Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-27, 30, 31, 35, 37, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (JP 2012-227876A) in view of Puente Baliarda et al (US 2008/0018543 A1), hereinafter Baliarda.
Regarding claim 21, Goto (Figures 1, 2 and 4) teaches an antenna element 100 for a wireless communication device comprising:
a surface-mount device 10 including a dielectric substrate 11 and a conductive planar element 12 on a surface of the dielectric substrate, the surface-mount device being mounted on a surface of a printed circuit board 20 on a ground plane clearance 21 of the printed circuit board within the wireless communication device, the ground plane clearance including an area above and below the surface-mount device with an absence of a grounded conducting surface.
wherein the antenna element is configured to:
be connected to a radiofrequency system 41 (Figure 10) to provide impedance matching (via matching circuit 30) to the surface-mount device, and
be coupled to a ground plane layer 23 within the wireless communication device.
Goto does not explicitly mention that a maximum length of the surface-mount device is less than L/10, L being a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the antenna element.
Baliarda (para [0148]) teaches an antenna element for a wireless communication device wherein the antenna structure or surface-mount device is less than L/10, L being a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the antenna element.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the a maximum length of the surface-mount device is less than L/10, L being a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the antenna element, as taught by Baliarda, doing so would make the antenna small enough to fit inside a compact electronic communication device and practical at low frequencies.
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 21, Goto (para [0037]) teaches that the dielectric substrate 11 comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: FR4, ceramic, and Rogers.
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 21, Goto (Figures 1 and 2, para [0008]) teaches that the antenna element is configured to transmit and receive radio waves in first and second separated frequency regions within the electromagnetic spectrum.
Regarding claim 26, as applied to claim 25, Goto (para [0037]) teaches that the dielectric substrate comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: FR4, ceramic, and Rogers.
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 25, Goto (Figures 1 and 2, para [0008]) teaches that the surface-mount device 10 includes first and second conductive surfaces 12 and 13 on a largest surface of the dielectric substrate, wherein the first and second conductive surfaces are connected.
Regarding claim 30, as applied to claim 21, Baliarda (para [0148]) teaches that the maximum length of the surface-mount device is greater than L/22.
Regarding claim 31, as applied to claim 21, Baliarda (para [018]) teaches that the maximum length of the surface-mount device is less than L/12.
Regarding claim 35, as applied to claim 21, Goto (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the surface-mount device 10 includes first and second conductive surfaces 12 and 13 on a same largest surface of the dielectric substrate, wherein the first and second conductive surfaces are not connected.
Regarding claim 37, as applied to claim 21, Baliarda (para [0023]) teaches that the antenna element operates at two separate frequency regions including two or more cellular frequency bands.
Regarding claim 38, Goto/Baliarda teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 37, except explicitly mention that at least one of the two or more cellular frequency bands includes the 698 MHz frequency. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antenna structure such that at least one of the two or more cellular frequency bands includes the 698 MHz frequency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 40, as applied to claim 21, Goto (Figures 1 and 2) teaches that the dielectric substrate 11 of the surface-mount device 10 is between conductive planar element (top portion of 12) and the surface of the printed circuit board 20 on which the surface-mount device is mounted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 23 and 32 are allowed.
Claims 28, 29, 33-34, 36 and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 22, Goto in view of Baliarda teaches an antenna element for a wireless communication device comprising a surface-mount device including a dielectric substrate and a conductive planar element on a surface of the dielectric substrate, the surface-mount device being mounted on a ground plane clearance of a printed circuit board within the wireless communication device, the ground plane clearance including an area above and below the surface-mount device with an absence of a grounded conducting surface, wherein a maximum length of the surface-mount device is less than L/10, L being a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the antenna element, and, wherein the antenna element is configured to be connected to a radiofrequency system to provide impedance matching to the surface- mount device, and be coupled to a ground plane layer within the wireless communication device.
Neither Goto nor Baliarda further teaches that the surface-mount device having a lowest resonant frequency above a lowest frequency region of operation when disconnected from the radiofrequency system.
Claim 23 is allowed for at least the reason for depending on claim 22.
Regarding claims 28 and 29, neither Goto nor Baliarda further teaches that the first and second conductive surfaces are connected by a via hole.
Regarding claim 32, Goto in view of Baliarda teaches an antenna element for a wireless communication device comprising a surface-mount device including a dielectric substrate and a conductive planar element on a surface of the dielectric substrate, the surface-mount device being mounted on a ground plane clearance of a printed circuit board within the wireless communication device, the ground plane clearance including an area above and below the surface-mount device with an absence of a grounded conducting surface, wherein a maximum length of the surface-mount device is less than L/10, L being a free-space wavelength corresponding to a lowest frequency of operation of the antenna element, and wherein wherein the antenna element is configured to: be connected to a radiofrequency system to provide impedance matching to the surface- mount device, and be coupled to a ground plane layer within the wireless communication device.
Neither Goto nor Baliarda fails to further teach that a contour of the conductive planar element has a complexity factor F12 less than 1.5 and a complexity factor F32 less than 1.5.
Regarding claim 33, neither Got nor Baliarda teaches that a contour of the conductive planar element has a complexity factor F12 less than 1.3 and a complexity factor F32 less than 1.3.
Regarding claim 34, neither Goto nor Baliarda further teaches that a contour of the conductive planar element has a complexity factor F12 less than 1.3 and a complexity factor F32 less than 1.5.
Regarding claim 36, neither Goto nor Baliarda further teaches that the first and second conductive surfaces have a convex shape.
Regarding claim 39, neither Goto nor Baliarda further teaches that the antenna element operates at two separate frequency regions including four or more cellular frequency bands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Harper et al (CN104769771A) discloses a surface-mount device mounted on a surface of a printed circuit board.
Wu et al (DE 20 2016 102 916 U1) discloses a surface-mount device mounted on a surface of a printed circuit board.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845