DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2024-018167 filed on 02/08/2024 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 12/23/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 12/23/2024, 06/13/2025 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kozuka, US Pub 2009/0219561.
As to claim 1[independent], Kozuka teaches an image processing apparatus [fig. 1, element 4031 and/or 4032; 0026] comprising circuitry configured to [fig. 2, element 4601; 0033]:
obtain image information generated by reading an image printed on a medium [fig. 10; 0007-0008, 0110-0112 Kozuka teaches that the scanner reads/scans document sheet to obtain image data information including at least embedded watermark image data information];
extract, from the image information, embedded information embedded as a digital watermark in the image [fig. 10; 0007-0008, 0110-0112 Kozuka teaches that the scanner reads/scans document sheet to obtain image data information including at least watermark image data information]; and
process the image information using at least one of a plurality of types of functions [figs. 7, 10; 0007-0008, 0110-0114 Kozuka teaches that the scanner reads/scans document sheet to obtain image data information including at least embedded watermark image data information. Processor 4601 (CPU 4601) also determines that the embedded watermark image data exists in the read document sheet and security rule stored in memory 4604 is searched for depending on embedding format of the information embedded to the document sheet, types of the image processing to be restricted or restricted or types of the image processing to be permitted. The CPU 4601 can determine or recognize which type of the image processing is restricted or which type of the image processing is permitted. Then, from the information embedded to the document sheet, the processing contents of the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like (for e.g., information such as "the copy restriction" and "the sending processing is restricted") are extracted, and the job currently executed in the image formation apparatus is compared with the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like to determine whether the execution of the currently executed job is restricted];
wherein, in processing the image information using the at least one of the plurality of types of functions, the circuitry is configured to determine to restrict execution of processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded, based on an attribute included in the embedded information, the attribute indicating whether to restrict the execution of the processing of each of the plurality of types of functions [figs. 7, 10; 0007-0008, 0110-0114 Kozuka teaches that the scanner reads/scans document sheet to obtain image data information including at least embedded watermark image data information. Processor 4601 (CPU 4601) also determines that the embedded watermark image data exists in the read document sheet and security rule stored in memory 4604 is searched for depending on embedding format of the information embedded to the document sheet, types of the image processing to be restricted or restricted or types of the image processing to be permitted. The CPU 4601 determines or recognizes which type of the image processing is restricted or which type of the image processing is permitted. Then, from the information embedded to the document sheet, the processing contents of the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like (for e.g., information such as "the copy restriction" and "the sending processing is restricted") are extracted, and the job currently executed in the image formation apparatus is compared with the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like to determine whether the execution of the currently executed job is restricted].
As to claim 2[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to determine to restrict the execution of the processing on another image different from the image information, based on the attribute included in the embedded information [figs. 7, 10; 0007-0008, 0110-0114 Kozuka teaches that the scanner reads/scans document sheet to obtain image data information including at least embedded watermark image data information. Processor 4601 (CPU 4601) also determines that the embedded watermark image data exists in the read document sheet and security rule stored in memory 4604 is searched for depending on embedding format of the information embedded to the document sheet, types of the image processing to be restricted or restricted or types of the image processing to be permitted. The CPU 4601 determines or recognizes which type of the image processing is restricted or which type of the image processing is permitted. Then, from the information embedded to the document sheet, the processing contents of the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like (for e.g., information such as "the copy restriction" and "the sending processing is restricted") are extracted, and the job currently executed in the image formation apparatus is compared with the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like to determine whether the execution of the currently executed job is restricted].
As to claim 3[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to restrict the execution of the processing including processing to output the image information using the at least one of the plurality of types of functions [fig. 1, element 4031 and/or 4032 & fig. 7; 0026-0027 Kozuka teaches printer 4031 or 4032 having copying, scanning, printing and fax functions etc. The CPU 4601 determines or recognizes which type of the image processing (e.g., copying, scanning, printing and fax functions etc.) is restricted or which type of the image processing is permitted. Then, from the information embedded to the document sheet, the processing contents of the copy, save, transmission conditions and the like (for e.g., information such as "the copy restriction" and "the sending processing is restricted")].
As to claim 4[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches wherein the plurality of types of functions to be used in processing includes at least two of a copying function, a scanning function, and a facsimile transmission function [fig. 1, element 4031 and/or 4032; 0026-0027 Kozuka teaches printer 4031 or 4032 having copying, scanning, printing and fax functions etc.].
As to claim 6[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches wherein, the circuitry is further configured to:
obtain user information of a user who uses the image processing apparatus [figs. 7, 8-9; 0074-0080 Kozuka teaches acquires the user information of the user using the printer 4031 or 4032(e.g., 0080)]; and
based on a determination of whether identification information of a user who has instructed the image processing apparatus to output the medium, included in the embedded information, matches the user information that is obtained, determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute [figs. 7, 8-9; 0074-0080 Kozuka teaches acquires the user information of the user using the printer 4031 or 4032(e.g., 0080). When the user uses a soft keyboard, an IC card, or the like to input the password into the printer 4031. After that, the CPU 4601 determines whether the input password contained in the background of the document sheet is matched with the input password. If a case where the passwords are matched with each other, the printer 4031 continues the copy operation. On the other hand, in a case where the password input is failed, the copy operation is aborted].
As to claim 8[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to output warning information based on the attribute included in the embedded information before the image information is processed [figs. 8-9; 0075-0077, 0078-0079, 0118 Kozuka teaches that the CPU 4601 causes display 4512 to display warning message or information based on the attribute included in the embedded information before the image information is printed or processed on a printing sheet].
As to claim 9[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches a printer [fig. 1, element 4031 and/or 4032; 0026] to print the image on the medium [0041].
As to claim 10[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka teaches an image processing system comprising: the image processing apparatus according to claim 1; and a computer communicably connected with the image processing apparatus [fig. 1, elements 4011 or 4012 & 4031 or 4032; 0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozuka, US Pub 2009/0219561 in view of Uchibori, JP Pub 2017-094667.
As to claim 5[dependent from claim 1], Kozuka doesn’t teach a memory that stores administrator information,
wherein, the circuitry is further configured to:
obtain user information of a user who uses the image processing apparatus; and
based on a determination of whether the administrator information stored in the memory matches the user information, determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute.
Uchibori teaches a memory that stores administrator information figs. 1, 4, fig. 10; abstract, pages 1, 4-5, 9-10 Uchibori teaches that the CPU 101 determines that if the administrator information stored in the memory 102 or 103 matches the user information with the administrator information prior to determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute,
wherein, the circuitry is further configured to [fig. 1, element 101; page 2]:
obtain user information of a user who uses the image processing apparatus figs. 1, 4, fig. 10; abstract, pages 1, 4-5, 9-10 Uchibori teaches that the CPU 101 determines that if the administrator information stored in the memory 102 or 103 matches the user information with the administrator information prior to determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute; and
based on a determination of whether the administrator information stored in the memory matches the user information, determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute [figs. 1, 4, fig. 10; abstract, pages 1, 4-5, 9-10 Uchibori teaches that the CPU 101 determines that if the administrator information stored in the memory 102 or 103 matches the user information with the administrator information prior to determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Uchibori teaching to store administrator information for comparing with user information to modify Kozuka’s teaching to perform user authentication as an electronic watermark by extracting the printing user information to read the printed matter, and outputs the printed matter, which embedded the printing user information. The printing user is specified with the printing user information extracted from the printed matter. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to makes able to extract the printing user information to read the printed matter, where the printing user is specified with the printing user information extracted from the printed matter, and thus enables to prevent the recurrence of leaving to stand printed matter and reduces the risk of information leak.
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Kozuka doesn’t teach a memory that stores management information indicating whether to restrict the execution of the processing of each of the plurality of types of functions, the management information being associated with a user right and a management level assigned to the medium, wherein, the circuitry is further configured to:
obtain a user right of a user who uses the image processing apparatus; and
restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded, based on the management level included in the embedded information, the user right that is obtained, and the management information.
Uchibori teaches a memory that stores management information indicating whether to restrict the execution of the processing of each of the plurality of types of functions, the management information being associated with a user right and a management level assigned to the medium [figs. 1, 4, fig. 10; abstract, pages 1, 4-5, 9-10 Uchibori teaches that the CPU 101 determines that if the administrator information stored in the memory 102 or 103 matches the user information with the administrator information prior to determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute],
wherein, the circuitry is further configured to:
obtain a user right of a user who uses the image processing apparatus [figs. 1, 4, fig. 10; abstract, pages 1, 4-5, 9-10 Uchibori teaches that the CPU 101 determines that if the administrator information stored in the memory 102 or 103 matches the user information with the administrator information prior to determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute]; and
restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded, based on the management level included in the embedded information, the user right that is obtained, and the management information [figs. 1, 4, fig. 10; abstract, pages 1, 4-5, 9-10 Uchibori teaches that the CPU 101 determines that if the administrator information stored in the memory 102 or 103 matches the user information with the administrator information prior to determine whether to restrict or not restrict the execution of the processing on the image information in which the embedded information is embedded based on the attribute].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Uchibori teaching to store administrator information for comparing with user information to modify Kozuka’s teaching to perform user authentication as an electronic watermark by extracting the printing user information to read the printed matter, and outputs the printed matter, which embedded the printing user information. The printing user is specified with the printing user information extracted from the printed matter. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to makes able to extract the printing user information to read the printed matter, where the printing user is specified with the printing user information extracted from the printed matter, and thus enables to prevent the recurrence of leaving to stand printed matter and reduces the risk of information leak.
Conclusion
//HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682