DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “a storage database” as recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutek (Pat# 10,449,379).
As to claim 1, Kutek discloses a system for performing functional testing of a device under test (10) , wherein the system comprising: - a self-testing protocol (11) configured to conduct a functionality test and generate a test data that corresponds to a result of the functionality test; - one or more Light Emitting Diodes or other light emitting means (14) configured to - generate an encoded signal corresponding to the generated test data, and- provide a user interface for indicating one or more states of the device to an end user; and - a reader (31,32) configured to read and decode the encoded signal to provide a functional test analysis for the device.
It is noted that the device of Kutek is used to test (10) but does not explicitly about the device under test (10) including a plurality of components in the device. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the device under test (10) would have a plurality of components connected with each other, therefore the functional test would apply to these components.
As to claim 2, Kutek discloses a system as mentioned in claim 1,wherein the functional test analysis comprises: an identity of the device (102), indication of functionality pass or failure of the device, nature of failure of the device, threshold of pass or failure for the device, component missing or mismatch in the device (see column 4, lines 1-15).
As to claim 3, Kutek discloses a system as mentioned in claim 1, wherein the one or more Light Emitting Diodes or other light emitting means (14) is LED which is selected from at least one of: Organic Light Emitting Diodes, is configured to indicate the one or more states of the device selected from: a working mode of the device or other user interface function. (see column 3, lines 31-42)
As to claim 4, Kutek discloses a system as mentioned in claim 1,wherein the encoded signal from an encoder (13) is considered generating in accordance with an encoding scheme .
As to claim 8, the apparatus of Kutek as mentioned in claim 1 would perform the method steps as recited in claim 8.
As to claim 9, the apparatus of Kutek performs the method steps as recited in claim 8, wherein the functional test analysis comprises: indication of functionality pass or failure of the device.
As to claim 10, the apparatus of Kutek performs the method steps as recited in claim 8, wherein the one or more states of the device is selected from: a charging status or a working mode of the device or other user interface function.
As to claim 11, the apparatus of Kutek performs the method steps as recited in claim 8, wherein the encoded signal is generated in accordance with an encoding scheme.
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutek (Pat# 10,449,379) in view of Francis et al (Pat#6,526,048).
As to claims 5 and 12, Kutek discloses a system as mentioned in claims 1 and 4 but does not mention about wherein the encoding scheme is selected from a return to zero (RZ) line coding, a non return to zero (NRZ) line coding.
Francis et al teach the encoding form is selected from a return to zero (RZ) line coding or a non return to zero (NRZ) line coding (see colu8mn 3, lines 39-67).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the encoding code in the device of Kutek is selected from a well-known Return to zero (RZ) line coding or a non return to zero (NRZ) line coding as taught by Francis et al.
As to claims 6 and 13, Kutek in view of Francis et al disclose a system as mentioned in claims 1 and 4-5. It appears that the encoded signal in the device of Kutek is implemented as a lighting pattern corresponding to electrical signals of a single wire serial interface.
As to claims 7 and 14, Kutek discloses a system as mentioned in claim 1, Kutek uses a display (33) for displaying decoded test status data and the functionality test. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the display would inherently include “a storage data base” for the purpose of storing the test data and the functionality test and for displaying the test result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Itoh et al (PG-PUB# 20100220777) disclose test apparatus for 64B/66B encoding process.
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858