DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108957730 A (WANG, Ji-sen et al.) in view of CN 111897091 A (LIU, KAI et al.)
Per claims 1 and 16, Wang teaches a near-eye display device [see -Specific implementation methods- “Referring to FIG. 1, it shows a structure schematic diagram of the eye lens of the invention, the eye lens can be applied to micro-display-wearing display”], comprising: an image source configured to output image light [A2, see -Specific implementation methods- “A2 is where the display screen plane.”]; and an eyepiece system disposed in a light-emitting direction of the image source [see figure 2], wherein the eyepiece system comprises a plurality of lenses sequentially disposed along an optical axis from an image-side to an object-side [L1-L5], and a total system length of the plurality of lenses along the optical axis is less than or equal to 25 mm [see the description “Preferably, the length of the eyepiece along the optical axis direction is greater than 16mm and less than 25mm.”]
Wang lacks the refractive index of each of the plurality of lenses is greater than 1.65. However, Liu abstract teaches “the refractive index of the first positive focal power lens and the seventh positive focal power lens are greater than or equal to 1.8; the refractive index of the third positive power lens is greater than or equal to 1.9, improving the refractive index of the lens, so as to reduce the volume of the lens. Therefore, the embodiment of the invention provides a lens with small volume, large target surface size, with function of eliminating heat difference.” Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Liu with Wang.
Per claims 2 and 17, Wang et al. teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 16, wherein the optical axis is a main optical axis extending along a linear direction [see figure 2].
Per claim 12, Wang et al. teach t\The eyepiece system according to claim 1, wherein a material of each lens is glass or resin [glass, see the abstract].
Claim(s) 3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 108957730 A (WANG, Ji-sen et al.) in view of CN 111897091 A (LIU, KAI et al.), as applied to claims 1-2 and 16-17, and further in view of CN 111610631 A (Liu).
Per claims 3 and 18, Wang et al. teach the near-eye display device according to claim 16, but lack a focal power of the eyepiece system is greater than or equal to 50 m-1 and less than or equal to 65 m-1. However, Liu-631 teaches “For example, as shown in FIG. 1 C, the first lens 310 comprises opposite first surface 311 and the second surface 312, the second lens 320 comprises the opposite third surface 321 and the fourth surface 322, the third lens 330 comprises opposite fifth surface 331 and the sixth surface 332. along the direction parallel to the optical axis 301, for example, along the Z direction shown in the figure, the first to sixth surface are arranged in turn.
For example, the power of the first lens 310 is 0.01 to 0.2, the power of the second lens 320 is -0.01 to 0.2, and the power of the third lens 330 is 0.05 to 0.3.
For example, the power of the first lens 310 is 0.02 to 0.1, the power of the second lens 320 is -0.05 to 0.2, and the power of the third lens 330 is 0.1 to 0.2.
For example, the focal power of the first surface 311 of the first lens 310 is 0.0385, the focal power of the second surface 312 is 0.052, and the total optical power of the first lens 310 is 0.0905; the focal power of the third surface 321 of the second lens 320 is 0.0507, the power of the fourth surface 322 is -0.2126, and the total optical power is -0.1619; The focal power of the fifth surface 331 of the third lens 330 is 0.0754, and the optical power of the sixth surface is 0.0593, and the total optical power is 0.1347.”
Reduced lens system length would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Liu-631 with Wang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11, 14-15, and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 4 and 19, the prior art teaches the near-eye display device according to claims 1 and 16. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach the plurality of lenses sequentially disposed along the optical axis from the image-side to the object-side comprise: a first lens having a convex image-side surface and a concave or planar object-side surface; a second lens having a convex image-side surface and a concave object-side surface; a third lens having a convex image-side surface and a concave object-side surface; a fourth lens having a convex image-side surface and a concave object-side surface; a fifth lens having a convex image-side surface and a convex object-side surface, or having a convex image-side surface and a planar object-side surface; a sixth lens having a concave image-side surface and a convex object-side surface; and a seventh lens having a convex image-side surface and a concave object-side surface, or having a planar image-side surface and a convex object-side surface.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871