DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the application filed 1/27/25. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The IDS filed on 1/27/25 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e, a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
35 USC 101 enumerates four categories of subject matter that Congress deemed to be appropriate subject matter for a patent: processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter.
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Applicant’s claims fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 1-15 are drawn to a method, claims 16-19 are drawn to a system, and claim 20 is drawn to an article of manufacture (i.e. CRM storing instructions)
Determining that a claim falls within one of the four enumerated categories of patentable subject matter recited in 35 USC 101 (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) in Step 1 does not complete the eligibility analysis. Claims drawn only to an abstract idea, a natural phenomenon, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection. As described in MPEP 2106, subsection III, Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis is the first part of the Alice/Mayo test, i.e., the Supreme Court’s “framework for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts.” Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l,134 S. Ct. 2347, 2355, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 77-78, 101 USPQ2d at 1967-68).
In 2019, the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) prepared revised guidance (2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance) for use by USPTO personnel in evaluating subject matter eligibility. The framework for this revised guidance, which sets forth the procedures for determining whether a patent claim or patent application claim is directed to a judicial exception (laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas), is described in MPEP sections 2106.03 and 2106.04.
As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance explains that abstract ideas can be grouped as, e.g., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes. Moreover, this guidance explains that a patent claim or patent application claim that recites a judicial exception is not ‘‘directed to’’ the judicial exception if the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of the judicial exception. A claim that recites a judicial exception, but is not integrated into a practical application, is directed to the judicial exception under Step 2A and must then be evaluated under Step 2B (inventive concept) to determine the subject matter eligibility of the claim.
Step 2A asks: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea? (Prong One) If so, is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application of the judicial exception? (Prong Two) A claim recites a judicial exception when a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception.
In the instant case, claims 1-20 recite(s) a method and system for certain methods of organizing human activities, which is subject matter that falls within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas described in MPEP 2106.04 (2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance) Certain methods of organizing human activities includes fundamental economic practices, like insurance; commercial interactions (i.e. legal obligations, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations). Organizing human activity also encompasses managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions.) The recited method, system, and product are drawn to evaluating correlations between health events and the onset of symptoms. (i.e. managing personal behaviors)
In particular, claims 1, 16, and 20 recite a method and system for:
determining correlation strength using the first user data and the second user data, the correlation strength being based on the received time information for each of the one or more factor events and the received time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition.
Claims 3 and 18 further recite: determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, the third user data, and the fourth user data
Claims 9 and 19 further recite: determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, and the environment data
MENTAL PROCESS-ANALYSIS
Moreover, the language of claims 1, 16, and 20 encompasses performance of the limitations(s) in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components.
In the instant case, the limitation of “determining correlation strength using the first user data and the second user data…” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user assessing a pattern and calculating a correlation strength(s).
Similarly, the languages of claims 3 and 18 and claims 9 and 19 encompasses performance of the limitations(s) in the mind. As drafted, the steps of “determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, the third user data, and the fourth user data” (claims 3 and 18) and “determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, and the environment data” encompasses the user assessing a pattern and recalculating a correlation strength(s)
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that "can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). (emphasis added) As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978).
Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.
The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g., pen and paper or a slide rule) to perform the claim limitation. See, e.g., Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 65, 175 USPQ at 674-75, 674 (noting that the claimed "conversion of [binary-coded decimal] numerals to pure binary numerals can be done mentally," i.e., "as a person would do it by head and hand."); Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 1139, 120 USPQ2d 1473, 1474 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that claims to a mental process of "translating a functional description of a logic circuit into a hardware component description of the logic circuit" are directed to an abstract idea, because the claims "read on an individual performing the claimed steps mentally or with pencil and paper").
Moreover, courts do not distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, "[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that computer-implemented method for "anonymous loan shopping" was an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim language does not recite any improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1); see also MPEP 2106.05(a)(I-II)). Moreover, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the claimed invention does not: apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)); effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP 2106.05(c)); or apply or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment see MPEP 2106.05(e). (Considerations for integration into a practical application in Step 2A, prong two and for recitation of significantly more than the judicial exception in Step 2B)
While abstract ideas, natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patenting by themselves, claims that integrate these exceptions into an inventive concept are thereby transformed into patent-eligible inventions. Step 2B asks: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 1,16, and 20 additionally recite: receiving first user data…; receiving second user data…; outputting the correlation strength. These additional steps amount to insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). In the instant case the additional steps amount to necessary data gathering and outputting, (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output). See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering)
Claims 1, 16, and 20 recite additional limitation(s), including the steps of “providing an interface for receiving data” and “storing the first user data and the second user data;” which is/ are generic functions that amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system.
The independent claims recite(s) additional limitation(s), including: a non-transitory computer readable medium; a processing unit; a storage unit; and an interface. The additional components is/are generic components that perform functions well-understood, routine and conventional activities that amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system.
The generic nature of the computer system used to carryout steps of the recited method is underscored by the system description in the instant application, which discloses: “Computer-readable media may include non-transitory computer- readable media, which corresponds to a tangible medium such as data storage media (e.g., RAM, ROM, EEPROM, flash memory, or any other medium that can be used to store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be accessed by a computer)" (pg. 28, lines 10-16)
The disclosure also states: “Instructions may be executed by one or more processors, such as one or more processing units, one or more digital signal processors (DSPs), general purpose microprocessors, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable logic arrays (FPGAs), or other equivalent integrated or discrete logic circuitry. Accordingly, the term “processor” as used herein may refer to any of the foregoing structures or any other physical structure suitable for implementation of the described techniques" (pg. 28, lines 17-22)
The application further explains: “The storage unit may be physically located on a computing device, such as a mobile computing device or another similar electronic device, or digitally located in a remote location, such as a cloud server. A user may access the storage unit via user interface 100, user interface 300, or another suitable interface or device known to one of ordinary skill in the art.” (see page )
The description of the system components in the disclosure underscores that the applicant's perceived invention/ novelty focuses on the computerized implementation of the abstract idea, not the underlying structure of generic system components.
The courts have recognized certain computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II)). Among these are the following features, which are recited in claims 1, 16, and 20:
- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
- Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
- Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
Claims 2-15 are dependent from Claim 1 and include(s) all the limitations of claim(s) 1. However, the additional limitations of the claims 2-15 fail to recite significantly more than the abstract idea. More specifically, the additional limitations further define the abstract idea with additional steps or details regarding data types, or or the additional steps amount to insignificant extra solution activities. Therefore, claim(s) 2-15 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 17-19 are dependent from Claim 16 and include(s) all the limitations of claim(s) 16. However, the additional limitations of the claims 17-19 fail to recite significantly more than the abstract idea. More specifically, the additional limitations further define the abstract idea with additional steps or details regarding data types; or the additional steps amount to insignificant extra solution activities. Therefore, claim(s) 17-19 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Because Applicant’s claimed invention recites a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself, the claimed invention is not patent eligible.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “storage unit” in claims 1 and 9; “a processing unit and a storage unit configured to” in claims 16, and 18-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10-12, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sparks et al ( US 20230005574 A1) in view of Noro et al (US 20180330822 A1).
Claims 1, 16, and 20 Sparks teaches a system comprising:
a user interface; and (par. 4; par. 25-The user device may generate and/or display, via an interface (e.g., a graphical user interface (GUI), etc.), screening questions; par. 47-51)
a processing unit and a storage unit, the processing unit and the storage unit configured to perform operations/ a method performing operations stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium, (par. 19-22; par. 45; par. 125-127) the operations comprising:
providing an interface for receiving data; (par. 29; par. 45-interface(s) for clinical messages; prescription data; par. 52-user interface)
receiving first user data via the interface, the first user data indicating, at least, occurrence of one or more factor events and time information for each of the one or more factor events (par. 30-the user device may solicit data/information associated with the user. For example, the user profile may be analyzed to determine a time (e.g., instance, date, period, etc.) when responses to screening questions and/or data/information from the one or more devices (e.g., an accelerometer, a pedometer, a geographical position sensing (GPC) module, an oximeter, a tactile sensor, etc.) associated with the user device was received. The user device (and/or a computing device) may determine, based on the time when the responses to the screening questions and/or the data/information from the one or more devices was received, a time frame, a time period, a time window…);
receiving second user data via the interface, the second user data indicating, at least, occurrence of one or more symptom expressions of a health condition and time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition; (par. 25-27: getting symptomatic indicator information: Screening questions may be associated with and/or include one or more symptomatic indicators. A symptomatic indicator may indicate a likelihood that the user (e.g., patient, subject, etc.) may be experiencing and/or be affected by a health issue, a medical issue, a physiological issue, a psychological issue; par. 30; par. 62-time data)
storing the first user data and the second user data in a storage unit; (par. 45-screening information, program instructions, and/or any other data/information may be stored in a long-term memory, such as a non-volatile magnetic optical, an electronic memory storage device (not shown); par. 52; par. 56)
determining correlation strength using the first user data and the second user data, and (par. 50; par. 52-53: The analysis module 115 may access data/information associated with the screening questions and/or symptomatic indicators (e.g., stored in the memory 108 or any other location, etc.) and correlate each response to the screening questions and/or symptomatic indicators to the data/information associated with the screening questions and/or symptomatic indicators, such as an electronic medical record (EMR) associated with the user, a military service record associated with the user, and/or the like; par. 67; par. 73-correlation data with features; par. 88)
outputting the correlation strength to the interface, wherein the first user data and the second user data can be received and stored separately in any order or received and stored together. (par. 54; par. 58-61-determining, outputting and storing scoring; par. 91)
Sparks teaches a system/method as explained but does not expressly disclose the correlation strength being based on the received time information for each of the one or more factor events and the received time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition. Noro teaches a method and system for determining strength of correlations based upon the timing of the event factor data and timing of the symptom data. (par. 61-64: the extracting function 152 may use either a time-series association analysis or a sequential pattern mining scheme each of which is an association analysis taking the order of occurrence into consideration; par. 89-92). At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method/system of Sparks with the teaching of Noro to determine a correlation (e.g. strength of correlation) between the types of data based on the received time information for each of the one or more factor events and the received time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition. One would have been motivated to include this feature to investigate possible causation/triggers in the data, and to assess how timing factors may impact/improve a care plan for the patient. (See: Noro, par. 92)
Claims 2 Sparks teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the interface is a user interface of an electronic device, the user interface configured for receiving data directly from a user. (par. 48- The interface module 112 can include any interface for receiving information from a user)
Claims 3-4 and 18 Sparks discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving third user data via the interface, the third user data indicating, at least, occurrence of one or more factor events and time information for each of the one or more factor events (par. 30-the user device may solicit data/information associated with the user. For example, the user profile may be analyzed to determine a time (e.g., instance, date, period, etc.) when responses to screening questions and/or data/information from the one or more devices (e.g., an accelerometer, a pedometer, a geographical position sensing (GPC) module, an oximeter, a tactile sensor, etc.) associated with the user device was received. The user device (and/or a computing device) may determine, based on the time when the responses to the screening questions and/or the data/information from the one or more devices was received, a time frame, a time period, a time window…; par. 40-method/system is for use by multiple users: The device identifier 116 may be and/or include any identifier, token, character, string, and/or the like, for differentiating one user or user device (e.g., user device 102) from another user or user device. The device identifier 116 may identify a user or user device as belonging to a particular class of users or user devices. );
receiving fourth user data via the interface, the fourth user data indicating, at least, occurrence of one or more symptom expressions of a health condition and time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition; (par. 25-27: getting symptomatic indicator information: Screening questions may be associated with and/or include one or more symptomatic indicators. A symptomatic indicator may indicate a likelihood that the user (e.g., patient, subject, etc.) may be experiencing and/or be affected by a health issue, a medical issue, a physiological issue, a psychological issue; par. 30; par. 62-time data)
storing the third user data and the fourth user data in the storage unit; (par. 45-screening information, program instructions, and/or any other data/information may be stored in a long-term memory, such as a non-volatile magnetic optical, an electronic memory storage device (not shown); par. 52; par. 56)
wherein the first user data and the second user data are received from a first user, and the third user data and the fourth user data are received from a second user. (par. 3- The data/information may be associated/integrated with a health and/or medical record system and used to determine, track, and/or the like various health and medical related issues that may affect a user and/or multiple users of a similar demographic; par. 38-40- system for use by multiple users; par. 55-56; par. 70).
Sparks does not expressly disclose updating the correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, the third user data, and the fourth user data; and outputting the updated correlation strength to the interface.
Noro discloses determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, the third user data, and the fourth user data; (par. 40-41; par. 46; par.65; par. 74; par. 89-90-change amount of correlation value) and outputting the updated correlation strength to the interface. (Fig. 18-19; par. 59-61; par. 111-112) At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method/system of Sparks with the teaching of Noro to update correlation data (e.g. strength of correlation) using additional data from other patients. One would have been motivated to include this feature to investigate possible causation/triggers in the data, and to more accurately assess how timing factors may impact/improve a care plan for the patient. (See: Noro, par. 92)
Claim 6 Sparks discloses a system/method wherein the first user data indicates quantity information used in determining correlation strength. (par. 5; par. 29-baseline metric data is used; par. 54- quantitative and scoring information used: The analysis module 115 may associate each screening questions and/or associated symptomatic indicator with a scale (e.g., a nominal scale, an ordinal scale, an interval scale, a ratio scale, etc.) of a plurality of scales. Each scale of the plurality of scales may a quantitative and/or a standard system for grading a response (or change from a previous response) and/or symptomatic indicator; par. 91)
Claim 8 Sparks teaches a method/system, wherein the time information for each of the one or more factor events and the time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition each comprise a descriptor of a general time of day. (par. 30; par. 62)
Claim 10 Sparks discloses a method/system, wherein the first user data includes at least one of (i) consuming food or drinks, (ii) ingesting a medication, or (iii) participating in a physical activity. (par. 5-6: additional data/information that track symptoms, activity, diet, and/or vitals of a user may be collected from one or more devices associated with the user device and/or the user, such as an accelerometer, a pedometer, a geographical position sensing (GPC) module, an oximeter, a tactile sensor, and/or the like. For example, data/information (e.g., one or more signals, etc.) from an accelerometer, a pedometer, a geographical position sensing (GPC) module, and/or a tactile sensor may be analyzed (e.g., a long-term evaluation, etc.) to determine movement and impact velocities associated with the user device and/or the user.)
Claim 11. Sparks discloses a method/system, wherein the first user data includes an indication of the absence of at least one of (i) consuming food or drinks, (ii) ingesting a medication, or (iii) participating in a physical activity. (par. 5-6: additional data/information that track symptoms, activity, diet, and/or vitals of a user may be collected from one or more devices associated with the user device and/or the user, such as an accelerometer, a pedometer, a geographical position sensing (GPC) module, an oximeter, a tactile sensor, and/or the like. For example, data/information (e.g., one or more signals, etc.) from an accelerometer, a pedometer, a geographical position sensing (GPC) module, and/or a tactile sensor may be analyzed (e.g., a long-term evaluation, etc.) to determine movement and impact velocities associated with the user device and/or the user.)
Claim 12 Sparks teaches a method/system, wherein the interface includes one or more regions configured to receive time information for the one or more factor events and time information for the one or more symptom expressions. (par. 47-50)
Claim 15. Sparks does not expressly disclose but Noro teaches further comprising outputting a treatment recommendation based on the determined correlation strength. (Fig. 18; par. 109-112- changes/ improvements to care based upon changes in correlation values) At the time of the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system/method of Sparks with the teaching of Noro, to provide recommendations for treatment based on correlation values. One would have been motivated to include this feature to identify a health care action relevant to a health care action causing a symptom of the subject, and to improve a care plan for the patient to minimize further health events/crises for a patient. (See Noro: par. 26)
Claim(s) 5, 7, 9, 13-14, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sparks et al (US 20230005574 A1) in view of Noro et al (US 20180330822 A1), as applied to claims 1, 16, and 20, and in further view of Taghvaeeyan et al (US 20210267488 A1-hereinafter Tag)
Claims 5 and 17 Sparks and Noro in combination teach the method of claims 1 and 16 as explained, but do not expressly disclose wherein the correlation strength is outputted to the interface as a ranking between the one or more factor events and the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition, the ranking listing the one or more factor events having the greatest correlation with the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition in descending order based on correlation strength.
Tag discloses a method and system of providing a ranking of triggers related to a factor event and symptoms. (par. 143- Computing device 106 may also generate a notification to user 102 identifying occurrences of breathing events over a period of time, ranking triggers (e.g., locations, one or more environmental parameters, user input, or the like), indicate a probability of a future occurrence of a breathing event, or the like.) At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system and method of Sparks and Noro in combination with the teaching of Tag to include outputting the correlation strength to the interface as a ranking between the one or more factor events and the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition, the ranking listing the one or more factor events having the greatest correlation with the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition in descending order based on correlation strength. One would have been motivated to include these features to better communicate information which can predict and minimize further health events/crises for a patient. (See Tag.; par. 8- may enable a user to identify triggers that cause improved breathing and worsened breathing.)
Claim 7. Sparks and Noro in combination teach the method of claims 1 and 16 as explained, but do not expressly disclose wherein the time information for each of the one or more factor events and the time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition each comprise a start time and an end time.
Tag discloses a system and method wherein the time information for each of the one or more factor events and the time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition each comprise a start time and an end time.(par. 220-221-using time stamps for the rescue inhaler to mark the beginning and end of an episode and the duration.)
At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the system and method of Sparks and Noro in combination with the teaching of Tag to include precise time information for symptom onset/duration. One would have been motivated to include these features to better capture information which can more precisely predict and minimize further health events/crises for a patient. (See Tag.; par. 8- may enable a user to identify triggers that cause improved breathing and worsened breathing.)
Claim 9 and 19. Sparks and Noro in combination disclose determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data; and outputting the updated correlation strength to the interface, as explained in the rejection of claims 3-4.
More specifically, Sparks does not disclose but Noro discloses determining an updated correlation strength using the first user data, the second user data, and additional information; (par. 40-41; par. 46; par.65; par. 74; par. 89-90-change amount of correlation value) and outputting the updated correlation strength to the interface. (Fig. 18-19; par. 59-61; par. 111-112) At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method/system of Sparks with the teaching of Noro to update correlation data (e.g. strength of correlation) using additional data. One would have been motivated to include this feature to investigate possible causation/triggers in the data, and to more accurately assess how timing factors may impact/improve a care plan for the patient. (See: Noro, par. 92)
Sparks and Noro do not expressly disclose, but Tag teaches: receiving environment data indicating, at least, weather conditions corresponding to a predetermined area; storing the environment data in the storage unit. (par. 111; par. 184) At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method/system of Sparks and Noro in combination with the teaching of Tag to update correlation data (e.g. strength of correlation) using additional information obtained. One would have been motivated to include this feature to investigate possible causation/triggers in the data, and to more accurately assess how timing factors may impact/improve a care plan for the patient. (See: Noro, par. 92)
Claim 13 Sparks does not expressly disclose wherein the correlation strength is based on an elapsed time determined explicitly using an algorithm that calculates a difference between the time information for each of the one or more factor events and the time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition.
Tag teaches a system/method wherein the correlation strength is based on an elapsed time determined explicitly using an algorithm that calculates a difference between the time information for each of the one or more factor events and the time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition. (par. 111- comparing the at least one output representative of the at least one respiratory related parameter to a respective baseline respiratory related parameter includes determining whether the at least one output representative of the at least one respiratory related parameter is within a respective threshold value of the respective baseline respiratory related parameter. In some examples, the respective threshold values may be fixed. For example, the respective threshold values may be predetermined based on user input. In other examples, the respective threshold values may vary over time. For example, in response to user input, computing device 106 may adjust (e.g., modify or update) one or more baseline respiratory parameters at regular or irregular intervals, in response to user input, determined occurrences of breathing events, data received from modules 162, 164 or 166; par. 107- a breathing event may, for instance, include detecting a smooth breathing state (e.g., improved breathing relative to average ventilation), detecting a hard-breathing state (e.g., worse breathing relative to average ventilation), or the like. In some examples, determining the occurrence of the breathing event based on the at least one output includes comparing the at least one output representative of the at least one respiratory related parameter to a respective baseline respiratory related parameter. For example, where the output representative of the at least one respiratory related parameter includes an amplitude and frequency (e.g., an average rate of a repeated respiratory parameter) of respiration of user 102, the respective baseline respiratory related parameter may include an average amplitude and frequency of respiration of user 102; par. 152)
At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method/system of Sparks and Noro in combination with the teaching of Tag. One would have been motivated to include these features to investigate possible causation/triggers in the data, and to more accurately assess how timing factors may impact/improve a care plan for the patient. (See: Noro, par. 92)
Claim 14 Sparks and Noro do not expressly disclose, but Tag teaches a method/system, wherein the correlation strength is based on an elapsed time determined implicitly from a table of values corresponding to the time information for each of the one or more factor events and the time information for each of the one or more symptom expressions of a health condition. (par. 220-224: using time-series data; generating a labeled data matrix.)
At the time of the effective filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method/system of Sparks and Noro in combination with the teaching of Tag. One would have been motivated to include these features to investigate causation/triggers in the data, and to more accurately assess how timing factors may impact/improve a care plan for the patient. (See: Noro, par. 92)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li et al ( US 20180011856 A1)- discloses a system and method to extract a knowledge base that aids in identifying a potential relationship between a set of given symptoms provided by a user of an online healthcare service and co-occurring disease terms, such that a likely disease may be inferred from the set of symptoms.
Heywood et al ( US 20200279622 A1)-discloses digital health systems that collect, aggregate and analyze medical information and data from numerous sources to determine various treatment options.
RACHEL L. PORTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/Rachel L. Porter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684