DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the quality is poor. Additionally, in Fig 5, reference character “71” on the left hand side lacks a lead line. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A carrier plate to which a window glass is attached via a holder and which slides on or along a guide rail, the carrier plate comprising: an attachment portion to which the holder is attached…” It is unclear what elements are structurally required of the claim. The preamble recites “to which a window glass is attached via a holder and which slides on or along a guide rail.” It is unclear if the window glass, holder, and guide rail are part of an intended use of the carrier plate or are structurally part of the carrier plate. This results in the rest of the claims being unclear and it is not understood what is being positively recited and required of the carrier plate. Claim 1 further recites “a wall that is provided in a position away from the guidance portion toward a region by a predetermined distance and regulates an attachment position of the holder. It is not understood how a wall “regulates” a position of the holder. It is understood that the attachment portion of the instant application has a hole 731b to which the holder is positioned and it is understood that the hole is fixed thus it is not understood how the wall regulates the holder’s position.
Dependent claims 2-9 are rejected for inheriting these issues.
In view of the rejections above, the claims are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (JP 2021127579A), hereinafter referred to as Kimura.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood in view of the 112 issues discussed above, Kimura discloses a carrier plate (Figs 2-4) to which a window glass is attached via a holder and which slides on or along a guide rail, the carrier plate (20) comprising:
an attachment portion (21) to which the holder (6) is attached (Fig 4);
a guidance portion (22, drainage channel) that is provided on one side of the attachment portion (Fig 4) and guides water downward, the water having fallen along a one-side edge of the holder (Fig 4); and
a wall (back wall of 24) that is provided in a position away from the guidance portion (22) toward a region by a predetermined distance and regulates an attachment position of the holder, the region being a region in which the holder is attached (paragraph [0091]), wherein the carrier plate is configured such that the water that has fallen along the one-side edge of the holder flows between the guidance portion and the wall (paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura discloses wherein the wall includes an inclined surface (back wall of 24) that is inclined toward a side of the guidance portion.
Regarding claim 3, Kimura discloses further comprising: a bead portion (23) on a side of the attachment portion, the bead portion guiding water downward (Fig 4), the side of the attachment portion being opposite to a side of the attachment portion on which the wall (24) is provided (Fig 4), the water having fallen along an other-side edge of the holder, the other-side edge being opposite to the one-side edge of the holder.
Regarding claim 4, Kimura discloses wherein one end of the bead portion (23) extends toward the guidance portion (sloped wall towards 22), and a joining region is formed at an outlet of a flow path formed between the wall (24) and the guidance portion (22), the joining region (portion between 22, 23, and 24) being partially surrounded by a leading-end portion of the bead portion, the wall, and the guidance portion, allowing water flowing out from the flow path and water guided by the bead portion to join in the joining region, and causing the joined water to flow downward along the guidance portion from between the leading-end portion of the bead portion and the guidance portion (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kimura discloses wherein a notch is formed by cutting out an upstream-side part of a flow path formed between the wall (24) and the guidance portion (22) (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura discloses a window regulator comprising the carrier plate according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Tenorio et al. (US 7,555,868, hereinafter referred to as Tenorio.
Regarding claim 6, Kimura teaches an edge portion of the attachment portion being an edge portion on a side on which the window glass is attached (Fig 4). Kimura fails to teach that the edge portion of the attachment portion includes an inclined surface inclined toward the side on which the guidance portion is provided. However, Tenorio teaches a carrier plate of a window regulator having an inclined surface (84) (Fig 4) for deflecting water. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kimura and provide the edge portion with an inclined surface, as taught by Tenorio, in order to deflect water thus improving drainage. All the claimed elements are known in the prior art and modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Kimura teaches wherein the edge portion includes a flat surface on which a part of the holder is placed (see Fig 4 of Kimura).
Regarding claim 8, as modified above, Kimura teaches a flat portion and Tenorio teaches an inclined surface it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the inclined surface of Tenorio into Kimura such that the edge portion includes a surface that substantially perpendicularly intersects the flat surface on one side of the surface and intersects the inclined surface on another side of the surface. Such modification involves a mere arrangement of parts and change in shape that would not lead to any new or unpredictable results. It is further understood that a perpendicular wall would not alter the function of drainage as taught by Kimura in view of Tenorio.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takaoka (US 11,884,140) teaches a carrier plate having drainage means, as shown in Fig 3.
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634