DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 11/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
“Transceiver means” in claim 14 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 17, the limitation “(NPs)” in line 14 should correspond to the “nanoparticles” limitation of line 14 with the paragraph break removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ionizing radiation" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the detection sensors" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previously set forth sensors do not require a plurality of sensors.
Claims 2-3, 14, and 16 recite the limitation "said detection sensors". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The previously set forth sensors do not require a plurality of sensors.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said semiconductor material" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said semiconductor material" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "in particular" in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "and the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the radiation" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said semiconductor material" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said semiconductor material" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "in particular" in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the ionizing radiation" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims dependent upon rejected claims are also rejected for indefiniteness. Therefore, dependent claims 7-13 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 11-13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira et al. (JPH02259589A) hereinafter Akira (see attached combined English translation for citations), in view of Bogumil et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20230014593) hereinafter Bogumil.
Regarding claim 1, primary reference Akira teaches:
Detection system of radiation emitted by a source (C) ([0001]) comprising:
at least one detection unit (page 2, lines 28-52, semiconductor radiation detecting device that includes substrate 11 and the components that are mounted on it forms an overall detection unit; figures 2-4) having
a support substrate (page 2, lines 28-52, semiconductor radiation detecting device that includes substrate 11; figures 2-4),
a detection layer (page 2, lines 50-60, detection surface A forms a detection layer),
arranged on said support substrate (page 2, lines 28-60, detection surface A is provided on the substrate 11 of the overall detection unit; see figures 2-4) and
comprising one or more detection sensors, to detect the radiation emitted by a contaminating agent (C) by generating an electrical signal following the interaction with the ionizing radiation (page 2, lines 28-60, detection circuit 1 including detection circuits 21, 31, and 41 for detecting radiation emitted by a contaminating agent and outputting an electrical signal; figures 1-4; see also page 2, lines 3-27 for detection circuit 1), and
an layer, with which the contaminating agent (C) can come into contact, so that the ionizing radiation emitted by said agent is detected by one or more detection sensors (page 2, lines 3-60, radiation contaminants are provided and detected by the detection sensors in which radiation profiles are measured and provided to the user; figures 1-6); and
at least one interaction terminal, connected to said detection unit and configured to detect and communicate the position of said contaminant (C) based on the detection sensors affected by the ionizing radiation emitted by said contaminant (C) (page 2 , lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51; figures 1-6).
Primary reference Akira fails to teach:
an insulating film, arranged on said detection layer, with which the contaminating agent (C) can come into contact,
However, the analogous art of Bogumil of a digital radiation detector (abstract) teaches:
an insulating film, arranged on said detection layer, with which the contaminating agent (C) can come into contact, ([0041], flexible sleeve of envelope 903 sealed about the array assembly 901 detection layer provides for a insulating film in which any contaminates can contact without touching sensitive electronics); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira to incorporate the insulting film as taught by Bogumil because it protects the sensitive electronic array from the contaminants, moisture and other elements across use cases such as in outdoor environments (Bogumil, [0041]). This prevents damage and provides less repair downtime across many uses.
Regarding claim 3, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
said detection sensors are configured to have a differentiated response according to the energy spectrum emitted by said contaminant (C) to drive said interaction terminal so as to distinguish the type of contaminant (page 2, lines 30-60, the spectral analysis circuit 51 performs precise nuclide identification based upon the detection circuits and LED displays for visual identification of the isotope).
Regarding claim 7, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
wherein said detection unit is shaped as a rectangular or square module, intended to be arranged on a flat or vertical surface (page 2, lines 28-60, as depicted in figure 4 the semiconductor radiation detecting device is shaped as a rectangular module and would be capable of being arranged on a flat or vertical surface).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
Wherein said interaction terminal comprises a plurality of LEDs (31), forming a screen (33), configured for activating following the detection of radiation by one or more detection devices (page 2 , lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51 form a plurality of LEDs forming a screen and each activated following a detection by a corresponding detection device; figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 12, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
Wherein each detection device is operatively connected to a respective LED (page 2, lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51 form a plurality of LEDs forming a screen and each activated following a detection by a corresponding detection device; figures 1-6),
wherein the arrangement of the LEDs on the screen corresponds to the arrangement of the corresponding detection sensors of the detection unit (page 2 , lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51 form a plurality of LEDs forming a screen and each activated following a detection by a corresponding detection device; figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
wherein it comprises a plurality of detection units, each operatively connected to a respective LED (page 2 , lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51 form a plurality of LEDs forming a screen and each activated following a detection by a corresponding detection device; figures 1-6),
wherein the arrangement of the LEDs on the screen corresponds to the arrangement of the corresponding detection units (page 2 , lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51 form a plurality of LEDs forming a screen and each activated following a detection by a corresponding detection device; figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 15, primary reference Akira teaches:
Detection unit for detecting a radioactive source (C) (page 2, lines 28-52, semiconductor radiation detecting device that includes substrate 11 and the components that are mounted on it forms an overall detection unit; figures 2-4), comprising
a support substrate (page 2, lines 28-52, semiconductor radiation detecting device that includes substrate 11; figures 2-4),
a detection layer (page 2, lines 50-60, detection surface A forms a detection layer),
arranged on said support substrate (page 2, lines 28-60, detection surface A is provided on the substrate 11 of the overall detection unit; see figures 2-4), and
comprising one or more detection sensors, to detect the radiation emitted by a contaminating agent (C) by generating an electrical signal following exposure to the radiation (page 2, lines 28-60, detection circuit 1 including detection circuits 21, 31, and 41 for detecting radiation emitted by a contaminating agent and outputting an electrical signal; figures 1-4; see also page 2, lines 3-27 for detection circuit 1), and
an layer with which the contaminating agent (C) can come into contact, so that the ionizing radiation emitted by said agent is detected by one or more detection sensors (page 2, lines 3-60, radiation contaminants are provided and detected by the detection sensors in which radiation profiles are measured and provided to the user; figures 1-6).
Primary reference Akira fails to teach:
an insulating film, arranged on said detection layer, with which the contaminating agent (C) can come into contact,
However, the analogous art of Bogumil of a digital radiation detector (abstract) teaches:
an insulating film, arranged on said detection layer, with which the contaminating agent (C) can come into contact ([0041], flexible sleeve of envelope 903 sealed about the array assembly 901 detection layer provides for a insulating film in which any contaminates can contact without touching sensitive electronics);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira to incorporate the insulting film as taught by Bogumil because it protects the sensitive electronic array from the contaminants, moisture and other elements across use cases such as in outdoor environments (Bogumil, [0041]). This prevents damage and provides less repair downtime across many uses.
Regarding claim 19, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
Method for detecting radiations emitted from a source (C) comprising by means of a detection system according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), further comprises the following steps:
irradiating said insulating film with said source (C) (page 2, lines 28-60, detection circuit 1 including detection circuits 21, 31, and 41 for detecting radiation emitted by a contaminating agent and outputting an electrical signal; figures 1-4; see also page 2, lines 3-27 for detection circuit 1; combined prior art invention includes the insulating film of Bogumil);
detecting the radiation of said radiation source (C) by means of one or more detection sensors of said detection layer (page 2, lines 28-60, detection circuit 1 including detection circuits 21, 31, and 41 for detecting radiation emitted by a contaminating agent and outputting an electrical signal; figures 1-4; see also page 2, lines 3-27 for detection circuit 1);
detecting and communicating the position of said contaminating agent (C) by means of said interaction terminal, based on the detection sensors affected by the ionizing radiation emitted by said agent (C) (page 2 , lines 38-60 and page 3, lines 1-7, LED displays 9, 29, 39, 49, and spectral analysis circuit 51; figures 1-6).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claims 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Erlbacher (U.S. Pub. No. 20190386166) hereinafter Erlbacher.
Regarding claim 2, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
wherein each of said detection sensors comprises a semiconductor material arranged on said support substrate (page 2, lines 12-60, semiconductor device substrate 11), and
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
at least two electrodes, obtained by metallization, connected to the semiconductor material and to said interaction terminal
However, the analogous art of Erlbacher of a UV-radiation sensor with a radiation sensitive region (abstract) teaches:
at least two electrodes, obtained by metallization, connected to the semiconductor material and to said interaction terminal ([0014], first and second electrodes formed by metallization and provided to the semiconductor substrate and radiation sensitive region (interaction terminal in combined prior art invention)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the two electrodes obtained by metallization as taught by Erlbacher because it enables electrical contact with the radiation sensitive region, which enables electrical signals to be obtained from any sensed radiation (Erlbacher, [0014]). This provides sufficient signals to detect any obtained radiation by the device.
Regarding claim 16, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 15. Primary reference Akira further teaches:
Wherein each of said detection sensors comprises
a semiconductor material arranged on said support substrate (page 2, lines 12-60, semiconductor device substrate 11), and
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
at least two electrodes, obtained by metallization, connected to the semiconductor material and to said interaction terminal
However, the analogous art of Erlbacher of a UV-radiation sensor with a radiation sensitive region (abstract) teaches:
at least two electrodes, obtained by metallization, connected to the semiconductor material and to said interaction terminal ([0014], first and second electrodes formed by metallization and provided to the semiconductor substrate and radiation sensitive region (interaction terminal in combined prior art invention)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the two electrodes obtained by metallization as taught by Erlbacher because it enables electrical contact with the radiation sensitive region, which enables electrical signals to be obtained from any sensed radiation (Erlbacher, [0014]). This provides sufficient signals to detect any obtained radiation by the device.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claims 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Fraboni et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20140225094) hereinafter Fraboni, in view of Suh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20050242342) hereinafter Suh, in view of Bardash (U.S. Pub. No. 20210151507) hereinafter Bardash, in view of Raymond et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210387022) hereinafter Raymond, in view of Zeidell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220001208) hereinafter Zeidell, in view of Mills, C., et al. (“Enhanced x-ray detection sensitivity in semiconducting polymer diodes containing metallic nanoparticles,” Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics. Vol 46(27), 2013. P. 1-36) hereinafter Mills (see attached NPL reference for citations), in further view of Murata et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210313381) hereinafter Murata.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claims 1 or 15. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
wherein said semiconductor material is selected from one or more of the following:
- 4-hydroxycyanobenzene (4HCB);
- 1,8-naphthaleneimide (NTI);
However, the analogous art of Fraboni of a organic semiconductor used as detectors for ionizing radiation (abstract) teaches:
- 4-hydroxycyanobenzene (4HCB) ([0054]-[0057], 4HCB; [0105]);
- 1,8-naphthaleneimide (NTI) ([0054]-[0057], NTI; [0105]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the 4HCB or NTI semiconductor materials as taught by Fraboni because the materials are known to have high direct x-rays to current conversion efficiencies (Fraboni, [0105]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- 1,5-dinitronaphthalene (DNN);
However, the analogous art of Suh of a transistor with semiconductor film elements (abstract) teaches:
- 1,5-dinitronaphthalene (DNN) ([0026]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, and Fraboni to incorporate the DNN substrate as taught by Suh because it forms a simple substitution of one known semiconductor material for another known semiconductor material to obtain predictable results as a semiconductor substrate (see Suh, [0026]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- 6,13-bis (triisopropylsilylethynyl) pentacene (TIPS-pentacene);
However, the analogous art of Bardash of an organic semiconductor detector for radiation detection (abstract) teaches:
- 6,13-bis (triisopropylsilylethynyl) pentacene (TIPS-pentacene) ([0039]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, Fraboni, and Suh to incorporate the TIPS-pentacene semiconductor as taught by Bardash because it forms a simple substitution of one known semiconductor material for another known semiconductor material to obtain predictable results as a semiconductor substrate (see Bardash, [0039]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- bis (triisopropylgermylethynyl) pentacene (TIPGe-pentacene);
However, the analogous art of Raymond of a charged beam particle treatment device and method (abstract) teaches:
- bis (triisopropylgermylethynyl) pentacene (TIPGe-pentacene) ([0518]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, Fraboni, Suh, and Bardash to incorporate the TIPGe-pentacene semiconductor as taught by Raymond because it forms a simple substitution of one known semiconductor material for another known semiconductor material to obtain predictable results as a semiconductor substrate (see Bardash, [0039]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- 2,8-difluoro-5,11-bis (triethylsilylethynyl) anthradithiophene (diF-TES- ADT);
- 5,11-bis (triethylgermylethynyl) anthradithiophene (diF-TEGADT);
However, the analogous art of Zeidell of a radiation dosimeter device (abstract) teaches:
- 2,8-difluoro-5,11-bis (triethylsilylethynyl) anthradithiophene (diF-TES- ADT) ([0031], Table 1);
- 5,11-bis (triethylgermylethynyl) anthradithiophene (diF-TEGADT) ([0031], Table 1);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, Fraboni, Suh, Bardash, and Raymond to incorporate the diF-TES- ADT or diF-TEGADT semiconductor as taught by Zeidell because it forms a simple substitution of one known semiconductor material for another known semiconductor material to obtain predictable results as a semiconductor substrate (see Zeidell, [0031], Table 1).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- polymer poly (9,9-dioctyfluorene) blended with Bismuth (III) oxide (Bi2O3) nanoparticles (NPs);
However, the analogous art of Mills of a semiconducting polymer radiation detector device (abstract) teaches:
- polymer poly (9,9-dioctyfluorene) blended with Bismuth (III) oxide (Bi2O3) nanoparticles (NPs) (pages 1-2, abstract; page 4, paragraph 2-3);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, Fraboni, Suh, Bardash, Raymond, and Zeidell to incorporate the polymer blended with nanoparticles as taught by Mills because it provides greater detection sensitivity than diodes without nanoparticles (Mills, page 1, abstract).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- Dinaphtho [2,3-b: 2', 3'-f] thieno [3,2-b] thiophene (DNTT) and organic n- type semiconductors
However, the analogous art of Murata of a image capturing sensor element (abstract) teaches:
- Dinaphtho [2,3-b: 2', 3'-f] thieno [3,2-b] thiophene (DNTT) and organic n- type semiconductors ([0157]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, Fraboni, Suh, Bardash, Raymond, Zeidell, and Mills to incorporate the DNTT semiconductor as taught by Murata because it forms a simple substitution of one known semiconductor material for another known semiconductor material to obtain predictable results as a semiconductor substrate (see Murata, [0157]).
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claims 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220194969) hereinafter Lee, in view of Rand et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210296602) hereinafter Rand, in further view of Xin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20220190182) hereinafter Xin.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claims 1 or 15. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
wherein said semiconductor material is of the perovskite hybrid type and is selected from one of the following:
- having a generic ABX formulations, wherein A = Methylammonium (MA = CHsNHs+), Formamidinium (FA = CH (NH2)2+), Cs+; B = Pb2+, Sn2+; X =I-, Br-, CI-, in particular MAPbl3, MAPbBrs, mixed: Cs0.05FA1-yMAyPb (I1-xBrx)3);
However, the analogous art of Lee of a light emitting device using a perovskite semiconductor (abstract) teaches:
wherein said semiconductor material is of the perovskite hybrid type and is selected from one of the following:
- having a generic ABX formulations, wherein A = Methylammonium (MA = CHsNHs+), Formamidinium (FA = CH (NH2)2+), Cs+; B = Pb2+, Sn2+; X =I-, Br-, CI-, in particular MAPbl3, MAPbBrs, mixed: Cs0.05FA1-yMAyPb (I1-xBrx)3) ([0209], semiconductor material including MAPbBr3 forming a hybrid perovskite);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the semiconductor hybrid perovskite as taught by Lee because it forms a simple substitution of one known semiconductor material for another known semiconductor material to obtain predictable results as a semiconductor substrate (see Lee, [0209]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- Hybrid perovskites having generic formula (R-NH3)2PbX4, wherein R belongs to the alkyl or aryl group, such as PEA2PbBr4 and PEA2Pbl4,with PEA = CeHsC2H4NHs+;
However, the analogous art of Rand of a thin film semiconductor device (abstract) teaches:
- Hybrid perovskites having generic formula (R-NH3)2PbX4, wherein R belongs to the alkyl or aryl group, such as PEA2PbBr4 and PEA2Pbl4,with PEA = CeHsC2H4NHs+ ([0039]-[0042]; [0047]; [0056]; [0067]-[0070]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, and Lee to incorporate the hybrid perovskite as taught by Rand because it absorbs electromagnetic radiation to generate excitons that may dissociate in order to generate an electrical current, which provides a measurable electrical signal (Rand, [0047]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
- Inorganic perovskites, such as CsPbXs (with X = Cl, Br or I)
However, the analogous art of Xin of an x-ray system with detection unit (abstract) teaches:
- Inorganic perovskites, such as CsPbXs (with X = Cl, Br or I) ([0053]-[0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, Lee, and Rand to incorporate the inorganic perovskite as taught by Xin because it provides improved performance over traditional detectors (Xin, [0054]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakahashi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20130099130) hereinafter Nakahashi.
Regarding claim 6, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
Wherein said support substrate is plastic, flexible, insulating and waterproof
However, the analogous art of Nakahashi of a radiation detection device (abstract) teaches:
Wherein said support substrate is plastic, flexible, insulating and waterproof ([0080], flexible, plastic and insulating forms a waterproof material in combination with insulating film of Bogumil in the combined prior art invention), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the support substrate as taught by Nakahashi because it provides a reduced weight detection sensor which provides enhanced portability in use (Nakahashi, [0080]).
Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
in that said insulating film is a waterproof insulating polymer, such as mylar, parylene, silicone polymers
However, the analogous art of Bogumil of a digital radiation detector (abstract) teaches:
in that said insulating film is a waterproof insulating polymer, such as mylar, parylene, silicone polymers ([0041], flexible sleeve of envelope 903 sealed about the array assembly 901 detection layer provides for a insulating film which includes polymers in which any contaminates can contact without moisture reaching touching sensitive electronics);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira, Bogumil, and Nakahashi to incorporate the insulting film as taught by Bogumil because it protects the sensitive electronic array from the contaminants, moisture and other elements across use cases such as in outdoor environments (Bogumil, [0041]). This prevents damage and provides less repair downtime across many uses.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rubenstein et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20170319155) hereinafter Rubenstein.
Regarding claim 8, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
wherein said detection unit has the shape of a bracelet or a band, so that it is wearable on a limb of a user (U), for the detection of radiation emitted by radiopharmaceuticals for the dose monitoring or the identification of radiopharmaceutical leaks
However, the analogous art of Rubenstein of a medica imaging system with sensors to acquire patient data (abstract) teaches:
wherein said detection unit has the shape of a bracelet or a band, so that it is wearable on a limb of a user (U), for the detection of radiation emitted by radiopharmaceuticals for the dose monitoring or the identification of radiopharmaceutical leaks ([0029]-[0038], radiopharmaceutical usage; [0057]; [0070], sensor device provided as a wearable bracelet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the wearable bracelet as taught by Rubenstein because it provides accurate, continuous, and real-time monitoring of drug dose, and helps prevent people from receiving an excess dose (Rubenstein, [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
Wherein said detection unit has the shape of plaster or patch, so that it can be applied on the surface of a user's body (U), for the detection of radiopharmaceutical leaks
However, the analogous art of Rubenstein of a medica imaging system with sensors to acquire patient data (abstract) teaches:
Wherein said detection unit has the shape of plaster or patch, so that it can be applied on the surface of a user's body (U), for the detection of radiopharmaceutical leaks ([0029]-[0038], radiopharmaceutical usage; [0057]; [0070], sensor device provided as a wearable patch).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the wearable patch as taught by Rubenstein because it provides accurate, continuous, and real-time monitoring of drug dose, and helps prevent people from receiving an excess dose (Rubenstein, [0070]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Black et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20030125616) hereinafter Black.
Regarding claim 10, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
wherein said detection unit has the shape of plaster or patch, so that it can be applied on the surface of a user's body (U), for the centering or the dosimetry of therapeutic and diagnostic beams
However, the analogous art of Black of radiation sensor patches for use in radiation therapy systems (abstract) teaches:
wherein said detection unit has the shape of plaster or patch, so that it can be applied on the surface of a user's body (U), for the centering or the dosimetry of therapeutic and diagnostic beams ([0058]-[0063], sensor patch 30 provided on skin of patient for a radio treatment session for directing the beam to the target area of interest of the patient; [0064]-[0073]; [0074], radiation beam focus location; [0076], dosimetry; [0080]; [0087], focus of radiation beam; [0098]-[0099], dosimetry).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the wearable patch for dosimetry positioning as taught by Black because it provides a cost-effective, and reduced set-up time radiation measurement system (Black, [0009]-[0010]). This increases accuracy of treatment and reduces side effects of excessive radiation at healthy tissues.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akira, in view of Bogumil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Isham et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190137634) hereinafter Isham.
Regarding claim 14, the combined references of Akira and Bogumil teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Akira further fails to teach:
Wherein said detection unit comprises transceiver means for transmitting signals detected by said detection sensors, and
in that said interaction terminal comprises a mobile phone, tablet and the like, equipped with a display, capable of receiving the signals transmitted by said transceiver means of the detection unit, so as to show on the display the readings of the detection units
However, the analogous art of Isham or a wearable radiation detection device (abstract) teaches:
Wherein said detection unit comprises transceiver means for transmitting signals detected by said detection sensors ([0079]-[0088], wireless transmission system forms a transceiver for transmitting signals. The limitation of “transceiver means” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to correspond to the structure of a transceiver of the applicant’s specification page 14, lines 11-19.), and
in that said interaction terminal comprises a mobile phone, tablet and the like, equipped with a display, capable of receiving the signals transmitted by said transceiver means of the detection unit, so as to show on the display the readings of the detection units ([0079]-[0088], wireless transmission system forms a transceiver for transmitting signals and is provided to a mobile device which forms a tablet with a display and receives and displays the associated measured signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the radiation detection system of Akira and Bogumil to incorporate the wireless communication to a mobile display as taught by Isham because it enables mobile devices to connect to a detection unit when in close proximity, providing enhanced connectivity with a user’s devices and leads to enhanced visualization of displayed data (Isham, [0079]-[0083]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Syme et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20190162863) teaches to a radiation dosimeter with a semiconductor-based substrate and detection device.
/SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798