DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 1/27/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 and 10-12 were amended and new claims 13-19 were added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “41” has been used to designate both an inner bearing ring and a first recess in FIG. 6 and the reference character “43” has been used to designate both an outer bearing ring and a second recess in FIG. 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because in FIG. 6 a portion of the reference character 42 appears to be cut off. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description:
25 designating a projection as seen in paragraph [0038].
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
It contains more than 150 words.
It comprises legal phraseology in the form of the word “means.”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0038] it appears that the phrase “collar 34” should instead be “collar 32.”
In paragraph [0045] it appears that the phrase “bearing size 45” should instead be “bearing seat 45.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
In claim 10 line 6 the phrase “locking ring 22” should instead be “locking ring (22).”
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent No. S60-150498 to Suyama et al. (hereinafter Suyama; provided by Applicant on 1/27/2025) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,536,747 to Baggett and Japanese Patent No. 2001-345113 to Katano et al. (hereinafter Katano).
Regarding claim 1, Suyama teaches a magnetic rotor apparatus (FIG. 11; 5, 9, 12, 16), wherein the magnetic rotor apparatus is rotatable about an axis of rotation (FIG. 11, 10) and can be driven by means of a drive (FIG. 11, 6), wherein the magnetic rotor apparatus comprises a compressor wheel (FIG. 11, 13) configured to generate a gas flow, a hub (FIG. 11, 9), a locking ring (FIG. 11, 5) and at least one bearing (FIG. 11, 11), wherein the hub comprises an annular recess extending around the axis of rotation and encapsulating from a rotor space (FIG. 11, radially inner portion of 12), wherein components of the locking ring are located at least almost completely in the recess (FIG. 11; 12, 5).
Suyama does not teach the magnetic rotor apparatus being for a side channel compressor for a fuel cell system for conveying and/or compacting a gaseous medium, wherein at least two segment magnets are located at least almost completely in the recess, wherein the locking ring is connected to the hub by at least one dowel pin and/or a screw element.
However, Baggett teaches a rotor configuration with a hub (FIG. 4, 30) and a locking ring (FIG. 8, 36), wherein of at least two segment magnets (FIG. 4, 32) are located at least almost completely in the recess (FIG. 4, 33), wherein the locking ring is connected to the hub by at least one screw element (FIG. 4, 36A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic rotor apparatus of Suyama with the teachings of Baggett to make the components of Suyama have a stronger fixation with each other.
Suyama in view of Baggett does not teach the magnetic rotor apparatus being for a side channel compressor for a fuel cell system for conveying and/or compacting a gaseous medium.
However, Katano teaches a side channel compressor (FIG. 1, 24) for a fuel cell system (FIG. 1, 1) for conveying and/or compacting a gaseous medium (Paragraph [0013]) wherein the side channel compressor comprises a magnetic rotor apparatus (Paragraph [0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic rotor apparatus of Suyama in view of Baggett by incorporating it into the side channel compressor of Katano for the side channel compressor of Katano to benefit from the features of the magnetic rotor apparatus of Suyama in view of Baggett.
Regarding claim 2, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Baggett further teaches the respective screw element comprising a body (FIG. 4, 36A, central portion).
Regarding claim 3, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 2, wherein Baggett further teaches the respective screw element being located with a head (FIG. 4, 36A, top portion) in a first recess (FIG. 4, 30, top face) of the locking ring and is located with the body in a second recess (FIG. 4, 30, face opposite top face) of the locking ring and a third recess (FIG. 8, holes in 36) of the hub.
Regarding claim 5, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 3, wherein Baggett further teaches the third recess of the hub comprising a thread and the respective screw element comprising a thread in the area of the body wherein the screw element is screwed to the hub (Column 3 lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 6, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Baggett further teaches the respective screw element extending at least approximately parallel to the axis of rotation (FIG. 3; FIG. 4, 36A).
Regarding claim 7, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according claim 1, wherein Baggett further teaches the respective screw element being in a non-central area of a first central axis of a threaded bore and the rotational axis (FIG. 4, 36A).
Regarding claim 8, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches a side channel compressor (Katano FIG. 1, 24) with a stator (Suyama FIG. 11, 6) and a magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches a fuel cell system (Katano FIG. 1, 1) having a side channel compressor according to claim 8, wherein the side channel compressor is disposed in an anode circuit of the fuel cell system (Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 10, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches a method for manufacturing a magnetic rotor apparatus for a side channel compressor and/or a fuel cell system according to claim 1, the method comprising: providing a locking ring (Suyama FIG. FIG. 11, 5), wherein the locking ring comprises at least two protrusions (Baggett FIG. 4, between recesses 33), a segment magnet (Baggett FIG. 4, 32) can be attached between each set of two protrusions (Baggett FIG. 4, 34B), installation of the locking ring or insertion in a direction of the rotational axis into the recess of the hub (Suyama FIG. 11; 12, 5), wherein the locking ring is fixed to the hub by a screw element (Baggett FIG. 4, 36A), connecting the respective segment magnet to the locking ring by way of a force-locking method for forming the rotor assembly (Baggett Column 3 lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 12, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein Baggett further teaches the at least one screw element being screwed into a third recess of the hub (FIG. 8, holes in 36) to extend a length of the screw element, an enlarged head of which is in contact with an end face of the locking ring in a direction of the axis of rotation, so that the locking ring is fixed in place on the hub in a friction-locking manner (Column 3 lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 13, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Katano further teaches the gaseous medium being hydrogen (Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Suyama further teaches the compressor wheel generating the gas flow in a compressor space (FIG. 11, S).
Regarding claim 15, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Baggett further teaches four segment magnets (FIG. 4, 32) located almost completely in the recess (FIG. 4, 33).
Regarding claim 16, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 2, wherein Baggett further teaches the respective screw element having a head (FIG. 4, 36A, upper portion), wherein the head has a larger diameter than the body (FIG. 4, 36A, central portion).
Regarding claim 18, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 5, wherein Baggett further teaches the thread in the third recess of the hub comprising an internal thread, and the thread of the respective screw element comprising an external thread (Column 3 lines 30-36).
Regarding claim 19, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein Baggett further teaches connecting the respective segment magnet to the locking ring includes connecting the respective magnet to an end face of the locking ring (Column 3 lines 42-51).
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0301295 to Hernandez et al. (hereinafter Hernandez).
Regarding claim 4, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 3.
Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano does not teach the body of the respective dowel pin having a larger diameter than the respective third recess, such that a friction-locking and/or friction-type connection is formed between the respective dowel pin and/or the hub.
However, Hernandez teaches a dowel pin (FIG. 5, 244) fixing a locking ring (FIG. 5, 240) to a hub (FIG. 5, 221) with a body having a larger diameter than a respective recess (FIG. 5, portion of 244 in 221), such that a friction-locking connection is formed between the respective dowel pin and the hub (Paragraph [0040]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic rotor apparatus of Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano with the teachings of Hernandez to provide a dowel pin to fix the locking ring to the hub to further increase the strength of the connection between the components.
Regarding claim 11, Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano teaches the method according to claim 10.
Suyama in view of Bagget and Katano does not teach the at least one dowel pin with a body being pressed into a third recess of the hub such that a friction-locking and/or friction-type connection between the respective dowel pin and the hub is formed and thus the locking ring and/or the rotor assembly is fixed to the hub.
However, Hernandez teaches a dowel pin (FIG. 5, 244) fixing a locking ring (FIG. 5, 240) to a hub (FIG. 5, 221) with a body having a larger diameter than a respective recess (FIG. 5, portion of 244 in 221), such that a friction-locking connection is formed between the respective dowel pin and the hub (Paragraph [0040]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Suyama in view of Baggett and Katano with the teachings of Hernandez to provide a dowel pin to fix the locking ring to the hub to further increase the strength of the connection between the components.
Regarding claim 17, Suyama in view of Baggett, Katano, and Hernandez teaches the magnetic rotor apparatus according to claim 4, wherein Hernandez further teaches the friction-locking connection defining a compression joint formed between the respective dowel pin and/or the hub (Paragraph [0040]-[0041]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834