DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/27/2025 and 6/18/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7 are pending for examination in this office action. Claim 8 has been canceled prior to examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Instance 231 referenced in the specification description on pages 8-9, does not appear in the drawings for Figures 4, 5, and 6.
The references may be deleted from the description in instead of adding them to the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harney (US Publication No. 20200265199 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Harney discloses a system (i.e. systems and methods for programming network transceivers, such as pluggable transceivers, are provided) Para [0081] comprising: an electronic device (Figure 2, element 10) comprising: an electronic component (Figure 2, element 14); a programmable driver configured to regulate a voltage or current supply of the electronic component (Figure 2, elements 16, 22, 36; i.e. the programming information stored in the smart label 28 tag RFID memory or RFID memory 36 can include at least one of the following programs and/or data, among others) Para [0129]; wherein the programmable driver comprises an integrated Near-Field Communication, NFC, tag with an antenna (Fig. 2: 36, 39; i.e. the smart label 28 and RFID memory 36 are each configured with a radio frequency interface for transmitting and receiving RF signals in the high frequency (“HF”) RFID range, for example 13.56 MHz. The smart label 28 is configured to communicate with the RFID reader 30 using an RFID communications protocol, for example ISO 15693. The RFID memory 36 is configured to communicate with an external RFID reader 40 using an RFID communications protocol, for example ISO 14443 Type A and NFC Forum Type 4. Tag.) Para [0137], and the NFC tag is configured to assist an external NFC reader to access the programmable driver for configuring the electronic component (Figure 2, element 40; i.e. FIG. 2, the pluggable transceiver 10 is configured with an RFID memory 36 and RFID antenna 39 in communication with an external RFID reader 40. The external RFID reader 40 is configured to read and write data to the RFID memory 36, and the RFID memory 36 is connected to the controller 22. The controller 22 is configured to read and write data to the RFID memory 36. In the illustrated embodiment, the RFID memory 36 is a dual-access RFID memory configured with an RF interface and an electrical interface, for example a specially configured integrated circuit (IC) with a passive RFID memory that can be read by an external RFID reader 40 using an RF interface, and can also be read by a controller 22 using an EEPROM electrical interface. Preferably, the RFID memory 36 is configured to attach to the PCBA 32, for example the RFID memory 36 can be a surface mounted IC. In an embodiment, the RFID memory 36 can be configured with different types of files or memory, for example: system file, capability file, and NFC Data Exchange Format (NDEF) file. For example, the system file can be a proprietary password protected file containing the RFID memory 36 device configuration information; the capability file can be a read only file and provides information about the RFID memory 36 memory structure, size version, and the NDEF file control; the NDEF file can be defined by the NFC Forum for use in NDEF tags, the NDEF file can be password protected and used to store user writeable information and includes a messaging protocol. In some embodiments, the RFID memory 36 can be in communication with the host via the host interface 20, said host configured to read or write data to the RFID memory 36. In some embodiments, the RFID memory 36 can be integrated with the memory 24. Typical RFID memory sizes can range up to 2K bits, with some device providing up to 64K bits of memory or more. In the present embodiment, the smart label 28 and RFID memory 36 are configured to store RFID data, said RFID data comprising data defining a desired programmed configuration of the pluggable transceiver (i.e. pluggable transceiver programming information or data), wherein the RFID data is read from the smart label 28 or RFID memory 36 by the controller 22 and used to program the memory 24 according to the desired operating configuration defined by the data. In an embodiment, the programming information stored in the smart label 28 and RFID memory 36 is at least partially encrypted and can only be decoded by the controller 22 or an external RFID reader 40 configured to do so. Alternatively, the programming information stored in the smart label 28 and RFID memory 36 can be password protected. In an embodiment, the programming information stored in the smart label 28 and RFID memory 36 is encoded with error correcting codes that can be decoded by the controller 22 or an external RFID reader 40 configured to do so.) Para [0127-128]; a metal housing (Figure 10, element 12; i.e. the internal/external RFID repeater 200 substrate includes an external RFID antenna 210 built in a planar structure and contains an EM substrate 65, for example a layer of ferromagnetic material that minimizes the effects of a metallic housing 12 on the coupling field, the EM substrate 65 being configured improve the magnetic coupling between the external RFID reader 40 and the external RFID antenna 210, for example by preventing eddy currents from forming on the metal housing, the EM substrate 65 also attenuating unintended electro-magnetic emissions radiating from the aperture 26) Para [0156] comprising an opening for inserting a plug (Figure 10, element 26; i.e. the internal repeater RFID antenna 90 being configured as a coil positioned through the aperture 26 proximate to the RFID antenna 38 within the read range; wherein the two internal/external repeater RFID antenna coils are interconnected to enable RFID communications between the external RFID reader 40 and the RFID antenna 38 therethrough.) Para [0155]; wherein the programmable driver is placed inside the metal housing with the antenna of the NFC tag towards the opening (Figure 10; element 36 (i.e. driver) and element 38 (i.e. antenna)); and a passive NFC repeater configured to connect to the NFC tag through the opening to extend a communication range of the NFC tag to establish an NFC communication link with the external NFC reader (Figure 10, elements 200, 40; i.e. FIG. 10, an internal/external RFID repeater 200 is used to passively relay RFID communications between an external RFID reader 40 and the RFID antenna 38. The internal/external RFID repeater 200 is mounted to an exterior of the housing and includes: a substrate 210 containing a first external field-concentrating RFID antenna; a second internal RFID repeater antenna 90 mounted to on an underside of said substrate; and a connection between the first and second repeater antennae to enable RF communications therethrough. The external RFID reader 40 antenna is positioned proximate to the external repeater RFID antenna 210 within the read range, the external repeater RFID antenna 210 being configured as a coil mounted on an exterior of the housing 12 over the aperture 26, the internal repeater RFID antenna 90 being configured as a coil positioned through the aperture 26 proximate to the RFID antenna 38 within the read range; wherein the two internal/external repeater RFID antenna coils are interconnected to enable RFID communications between the external RFID reader 40 and the RFID antenna 38 therethrough. The RFID antenna 38 coil is surface mounted and electrically connected to the PCBA 32.) Para [0155], wherein the passive NFC repeater is integrated in an add-on for removable insertion in the opening (i.e. The external RFID reader 40 antenna is positioned proximate to the external repeater RFID antenna 210 within the read range, the external repeater RFID antenna 210 being configured as a coil mounted on an exterior of the housing 12 over the aperture 26, the internal repeater RFID antenna 90 being configured as a coil positioned through the aperture 26 proximate to the RFID antenna 38 within the read range; wherein the two internal/external repeater RFID antenna coils are interconnected to enable RFID communications between the external RFID reader 40 and the RFID antenna 38) Para [0155], wherein the add-on is a tool used for configuring the electronic component with the passive NFC repeater placed at an end of the tool fitting to the opening (i.e. the external RFID repeater 100 can include: an external RFID reader substrate with an outlined surface area 120, such surface area 120 containing a repeater RFID antenna 130 coil configured to interface with the external RFID reader 40, such repeater RFID antenna 130 configured to connect to a cable (e.g. a detachable or nondetachable connection); a pluggable transceiver substrate with an outlined surface area 140, such surface area 140 containing a repeater RFID antenna 150 coil configured to interface with a pluggable transceiver 10, such repeater RFID antenna 150 configured connect to a cable) Para [0154] and (i.e. the housing 12 can be configured to detachably connect to a host, for example as specified in an MSA, and the housing 12 and smart label 28 can be physically configured to enable the pluggable transceiver 10 and attached smart label 28 or internal/external RFID repeater 200 to be installed in a host pluggable transceiver port, for example installed in a standard MSA SFP cage assembly of a host Ethernet switch.) Para [0158].
Regarding Claim 2, Harney discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Harney discloses wherein the electronic component is a light source (i.e. the pluggable transceiver 10 includes a network interface 14, an optical-electrical converter 16 connected to the network interface 14, and a host interface 20 connected to the optical-electrical converter 16.) Para [0115] and (i.e. one or more apertures used for example for interface connectors, accessing test, calibration or fastening points, viewing visual indicators (e.g. LEDs (i.e. light emitting diodes))) Para [0113].
Regarding Claim 3, Harney discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Harney discloses wherein the passive NFC repeater comprises two coils electrically connected to each other the internal repeater RFID antenna 39 coil and internal repeater RFID antenna 90 coil are electrically connected to each other using an electrical interconnection 95, for example the electrical interconnection can be electrical circuits printed or etched on a flexible substrate or on a PCBA, or a cable assembly, etc.) Para [0152].
Regarding Claim 4, Harney discloses all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. Further Harney discloses herein the passive NFC repeater is configured to passively relay an electrical signal between the two coils (Figure 7; i.e. an internal RFID repeater 70 is used to passively relay RFID communications between the external RFID reader 40 and the RFID memory 36. The internal RFID repeater 70 is mounted to an interior of the housing 12 or PCBA 32 and includes: a first internal RFID antenna 39; a second internal RFID repeater antenna 90; and an electrical interconnection 95 between said first and second internal repeater antennae to enable RFID communications therethrough. The external RFID reader 40 antenna wires 410 are preferably positioned within the read range proximate to the internal repeater RFID antenna 39, the internal repeater RFID antenna 39 being configured as a coil mounted proximate in the aperture and not protruding from the housing 12 exterior surface, and the second internal repeater RFID antenna 90 being configured as a coil positioned proximate to the RFID antenna 38 within the read range…the internal repeater RFID antenna 39 coil and internal repeater RFID antenna 90 coil are electrically connected to each other using an electrical interconnection 95, for example the electrical interconnection can be electrical circuits printed or etched on a flexible substrate or on a PCBA, or a cable assembly, etc.) Para [0152].
Regarding Claim 5, Harney discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Harney discloses wherein the passive NFC repeater is built in a housing with an elongated shape for inserting into the opening (i.e. The designated area is used to attach the smart label 28 or used to position an external RFID reader 40. For example, the area can be an outlined section on an exterior surface of the housing indicating the RF interface, or a section on the exterior surface of the housing sized and shaped to receive the smart label 28 such as a recess, or an outlined section on the surface of the PCBA 32 indicating the RF interface, etc. In the present embodiment, the area includes at least one aperture 26 defined in the housing 12, said aperture 26 being configured to enable RFID communications therethrough, for example to allow RFID signals to travel between an RFID device (such as a smart label or external RFID reader) on an exterior of the housing 12 and an RFID antenna located inside the housing 12. As can be appreciated, in this configuration, the aperture 26 can provide an RF interface for the smart label 28 and/or to an external RFID reader 40) Para [0138].
Regarding Claim 6, Harney discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Harney discloses wherein the external NFC reader is integrated with the passive NFC repeater in the tool (Figure 10, element 26; i.e. the internal repeater RFID antenna 90 being configured as a coil positioned through the aperture 26 proximate to the RFID antenna 38 within the read range; wherein the two internal/external repeater RFID antenna coils are interconnected to enable RFID communications between the external RFID reader 40 and the RFID antenna 38.) Para [0155].
Regarding Claim 7, Harney discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Harney discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises a plastic plug fixed to the opening with a cavity towards the interior of the electronic device (i.e. the dielectric interface can comprise plastic which covers aperture 26 (i.e. cavity/opening)) Para [0138], and the passive NFC repeater is configured for removable insertion into the cavity (i.e. the housing 12 can be configured to detachably connect to a host, for example as specified in an MSA, and the housing 12 and smart label 28 can be physically configured to enable the pluggable transceiver 10 and attached smart label 28 or internal/external RFID repeater 200 to be installed in a host pluggable transceiver port, for example installed in a standard MSA SFP cage assembly of a host Ethernet switch.) Para [0158].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harney (US Publication No. 20200265199 A1) “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR PROGRAMMING PLUGGABLE TRANSCEIVERS” (August 20, 2020) is directed to systems and methods for programming pluggable transceivers. In an embodiment, a method includes receiving RFID data from an RFID device in proximity to a network transceiver via an RFID antenna in the network transceiver, said RFID data defining an operating configuration of the network transceiver; and programming the network transceiver according to the operating configuration defined by the received RFID data. In an embodiment, a network transceiver includes: a host interface for connecting to a host; a network interface for transmitting and receiving signals to and from a network; an RFID antenna for receiving RFID data; and a controller in operative communication with the network interface and the RFID antenna, said controller operating the network interface according to an operating configuration, wherein the operating configuration of the controller is programmed using the RFID data received via the RFID antenna. Various other embodiments are also provided.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647