DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. U.S. Patent Application 2020/0294837 (hereinafter “Zeng”).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng teaches a wafer placement table (i.e. structure 200)(fig.4) comprising: a first conductive layer (i.e. first conductive layer in the figure below)(fig.4); a second conductive layer (i.e. second conductive layer in the figure below)(fig.4) different in height from the first conductive layer (implicit)(refer to fig.4); and a connector (i.e. connector in the figure below)(fig.4) that electrically connect the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer (implicit)(refer to fig.4), inside a ceramic plate (i.e. ceramic plate 21)(fig.4) having a wafer placement surface on its upper surface (refer to recessed supporting portion 211)(fig.4), wherein the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer and the connector are formed in a seamless one-piece structure (i.e. curved-surface circuit)(fig.4).
Regarding claim 2, Zeng teaches the wafer placement table according to Claim 1, further comprising: a main RF electrode (i.e. plasma control circuit 24)(fig.4) provided inside the ceramic plate (implicit)(refer to fig.4); a sub-RF electrode as the first conductive layer (refer to first conductive layer in the figure above)(fig.4) provided on an outer circumferential side of the main RF electrode (implicit)(refer to fig.4); a jumper as the second conductive layer (refer to second conducive layer in the figure above)(fig.4) provided below the sub-RF electrode (implicit)(refer to fig.4 above); a main RF electrode rod (i.e. main rod in the figure above)(fig.4), electrically connected to the main RF electrode (implicit)(refer to [0056]); and a sub-RF electrode rod (i.e. sub rod in the figure above)(fig.4) electrically connected to the jumper (implicit)(refer to [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Zeng teaches the wafer placement table according to Claim 2, wherein a boundary between the jumper and the connector is located inside the main RF electrode in a plan view (implicit)(refer to fig.4 above).
Regarding claim 8, Zeng teaches the wafer placement table according to Claim 2, further comprising a tubular shaft (i.e. tube 26)(fig.4) connected to a lower surface of the ceramic plate (implicit)(refer to fig.4)(refer also to [0056]), wherein the main RF electrode rod and the sub-RF electrode rod are disposed in an internal space of the tubular shaft (refer to [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Endo Japanese Patent Document JP 3311812 B2 (hereinafter “Endo”).
Regarding claim 6, Zeng teaches the wafer placement table according to Claim 2; however, Zeng does not teach wherein a boundary between the jumper and the connector is a valley fold line in a plan view, and a boundary between the sub-RF electrode and the connector is a mountain fold line in a plan view. However, Endo teaches wherein a boundary between the jumper and the connector is a valley fold line in a plan view (refer to central portion 15a and valley in the figure below)(fig.2), and a boundary between the sub-RF electrode and the connector is a mountain fold line in a plan view (refer to peripheral portion 15b and mountain in the figure below)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer placement table of Zeng to include the shape of the electrode of Endo to provide the advantage of better controlling the plasma density distribution.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inoue Japanese Patent Document JP 2004-179364 A (hereinafter “Inoue”).
Regarding claim 9, Zeng teaches the wafer placement table according to Claim 1; however, Zeng does not teach wherein the one-piece structure is made of a conductive mesh. However, Inoue teaches wherein the one-piece structure is made of a conductive mesh (refer to [0041]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer placement table of Zeng to include the conductive mesh of Inoue to provide the advantage of simplifying manufacture of the wafer placement table (refer to [0041]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7, and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 3 and 10 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 3, especially wherein the jumper includes a horizontal conductor provided at a central portion of the ceramic plate; and a plurality of first conductive wires that horizontally extend from an outer edge of the conductor and have rotational symmetry, the connector is formed by a plurality of second conductive wires that respectively extend diagonally upward from the plurality of first conductive wires, and the sub-RF electrode is a ring-shaped set in which horizontal conductive arc portions respectively contiguous to the plurality of second conductive wires are arranged in a circumferential direction. Claim 10 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter based on its dependency on claim 3. Claim 4 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 4, especially wherein the jumper is a horizontal conductor provided at a central portion of the ceramic plate, the connector is formed by a plurality of conductive wires that extend diagonally upward from an outer edge of the conductor and have rotational symmetry, and the sub-RF electrode is a ring-shaped set in which horizontal conductive arc portions respectively contiguous to the plurality of conductive wires are arranged in a circumferential direction. Claim 7 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 7, especially wherein a boundary between the jumper and the connector is a valley fold line in a plan view, and a boundary between the sub-RF electrode and the connector is a valley fold line in a plan view.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838