DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1-3 are objected to for failing to comply with CFR 1.84(l, p) - character of lines, number, letters is not sufficiently dense/dark; numbers, letters are not the correct size.
Figure 4A is objected to for failing to comply with CFR 1.84 (l, m, p, q) - letters and numbers are too small and not sufficiently dense/dark; the lead line and character of “connection channel” are not sufficiently dense/dark; shading reduces legibility.
Figure 4B is objected to for failing to comply with CFR 1.84 (m, p) - characters are too small, not sufficiently dense/dark; shading reduces legibility.
Figures 6A-6C, 9 - are objected to for failing to comply with CFR 1.84 (l, m, p) - letters and numbers are too small and not sufficiently dense/dark; shading reduces legibility.
Figures 11-16, 18, 19A-D, 20 are objected to for failing to comply with CFR 1.84 (m) - shading reduces legibility.
Figure 24 is objected to for failing to comply with CFR 1.84 (l) - letters and numbers are not sufficiently dense/dark.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “dog-bone shaped” which a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(b)). The term “dog-bone shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Examiner is not permitted to import limitations into the claims (MPEP 2111.01) and therefore claim 1 which references “a dog-bone shaped” fails to provide any additional structure or context of such a shape. Without context, such shape can include simple circles/ellipses since this would be the “shape” of a bone cross section. Additionally, is this a bone of a dog? A bone for a dog? Else? For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will consider generally most shapes to be “dog-bone shaped” since such a bones can include various overall or sub-shapes - e.g. circles, rectangles, ellipses, etc.
Claims 4-6 resolve the dog-bone shape issue by specifying the structure of the dog-bone shape.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “the flexible transparent membrane” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as “the
Claims 2-7 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1.
As to claim 3, the claim recites “the lens lacks significant spherical defocus or higher order aberrations” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (MPEP 2173.05(b)). The term “significant defocus”/”significant…higher order aberrations” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear what constitutes “significant” defocus/aberrations. Is this some percentage deviation from diffraction limited? Some deviation from having no (zero) defocus/aberrations? Other? Additionally, the lens changes shape/power and thus it is unclear if this is a for a particular state of the lens - e.g. plano, convex, concave, etc. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret such limitations implicitly met by the device of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Swart (US 2,836,101).
As to claim 1, Swart teaches a tunable fluidic lens comprising a fluidic housing having a dog-bone shaped opening to a fluidic chamber (Swart Fig. 1 - 14, 11, 18; col. 1:64-72; Fig. 6 - see below), and a transparent membrane covering said dog-bone shaped opening (Swart Fig. 1 - 12; col. 1:64-70);
wherein a power of the fluidic lens is based on a deformation of the flexible transparent membrane (Swart Fig. 2 - 12, dotted lines; col. 2:1-25) due to a pressure difference between the fluidic chamber and the flexible transparent membrane (Swart Fig. 2 - 12; col. 2:1-25).
As to claim 2, Swart teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Swart teaches there is a difference in refractive index between a fluid inside the chamber and a fluid on the other side of the flexible transparent membrane (Swart Fig. 2; col. 2:1-5 - outside = air, inside = water).
As to claim 3 (as understood), Swart teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Swart further teaches the lens lacks significant spherical defocus or higher order aberrations (Swart Fig. 2; col. 2:15-25; col. 2:65-72; col. 3:1-20 - as discussed, the lens provides no power and thus no defocus/aberrations when unpressurized).
As to claim 7, Swart teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Swart further teaches a fluidic pump configured to change a fluid pressure within the fluidic chamber (Swart Fig. 1 - 20; Fig. 2 - 22; Fig. 6 - 47; col. 2:1-5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,703,617 (herein US 617). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As to claim 1, US 617 claim 1 recites:
Instant Applicant Claim Language
Corresponding US 617 Claim
A tunable cylindrical fluidic lens comprising a fluidic housing having a dog-bone shaped opening to a fluidic chamber
Claim 1
A transparent membrane covering said dog-bone shaped opening
Claim 1
a power of the cylindrical fluidic lens is based on a deformation of the flexible transparent membrane due to a pressure difference between the fluidic chamber and the flexible transparent membrane
Claim 1
As to claims 2-6, US 617 claims 1-4 recite substantially similar subject matter.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US 617 in view of Swart (cited above).
As to claim 7, US 617 claim 1 recites all the limitations of instant claim 1, but doesn’t specify a fluidic pump configured to change a fluid pressure within the fluidic chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such pump since, as taught by Swart, such pumps allow for changing the pressure to effect focal length change (Swart Fig. 1 - 20; Fig. 2 - 22; Fig. 6 - 47; col. 2:1-5).
Claims 1, 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,982 (US 982). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
As to claim 1, US 982 claim 1 recites:
Instant Applicant Claim Language
Corresponding US 982 Claim
A tunable cylindrical fluidic lens comprising a fluidic housing having a dog-bone shaped opening to a fluidic chamber
Claim 1
A transparent membrane covering said dog-bone shaped opening
Claim 1
a power of the cylindrical fluidic lens is based on a deformation of the flexible transparent membrane due to a pressure difference between the fluidic chamber and the flexible transparent membrane
Claim 1
As to claim 4, US 982 claim 1 recites substantially similar subject matter.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US 982 in view of Swart (cited above).
As to claim 7, US 982 claim 1 recites all the limitations of instant claim 1, but doesn’t specify a fluidic pump configured to change a fluid pressure within the fluidic chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such pump since, as taught by Swart, such pumps allow for changing the pressure to effect focal length change (Swart Fig. 1 - 20; Fig. 2 - 22; Fig. 6 - 47; col. 2:1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
NPL Documents: Cited for showing similar structures as claimed and inventors’ prior work:
Sturmer et al. (Cylindrical lens with integrated piezo actuation for focal length tuning and lateral scanning)1
Ozgur et al. (Parametric dog-bone-shaped tunable cylindrical fluidic lens)2
Patent Documents: Cited for showing similar structures as claimed and disclosed - e.g. fluid pumps, elongated cylindrical chambers, multiple fluids, membrane architecture:
Fulton (GB 6534); Gun (GB 101260); Stevens et al. (US 10,866,432); Berge (US 7,864,440); Wang et al. (US 7,813,047); Campbell (US 7,413,306); Task (US 5,973,852); Wu (US 5,233,470); De Luca (US 3,161,718); Luce (US 2,051,791); Peyman et al. (US 2016/0070038); Chou et al. (US 2010/0142059); Ojala (US 2007/0195424).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 27, 2026
1 M. Stürmer, A. Schatz and U. Wallrabe, "Cylindrical lens with integrated piezo actuation for focal length tuning and lateral scanning," 2014 IEEE 27th International Conference on Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS), 2014, pp. 1171-1174, doi: 10.1109/MEMSYS.2014.6765855
2 Erol Ozgur, Daniel Reetz, Farhad Akhoundi, Nicholas O’Brien, Jaclyn Wycoff, Ram Voorakaranam, Pierre-Alexandre Blanche, Lloyd LaComb, Chen Liang, Gholam Peyman, and N. Peyghambarian, "Parametric dog-bone-shaped tunable cylindrical fluidic lens," Appl. Opt. 60, 4755-4761 (2021)