DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 01/27/2025 is acknowledged and has been approved for entry by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4 appears to be missing a coma after the term “film”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "11" and "1" have both been used to designate “base body”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “base optical element” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses eyeglasses – (construed as a functionalized optical layered structure). The structure to include a multilayered retardation layer 20 – (construed as a first element representing a first single-layer or multi-layer functional film); a polarizing plate 24 to include a protection layer 36 or polarizing element layer 38 – (construed as at least one second element selected from a protection liner or a base optical element or a second functional film); a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 22 – (construed as at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer placed in contact with at least one surface of the multilayered retardation layer/first element and at least one surface of the polarizing plate/second element), wherein the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is of optical quality and comprises coloring agent, see at least figure 3 and [0014].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Coue discloses a functionalized laminated optical element. The element to include a functional film structure of a single layer or a multilayer structure, see abstract – (construed as a first element representing a first single-layer or multi-layer functional film); an optical base element, see abstract – (construed as at least one second element); a layer of a pressure-sensitive adhesive of optical quality, see abstract – (construed as at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer placed in contact with at least one surface of the first element and at least one surface of the second element, wherein the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is of optical quality).
Coue does not explicitly disclose the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprises coloring agents.
Sato discloses multilayered eyeglasses – (construed as a functionalized optical layered structure). The eyeglasses to include the use of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 22, wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer contains coloring material, see at least figure 3 and [0014]. One of ordinary skill would appreciate Sato for its inventive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising coloring material as doing so allows for compensation of color changes due to other layers, see at least [0028].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coue’s pressure-sensitive adhesive layer to include a coloring agent as taught by Sato to provide the functionalized laminated optical element with a means for correcting the color of the optical element as suggested by Sato.
Regarding claims 3-4, as previously discussed, modified Coue discloses the second element is a base optical element and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer disposed between the first and second elements, see Coue discussion in claim 1 rejection. And the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer defines a peel force when dry and a peel force when wet, each above 20 N/25 mm. And a decrease between the peel force of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer when dry and the peel force when wet is not higher than 10%, see Coue [0012], [0054], [0111] – (corresponds to and overlaps a peel force when dry and a peel force when wet, each above 13N/25 mm to separate the first element from the base optical element; and a decrease between the peel force of the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer when dry and the peel force when wet is not higher than 35%). Concerning the claimed range: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer peel force that corresponds to the claimed ranges, as the prior art further suggests this improves edging performance. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, modified Coue discloses the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus G' below 1.6 x 105 Pa at 85°C, and demonstrates a dry peel strength and a wet peel force strength both above 20 N/25 mm, see Coue [0077]. Concerning the claimed range: Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer storage modulus that corresponds to the claimed ranges, as the prior art further suggests this exhibits a very strong adhesion between the lens and the functional film structure. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record).
Regarding claim 6, Coue discloses a functionalized laminated optical element. The element to include a functional film structure of a single layer or a multilayer structure, see abstract – (construed as a first element representing a first single-layer or multi-layer functional film); an optical base element, see abstract – (construed as at least one second element selected from the group consisting of a protection liner, a base optical element and a second functional film); a layer of a pressure-sensitive adhesive of optical quality disposed between the functional film and base optical element, see abstract – (construed as at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer placed in contact with at least one surface of the first element and at least one surface of the second element, wherein the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is of optical quality).
Coue does not explicitly disclose the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprises coloring agents.
Sato discloses multilayered eyeglasses – (construed as a functionalized optical layered structure). The eyeglasses to include the use of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 22, wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer contains coloring material, see at least figure 3 and [0014]. One of ordinary skill would appreciate Sato for its inventive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising coloring material as doing so allows for compensation of color changes due to other layers, see at least [0028].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coue’s pressure-sensitive adhesive layer to include a coloring agent as taught by Sato to provide the functionalized laminated optical element with a means for correcting the color of the optical element as suggested by Sato.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record).
Regarding claim 7, Coue discloses a functionalized laminated optical element as an ophthalmic lens, see [0001] – (construed as an eyewear device). The lens is configured to be trimmed so that its outline fits the shape of a frame that receives it, see [0004] – (construed as a supporting structure such as a frame and at least one functionalized optical article enclosed within the supporting structure, and edged according to the dimensions of the supporting structure). The functionalized laminated optical element/lens includes an optical base element and a layered structure, see abstract – (construed as the functionalized optical article comprising a base element and applied thereon, a functionalized optical layered structure).
The functionalized laminated optical element laminate includes a functional film structure of a single layer or a multilayer structure, see abstract – (construed as a first element representing a first single-layer or multi-layer functional film); an optical base element, see abstract – (construed as at least one second element selected from the group consisting of a protection liner, a base optical element and a second functional film); a layer of a pressure-sensitive adhesive of optical quality disposed between the functional film and base optical element, see abstract – (construed as at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer placed in contact with at least one surface of the first element and at least one surface of the second element, wherein the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is of optical quality).
Coue does not explicitly disclose the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprises coloring agents.
Sato discloses multilayered eyeglasses – (construed as a functionalized optical layered structure). The eyeglasses to include the use of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 22, wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer contains coloring material, see at least figure 3 and [0014]. One of ordinary skill would appreciate Sato for its inventive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising coloring material as doing so allows for compensation of color changes due to other layers, see at least [0028].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coue’s pressure-sensitive adhesive layer to include a coloring agent as taught by Sato to provide the functionalized laminated optical element with a means for correcting the color of the optical element as suggested by Sato.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baillet (US 2016/0320636 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Sato does not explicitly disclose an application technique of the coloring agent. However, such techniques are well-known and conventional in the art. Moreover, one of ordinary skill would chose any number of common techniques to apply the coloring agent. In any event, Baillet discloses a color balancing means for an optical article. This includes a technique of using a dye – (construed as a coloring agent) which is applied in a separate process such as a printing primer or inkjet, sublimation or spraying, see [0035], [0042].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sato’s coloring agent to include a coloring agent application technique of sublimable, printable, sprayable and inkjetable as taught by Baillet to provide a well-known and conventional means for incorporating the coloring agent into a layer of an optical article, see Baillet [0041].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baillet (US 2016/0320636 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Coue does not explicitly disclose an application technique of the coloring agent. However, such techniques are well-known and conventional in the art. Moreover, one of ordinary skill would chose any number of common techniques to apply the coloring agent. In any event, Baillet discloses a color balancing means for an optical article. This includes a technique of using a dye – (construed as a coloring agent) which is applied in a separate process such as a printing primer or inkjet, sublimation or spraying, see [0035], [0042].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Coue’s coloring material to include a coloring material application technique of sublimable, printable, sprayable and inkjetable as taught by Baillet to provide a well-known and conventional means for incorporating the coloring agent into a layer of an optical article, see Baillet [0041].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record).
Regarding claim 8, Coue discloses a method for manufacturing a functionalized laminated optical element, see [0080]. The method to include a functional film structure of a single layer or a multilayer structure, see abstract – (construed as a first element representing a first single-layer or multi-layer functional film); a layer of a pressure-sensitive adhesive of optical quality, see abstract – (construed as at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer, wherein the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is of optical quality).
Coue does not explicitly disclose a step of coloring at least one surface of the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer with coloring agents.
Sato discloses multilayered eyeglasses – (construed as a functionalized optical layered structure). The eyeglasses to include the use of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 22, wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer contains coloring material, see at least figure 3 and [0014]. One of ordinary skill would appreciate Sato for its inventive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising coloring material as doing so allows for compensation of color changes due to other layers, see at least [0028]. That is, one would use a step of coloring at least one surface of the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer with coloring agent to provide the aforementioned benefits.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coue’s method including a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer to further include a coloring agent as taught by Sato to provide the functionalized laminated optical element with a means for correcting the color of the optical element as suggested by Sato.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Baillet (US 2016/0320636 A1), in view of Momma (US 2009/0047424 A1).
Regarding claims 9, 10, modified Coue does not explicitly disclose an application technique of the coloring agent. However, such techniques are well-known and conventional in the art. Moreover, one of ordinary skill would chose any number of common techniques to apply the coloring agent. In any event, Baillet discloses a color balancing means for an optical article. This includes a technique of using a dye – (construed as a coloring agent) which is applied in a separate sublimation process, see [0035], [0042]. Baillet further discloses the dye/coloring can be incorporated into various components of the optical article having a flat shape, see [0033] – (construed as coloring the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is a step of performed through sublimation, wherein the coloring agents are sublimable, and wherein during the sublimation, the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is in a flat form). Momma discloses a method of tinting an optical lens by sublimation. This includes applying the tinting material – (construed as a coloring agent) with an inkjet nozzle – (construed as a coloring agent transfer support) disposed over a substrate surface – (construed as a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer); and where a distance between the inkjet nozzle and the substrate is 0.5 mm to 5.0 mm, see [0033] – [0035] – (construed as and overlaps the distance between the coloring agent transfer support and the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is below 15 mm). Momma discloses such a technique allows for sublimation to occur at a lower temperature than when normal pressure is used as at high temperatures deformation and yellowing of the substrate may occur.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Coue’s method to include coloring material to further comprise coloring the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is a step of performed through sublimation, wherein the coloring agents are sublimable, and wherein during the sublimation, the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is in a flat form as taught by Baillet to provide a well-known and conventional means for incorporating the coloring agent into a layer of an optical article, see Baillet [0041]; and having a coloring agent transfer support facing the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is in a flat form, wherein the distance between the coloring agent transfer support and the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is below 15 mm, as taught by Momma to provide Coue’s method with the aforementioned benefits.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Baillet (US 2016/0320636 A1), in view of Barrau et al. (US 2022/0113559 A1).
Regarding claims 11-14, modified Coue does not explicitly disclose fixing the coloring agents through imbibition.
Baillet discloses a color balancing means for an optical article. This includes a technique of using a dye – (construed as a coloring agent) which is applied in a sublimation process, see [0035], [0042]. Baillet further discloses the dye may be included in a coating after its deposition at the surface of the substrate – (construed as a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer), see [0042] – (construed as a step of coloring a surface of the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer using a sublimation method).
Barrau discloses a method for obtaining an ophthalmic lens. The method to include a step of tinting the lens, by applying a sublimation process, and an imbibition process. The imbibition process being suitable for tinting the lens body, in addition to tinting by a sublimation process, see [0082] – [0085]. That is, one of ordinary skill would as a matter of routine experimentation use an imbibition technique on the body of the lens opposite of the previously coated/sublimation colored surface – (construed as fixing the coloring agents through imbibition to the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer after the coloring the at least one surface of the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer; and wherein during the imbibition, the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is disposed such that its surface on which the coloring agents are deposited, constitutes the upper surface of the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer). Moreover, the imbibition step includes immersion in a hot liquid bath comprising dyes; then left in the bath for a determined time so that dyes can diffuse in the substrate, see [0085] – (construed as heating the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer at a temperature and during a time allowing to soften without melting the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer such as the coloring agents to be fixed on the surface and/or penetrate the thickness of said at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer). And further where an oven – (construed as air convection heating) is used as a heating means, see Barrau [0157] – (construed as heating the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer by air convection or by surface irradiation).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Coue’s method to include the claimed imbibition process steps as reasonably suggested by Baillet and Barrau to provide the process with a means for tinting/coloring the surface and the body of the lens as suggested by the prior art.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coue et al. (US 2019/0111641 A1), in view of Sato et al. (JP 2015021995 A – of record).
Regarding claim 15, Coue discloses a method for manufacturing a functionalized laminated optical element including thermoforming thereof, see [0080], [0100] – (construed as thermoforming, according to a base element curvature of a base element functionalized optical layered structure). The method to further include a functional film structure of a single layer or a multilayer structure, see abstract – (construed as a first element representing a first single-layer or multi-layer functional film); an optical base element, see abstract – (construed as at least one second element selected from the group consisting of a protection liner and a second functional film); a layer of a pressure-sensitive adhesive of optical quality disposed between the first and second elements, see abstract – (construed as at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer placed in contact with at least one surface of the first element and at least one surface of the second element, wherein the at least one pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is of optical quality). And pressing the functional film structure against the convex or concave face of the base optical element so as to obtain a final assembly, see [0098] – (construed as fixing the thermoformed functionalized optical layered structure on said base element).
Coue does not explicitly disclose the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprises coloring agents.
Sato discloses multilayered eyeglasses – (construed as a functionalized optical layered structure). The eyeglasses to include the use of a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer 22, wherein the pressure-sensitive adhesive layer contains coloring material, see at least figure 3 and [0014]. One of ordinary skill would appreciate Sato for its inventive pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising coloring material as doing so allows for compensation of color changes due to other layers, see at least [0028].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coue’s pressure-sensitive adhesive layer to include a coloring agent as taught by Sato to provide the functionalized laminated optical element with a means for correcting the color of the optical element as suggested by Sato.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749