Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220096977).
Zhang has created a multi-layer composite with excellent dust holding performance and low pressure drop. The filter media disclosed here has utility in both a flat-web structure and as a three-dimensional (e.g., pleated) structure in a wide variety of air filtration applications, e.g., air-conditioner filters, room air purifier filters, and residential HVAC filters. The composites of the present disclosure typically include at least two nonwoven web layers, with at least one layer including multicomponent, aliphatic polyester fibers. The multicomponent fibers can include polylactic acid (PLA) and polybutylene succinate (PBS) arranged as a core/sheath bicomponent fiber, where the sheath layer can also be a blend of PLA and PBS [0003].
The first nonwoven web layer includes bi-component fibers comprising a core material covered with a sheath wherein the sheath material (with a lower melting point) melts to bind with other fibers but the core material (with a higher melting point) maintains its shape. This combination of component fibers with disparate melting points may also be useful for other multicomponent fiber arrangements, such as side-by-side, islands-in-the-sea, etc. Typically, the melting point of the first component polymer of a multicomponent fiber (e.g., the core) is from about 160° C. to about 250° C., in some embodiments from about 170° C. to about 240° C., and in some embodiments, from about 180° C. to about 220° C. Typically, the melting point of the second, low melting point component can be from about 50° C. to about 160° C., in some embodiments from about 100° C. to about 160° C., and in some embodiments, from about 120° C. to about 160° C. Moreover, the melting point of the second component is also typically at least about 20° C., in some embodiments at least about 30° C., and in some embodiments, at least about 40° C. less than the melting point of the high melting point, first component [0041].
Various aliphatic polyesters may be employed as the high melting point component in the first nonwoven web of the present disclosure, such as polyesteramides, modified polyethylene terephthalate, PLA, polyglycolic acid, polyalkylene carbonates (such as polyethylene carbonate), PHA, PHB, PHV, and PHBV. The second component of the multicomponent fiber (e.g., the sheath) may be formed from one or more low melting point aliphatic polyesters. Low melting point aliphatic polyesters are useful in that they biodegrade at a faster rate than the high melting point polyesters. The glass transition temperature (“T.sub.g”) of the low melting point polyesters may also be less than that of the high melting point polyesters to improve flexibility and processability of the polymers [0042].
Examples of aliphatic polyesters that may have a suitably low melting point and glass transition temperature include aliphatic polyesters with repeating units of at least 5 carbon atoms (e.g., polyhydroxyvalerate, polyhydroxybutyrate-hydroxyvalerate copolymer and polycaprolactone), succinate-based aliphatic polymers (e.g., PBS)
[0043].
The relative amount of the high melting point and low melting point components may generally vary based on the desired properties. For example, the first high melting point component may constitute from about 5 wt. % to about 95 wt. %, in some embodiments from about 10 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, and in some embodiments, from about 15 wt. % to about 85 wt. % of the total weight of the multicomponent fibers. Likewise, the second, low melting point component may constitute from about 5 wt. % to about 95 wt. %, in some embodiments from about 10 wt. % to about 90 wt. %, and in some embodiments, from about 15 wt. % to about 85 wt. % of the total weight of the multicomponent fibers [0045].
In a working example, the first nonwoven web includes a PLA core and a PBS/PLA sheath, with the PLA core constituting between about 65 to 95 wt % and the PBS/PLA sheath constituting between about 5 to 35 wt. %. A particularly viable spunbonded web includes bicomponent fibers having 30 wt. % PBS sheath and 70 wt. % PLA core [0046].
Table 2 (page 9) has blends of PBS/PLA in the sheath of 80%/20% and 60%/40%. For a core of 65-95% and sheath of 5 to 35% that could reasonably be 5% x 80% PBS = 4% to 3% if the entire filament and therefore of the entire nonwoven made up of the filaments.
Zhang teaches a spunbond nonwoven of multicomponent, sheath core filaments wherein the PLA is the core and the sheath is a PLA-PBS blend. Zhang teaches the core can be 5-95% which overlaps the claimed range of 50-80% and the sheath is 5-35% which overlaps the claimed range of 20-50%.
Zhang’s range of 3-4% overlaps the claimed range of a sheath of PLA and PBS in the range of 0.2-5% by weight. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to claim 3, Zhang teaches the first component, or core, is in the range of 5-95% which overlaps the claimed range of 50-80% and the sheath is 5-35% which overlaps the claimed range of 20-50%.
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches polybutylene succinate [0003].
As to claim 9, Zhang teaches the basis weigh of the nonwovens are 5, 10, 20 or 50 gsm [0047].
As to claim 12, Zhang teaches a method of spinning the multicomponent filaments are melted in an extruder and pumped into an extrusion head with the core 510 and the sheath 610 as shown in Fig. 6 [0074]. As noted in the rejection over claim 1, Zhang teaches core is PLA and sheath is blend of PLA and PBS at the claimed percentages.
Claims 4-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220096977) in view of Kamann et al (WO 2013165832).
As to claim 4-6, Zhang does not teach the amount of PBS based on the total weight of the fiber is 0.2-2.0% or 0.2 to 1.5%.
Kamann is directed to a nonwoven comprising organic polymer filaments bonded together to form a web, wherein at least a portion of the filaments are filaments of a PLA resin blend which is a mixture including (1) at least 75% by weight of the blend of a PLA resin having a number average molecular weight of at least 50,000 g/mol, in which the ratio of the R-lactic and S- lactic units is >97:3 or <3:97, and wherein the R-lactic units and S-lactic units combined constitute at least 90% of the weight of PLA resin, (2) from 1 to 25% by weight of the blend of an aliphatic or aliphatic-aromatic polyester which is not a PLA resin, having a number average molecular weight from 4,000 to 70,000 g/mol and (3) from 0 to 10% by weight of the blend of one or more components different from (1) and (2) (page 4).
The second component of the blend is an aliphatic or aliphatic-aromatic polyester and which has a number average molecular weight of 4,000 to 70,000 g/mol. Specific examples of aliphatic polyesters of these types include poly(alkylene succinate)s such as polyethylene succinate, polybutylene succinate and the like, poly(alkylene adipate)s such as polyethylene adipate, polybutylene adipate and the like; mixed alkylene succinates and mixed alkylene adipates; polyalkylene succinate coadipates, and the like (page 6, lines 27-35).
The PLA constitutes at least 75% of the weight of the blend (and the resulting fiber) and may constitute as much as 99% thereof. In some particular embodiments, the PLA constitutes at least 90%, at least 93% or at least 95%, of the weight of the blend and resulting fiber. The aliphatic or aliphatic-aromatic polyester having a 4000-70,000 molecular weight constitutes 1 to 25% of the weight of the blend (and resulting fiber), and in some embodiments constitutes 1 to 10%, 2 to 9% by weight thereof or 2.5 to 7.5% by weight of the blend (page 7, lines 14-20).
The polybutylene succinate can be incorporated in amounts as low as 1% which overlaps the claimed ranges.
Kamann teaches the use of PLA in spun-melt processes to make non- woven fabrics. Certain attributes of PLA make it difficult to process and to obtain good quality fabrics because of the melt rheology of PLA and the propensity of PLA to degrade at elevated temperatures. The PLA must have a low melt viscosity if consistent quality product is to be prepared at economical production rates. Melt viscosities of thermoplastic organic polymers generally decrease with increasing temperature. Therefore, with most polymers, melt viscosity can be adjusted into a useful range through control of the processing temperature (page 8).
Another problem with PLA non-woven fabrics is their tendency to shrink when exposed to moderately elevated temperatures. This is an important consideration for any fabric that is to be laundered and then machine dried, or when the fabric is to be used in an application in which it is exposed to moderately elevated (for example, up to about 100°C) temperatures (page 3, lines 29-35).
This invention is a spun-melt process for making a non-woven fabric, comprising continuously from a PLA resin blend is a mixture including (1) at least 75% by weight of the blend of a PLA resin having a number average molecular weight of at least 50,000 g/mol, in which the ratio of the R-lactic and S-lactic units is 97:3 or <3:97, and wherein the R-lactic units and S-lactic units combined constitute at least 90% of the weight of PLA resin (2) from 1 to 25% by weight of the blend of an aliphatic or aliphatic-aromatic polyester which is not a PLA resin, having a number average molecular weight from 4,000 to 70,000 g/mol and (3) from 0 to 10% by weight of the blend of one or more components different from (1) and (2) (page 4, lines 10-20).
The selection of the PLA resin blend provides important benefits wherein the non-woven fabric exhibits significantly reduced shrinkage. Operating pressures are reduced very significantly at equivalent operating rates, compared to when a neat PLA resin is used. This reduces energy consumption and therefore energy costs, and permits easier, more consistent continuous operation. Lower pressures also enable less expensive and more flexible die design and engineering, again reducing product cost. Another surprising advantage is that the tensile strength of the non-woven fabric frequently is significantly higher, at comparable elongation, than a like fabric made using neat PLA resin (page 3, lines 29-35).
Because the PLA resin blend processes easily, it is possible to make very small diameter filaments easily. Fabrics of the invention which are made from very small diameter filaments are excellent filtering materials. Reduced filament diameter also tends to lead to advantages in barrier performance in some applications and can also improve tactile properties such as softness and drape in garment fabrics (page 4, lines 4-9).
Kamann teaches the use of aliphatic polyesters, e.g. polybutylene succinate blended with PLA in order to reduce shrinking and optimize the melt spinning parameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to blend a PBS with PLA motivated to reduce the shrinkage of the nonwoven fabric and optimize melt viscosity for spinning.
As to claims 13-15, Zhang teaches an air filter is the use for the nonwoven. Statements of use do not distinguish the invention from prior art. The air filter can be used for other applications such as absorbent products as the nonwovens are structurally the same.
Kamann teaches the nonwovens are used for products such as filtration media, personal use such as baby wipes and cleaning wipes (page 1, lines 20-32). Wipes are absorbent products as noted in claims 14 and 15.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220096977) in view of Kamann et al (WO 2013165832) as evidenced by Bremner and Rudin “Melt Flow Index Values and Molecular Weight Distributions of Commercial Thermoplastics”.
As to claim 8, Zhang does not teach the melt flow rate.
Kamann teaches the importance of melt temperature and melt viscosities and discloses the molecular weights of the PLA and the aliphatic polyester (page 3). Melt temperature, melt viscosities are related to molecular weight and the melt flow rate as evidenced by Bremner and Rudin article and Kamann teaches to optimize the melt viscosities in order to attain optimal production spinning rates without heat degradation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the melt flow rates of the polymers motivated to achieve adequate spinning at adequate production rates and without heat degradation.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20220096977) in view of Kamann et al (WO 2013165832) in further view of Chakravarty et al (US 8927443).
As to claims 10 and 11, Zhang teaches embossing the nonwoven [0063] but is not specific regard to pattern bonding.
Kamann teaches embossing but is not specific with regard to pattern bonding.
Chakravarty is directed to a biodegradable nonwoven that comprises a spunbond layers formed from continuous filaments of a first aliphatic polyester and microfibers of a second aliphatic polyester (ABST). The spunbond webs can be made from polylactic acid core and polybutylene succinate sheath (col. 19 and 20). Chakravarty teaches bonding via conventional techniques and teaches an intermittent bonding pattern, the pattern is selected so that the total bond area is less than 50%. The bond pattern is a pin bond pattern (col. 13, lines 10-53) which is equated with a circle. The bond pattern can be a diamond pattern of less than 30% bond area (col. 20, lines 55-67) and Y dot patterns (col. 23, lines 51-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to pattern bond the nonwoven motivated to bond via an conventional bonding technique.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789