Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and arguments filed on 06/16/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
The applicant asserts that Winold does not teach the limitations of amended claim 1 and other independent claims. However, the applicant provides no reasoning as to how or why the claim limitations are distinguished from the teachings of Winold. The Office maintains that Winold teaches the claimed limitations and does not find the arguments persuasive. Furthermore, Winold is found to clearly teach the limitations of the newly added claim. The following Action provides further details regarding the amended and new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 1, 12 and 13 recite the limitation: “… perform a motion data conversion process to obtain motion data having a larger number of pieces of part data than the captured motion data, through a motion matching process based on the captured motion data, and an inference process that uses an artificial intelligence model and uses the captured motion data as input data…”. In other words, based on the amended limitations the motion data conversion process uses both a motion matching process and an inference process. However, the specifications do not support such a configuration. Specifically, the specifications are quite clear that the motion data conversion process uses a motion matching process or an inference process. Figures 3 and 11 of the instant application further clarify this configuration, wherein fig. 3 uses a motion matching unit F21 and fig. 11 uses a trained AI model F22. At no point does the specifications provide support for implementing both techniques during the motion data conversion process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winold et al., US 2022/0035443 A1, hereinafter “Winold”.
Regarding claim 1, Winold teaches an information processing system comprising circuitry configured to (¶ 14, the processor) receive an input of captured motion data that is motion data acquired with a motion capture system for a movable object (¶ 14: capturing motion information of a user using cameras and or other motion tracking systems as disclosed), and perform a motion data conversion process to obtain motion data having a larger number of pieces of part data than the captured motion data (¶ 14: “the processor receives tracking data for “n” body parts of the user, and the processor communicates for display an updated 3D model with “n+1” body parts”; also see claim 1 and ¶ 114-116), through a motion matching process based on the captured motion data, and an inference process that uses an artificial intelligence model and uses the captured motion data as input data (¶ 94 and ¶ 89), wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained using the captured motion data to infer the motion data having the larger number of pieces of part data according to a situation type including at least one positional relationship between the movable object and one or more other objects (¶ 87-88 wherein inferring the movements of end effectors (fingers) are determined according to inverse kinematic information of tracked bones and joints data; regarding the positional relationship see ¶ 47: “the tracking data from a nearby body part or parts may be used to determine or predict the proper movements or gestures to animate”; also see ¶ 96: “The algorithm then takes that solution and refines it according to proportionality parameters that define appropriate angle, lengths, and distance between various body parts”).
Regarding claim 12, Winold teaches an information processing method comprising: receiving an input of captured motion data that is motion data acquired with a motion capture system for a movable object (¶ 14: capturing motion information of a user using cameras and or other motion tracking systems as disclosed); and performing a motion data conversion process to obtain motion data having a larger number of pieces of part data than the captured motion data (¶ 14: “the processor receives tracking data for “n” body parts of the user, and the processor communicates for display an updated 3D model with “n+1” body parts”; also see claim 1 and ¶ 114-116), through at least one of a motion matching process based on the captured motion data, and an inference process that uses an artificial intelligence model and uses the captured motion data as input data (¶ 94 and ¶ 89), wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained using the captured motion data to infer the motion data having the larger number of pieces of part data according to a situation type including at least one positional relationship between the movable object and one or more other objects (¶ 87-88 wherein inferring the movements of end effectors (fingers) are determined according to inverse kinematic information of tracked bones and joints data; regarding the positional relationship see ¶ 47: “the tracking data from a nearby body part or parts may be used to determine or predict the proper movements or gestures to animate”; also see ¶ 96: “The algorithm then takes that solution and refines it according to proportionality parameters that define appropriate angle, lengths, and distance between various body parts”).
Regarding claim 13, Winold teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer device (¶ 85) causes the computer device to execute a method, the method comprising the method of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Winold teaches that the circuitry uses attribute information about the movable object in the motion data conversion process (¶ 94, attribute information such as position, orientation, etc).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Winold teaches that the circuitry uses static attribute information (¶ 94, a body part such as wrist is a static attribute) and dynamic attribute information as the attribute information (¶ 94, “position, orientation, directionality”, etc. are considered dynamic attribute information).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Winold teaches that at least one positional relationship includes a positional relationship between the movable object and another specific object (¶ 47: “the tracking data from a nearby body part or parts may be used to determine or predict the proper movements or gestures to animate”; also see ¶ 96: “The algorithm then takes that solution and refines it according to proportionality parameters that define appropriate angle, lengths, and distance between various body parts”; note that ¶ 47 teaches a specific object such as an elbow of a user as an example of a “particular” or specific object).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Winold teaches that at least one positional relationship includes a positional relationship between the movable object and another capture target movable object (¶ 47: “the tracking data from a nearby body part or parts may be used to determine or predict the proper movements or gestures to animate”; also see ¶ 96: “The algorithm then takes that solution and refines it according to proportionality parameters that define appropriate angle, lengths, and distance between various body parts”).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Winold teaches that the circuitry uses, in the motion data conversion process, information indicating a positional relationship between the movable object and another specific object (positional relationship between two specific body parts is disclosed: ¶ 47: “the tracking data from a nearby body part or parts may be used to determine or predict the proper movements or gestures to animate”; also see ¶ 96: “The algorithm then takes that solution and refines it according to proportionality parameters that define appropriate angle, lengths, and distance between various body parts”).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Winold teaches the circuitry is further configured to adjust motion data newly obtained through the motion data conversion process, based on immediately preceding output motion data (¶ 93-95: “the algorithm is provided with information of the previously rendered body position, the series of all past body positions, and limited tracking data for the current body position”).
Regarding claim 8, Winold teaches that the circuitry adjusts motion data of a finger of the movable object newly obtained through the motion data conversion process (¶ 94: “The position of the fingers may be rendered according to matches in a library of key poses, wherein the match is based on position, orientation, directionality, and velocity of hand, metacarpus, wrist, or arm movement alone”), based on immediately preceding output motion data of the finger and a velocity of a hand of the movable object (¶ 93: “the algorithm is provided with information of the previously rendered body position, the series of all past body positions, and limited tracking data for the current body position”).
Rendering claims 9 and 20, Winold teaches that the circuitry performs the motion data conversion process through the motion matching process, and feeds back position information about tips of fingers of the movable object to an input for the motion matching process, the position information having been obtained through an immediately preceding motion data conversion process (¶ 93-95 wherein previously rendered body position (including fingers and fingertips as illustrated in fig. 6) is fed back to the system; note that each most recent frame is acquired based on immediately preceding motion data provided by “previously rendered position” information as taught in ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 11, Winold teaches that the circuitry is further configured to perform a process of causing a storage device to store converted motion data obtained through the motion data conversion process for each movable object among a plurality of the movable objects having an interactive relation in one of a real space or a virtual space (¶ 83-84 disclose different types of memory and storage devices capable of storing information such as “proportionality parameters that define appropriate angle, lengths, and distance between various body parts” (see ¶ 96). Furthermore, see “information of the previously rendered body position, the series of all past body positions, and limited tracking data for the current body position” (¶ 93) which require a storage device).
Regarding claim 21, Winold teaches that the situation type further includes a velocity of one or more parts of the captured motion data stored in correspondence with the at least one positional relationship at each of a plurality of times during the captured motion data (¶ 94: “position of the fingers may be rendered according to matches in a library of key poses, wherein the match is based on position, orientation, directionality, and velocity of hand, metacarpus, wrist, or arm movement”; also see ¶ 95: “In some instances, individual key poses may have an associated directionality, a velocity vector transformation function, or both. For instance, tracking data indicating a hug position may render the fingers as curling in when advancing towards the hug, while the fingers splay out when retracting from the hug. In this way, a single key poses may have two or more associated hand positions dependent on directionality. Furthermore, the degree to which the fingers curl in or stretch out may be proportional to the speed at which the arms are moving”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winold, in view of Holz et al., US 10/168,873 B1, hereinafter “Holz”.
Regarding claim 10, Winold does not specifically teach that the circuitry feeds back, to the input for the motion matching process, only position information about a tip of a thumb and a tip of an index finger among the position information about the tips of the fingers of the movable object obtained through the immediately preceding motion data conversion process.
Holz, however, teaches the use of only the thumb and the index finger to provide gestures in a system (col. 6, lines 14-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Winold in view of Holz. The references teach detecting user motions and while Winold teaches that preceding motion data may include all fingers of a user (¶ 93-95 and figs. 6A-E), Holz teaches that only the index and thumb of a user may be used in order to provide a gesture input to a system. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to only provide position information regarding the index finger and the thumb of a user in order to accurately render said two fingers while reducing the processing and computations required for including the motion information of the other unused fingers.
Conclusion
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621