Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/1/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-8, 11, 17-18, and 21-26 are cancelled. New claims 27-36 are added. Claims 9-10, 12-16, 19-20, and 27-36 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged. Withdrawn claims are cancelled.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 25 and at the start of its second paragraph, the second layer is identified as 204 and the third layer as 206. However, in the rest of the paragraph this designation is switched and 204 is recognized as the third layer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10, 13-16, 19-20, and 27-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU (US-2020/0238565), hereinafter HU, in view of NI (US-2023/0256648), hereinafter NI. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 9, HU discloses A method for processing material, the material comprising plant or plant-based material {[abstract]}, the method comprising:
providing an assembly comprising individual strands of the material, each strand having a fiber direction along which cellulose fibers therein are substantially aligned, the fiber directions of the individual strands within the assembly being substantially aligned {[abstract] note fibers are aligned, [0095] note wood could be in the form of strip or strand and thus to make a layer or sheet it has to be assembled, thus an assembly of strands};
subjecting the assembly to one or more chemical treatments so as to modify a property of lignin within and/or partially remove the lignin from the strands of the scrap material within the assembly {[0096] note treating with a chemical solution to remove lignin},
while maintaining alignment of the fiber directions of the strands within the assembly; and after the subjecting, compressing the assembly so as to form a densified piece comprising the chemically-treated strands of the scrap material {[0097] note compression to densify, [0091] note during pressing direction of lumina is maintained}.
HU, however, is silent on the plant material being scrap plant material.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to treating wood, NI discloses that starting wood material for strands can be waste or scrap wood {[0003]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of IN in the method of HU and have used waste or scrap wood in the method.
As disclosed by IN, by using wood strand, low grade and thus cheaper waste wood can be used while maintaining the property of the final product {[0003]}.
Regarding claims 10 and 27, modified HU discloses wherein the subjecting to one or more chemical treatments and the compressing are performed with the assembly disposed in a holder that maintains the alignment of the fiber directions of the strands within the assembly (claim 10), wherein the providing comprises disposing the strands of the scrap material within the holder (claim 27) {[FIG. 6A] 608 is the holder during chemical treatment and 618 is the holder during compression}. The Examiner notes that claim 10 does not explicitly recite that the same holder is used during both steps (emphasis added by the Examiner).
In the interest of compact prosecution and if it can be argued that the holder is the same, a second rejection for claims 10 and 27 is made below.
Regarding claim 13, modified HU discloses wherein the providing comprises cutting an input feedstock of the scrap material to form the individual strands {[0075] note strip or strand was discussed above, note modified HU uses scrap wood}.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, modified HU discloses further comprising: after the subjecting and prior to the compressing, providing an additive to the assembly, wherein the additive is incorporated into the densified piece by the compressing, and the additive comprises a polysaccharide filler, a glue, a water stabilizing agent, and/or a fire retardant (claim 14), wherein the glue comprises Kraft lignin, epoxy, polyurethane adhesives, two-component polyurethane adhesives, polyvinyl acetate- isocyanate adhesives, resorcinol formaldehyde resin adhesives, phenolic resin, or any combination of the foregoing (claim 16) {[0073], [0088] note epoxy or polyurethane are the glue}.
Regarding claim 15 limitation of “wherein the polysaccharide filler comprises starch, chitin, chitosan, cellulose, carboxymethyl cellulose, methyl cellulose, ethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, or any combination of the foregoing”, and claim 28 limitation of “wherein the water stabilizing agent, the fire retardant, or both comprise aluminum hydroxide, aluminum diethyl phosphinate, antimony trioxide, magnesium hydroxide, aluminum hydroxide, borate, tributyl phosphate, tris(2- ethylhexyl) phosphate, tris(2-chloroethyl) phosphate, tricresyl phosphate, triphenyl phosphate, or any combination of the foregoing”, as discussed above the Examiner showed that modified HU discloses the limitation of glue and the other limitations in claim 14 are optional.
Regarding claim 19 limitation of “further comprising: prior to the compressing, removing one or more non-plant components from the scrap material, and the non-plant components comprise a metal, a label, a coating, or any combination of the foregoing”, as shown in claim 9, modified HU uses waste wood. The Examiner submits that waste or scrap wood contains other foreign objects such as coating, paper label and therefore, since the objective of the method of modified HU is to make densified wood, and at the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have removed the foreign objects from the waste plant material so that a proper wood product can be made.
Regarding claim 20, modified HU discloses further comprising, after the subjecting to one or more chemical treatments and prior to the compressing, drying the assembly to have a moisture content less than or equal to 25 wt% {[0082]}.
Modified HU, however, is silent on the numerical value of the extent of drying. HU discloses that the extent of drying depends on the final application of the wood product {[0082]}. Therefore, modified HU recognizes the extent of drying as a result-effective variable affecting the quality of the final product.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of moisture content on the quality of the final product) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the moisture content which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the moisture content necessary to achieve a high quality product that in some cases leads to the levels that are claimed.
Regarding claim 29, modified HU discloses wherein the compressing comprises pressing the assembly in a direction crossing the fiber directions of the strands within the assembly {[0069]}.
Regarding claim 30, modified HU discloses further comprising, after the compressing, applying a surface treatment or coating to one or more external surfaces of the densified piece {[0184]}.
Regarding claim 31, modified HU discloses wherein, after the compressing, the densified piece has a density of at least 1 g/cm3 {[0070] Table 2}.
Regarding claim 32, modified HU discloses further comprising, after the compressing, coupling the densified piece to one or more other plant or plant-based material pieces to form a laminated structure {[0152]}.
Regarding claim 33, modified HU discloses the densified piece and the one or more other plant or plant-based material pieces in the laminated structure are arranged in at least two layers, and each piece in a first layer of the least two layers has a mechanical strength greater than that of each piece in a second layer of the least two layers {[0179]}.
Regarding claim 34, modified HU discloses wherein: (a) each piece in the first layer comprises native plant material or scrap material having a first size, and each piece in the second layer comprises scrap material having a second size less than the first size or from cardboard as the scrap material; or (b) a lignin content of each piece in the first layer is greater than a lignin content of each piece in the second layer; or (c) both (a) and (b) {[0155], [0158]}.
Regarding claim 35, modified HU discloses wherein the lignin content of each piece in the second layer is less than or equal to 5 wt% {[0066] Table 1}.
Regarding claim 36, modified HU discloses wherein: the first layer is arranged at an externally facing portion of the laminated structure; and the second layer is arranged at a non-externally facing portion of the laminated structure {[FIG. 17C] the top 1704 is the first layer}.
Claims 10, 12, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU and NI as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of COLEMAN (US 6,344,165), hereinafter COLEMAN. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claims 10, 12, and 27, combination HU and NI discloses all the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on using a holder (same holder) for both chemical treatments and compression as recited in claims and 10 and 27, and the detailed structure of the holder as recited in claim 12.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to reconstituted wood products, COLEMAN discloses wherein the subjecting to one or more chemical treatments and the compressing are performed with the assembly disposed in a holder that maintains the alignment of the fiber directions of the strands within the assembly (claim 10), wherein: the holder comprises a porous basket having a bottom wall, two or more side walls extending from the bottom wall, and an open top opposite the bottom wall and formed at least in part by edges of the side walls, and the compressing comprises moving a platen of a mechanical press into contact with the chemically-treated assembly via the open top and applying pressure via the platen to the chemically-treated assembly without contacting the two or more side walls of the porous basket (claim 12), wherein the providing comprises disposing the strands of the scrap material within the holder (claim 27) {[abstract], [FIG. 1] note open top holder 30/25 with side walls 32/34/26/38 and porous bottom walls 36/38 that holds the wood strands mat 60, note moveable press platen 18 moves without contacting the two side wall 32/34, [C3, L42-47] note use of wood strands, [C1, L46-48] note curing, which is a chemical treatment, also happens in the holder that carries the compression}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the two holders of HU with the single holder of COLEMAN and have performed the delignification and pressing of HU in the same moveable holder 30/25 of COLEMAN. As disclosed by COLEMAN, the advantage of this holder is that it prevents dislodging of loose strands that affect the sealing of the device {[C2, L52-60]}. Additionally, it is obvious to artisan to have used a single holder for both processes in order to avoid additional transfer of the treated wood from delignification process to the pressing step.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748