DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18 & 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2021-0020577 A (MICROBIAL INSTITUTE FOR FERMENTATION INDUSTRY) 24 February 2021
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE teaches a fermented apple product which is a vinegar, obtained by fermenting acetic acid bacteria at a concentration of 20%, which has been fermented for eight days and contains about 65 g/L of acetic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid, has antioxidant and antibacterial activities [0111-0121]. The apple product that has been fermented contain citric acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid and malic acid [0089-91]. MICROBIAL INSTITUTE further teaches an apple vinegar obtained by inoculating an apple concentrate with a Saccharomyces cerevisiac (S. cerevisiac) Y5 strain culture solution, shaking culturing same at 28°C for two days, inoculating same with an Acetobacter pasteurianus strain, and acetic acid fermenting same at 30°C for eight days [0035-0039] [0089-91]. The apple product contains chlorogenic acid and caffeic acid [0002].
The reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-16, 18-19 & 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2021-0020577 A (MICROBIAL INSTITUTE FOR FERMENTATION INDUSTRY) 24 February 2021.
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE teaches a fermented apple product which is a vinegar, obtained by fermenting acetic acid bacteria at a concentration of 20%, which has been fermented for eight days and contains about 65 g/L of acetic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid, has antioxidant and antibacterial activities [0111-0121]. The apple product that has been fermented contain citric acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid and malic acid [0089-91]. MICROBIAL INSTITUTE further teaches an apple vinegar obtained by inoculating an apple concentrate with a Saccharomyces cerevisiac (S. cerevisiac) Y5 strain culture solution, shaking culturing same at 28°C for two days, inoculating same with an Acetobacter pasteurianus strain, and acetic acid fermenting same at 30°C for eight days [0035-0039] [0089-91]. The apple product contains chlorogenic acid and caffeic acid [0002].
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE does not specifically teach all the ranges of components acid concentrations as are claimed however given the teaches of the reference of the presence of the components in question and the fact that a wide variety of fermented apple products containing vinegars and other acids have been made for centuries it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to vary the times, apples, age of the apples, known microbes, etc to produce a product having the claimed component (acid) concentrations. Generally, differences in concentration and experimental parameters such as fermentation time and temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or parameter is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Claims 1-13, 15-16, 18-19, 33 & 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2021-0020577 A (MICROBIAL INSTITUTE FOR FERMENTATION INDUSTRY) 24 February 2021 and KR 10-2016-0044642 A (DONG-EUI UNIVERSITY INDUSTRY-ACADEMIC COOPERATION FOUNDATION) 26 April 2016.
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE teaches a fermented apple product which is a vinegar, obtained by fermenting acetic acid bacteria at a concentration of 20%, which has been fermented for eight days and contains about 65 g/L of acetic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid, has antioxidant and antibacterial activities [0111-0121]. The apple product that has been fermented contain citric acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid and malic acid [0089-91]. MICROBIAL INSTITUTE further teaches an apple vinegar obtained by inoculating an apple concentrate with a Saccharomyces cerevisiac (S. cerevisiae) Y5 strain culture solution, shaking culturing same at 28°C for two days, inoculating same with an Acetobacter pasteurianus strain, and acetic acid fermenting same at 30°C for eight days [0035-0039] [0089-91]. The apple product contains chlorogenic acid and caffeic acid [0002].
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE does not specifically teach all the ranges of components acid concentrations as are claimed however given the teaches of the reference of the presence of the components in question and the fact that a wide variety of fermented apple products containing vinegars and other acids have been made for centuries it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to vary the times, apples, age of the apples, known microbes, etc to produce a product having the claimed component (acid) concentrations. Generally, differences in concentration and experimental parameters such as fermentation time and temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or parameter is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE does not teach a method of reducing UV induced collagenase expression in a cell or of reducing IL-8 cytokine expression in a cell however it would have been obvious to do so with the product of MICROBIAL INSTITUTE because DONG-EUI teaches the application of a fermented apple product to cells wherein the product inhibits the activity of MMP-1, a collagenase, and promotes collagen synthesis, thereby having an effect of reducing skin wrinkles caused by aging or the exposure to ultraviolet rays and the like [0064-0070] and [0112-0136] attributing the activity to polyphenol compounds such as caffeic acid and chlorogenic acid which MICROBIAL INSTITUTE’s composition is taught to have (above).
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Claims 1-13, 15-16, 18-19, 33 & 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2021-0020577 A (MICROBIAL INSTITUTE FOR FERMENTATION INDUSTRY) 24 February 2021 and Yangnik et al. Scientific Reports. Jan 2018. Vol8(1) p1-12.
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE teaches a fermented apple product which is a vinegar, obtained by fermenting acetic acid bacteria at a concentration of 20%, which has been fermented for eight days and contains about 65 g/L of acetic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid, has antioxidant and antibacterial activities [0111-0121]. The apple product that has been fermented contain citric acid, succinic acid, lactic acid and formic acid and malic acid [0089-91]. MICROBIAL INSTITUTE further teaches an apple vinegar obtained by inoculating an apple concentrate with a Saccharomyces cerevisiac (S. cerevisiae) Y5 strain culture solution, shaking culturing same at 28°C for two days, inoculating same with an Acetobacter pasteurianus strain, and acetic acid fermenting same at 30°C for eight days [0035-0039] [0089-91]. The apple product contains chlorogenic acid and caffeic acid [0002].
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE does not specifically teach all the ranges of components acid concentrations as are claimed however given the teaches of the reference of the presence of the components in question and the fact that a wide variety of fermented apple products containing vinegars and other acids have been made for centuries it would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to vary the times, apples, age of the apples, known microbes, etc to produce a product having the claimed component (acid) concentrations. Generally, differences in concentration and experimental parameters such as fermentation time and temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or parameter is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
MICROBIAL INSTITUTE does not teach a method of reducing IL-8 cytokine expression in a cell however it would have been obvious to do so with the product of MICROBIAL INSTITUTE because Yagnik teaches a method of reducing inflammatory cytokine expression (such as IL-8) in conjunction with reducing bacterial growth growth of bacteria by applying an fermented apple product (vinegar) (p 2-3, Figs 2-3) which is similar to the product of MICROBIAL INSTITUTE. Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657