERUS disclsoes detecting object that is outside of the device without having the object touching the device.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in that art to combine the teachings of Alspach with the teachings of HELNERUS to detect and object that is inside the body and object that is outside the body in order to achieve a single device that can perform both functions. Hence the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624