DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulanger (US 2021/0119502), in view of Xu (US 2022/0006406).
Regarding claim 1, Boulanger discloses a power tool (Para. 0002) comprising:
a permanent magnet assisted synchronous rotor motor (74 of Figure 5) including:
a stator (78 of Figure 5) including a plurality of stator teeth (90 of Figure 5) configured to receive a plurality of stator coils (98 of Figure 5), and
a rotor (82 of Figure 5) including:
a first slot (106A of Figure 5-6A) located between an external circumferential surface of the rotor, the first slot including a first magnet housing portion, the first magnet housing portion having a first width and a first length, the first magnet housing portion located a first radial distance away from a center of rotation (112 of Figure 5) of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a second slot (106B of Figure 5-6A) located between the external circumferential surface of the rotor and the first slot, the second slot including a second magnet housing portion, the second magnet housing portion having a second width and a second length, the second length of the second slot being shorter than the first length of the first slot, and the second magnet housing located a second radial distance away from the center of rotation of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a first magnet (110A of Figure 5-6A) within the first magnet housing portion, the first magnet having a first magnet length and a first magnet width,
a second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) within the second magnet housing, the second magnet having a second magnet length and a second magnet width, and
wherein the first magnet fills at least 60% of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 6A) and the second magnet fills at least 60% of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 6A), and
wherein the first magnet fills at least as much of the first magnet housing portion as the second magnet fills the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0053).
Boulanger does not explicitly disclose a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack.
Xu discloses a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack (Para. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a battery pack interface in the power tool of Boulanger configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack, as taught by Xu, to supply power for the power tool [Xu: Para. 0039].
Regarding claim 2, Boulanger discloses wherein:
the stator includes at least twelve stator slots (Para. 0021); and
the rotor includes at least four rotor poles (Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 3, Boulanger discloses wherein:
the first magnet is composed of a ferrite metal material (Para. 0050); and
the second magnet is composed of a rare earth metal material (Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 4, Boulanger discloses wherein the second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) fills a greater percentage of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 5-6A) than the first magnet fills the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 5-6A).
Regarding claim 6, Boulanger discloses a power tool (Para. 0002) comprising:
a permanent magnet assisted synchronous rotor motor (74 of Figure 5) including:
a stator (78 of Figure 5) including a plurality of stator teeth (90 of Figure 5) configured to receive a plurality of stator coils (98 of Figure 5), and
a rotor (82 of Figure 5) including:
a first slot (106A of Figure 5-6A) located between an external circumferential surface of the rotor, the first slot including a first magnet housing portion, the first magnet housing portion having a first width and a first length, the first magnet housing portion located a first radial distance away from a center of rotation (112 of Figure 5) of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a second slot (106B of Figure 5-6A) located between the external circumferential surface of the rotor and the first slot, the second slot including a second magnet housing portion, the second magnet housing portion having a second width and a second length, the second length of the second slot being shorter than the first length of the first slot, and the second magnet housing located a second radial distance away from the center of rotation of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a first magnet (110A of Figure 5-6A) within the first magnet housing portion, the first magnet having a first magnet length and a first magnet width,
a second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) within the second magnet housing, the second magnet having a second magnet length and a second magnet width, and
wherein the first magnet fills between 60% and 90% of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 6A) and the second magnet fills between 60% and 90% of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 6A), and
wherein the first magnet fills at least as much of the first magnet housing portion as the second magnet fills the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0053).
Boulanger does not explicitly disclose a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack.
Xu discloses a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack (Para. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a battery pack interface in the power tool of Boulanger configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack, as taught by Xu, to supply power for the power tool [Xu: Para. 0039].
Regarding claim 7, Boulanger discloses wherein:
the stator includes at least eighteen stator slots (Para. 0021); and
the rotor includes at least six rotor poles (Para. 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Boulanger discloses wherein:
the stator includes at least six stator slots (Para. 0021); and
the rotor includes at least four rotor poles (Para. 0022).
Regarding claim 9, Boulanger discloses wherein:
the first magnet is composed of a ferrite metal material (Para. 0050); and
the second magnet is composed of a rare earth metal material (Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 10, Boulanger discloses wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are composed of a rare earth metal material (Para. 0050).
Regarding claim 11, Boulanger discloses wherein the second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) fills a greater percentage of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 5-6A) than the first magnet fills the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 5-6A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulanger (US 2021/0119502) and Xu (US 2022/0006406) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 2017/0317548).
Regarding claim 5, Boulanger discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a first steel rib associated with the first slot; and
a second steel rib associated with the second slot.
Suzuki discloses further comprising:
a first steel rib associated with the first slot (Para. 0069); and
a second steel rib associated with the second slot (Para. 0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the first and second slot of Boulanger have a first and second rib associated with them, as taught by Suzuki, to generate a resistance in the exiting directions of the robs to secure the insulators to the stator core [Suzuki: Para. 0078].
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulanger (US 2021/0119502), in view of Xu (US 2022/0006406) and Suzuki (US 2017/0317548).
Regarding claim 12, Boulanger discloses a power tool (Para. 0002) comprising:
a permanent magnet assisted synchronous rotor motor (74 of Figure 5) including:
a stator (78 of Figure 5) including a plurality of stator teeth (90 of Figure 5) configured to receive a plurality of stator coils (98 of Figure 5), and
a rotor (82 of Figure 5) including:
a first slot (106A of Figure 5-6A) located between an external circumferential surface of the rotor, the first slot including a first magnet housing portion, the first magnet housing portion having a first width and a first length, the first magnet housing portion located a first radial distance away from a center of rotation (112 of Figure 5) of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a second slot (106B of Figure 5-6A) located between the external circumferential surface of the rotor and the first slot, the second slot including a second magnet housing portion, the second magnet housing portion having a second width and a second length, the second length of the second slot being shorter than the first length of the first slot, and the second magnet housing located a second radial distance away from the center of rotation of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a first magnet (110A of Figure 5-6A) within the first magnet housing portion, the first magnet having a first magnet length and a first magnet width,
a second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) within the second magnet housing, the second magnet having a second magnet length and a second magnet width, and
wherein the first magnet fills at least 60% of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 6A) and the second magnet fills at least 60% of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 6A), and
wherein the first magnet fills at least as much of the first magnet housing portion as the second magnet fills the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0053).
Boulanger does not explicitly disclose a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack; and
a first steel rib configured to fill a portion of the first magnet housing portion,
a second steel rib configured to fill a portion of the second magnet housing portion.
Xu discloses a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack (Para. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a battery pack interface in the power tool of Boulanger configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack, as taught by Xu, to supply power for the power tool [Xu: Para. 0039].
Suzuki discloses further comprising:
a first steel rib configured to fill a portion of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0069),
a second steel rib configured to fill a portion of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the first and second magnet housing portions of Boulanger have a first and second rib configured to fill a portion of them, as taught by Suzuki, to generate a resistance in the exiting directions of the robs to secure the insulators to the stator core [Suzuki: Para. 0078].
Regarding claim 14, Boulanger discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising a third steel rib and a fourth steel rib.
Suzuki discloses further comprising a third steel rib and a fourth steel rib (Para. 0069; see Figure 9A-10C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have multiple ribs associated with the slots of Boulanger, as taught by Suzuki, to generate a resistance in the exiting directions of the robs to secure the insulators to the stator core [Suzuki: Para. 0078].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 13 and claims dependent thereon, Boulanger (US 2021/0119502) is regarded as being the closest prior art to the subject-matter of claim 13 and shows:
a power tool (Para. 0002) comprising:
a permanent magnet assisted synchronous rotor motor (74 of Figure 5) including:
a stator (78 of Figure 5) including a plurality of stator teeth (90 of Figure 5) configured to receive a plurality of stator coils (98 of Figure 5), and
a rotor (82 of Figure 5) including:
a first slot (106A of Figure 5-6A) located between an external circumferential surface of the rotor, the first slot including a first magnet housing portion, the first magnet housing portion having a first width and a first length, the first magnet housing portion located a first radial distance away from a center of rotation (112 of Figure 5) of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a second slot (106B of Figure 5-6A) located between the external circumferential surface of the rotor and the first slot, the second slot including a second magnet housing portion, the second magnet housing portion having a second width and a second length, the second length of the second slot being shorter than the first length of the first slot, and the second magnet housing located a second radial distance away from the center of rotation of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a first magnet (110A of Figure 5-6A) within the first magnet housing portion, the first magnet having a first magnet length and a first magnet width,
a second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) within the second magnet housing, the second magnet having a second magnet length and a second magnet width, and
wherein the first magnet fills at least 60% of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 6A) and the second magnet fills at least 60% of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 6A), and
wherein the first magnet fills at least as much of the first magnet housing portion as the second magnet fills the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0053).
Xu (US 2022/0006406) discloses a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack (Para. 0039).
Suzuki (US 2017/0317548) discloses further comprising:
a first steel rib configured to fill a portion of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0069),
a second steel rib configured to fill a portion of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0069).
The subject-matter of claim 13 differs from Boulanger, Xu, and Suzuki reciting wherein:
the first steel rib is positioned at the center of the first magnet housing portion; and
the second steel rib is positioned at the center of the second magnet housing portion.
A detailed search and review of the prior art revealed a notable absence of the teachings recited in claim 13. The search was unable to find any prior art that teaches the limitation(s) “the first steel rib is positioned at the center of the first magnet housing portion; and the second steel rib is positioned at the center of the second magnet housing portion.” Therefore, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious the subject-matter of claim 13.
With respect to claim 15 and claims dependent thereon, Boulanger (US 2021/0119502) is regarded as being the closest prior art to the subject-matter of claim 15 and shows:
a power tool (Para. 0002) comprising:
a permanent magnet assisted synchronous rotor motor (74 of Figure 5) including:
a stator (78 of Figure 5) including a plurality of stator teeth (90 of Figure 5) configured to receive a plurality of stator coils (98 of Figure 5), and
a rotor (82 of Figure 5) including:
a first slot (106A of Figure 5-6A) located between an external circumferential surface of the rotor, the first slot including a first magnet housing portion, the first magnet housing portion having a first width and a first length, the first magnet housing portion located a first radial distance away from a center of rotation (112 of Figure 5) of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a second slot (106B of Figure 5-6A) located between the external circumferential surface of the rotor and the first slot, the second slot including a second magnet housing portion, the second magnet housing portion having a second width and a second length, the second length of the second slot being shorter than the first length of the first slot, and the second magnet housing located a second radial distance away from the center of rotation of the rotor (see Figure 5),
a first magnet (110A of Figure 5-6A) within the first magnet housing portion, the first magnet having a first magnet length and a first magnet width,
a second magnet (110B of Figure 5-6A) within the second magnet housing, the second magnet having a second magnet length and a second magnet width, and
wherein the first magnet fills at least 60% of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0008; see Figure 6A) and the second magnet fills at least 60% of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0011; see Figure 6A), and
wherein the first magnet fills at least as much of the first magnet housing portion as the second magnet fills the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0053).
Xu (US 2022/0006406) discloses a battery pack interface configured to receive a removable and rechargeable battery pack (Para. 0039).
Suzuki (US 2017/0317548) discloses further comprising:
a first steel rib configured to fill a portion of the first magnet housing portion (Para. 0069),
a second steel rib configured to fill a portion of the second magnet housing portion (Para. 0069) and,
further comprising a third steel rib and a fourth steel rib (Para. 0069; see Figure 9A-10C).
The subject-matter of claim 15 differs from Boulanger, Xu, and Suzuki reciting wherein:
the first steel rib is configured to be positioned between a first arm of the first slot and the first magnet housing portion;
the second steel rib is configured to be positioned between a second arm of the first slot and the first magnet housing portion;
the third steel rib is configured to be positioned between a first arm of the second slot and the second magnet housing portion; and
wherein the fourth steel rib is configured to be positioned between a second arm of the second slot and the second magnet housing portion.
A detailed search and review of the prior art revealed a notable absence of the teachings recited in claim 15. The search was unable to find any prior art that teaches the limitation(s) the steel ribs are configured to be positioned between an arms and slot of the magnet housing portions. Therefore, the prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious the subject-matter of claim 15.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boulanger (US 11,799,334) discloses a power tool comprising a permanent magnet assisted synchronous rotor motor including a rotor with slots and magnets.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834