DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/998,781 filed 01/27/2025. Claims 1-10, 12-14, 16-20, 22 and 23 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 and 06/05/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first preview component" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evans et al. (US 2021/0150222), herein Evans.
Consider claim 1, Evans clearly teaches a method for live streaming interactions (Fig. 5) comprising:
presenting, in response to an access request for a target live streaming room, a live streaming interface for providing live streaming content; (Fig. 2: In response to a user launching a first live video an interface is displayed including live video 210, [0020], [0029], [0031].) and
presenting a multimedia content area in the live streaming interface, the multimedia content area providing a set of multimedia contents associated with the live streaming content, the multimedia content area comprising a sharing entry corresponding to each multimedia content. (Fig. 2: The interface includes highlight menu 230 containing highlights 235 and sharing elements 240, [0029], [0030].)
Consider claim 2, Evans clearly teaches the multimedia content area further presents time information, the time information indicating a corresponding time instant of each multimedia content corresponding to the live streaming content. (Figs. 1, 2: The video 110 may be rendered on a client system with the timeline 115, on which visual markers such as the one corresponding to the portion time range 120 may be overlaid, [0022], [0029].)
Consider claim 3, Evans clearly teaches a presentation order of the set of multimedia contents in the multimedia content area is based on an order of the respective time instants. (Figs. 1, 2: The video 110 may be rendered on a client system with the timeline 115, on which visual markers such as the one corresponding to the portion time range 120 may be overlaid, [0022], [0029].)
Consider claim 4, Evans clearly teaches the set of multimedia contents comprises at least one of: a first multimedia content automatically generated based on the live streaming content; a second multimedia content published by a managing party of the target live streaming room during the live streaming. (The highlights may be extracted by a computing system, or specified by a publisher or creator, [0021], [0028].)
Consider claim 9, Evans clearly teaches presenting, in response to a playback request for the live streaming content, a time axis corresponding to the live streaming content; determining, based on the playback time instant indicated by the time axis, a fourth multimedia content associated with the playback time instant in the set of multimedia contents; and presenting, a second sharing component associated with the fourth multimedia content. (Figs. 1, 2: The video 110 may be rendered on a client system with the timeline 115 on which a plurality of visual markers for each highlight 235, including the portion time range 120, may be overlaid, [0022], [0029].)
Consider claim 22, Evans clearly teaches an electronic device includes:
at least one processing unit; and at least one memory coupled to the at least one processing unit and storing instructions for execution by the at least one processing unit, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing unit, causing the apparatus to perform a method for live streaming interactions (Fig. 8, [0077]-[0081]) comprising:
presenting, in response to an access request for a target live streaming room, a live streaming interface for providing live streaming content; (Fig. 2: In response to a user launching a first live video an interface is displayed including live video 210, [0020], [0029], [0031].) and
presenting a multimedia content area in the live streaming interface, the multimedia content area providing a set of multimedia contents associated with the live streaming content, the multimedia content area comprising a sharing entry corresponding to each multimedia content. (Fig. 2: The interface includes highlight menu 230 containing highlights 235 and sharing elements 240, [0029], [0030].)
Consider claim 23, Evans clearly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program, which when executed by a processor, implements a method for live streaming interactions (Fig. 8, [0077]-[0081]) comprising:
presenting, in response to an access request for a target live streaming room, a live streaming interface for providing live streaming content; (Fig. 2: In response to a user launching a first live video an interface is displayed including live video 210, [0020], [0029], [0031].) and
presenting a multimedia content area in the live streaming interface, the multimedia content area providing a set of multimedia contents associated with the live streaming content, the multimedia content area comprising a sharing entry corresponding to each multimedia content. (Fig. 2: The interface includes highlight menu 230 containing highlights 235 and sharing elements 240, [0029], [0030].)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US 2021/0150222) in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0285854), herein Xu.
Consider claim 5, Evans clearly teaches receiving publication information about a third multimedia content. (Fig. 2: Highlights 235, [0029])
However, Evans does not explicitly teach receiving publication information about a third multimedia content that is newly published; and presenting the third multimedia content in the multimedia content area.
In an analogous art, Xu, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving publication information about a third multimedia content that is newly published; and presenting the third multimedia content in the multimedia content area. (Figs. 4, 5: When an event is detected a highlight 511 is displayed in area 510, [0063]-[0087].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Evans by receiving publication information about a third multimedia content that is newly published; and presenting the third multimedia content in the multimedia content area, as taught by Xu, for the benefit of presenting newly occurring highlights to the user.
Consider claim 6, Evans combined with Xu clearly teaches in response to receiving the publication information, presenting, at a predetermined location in the live streaming interface, a first sharing component associated with the third multimedia content regardless of whether the multimedia content area is currently presented in the live streaming interface. (Figs. 4, 5: When an event is detected area 510 is displayed including highlight 511, [0063]-[0087] Xu.)
Consider claim 7, Evans combined with Xu clearly teaches ceasing to present the first preview component after the first sharing component is presented for a predetermined duration. (Fig. 9: In step 902 detected events are displayed in a first node indication area for a specified display duration, [0127]-[0135] Xu.)
Consider claim 8, Evans combined with Xu clearly teaches the publication information comprises: a text description of the newly published multimedia content; (Fig. 2: Highlight 235 includes text description Evans.) and/or a cover of the newly published multimedia content.
Claims 10, 12-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US 2021/0150222) in view of Zhen et al. (US 2023/0336792), herein Zhen.
Consider claim 10, Evans clearly teaches receiving a selection for a target sharing entry, the target sharing entry corresponding to a target multimedia content in the set of multimedia contents; (Fig. 2: The user may share highlight 235 by selecting element 240, [0030].) presenting a sharing interface comprising a preview area and a selection area, wherein the selection area presents a set of sharing manners for sharing the target multimedia content; (Figs. 3A-3C: Share interfaces include an image of the highlight and a plurality of sharing manners, [0031].) and generating, in response to a selection of a first sharing manner from the set of sharing manners, a work corresponding to the target multimedia content. (Figs. 3D, 3E: Post 340 is shared with selected users, [0031], [0032].)
However, Evans does not explicitly teach wherein the preview area plays the target multimedia content.
In an analogous art, Zhen, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches wherein the preview area plays the target multimedia content, (Fig. 15: Split screen area 1501 includes the playback image of the target segment and share button 1503, [0054], [0140].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Evans by wherein the preview area plays the target multimedia content, as taught by Zhen, for the benefit of allowing the user to view the highlight while performing the sharing operation.
Consider claim 12, Evans combined with Zhen clearly teaches the generation of the work is further based on the publication information of the target multimedia content. (Figs. 3D, 3E: Post 340 includes highlight information, [0031], [0032] Evans.)
Consider claim 13, Evans combined with Zhen clearly teaches presenting, at a first device associated with a first user, a play interface for works corresponding to the work, wherein the play interface for works comprises an access entry to the target live streaming room; and in response to a selection of the access entry by the first user, presenting, at the first device, a first live streaming interface corresponding to the target live streaming room, so that the target multimedia content corresponding to the work is displayed in the first live streaming interface. (Figs. 3D, 3E: Post 340 includes watch live elements 350, 360 to launch the first video on the client system, [0031], [0032] Evans.)
Consider claim 14, Evans combined with Zhen clearly teaches in response to a selection of a second sharing manner from the set of sharing manners, generating, in a target session, a card message corresponding to the target multimedia content, wherein the generation of the card message is further based on the publication information of the target multimedia content. (Fig. 3A: The highlight can be shared as a message in a comment or post, [0031].)
Consider claim 16, Evans combined with Zhen clearly teaches in response to a selection of a card message by a second user associated with the target session, presenting, at a second device associated with the second user, a second live streaming interface corresponding to the target live streaming room, so that the target multimedia content corresponding to the card message is displayed in the second live streaming interface. (Figs. 3D, 3E: Call to action elements include watch live elements 350, 360 to launch the first video on the client system, [0031], [0032] Evans.)
Consider claim 17, Evans combined with Zhen clearly teaches generating, in response to a selection of a third sharing manner from the set of sharing manners, an access link corresponding to the target multimedia content. (Share interface 330 include a link to highlight 315, [0031] Evans.)
Consider claim 18, Evans combined with Zhen clearly teaches in response to a selection of the access link by a third user, presenting, at a third device associated with the third user, a third live streaming interface corresponding to the target live streaming room, so that the target multimedia content corresponding to the access link is displayed in the third live streaming interface. (Figs. 3D, 3E: Post 340 includes watch live elements 350, 360 to launch the first video on the client system, [0031], [0032] Evans.)
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US 2021/0150222) in view of Bargas et al. (US 2014/0075307), herein Bargas.
Consider claim 19, Evans clearly teaches receiving a sharing request for sharing the target live streaming room associated with the live streaming content, sharing information for the target live streaming room. (Fig. 2: Sharing element 240, [0030])
However, Evans does not explicitly teach presenting a preconfigured set of sharing styles associated with the content; and generating, in response to a selection of a target sharing style from the set of sharing styles, sharing information for the content based on the target sharing style.
In an analogous art, Bargas, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches presenting a preconfigured set of sharing styles associated with the content; and generating, in response to a selection of a target sharing style from the set of sharing styles, sharing information for the content based on the target sharing style. (The user selects a thumbnail image from a selection of images gathered from the content itself, [0036].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Evans by presenting a preconfigured set of sharing styles associated with the content; and generating, in response to a selection of a target sharing style from the set of sharing styles, sharing information for the content based on the target sharing style, as taught by Bargas, for the benefit of allowing the user to customize the sharing message.
Consider claim 20, Evans combined with Bargas clearly teaches the set of sharing styles corresponds to a set of pictures associated with the live streaming room. (The user selects a thumbnail image from a selection of images gathered from the content itself, [0036] Bargas.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425