DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 1/27/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 were amended.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “peripheral portion comprising the at least one structured section is the inner edge of the hollow disc” of claim 4 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “11” has been used to designate both a center seen in FIG. 1 and a first periodic element seen in FIG. 6.
Reference character “12” has been used to designate both an inner hollow seen in FIG. 1 and a second periodic element seen in FIG. 6.
Reference character “21” has been used to designate both a periodic structure seen in FIG. 1 and a first periodic element seen in FIG. 6.
Reference character “22” has been used to designate both an unstructured section seen in FIG. 1 and a second periodic element seen in FIG. 6.
Reference character “23” has been used to designate both an orientation slot seen in FIG. 1 and a third periodic element seen in FIG. 6.
Reference character “85” has been used to designate both a stator and a rotor seen in FIG. 8.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description:
40 referring to a first lamination in page 8 line 15.
75 referring to a central rotor in page 12 line 14.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description:
17 in FIG. 1.
219 in FIG. 2.
81 and 82 in FIG. 7 and FIG. 8.
99 in FIG. 8.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology in the form of “said elementary lamination” in lines 4-5, “said periodic structure” in line 6, “said elementary lamination” in line 7, “said orientation slot” in line 9, “said non-structured section” in lines 10-11, and “said non-structured section” in line 12 and also implied phrasing in the form of “The invention relates to” in line 3. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 8 line 14 and line 15 it appears that the phrases “first elementary lamination 40” and “first lamination 40” were meant to be “first elementary lamination 410” and “first lamination 410” respectively.
In page 12 line 18 it appears that the phrase “voltage generator 95” was meant to be “voltage generator 99” in accordance with FIG. 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3 lines 2-3 the phrase “the outer edge of the disc” should instead be “an outer edge of the disc” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 4 line 3 the phrase “the inner edge of the hollow disc” should instead be “an inner edge of the hollow disc” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.
In claim 8 line 5 the phrase “periodic elements” should instead be “periodicity elements.”
In claim 8 line 6 the phrase “the intersection of the central axis with the plane of the lamination” should instead be “an intersection of a central axis of the lamination with a plane of the lamination” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. Claim 11 refers to both “A method of manufacturing a stack of laminations as claimed in claim 8” and “a plurality of elementary laminations as claimed in claim 1.” See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338724 to Arakawa et al. (hereinafter Arakawa; cited by Applicant on 1/27/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Arakawa teaches an elementary lamination (FIG. 1, 10) in the shape of a disc, wherein a peripheral portion of said elementary lamination comprises at least one structured section having a periodic structure (FIG. 2, 15) comprising a succession of periodicity elements (FIG. 3B; b1, b2), said periodic structure being configured to align said elementary lamination in a helical stack of laminations (FIG. 6, 20; Paragraph [0048]),
the peripheral portion further comprising at least one unstructured section (FIG. 2, between portions 15), an orientation slot (FIG. 3B, b3) being arranged in the at least one unstructured section, said orientation slot being closer to a periodic structure on a first side of said unstructured section than to the periodic structure on a second side opposite the first side of said unstructured section (FIG. 3B: b3 is closer to b2 and b1 in a counterclockwise direction than the b2 and b1 of another periodic section 15 in a clockwise direction).
Regarding claim 2, Arakawa teaches the elementary lamination as claimed in claim 1, wherein the periodic structure comprises recesses extending in a radial direction of the disc (FIG. 2, 15).
Regarding claim 3, Arakawa teaches the elementary lamination as claimed in claim 1, wherein the peripheral portion comprising the at least one structured section is the outer edge of the disc (FIG. 2, 15).
Regarding claim 5, Arakawa teaches the elementary lamination as claimed in claim 1, comprising two structured sections having a periodic structure (FIG. 2; 15A, 15B), and two unstructured sections (FIG. 2, portions between 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arakawa in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0038591 to Darabana et al. (hereinafter Darabana).
Regarding claim 4, Arakawa teaches the elementary lamination as claimed in claim 1.
Arakawa does not teach an inner hollow, wherein the peripheral portion comprising the at least one structured section is the inner edge of the hollow disc.
However, Darabana teaches a lamination (FIG. 9; 31a, 31b) comprising an inner hollow (FIG. 9, 4) wherein the peripheral portion comprising the at least one structured section (FIG. 9; 70a, 70b) is angularly offset at the inner edge of the hollow disc (Paragraph [0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elementary lamination of Arakawa with the teachings of Darabana to implement the structured section in the inner peripheral portion of the lamination as it would similarly provide a stronger connection to the rotor shaft in this instance (Paragraph [0134]-[0135]).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arakawa in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0254687 to Hoeber et al. (hereinafter Hoeber; cited by Applicant on 1/27/2025).
Regarding claim 6, Arakawa teaches a stack of laminations (FIG. 6; 20, 10) comprising a plurality of elementary laminations as claimed in claim 1 stacked coaxially.
Arakawa does not teach a first elementary lamination defining the bottom of the stack and successive elementary laminations being arranged above the first lamination, such that a first periodicity element of the periodic structure of each elementary lamination is disposed directly above a second periodicity element of the periodic structure of the underlying elementary lamination.
However, Hoeber teaches a first elementary lamination (FIG. 12, 11) defining the bottom of the stack and successive elementary laminations being arranged above the first lamination (FIG. 12; 11.1, 11.2, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5), such that a first periodicity element (FIG. 11, 31) of the periodic structure (FIG. 11, 30) of each elementary lamination is disposed directly above a second periodicity element (FIG. 11, 32) of the periodic structure of the underlying elementary lamination (Paragraph [0068]-[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stack of laminations of Arakawa with the teachings of Hoeber to place successive elementary laminations offset by one periodicity element as it advantageously helps position the laminations with respect to each other and achieve a desired magnetic flux operation (Paragraph [0068]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Arakawa in view of Hoeber teaches the stack of laminations as claimed in claim 6, wherein Hoeber further teaches the number of elementary laminations (FIG. 12; 11, 11.1, 11.2, 11.3, 11.4, 11.5) being equal to the number of periodicity elements of the periodic structure in each structured section of each respective elementary lamination (FIG. 11; 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36).
Regarding claim 8, Arakawa in view of Hoeber teaches the stack of laminations as claimed in claim 6, wherein Hoeber further teaches each elementary lamination being angularly offset with respect to the following lamination (Paragraph [0068]-[0069]), an angle of offset being determined by a periodicity of the periodic structure and a diameter of the outer circumference of the elementary lamination such that the angle of offset is n times the angle formed by two adjacent periodic elements having as apex the intersection of the central axis with the plane of the lamination, n being an integer number (Paragraph [0068]-[0069]; the offset is by one periodicity element, meaning n would be 1).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arakawa in view of Hoeber and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 2,608,682 to Herr (cited by Applicant on 1/27/2025).
Regarding claim 9, Arakawa in view of Hoeber teaches the stack of laminations as claimed in claim 6.
Arakawa in view of Hoeber does not teach a resolver comprising: a rotor comprising at least one stack of laminations, a stator configured to receive the rotor, and electrical connections configured to set up a variable electric field upon the rotation of the rotor with respect to the stator.
However, Herr teaches a resolver (FIG. 1, 10; Column 3 line 44) comprising: a rotor (FIG. 1, 12) comprising at least one stack of laminations (Column 3 lines 44-47), a stator (FIG. 1, 11) configured to receive the rotor, and electrical connections (FIG. 10; S1, S2) configured to set up a variable electric field upon the rotation of the rotor with respect to the stator (Column 6 lines 53-73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stack of laminations of Arakawa in view of Hoeber by implementing it into the resolver of Herr for the resolver of Herr to benefit from the features of the stack of laminations of Arakawa in view of Hoeber.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arakawa in view of Hoeber and in further view of WIPO Publication No. 2021/240579 to Hidaka et al. (hereinafter Hidaka).
Regarding claim 10, Arakawa in view of Hoeber teaches the stack of laminations as claimed in claim 6.
Arakawa in view of Hoeber does not teach a rotary electric machine comprising: a rotor comprising at least one stack of laminations, a stator configured to receive the rotor, and electrical connections configured to set up a variable electric field upon the rotation of the rotor with respect to the stator.
However, Hidaka teaches a rotary electric machine (FIG. 1, 100) comprising: a rotor (FIG. 2, 30) comprising at least one stack of laminations (FIG. 2, 35; Paragraph [0034]), a stator (FIG. 2, 20) configured to receive the rotor, and electrical connections (FIG. 2, 22) configured to set up a variable electric field upon the rotation of the rotor with respect to the stator (Paragraph [0029]-[0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stack of laminations of Arakawa in view of Hoeber by implementing it into the rotary electric machine of Hidaka for the rotary electric machine of Hidaka to benefit from the features of the stack of laminations of Arakawa in view of Hoeber.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834