DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 24 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 6, 8 – 11, 15, 17 – 19, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lavoie et al. (US 2016/0039456).
Regarding Claim 1:
Lavoie et al. teaches a vehicle maneuvering system, comprising: a processor (12); and a memory (14) communicatively coupled to the processor, the memory having stored therein computer-executable instructions, comprising: a steer-by-wire component (paragraph 0253) configured to receive steering wheel input and navigate the vehicle in reverse mode (paragraph 0189, abstract); a hitch angle component (130, 155) that estimates hitch angle of a trailer (110) coupled to the vehicle, and estimate (paragraph 0244) an angular rate of the hitch angle through the data gathered from the hitch angle component (Figs 30 – 35); and a controller (115) that controls speed (via 1318) of the vehicle and steering wheel angle (via 115) input to maintain the hitch angle within a stable range (Fig 37, paragraphs 0141, 0190 – 0195).
Regarding Claim 2:
Lavoie et al. teaches the controller facilitates maintaining a zero-torque relationship with the steering wheel angle and hitch angle (paragraph 0068).
Regarding Claim 6:
Lavoie et al. teaches the controller maintains the hitch angle to below a threshold that can result in jack knifing of the trailer (paragraphs 0110 – 0118).
Regarding Claim 8:
Lavoie et al. teaches a linear transducer that estimates Φ, angle between the vehicle and the trailer (paragraphs 0189 – 0191).
Regarding Claim 9:
Lavoie et al. teaches a set of yaw sensors that facilitate estimating Φ, angle between the vehicle and the trailer, wherein the controller integrates difference between vehicle and trailer yaw angular rate over time (paragraphs 0066, 0168 – 0171).
Regarding Claim 10:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 11:
See rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim15:
See rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding Claim 17:
See rejection of Claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 18:
See rejection of Claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 19:
See rejection of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 23:
See rejection of Claim 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 4, 12 – 13, 20 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie et al. (US 2016/0039456) and in view of Sriram (US 2022/0366186).
Regarding Claim 3:
Lavoie et al. is silent to an artificial intelligence component that has been implicitly trained to facilitate the controller maintaining the hitch angle within the stable range.
However, Sriram. teaches an artificial intelligence component that has been implicitly trained to facilitate the controller maintaining the hitch angle within the stable range (paragraphs 0049 – 0050, Figs 4 – 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the AI component of Sriram in the system of Lavoie et al. in order to train and provide learning to the controller system based on the hitch angle stability ranges.
Regarding Claim 4:
Lavoie et al. is silent to an artificial intelligence component that has been explicitly trained to facilitate the controller maintaining the hitch angle within the stable range.
However, Sriram. teaches an artificial intelligence component that has been explicitly trained to facilitate the controller maintaining the hitch angle within the stable range (paragraphs 0049 – 0050, Figs 4 – 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the AI component of Sriram in the system of Lavoie et al. in order to train and provide learning to the controller system based on the hitch angle stability ranges.
Regarding Claim 12:
See rejection of Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 13:
See rejection of Claim 4 above.
Regarding Claim 20:
See rejection of Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 21:
See rejection of Claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 14, 16, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie et al. (US 2016/0039456).
Regarding Claim 5:
Lavoie et al. is silent to the controller estimates steering angle of the vehicle using the following equation: δ=ϕ.+vL3.Math.ϕ-vL1.Math.(1+L2L3) wherein: L.sub.1 is wheelbase of the vehicle; L.sub.2 is length from a tow hook to rear axle of the vehicle; L.sub.3 is length from the tow hook to axle on the trailer; V is velocity of the vehicle; and Φ is angle between the vehicle and the trailer.
However, Lavoie et al. teaches the same variable inputted via sensors (Fig 5, paragraphs 0094 – 0108), that are used to determine the steering angle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the equation as claimed since the steering angle determination of Lavoie et al. uses the same inputted variables in order to calculate a relationship between a curvature of a path of travel of a trailer and the steering angle of a vehicle towing the trailer.
Regarding Claim 7:
Lavoie et al. is silent to a length estimation component that estimates length of the trailer (L.sub.3) using the following equation: L3=-v.Math.(sin(ϕ).Math.L1+L2.Math.cos(ϕ).Math.tan(δ))ϕ..Math.L1+v.Math.tan(δ).
However, Lavoie et al. teaches the same variable inputted via sensors (paragraphs 0200 – 0205) that are used to determine the length of the trailer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the equation as claimed since the length determination of Lavoie et al. uses the same inputted variables in order to estimate the length of the trailer.
Regarding Claim 14:
See rejection of Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 16:
See rejection of Claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 22:
See rejection of Claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 24:
See rejection of Claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747