DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 22, and 54 are pending and under examination to the extent of the elected species of CAD1, SED ID NO.12, SEQ ID NO:27, and embodiment (xii) of claim 10, wherein the mutation comprises a deletion of one or more nucleotides of SEQ ID NO.12 in Glycine max CAD1 gene.
Claims 24, 25, 27, 29, 33, 38-39, 44, 49, 52, 57, and 59-60 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/10/2026.
Restrictions/Elections
2. Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 22, and 54, directed to a plant or plant part comprising decreased activity of a protein-related polypeptide compared to a control plant or plant part, without traverse, in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant further elects the species of CAD1, SED ID NO:12, SEQ ID NO:27, and embodiment (xii) of claim 10, wherein the mutation comprises a deletion of one or more nucleotides of SEQ ID NO:12 in Glycine max CAD1 gene.
The requirement is deemed proper and is made FINAL. However, method claims may be rejoined in accordance with In re Ochiai when allowability is indicated.
Priority
3. The instant Application is a 371 of International Application No. PCT/IB2023/057645 filed July 27, 2023. The Office acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s domestic priority document Provisional Application No. 63/369,599 filed July 27, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on January 30, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered to the extent of the English translations provided. A signed copy is attached.
Specification
5. The disclosure is objected to because of the following:
P. 105, ln. 22 contains a typographical error; there is no punctation between “was measured” and “Seed protein content.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
7. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 22, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed by the recitation of a “protein-related polypeptide.” This recitation is not an art-recognized class of polypeptides and Applicant has not provided a definition for the term. Furthermore, it is unclear what features, structures, or traits would distinguish a “protein-related polypeptide” from any other polypeptide.
The scope of claim 1 is indefinite because the claim contains multiple broad ranges or limitations together with narrow ranges or limitations that fall within the broad ranges or limitations and does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “cinnamyl-alcohol dehydrogenase (CAD)”, and the claim also recites “cinnamyl-alcohol dehydrogenase 1 (CAD1)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. CAD represents a class of proteins to which CAD1 belongs. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether the feature introduced by the narrower language is merely exemplary language, and therefore not required, or a required feature of the claims. Additional recitations of broad ranges or limitations together with narrow ranges or limitations within claim 1 are: “stomatal cytokinesis defective 2 (SCD2)” as the broad range and “stomatal cytokinesis defective 2A (SCD2A)” and “stomatal cytokinesis defective 2B (SCD2B)” as the narrow range; “glucuronidase 3 (GUS3)” as the broad range and “glucuronidase 3A (GUS3A)” as the narrow range; “protein phosphatase 2A beta subunit (PP2AB)” as the broad range and “protein phosphatase 2A beta subunit A (PP2ABA)” and “protein phosphatase 2A beta subunit B (PP2ABB)” as the narrow range; “alpha/beta-hydrolases superfamily protein (ABH)” as the broad range and “alpha/beta-hydrolases superfamily protein A (ABHA)” and “alpha/beta-hydrolases superfamily protein B (ABHB)” as the narrow range; “calmodulin-binding transcription activator protein 2 (CAMTA2)” as the broad range and “calmodulin-binding transcription activator protein 2A (CAMTA2A)” and “calmodulin-binding transcription activator protein 2B (CAMTA2B)” as the narrow range; and “beta-ketoacyl reductase 1 (KCR1)” as the broad range and “beta-ketoacyl reductase lA (KCR1A)” and “beta-ketoacyl reductase 1B (KCR1B)” as the narrow range. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
The metes and bounds of claim 1 are undefined because the scope of the sequences encompassed by the name of “cinnamyl-alcohol dehydrogenase 1 (CAD1)” is indefinite. The recitation “CAD1” encompasses distinct sequences with distinct functions among different species. For example, Xun et al. (Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2022; 23: 15206 (U)) teaches both distinct functions between Glycine max CAD1 and G. soja CAD1 (Abstract; p. 03, “2.1. Identification of GsCAD1 as a Possible anti-SMV Gene”) and that GmCAD1 is more closely related to Arabidopsis thaliana CAD8 than it is to AtCAD12 (p. 04, Figure 2; see excerpt below).
The scope of claim 6 is indefinite because the claim contains a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that fall within the broad range or limitation and does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. In the present instance, the claim recites the broad recitation “regulatory region”, and the claim also recites “a promoter region, or 5’ untranslated region (5’UTR)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Promoter regions and 5’UTRs are regulatory regions. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether the feature introduced by the narrower language is merely exemplary language, and therefore not required, or a required feature of the claims.
Claim 3 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “increased protein content” is limited to the total content of protein in the plant or if said recitation encompasses increases in any one or more particular protein within the plant. The presence of multiple reasonable interpretations renders the claim indefinite.
The scope of claim 4 is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed by the recitation of a “protein-related gene.” This recitation is not an art-recognized class of genes and Applicant has not provided a definition for the term. Furthermore, it is unclear what features, structures, or traits would distinguish a “protein-related gene” from any other gene.
Dependent claims are included for failing to recite additional limitations that would render the claim(s) definite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
9. Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 is limited to CAD1. Claims 4 and 6 encompass CAD1 and further encompass homologs of CAD1. In encompassing homologs of CAD1, claims 4 and 6 improperly expand the scope of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
11. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 22, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the reasons discussed above in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 1 is interpreted to recite a plant or plant part comprising decreased activity of a protein and/or polypeptide, wherein said plant or plant part comprises a genetic mutation that decreases the activity of said protein and/or polypeptide, and wherein said protein and/or polypeptide is selected from the group consisting CAD family proteins/polypeptides, SCD2 family proteins/polypeptides, RD22 family proteins/polypeptides, GUS3 family proteins/polypeptides, GH10B family proteins/polypeptides, PP2AB family proteins/polypeptides, ABH family proteins/polypeptides, CAMTA2 family proteins/polypeptides, and KCR1 family proteins/polypeptides. The examination of claim 1 is herein restricted to the elected species of CAD1.
Accordingly, claim 1 requires a plant comprising a genetic mutation that decreases the activity of a protein-related polypeptide, wherein said polypeptide comprises CAD1. The claim encompasses all plants, all CAD1 polypeptides, and all mutations that reduce the activity of said polypeptide. The claim also encompasses mutations that are epistatic static to CAD1.
Primary Issue: The recitations encompassing all plants, all CAD1 polypeptides, and all mutations, including epistatic mutations, that reduce the activity of said polypeptide lack adequate written description for the following reasons.
The specification describes the transcript expression levels of the following G. max genes: CAD1, SCD2A, SCD2B, RD22, GUS3A, GH10-B; PP2AB-A, PP2AB-B, A/BH-A, A/BH-B, CAMTA2-A, CAMTA2-B, KCR1A, and KCR1B (pp. 99-101, Example 1, Tables 1-2). Though Table 1 provides numerical values regarding the expression levels of the recited genes, no legend is provided for the table, so it is unclear what exactly the values represent. For example, it is unclear if higher or lower value numbers correspond to higher or lower expression levels. The specification describes the generation of soybean protoplast loss-of-function mutants having mutations in the gene and/or regulatory regions of CAD1, SCD2A, SCD2B, RD22, GUS3A, GH10-B; PP2AB-A, PP2AB-B, A/BH-A, A/BH-B, CAMTA2-A, CAMTA2-B, KCR1A, and KCR1B (pp. 101-103, Example 2). Applicant describes the generation of T0 and T1 soybean plants comprising the loss-of-function mutations in the recited genes and/or their regulatory regions (p. 103, Example 3). Applicant discloses the screening of plants with mutations for desirable phenotypes but does not clearly describe said phenotypes (pp. 103-105, Example 4). The specification describes increased protein and “white flake protein” content in CAD1 double knockout soybean plants (p. 105, Example 5).
Applicant’s working examples disclose only a minor and inconsistent increase in protein content in a single soybean plant comprising a loss-of-function mutation in CAD1. Examples 2-4 appear to be largely prophetic and do not appear to disclose working examples except for the description regarding the CAD1 loss-of-function mutant. It is unclear what mutant plants were actually generated by Applicant besides the CAD1 loss-of-function mutant. No data is provided regarding the expression level of any of the recited genes in any of the plants comprising loss-of-function mutations. No phenotypic data is provided regarding the results of the mutations in any gene except for a CAD1 double knockout mutation. In the case of the CAD1 double knockout mutation, the only data provided is listed in Table 3 (p. 105). Though the specification claims that CAD1 double knockout plants display increased protein content in comparison to wildtype plants, the data presented in Table 3 disagrees. Only one of the two CAD1 double knockout plants displayed a protein content distinct from that present in wildtype plants (44.1±0.2% vs 43.6±0.2%). This difference is minor and is likely insignificant given the inconsistency of Applicant’s results. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no data supporting the claim of increased “white flake protein content” in any mutant plant; nor has Applicant provided a definition describing what is encompassed by the recitation of “white flake protein content.”
The state of the art is well-developed with regard to the structure and function of CAD1 and mutations resulting in reduced CAD1 activity. For example, Zhao et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 2013; 110(33):13660-13665 (previously cited)) teaches loss of CAD1 activity results in alterations in lignin structure and a temperature-sensitive growth defect in Medicago truncatula (Abstract; p. 13661, Figures 1-2; p. 13663, Figure 4). The state of the art also teaches varying numbers of CAD genes and significant allelic and functional variation among said genes among distinct plant species (Wang et al., Forests. 2015; 6(5): 1649-1665 (V); Abstract; p. 1650, “Introduction”, fourth paragraph). However, the state of the art does not teach any feature by which CAD genes specialized for particular functions may be recognized. The state of the art does not teach a mutation, allele, or genetic alteration resulting in the reduction of CAD1 activity and an increase in protein content as a result of said reduction in CAD1 activity. The specification does not disclose or describe any features by which such a mutation, allele, or genetic alteration may be identified. The specification also does not describe any epistatic mutations that affect the expression and/or activity of CAD1 nor does the specification describe any mutations in regions outside of the CAD1 open reading frame, promoter, or 5’UTR. Applicant describes no mutations in CAD1 regulatory regions located distally to the CAD1 open reading frame.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). When there is substantial variation within a genus, as here in which the genus comprises thousands of plant species, CAD1 sequences, and loss-of-function variants thereof, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. Accordingly, claim 1 lacks adequate written description.
Claims 3-4, 6, 10, 22, and 54 do not sufficiently limit the recitations encompassing all plants, all CAD1 polypeptides, and all mutations that reduce the activity of said polypeptides to overcome the deficiencies of claim 1. Accordingly, claims 3-4, 6, 10, 22, and 54 also lack adequate written description.
Claims 4 and 6 also lack written description due to encompassing homologs of CAD1. The Office also notes that the recitations of “regulatory regions” encompasses epistatic and/or distal CAD1 regulatory regions. For the same reasons Applicant has not provided sufficient description to convey possession of the claimed invention commensurate in scope with the encompassed CAD1 polypeptides, Applicant also fails to provide adequate written description for homologs of said polypeptides. For the same reasons Applicant has not provided sufficient description to convey possession of the claimed invention commensurate in scope with the encompassed mutations that reduce the expression and/or activity of CAD1, Applicant also fails to provide adequate written description for regulatory regions of CAD1.
Enablement
12. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for white flake protein content in soybean, does not reasonably provide enablement for white flake protein content in all plant species. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to produce the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
When determining whether a claimed invention complies with the enablement requirement, factors to consider include: “(1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.” Id.
The claimed invention is not enabled for the following reasons.
The breadth of the claim is directed to a plant having reduced activity of a CAD1 polypeptide and comprising increased protein content and/or “white flake protein content.”
The nature of the invention comprises increasing protein content by reducing the activity of the CAD1 polypeptide.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high.
The state of the art is as discussed above.
The state of the art teaches “white flake” as a product yielded from pressing dehulled soybeans (Anderson et al., US-9057000-B2, published 06/16/2015 (B); col. 6, lns. 9-26). The state of the art does not teach “white flake protein” in all plant species or how to increase its content in non-soybean plants. The state of the art does not teach a mutation, allele, or genetic alteration resulting in the reduction of CAD1 activity and an increase in protein content as a result of said reduction in CAD1 activity. The specification does not disclose or describe any features by which such a mutation, allele, or genetic alteration may be identified.
Applicant’s disclosure is as discussed above. Applicant’s working examples disclose only a minor and inconsistent increase in protein content in a single soybean plant comprising a loss-of-function mutation in CAD1 (p. 105, Example 5, Table 3). No data is provided regarding the expression level of any of the recited genes in any of the plants comprising loss-of-function mutations. No phenotypic data is provided regarding the results of the mutations in any gene except for a CAD1 double knockout mutation. In the case of the CAD1 double knockout mutation, the only data provided is listed in Table 3 (p. 105). Though the specification claims that CAD1 double knockout plants display increased protein content in comparison to wildtype plants, the data presented in Table 3 disagrees. Only one of the two CAD1 double knockout plants displayed a protein content distinct from that present in wildtype plants (44.1±0.2% vs 43.6±0.2%). This difference is minor and is likely insignificant given the inconsistency of Applicant’s results. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no guidance with regard as to how to identify or measure “white flake protein” content. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to measure such a content except as previously described for soybeans.
Given the lack of instruction from either Applicant or the prior art with regards to “white flake protein”, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably capable of identifying “white flake protein” or assessing the content of such “protein” in non-soybean plants.
Though one of ordinary skill in the art is highly capable of inducing several genetic alterations to reduce the activity of a plant CAD1 gene, one of ordinary skill in the art would not readily understand how to produce such a reduction in activity in a way that also causes an increase in protein/white flake protein content in non-soybean species. Neither Applicant nor the prior art provide sufficient guidance to remedy this deficiency.
Weighing all of the Wands factors based on the totality of the record as discussed above, the Office determines that it would require undue experimentation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention as claimed. Accordingly, claim 3 is not enabled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
14. Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature without significantly more. The claim recites a seed composition and a protein composition. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the seed composition and protein composition are not modified to be distinguishable from naturally-occurring compositions of seeds and proteins. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because Applicant has not provided a specific definition for a composition, and the claims do not require the protein or seeds be modified in any way. Accordingly, the Office interprets a composition to comprise a product of mixing or combining various components. Because plants naturally comprise mixtures and combinations of proteins, the plants disclosed by Zhao anticipate a protein composition as broadly claimed. Because the plants taught by Zhao produce seeds, the plants taught by Zhao anticipate a composition of seeds as broadly claimed.
Furthermore, with respect to the seed composition, the seed of the recited plant can be produced through breeding with a wildtype variety of the same species. The claims encompass plants that are heterozygous for the recited cad1 loss-of-function mutations as long as said mutation is sufficient to reduce CAD1 activity when only a single allele of the mutation is present. In the case where the recited plant is heterozygous for a mutation that reduces CAD1 activity, half of the seed produced by breeding said heterozygote with a wildtype plant will inherent only wildtype alleles. Therefore, the claimed seed composition encompasses naturally-occurring seeds. Additionally, the claims encompass mutations in regulatory regions that affect the expression of CAD1. If the mutation reducing CAD1 activity is located in a regulatory region but not the open reading frame of the CAD1 gene, the expressed CAD1 protein present in the claimed composition would be identical to the naturally-occurring CAD1 protein if the composition is yielded from a plant heterozygous for the mutation.
In Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., --U.S.--(June 13, 2013), the Supreme Court decided that a naturally-occurring nucleic acid or fragment thereof, whether isolated or not, is not patent-eligible. Therefore, naturally-occurring products, including proteins and seeds, are not patent-eligible. Similarly, naturally-occurring processes are not patent-eligible.
Accordingly, the claim is not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
16. Claims 1, 3-4, 22, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 2013; 110(33):13660-13665 (previously cited)).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Zhao teaches a Medicago truncatula plant (and plant parts) comprising decreased activity of a CAD1 polypeptide compared to a control plant or plant part, wherein said plant or plant part comprises a genetic mutation that decreases the activity of said CAD1 polypeptide (Abstract; p. 13660, right column, second full paragraph). The Office notes that the recitation of “and/or” in ln. 3 of claim 22 indicates that only one of the features recited after “comprises” in ln. 2 is required. Accordingly, a plant comprising decreased activity of CAD1 anticipates claim 22.
Regarding claim 3, the claim does not require an increase in total protein content, only an increase in the content of some protein; the claim does not recite total protein content. For example, the claim limitations can be satisfied by an increase in “white flake” protein content instead of protein content. Additionally, neither the claims nor specification limit the recited “control plant” to a wildtype plant. Therefore, a “control plant” is interpreted to encompass wildtype plants and plants having the same genetic background as the recited plant.
The teachings of Zhao are as discussed above. Zhao does not explicitly describe an increase in protein content per se. However, Zhao teaches the complementation of the cad1-1 mutation via the expression of CAD1 under the control of a constitutive 35S promoter in the cad1-1 mutant (p. 13661, “Complementation of MtCAD1 Mutations”). Furthermore, Zhao discloses the restoration of developmental plasticity responses to cad1-1 plants expressing a 35S:CAD1 construct (p. 13661, Figure 2; p. 13663, Figure 4; p. 13663, “MtCAD1 Mutants Exhibit a Temperature-Sensitive Growth Phenotype). Accordingly, even though Zhao does not explicitly describe the levels of CAD1 protein produced by the 35S:CAD1 overexpression construct, it is clear that the cad1-1 mutant that overexpressed CAD1 comprised more active CAD1 protein than the mutant lacking CAD1 expression. Accordingly, it also reasons that the cad1-1 mutant that overexpresses CAD1 under the control of a 35S promoter has a higher protein content than the cad1-1 mutant completely lacking CAD1 expression. Therefore, Zhao anticipates this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation of a “protein-related gene” is indefinite. For the purpose of compact prosecution, a “protein-related gene” is herein interpreted to encompass a gene. Applicant must clarify the intended recitation. Regarding claim 4, in addition to the teachings discussed above, Zhao teaches wherein the mutation comprises one or more insertions, substitutions, or deletions in at least one native protein-related gene or homolog thereof or in a regulatory region thereof in said plant or plant part, wherein said at least one protein-related gene or homolog encodes said protein-related polypeptide, and wherein a) an expression level of said at least one protein-related gene or homolog thereof is reduced compared to an expression level the gene or homolog thereof in a plant or plant part without said mutation, and/or (b) said mutation reduces level or activity of said protein-related polypeptide compared to level or activity of a copy of said protein-related polypeptide in a plant or plant part without said mutation (p. 13661, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 54, the teachings of Zhao are as discussed above. Applicant has not provided a specific definition for a composition. Accordingly, the Office interprets a composition to comprise a product of mixing or combining various components. Because plants naturally comprise mixtures and combinations of proteins, the plants disclosed by Zhao anticipate a protein composition as broadly claimed. Because the plants taught by Zhao produce seeds (p. 13660, “Isolation of MtCAD1 Mutants”, first paragraph), the plants taught by Zhao anticipate a composition of seeds as broadly claimed.
Accordingly, the claimed invention is anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhao et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 2013; 110(33):13660-13665 (previously cited)) in view of Cañas and Beltrán (Springer New York. 2018 (W)).
Regarding claim 6, the teachings of Zhao are as discussed above. Zhao does not teach a mutation located in a regulatory region, promoter region, or 5’UTR. However, the mutations taught by Zhao, caused by insertions into the coding region of the CAD1 gene, result in a disruption of CAD1 polypeptide activity. Such a phenotype is indistinguishable from a phenotype caused by the disruption of CAD1 polypeptide activity due to an insertion in a regulatory region, promoter region, or 5’UTR. In either case, the end result is the same: an attenuation of CAD1 activity. Furthermore, various methods of gene disruption are well-known in the art and are well-within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art (Cañas and Beltrán, Springer New York. 2018 (V); pp. 19-30, “Functional Genomics Tools Developed in Medicago truncatula to Study Developmental Processes in Legumes”).
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high as evidenced by both Zhao and Cañas. Given the skill and knowledge of a person of ordinary skill in the art, an insertion in a regulatory region, promoter region, or 5’UTR of a CAD1 gene sequence is prima facie obvious and therefore, not novel, in view of the teachings of Zhao further in view of the teachings of Cañas and Beltrán. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention without any surprising or unexpected results.
19. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. 2013; 110(33):13660-13665 (U)), in view of Cahoon et al. (US-6552249-B1, published 04/22/2003 (B)), further in view of Pan et al. (Plant Cell. 2014 Sep 12;26(9):3709–3727 (X)), and further in view of Swaller (US-2010/0175144-A1, published 07/08/2010 (C)).
Regarding claim 10, the teachings of Zhao are as discussed above. Zhao does not teach a deletion in the Glycine max CAD1 gene of SEQ ID NO:12.
Cahoon teaches a G. max CAD sequence comprising 1432 of the 1436 polynucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO:12 (see below) and methods for the construction of chimeric genes comprising portions of soybean CAD genes including cDNA (Abstract; col. 2, lns. 1-9; col. Lns. 39-56). Applicant discloses instant SEQ ID NO:12 as a G. max CAD sequence (instant specification, p. 106, Table 3).
However, Pan describes the biochemical identification of soybean CAD (p. 3710, left column, second full paragraph) and teaches the structures and identification of CAD1, CAD2, and at least three other CAD genes in M. truncatula (Abstract; p. 3711, “(b) M. truncatula CADs”).
Swaller suggests a need for generating plants with altered lignin content to improve yield and biomass conversion properties/characteristics in energy crops[0004]. Swaller also teaches methods, materials, and kits involved in identifying CAD alleles in sorghum plants; breeding methods to incorporate CAD alleles encoding truncated CAD polypeptides into desired sorghum lines or elite sorghum breeding lines and methods for inducing RNA-based suppression of CAD coding sequences; and the association of CAD with lignin biosynthesis[0003-0004],[0072-0084]. Swaller further teaches that the disclosed methods for reducing CAD gene expression can also be applied to hundreds of plant and/or crop species, including soybean and Medicago species[0122-0132].
The combination of Zhao, Cahoon, Pan, and Swaller render obvious a soybean plant having reduced activity of the soybean CAD1 gene.
The level of ordinary skill in the art is high as evidenced by Zhao, Cahoon, Pan, and Swaller. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the produce a soybean plant having reduced expression and/or activity of its endogenous CAD1 polypeptide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given Swaller’s teachings regarding the association of CAD1 and lignin biosynthesis and the benefits of reducing lignin content to improve biomass conversion in energy crops. Soybean is a globally impactful energy crop used for the production of biofuels; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply teachings that promote the production of biofuels in soybean to soybean crops. Therefore, in suggesting the application of the disclosed methods of CAD gene suppression to soybean and Medicago, Swaller provides motivation to suppress the expression of soybean CAD genes, including CAD1, and suggests that methods applicable to CAD1 in Medicago species are also applicable to soybean. Accordingly, the teachings of Zhao and Pan in Medicago species provide additional motivation to suppress the activity of CAD1. As discussed above in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102, Zhao teaches that loss of cad1 activity both alters lignin content and reduces developmental susceptibility in M. truncatula (Abstract). Pan teaches additional methodology and structures by which CAD genes, including CAD1 may be identified. Though Pan’s methods are applied to M. truncatula, as stated above, Swaller suggests that methods applicable to M. truncatula CAD1 are applicable to soybean CAD1. Additionally, the specification indicates SEQ ID NO:12 is the endogenous Glycine max CAD1 gene sequence (p. 03, lns. 14-16; sequence listing). Accordingly, SEQ ID NO:12 is interpreted to be inherent to the endogenous G. max CAD1 sequence and the mRNA produced therefrom. Cahoon teaches a G. max CAD sequence comprising 1432 of the 1436 polynucleotides of instant SEQ ID NO:12 and methods for the construction of chimeric genes comprising portions of soybean CAD genes including cDNA. The sequence of cDNA is inherent to the mRNA from which it is transcribed, and the production of both mRNA and cDNA are routine for one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, a cDNA comprising SEQ ID NO:12 is obvious in view of the teachings of Cahoon.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention without any surprising or unexpected results.
Conclusion
20. No claim is allowed.
Examiner’s Contact Information
/DEQUANTARIUS JAVON SPEED/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/MATTHEW R KEOGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663