DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Italian Patent Office 12/27/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Applicant appears to have switched element number 55 and 56 (compare Figs. 5 and 10). The Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to amend Fig. 10 to swap element number 55 and 56 in Fig. 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “axial support member” in claims 1, 5, 9-10, 15 and 18; “means for fixing” and “fixing means” in claims 1, 8-9 and 15; “anchoring means” in claims 4; “motion transmission member(s)” in claims 4 and 15; “covering element” in claims 7, 16-17 and 19; and “capping element” in claims 9 and 20.
The Examiner suggests Applicant may wish to amend claims 1, 5, 9-10, 15 and 18 to recite “axial support” rather than “axial support member” and to amend claims 7, 16-17 and 19 to recite “cover” rather than “covering element” and to amend claims 9 and 20 to recite “cap” rather than “capping element” in order to avoid those terms being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes that Applicants have used the phrase “and/or” in claim 1. The Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB) has held that use of the phrase "and/or” within a claim is not indefinite per se. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal No. 2011-004811 (Jan. 2014). Nevertheless, “[d]uring patent examination, the pending claims must be ‘given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.’” MPEP § 2111; Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Based upon this guidance from the MPEP and the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, the Examiner interprets the phrase "and/or" under its broadest reasonable interpretation of "or" for purposes of examination of the instant Application.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 recites “said fixing means” in line 9. However, there is no antecedent basis for that element. Nevertheless, it is clear from the Specification that there is no question about the metes and bounds of this element. Therefore, the claim is not held indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), but does require correction. The Examiner suggests that Applicant may wish to remove the “said” before “fixing means” in Claim 18 at line 9. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claims 2-14 each depend directly from claim 1 and are, likewise, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 12, 15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/096545 A1 to Johansson (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 12/23/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) for a self-driving robotic lawnmower (lawnmower 2) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 1, lines 10-32; col. 9, line 26 to col. 12, line 30; col. 13, lines 12-19; col. 14, lines 7-12), said cutting unit comprising:
a cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) comprising a support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) and at least one blade (cutting members 30) (Fig. 1; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 12, lines 32 to col. 13, line 2) associated with the support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2), the support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) having a lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) and an upper surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6), the upper surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) having an opposite orientation with respect to the lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6), the lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) having an orientation such as to face, in use, the ground (see Figs. 2-4, 6);
at least one cutting motor (motor 45) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 1, lines 16-18; col. 12, lines 14-21) configured to rotate said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) around a first axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24);
at least one motion transmission member (driveshaft unit 4) (Figs. 3-4, 8; Col. 13, line 12 to col. 14, line 34; col. 17, lines 4-20; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19) operatively active between said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) and said at least one cutting motor (motor 45) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 1, lines 16-18; col. 12, lines 14-21), said at least one motion transmission member (driveshaft unit 4) (Figs. 3-4, 8; Col. 13, line 12 to col. 14, line 34; col. 17, lines 4-20; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19) being configured to transmit to said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) a motion generated by said at least one cutting motor (motor 45) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 1, lines 16-18; col. 12, lines 14-21); and
an accessory arrangement (skid plate 15 and/or attachment unit 6) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) selectively and/or removably constrainable to said lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) of the cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37);
wherein said accessory arrangement (skid plate 15 and/or attachment unit 6) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) comprises:
a protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) configured to be interposed, in use, between the ground and said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) along said first axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24); and
a mounting unit (attachment unit 6) (Figs. 3-6; Col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5) adapted to connect said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37);
wherein said mounting unit (attachment unit 6) (Figs. 3-6; Col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5) comprises:
a shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) extending between a first end (upper end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6) and a second end (lower end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6), said first end (upper end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6) being configured to be fixed to said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37);
a hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) fitted on said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) and associated with said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7), said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) being configured to support said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7);
at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) operatively active between said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) and said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and configured to allow a relative rotation between said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) and said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) around a second axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24) so that said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) behaves as an idle member remaining substantially stationary (Col. 13, lines 4-10) in conjunction with a rotation of the cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37);
an axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) of said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and of said at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33), said axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) being applied to said second end of said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15); and
means for fixing (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2) said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2);
wherein said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) is configured to be constrained to said lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) of the cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37).
Regarding claim 2, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) has, at said first end (upper end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6), an abutment surface (see Figs. 3-6) configured to press against said lower surface (lower end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6) of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) of the cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) when said accessory arrangement (skid plate 15 and/or attachment unit 6) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) is applied to said cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line24 to col. 19, line 11).
Regarding claim 3, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said second axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24) coincides with said first axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24).
Regarding claim 5, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) is fitted on said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15); wherein said axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) is configured to prevent said at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) from slipping off said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15), said axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) being configured to also prevent said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) from slipping off said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15); and wherein said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) has a threaded longitudinal cavity (see Figs. 5-6) and said axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) comprises a screw (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) provided with a head having a diameter greater than (see Figs. 5-6) an outer diameter of said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) at said threaded longitudinal cavity (see Figs. 5-6) so that a peripheral portion of the surface of said head facing said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) behaves as a support surface for said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and said pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33).
Regarding claim 6, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) define, in use, a housing volume configured to accommodate said at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33); wherein said mounting unit (attachment unit 6) (Figs. 3-6; Col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5) comprises a single pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33); wherein said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) comprises a spacer lip (spacer 53) (Figs. 4-7; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) adapted to be interposed between said pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) to prevent mutual contact between the bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) composing said pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33); and wherein said spacer lip (spacer 53) (Figs. 4-7; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) is defined on an inner wall of said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2).
Regarding claim 8, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) has a plurality of through holes (through holes 28) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 16, lines 13-24) configured to be crossed by said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2), said through holes (through holes 28) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 16, lines 13-24) being angularly spaced from each other around said second axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24); wherein said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) comprises at least one seat (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, lines 17-23) configured to accommodate said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2); wherein said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2) comprises at least one screw (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2); and wherein said at least one seat (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, lines 17-23) comprises a threaded portion adapted to couple with said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2).
Regarding claim 9, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) has a central hole (See Annotated Fig. 5 of Johannson infra), said central hole (See Annotated Fig. 5 of Johannson infra) allowing access to said mounting unit (attachment unit 6) (Figs. 3-6; Col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5); wherein said central hole (See Annotated Fig. 5 of Johannson infra) is configured to allow access to said axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5); wherein said accessory arrangement (skid plate 15 and/or attachment unit 6) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) comprises at least one capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) adapted to be selectively applied to said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to at least partially occlude said central hole (See Annotated Fig. 5 of Johannson infra); wherein said capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) is configured to be applied to said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) by said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2) so that said capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) and said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) are simultaneously connected to said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) by said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2), a portion of said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) adjacent to said central hole (See Annotated Fig. 5 of Johannson infra) remaining interposed and pressed between said capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) and said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2); wherein said capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) has at least one through hole (aperture(s) 8’ and/or through hole(s) 13’) (Fig. 5; Col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, lines 17-28) configured to be crossed by said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2); and wherein said at least one through hole (aperture(s) 8’ and/or through hole(s) 13’) (Fig. 5; Col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, lines 17-28) of said capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7), said at least one through hole (through hole(s) 28) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 16, lines 13-24) of said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) and said at least one seat (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, lines 17-23) of said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) are configured to be, in use, aligned along a direction parallel to said second axis of rotation (rotation axis Ax) (Figs. 1, 6, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24).
[AltContent: textbox (Central Hole)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Fig. 5 of Johannson.
Regarding claim 12, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) of the support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) has an anchoring seat (see Fig. 6) configured to at least partially contain said first end (upper end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6) of said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15); and wherein said first end (upper end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6) is counter-shaped with respect to said anchoring seat (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Johannson discloses a method for mounting a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line24 to col. 19, line 11) to a self-driving robotic lawnmower (lawnmower 2) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 1, lines 10-32; col. 9, line 26 to col. 12, line 30; col. 13, lines 12-19; col. 14, lines 7-12), suitable for performing grass cutting operations, said method for mounting comprising at least the following steps:
connecting, by means of motion transmission members (driveshaft unit 4) (Figs. 3-4, 8; Col. 13, line 12 to col. 14, line 34; col. 17, lines 4-20; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19), at least one traction motor (motor 45) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 1, lines 16-18; col. 12, lines 14-21) to an upper surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) of a support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2);
constraining a shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) to a lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) at a first end (upper end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6) of said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15);
fitting a hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) on said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) with at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) interposed between said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15);
applying an axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) to a second end (lower end of attachment unit 6) (See Figs. 3-6)of said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) to prevent said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and said at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) from slipping off; and
constraining a protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) by fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2).
Regarding claim 17, Johannson discloses the mounting method according to claim 15 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a mounting method comprising a step of applying a capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to at least partially cover a central hole of said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7).
Regarding claim 18, Johannson discloses a method for integrating a self-driving robotic lawnmower (lawnmower 2) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 1, lines 10-32; col. 9, line 26 to col. 12, line 30; col. 13, lines 12-19; col. 14, lines 7-12), said robotic lawnmower (lawnmower 2) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 1, lines 10-32; col. 9, line 26 to col. 12, line 30; col. 13, lines 12-19; col. 14, lines 7-12) being provided with a cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) comprising a support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) and at least one blade associated with the support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2), said integration method comprising at least the following steps:
constraining a shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) to a lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2);
fitting a hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) on said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) with at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) interposed between said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15);
applying an axial support member (screw 55) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 5) to said second end of said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) to prevent said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) and said at least one pair of bearings (bearings 31, 32) (Figs. 4-6, 9; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15; col. 15, lines 25-33) from slipping off;
constraining a protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to said hub (bearing support member 35) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 15, line 7 to col. 16, line 2) by said fixing means (fastening elements 37) (Figs. 4-5; Col. 15, line 17 to col. 16, line 2).
Regarding claim 20, Johannson discloses the integration method according to claim 18 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses an integration method comprising a step of applying a capping element (skid plate cover 13) (Figs. 2-5, 6, 9; Col. 15, lines 17-33; col. 16, lines 13 to col. 17, line 2; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 5; col. 19, lines 13-28; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) to at least partially cover a central hole of said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannson in view of Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN 115868310 A to Jonson et al. (hereinafter Jonson) (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 12/23/2024).
Regarding claim 4, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said shaft (portion 6’ of attachment unit 6) (Figs. 4-6; Col. 14, line 36 to col. 15, line 15) is fixed to said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) by anchoring means (keyed interface 60) (Fig. 3; Col. 13, lines 21-30), said anchoring means (keyed interface 60) (Fig. 3; Col. 13, lines 21-30) being configured to engage with said at least one motion transmission member (driveshaft unit 4) (Figs. 3-4, 8; Col. 13, line 12 to col. 14, line 34; col. 17, lines 4-20; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19) so that said accessory arrangement (skid plate 15 and/or attachment unit 6) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 13, line 32 to col. 14, line 5; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) and said cutting plate (cutting unit 3) (Fig. 1-4, 6; Col. 12, lines 1-12; col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 12, lines 21-30; col. 14, lines 7-12; col. 14, lines 19-26; col. 15, lines 25-33; col. 16, lines 13-33; col. 17, lines 4-9; col. 17, line 36 to col. 18, line 22; col. 19, line 30 to col. 20, line 19; col. 20, lines 31-37) are simultaneously connected to the at least one cutting motor (motor 45) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 1, lines 16-18; col. 12, lines 14-21). However, Johannson does not expressly disclose that the anchoring means comprises a plurality of screws angularly equidistant from each other around said second axis of rotation. Nevertheless, Jonson teaches anchoring means wherein a shaft (extending/extension shaft 222) (Fig. 7; p. 8, line 4 to p. 9, line 6) is fixed to said support body (cutting plate 221) (Fig. 7; P. 7, lines 4-12), wherein the anchoring means comprises a plurality of screws (locking members 30 which can be locking screws) (Fig. 7; P. 7, lines 4-12) angularly equidistant from each other around said second axis of rotation (see Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutting unit disclose in Johannson with the anchoring means being a plurality of screws as taught in Jonson with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannson.
Regarding claim 11, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Johannson discloses a cutting unit (cutting arrangement 1) (Figs. 1-4, 9; Col. 11, line 31 to col. 12, line 21; col. 12, lines 23-30; col. 13, line 4 to col. 14, line 12; col. 16, lines 13-24; col. 16, line 35 to col. 17, line 9; col. 18, line 24 to col. 19, line 11) wherein said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) has a substantially planar conformation (see Figs. 1-4), said lower surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) and said upper surface (see Figs. 2-4, 6) representing the two most developed faces of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2); wherein said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) is substantially conformed as a disc-shaped body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2), said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2) having a first radius defined as a distance between said first axis of rotation (see Annotated Fig. 2 of Johannson infra) and an outer perimeter of said support body (cutting disc 3’) (Fig. 1-4; Col. 12, line 32 to col. 13, line 2); wherein said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) is substantially conformed as a disc-shaped body (see Annotated Fig. 2 of Johannson infra), said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7) having a second radius defined as a distance between said second axis of rotation and an outer perimeter of said protection disc (skid plate 15) (Figs. 1-6, 9; Col. 12, line 23 to col. 13, line 10; col. 15, lines 17-23; col. 15, line 35 to col. 16, line 33; col. 18, line 31 to col. 19, line 2; col. 19, line 13 to col. 20, line 13; col. 20, line 31 to col. 21, line 7). However, Johannson does not expressly disclose that said first radius is less than or equal to said second radius. Nevertheless, in cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A). As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Johannson to make the first radius less than the second radius with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide more safety to a user of the cutting unit rather than have the first radius greater than the second radius which could provide less blockage by the protective disc and potentially provide better grass cutting.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Radius)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Axis of Rotation)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (First Radius)]
Annotated Fig. 2 of Johannson.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannson in view of Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/182909 A1 to Hagberg (cited by Applicant in IDS filed on 12/23/2024).
Regarding claim 13, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). However, Johannson does not expressly disclose that said at least one blade is removably associated with said support body substantially at said perimeter of the support body; wherein said at least one blade extends in a radial direction with respect to said first axis of rotation and projects from said support body; and wherein said at least one blade is associated with said support body by means of a pin or a fixing screw. Nevertheless, Hagberg teaches a cutting unit comprising at least one blade (cutting member(s) 30) (Fig. 4; Col. 10, lines 26-36; col. 11, lines 16-22; col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 11) is removably associated with said support body (cutting unit 3’) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Col. 11, lines 1 to col. 12, line 5) substantially at said perimeter (see Fig. 4; Col. 12, lines 1-5) of the support body (cutting unit 3’) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Col. 11, lines 1 to col. 12, line 5); wherein said at least one blade (cutting member(s) 30) (Fig. 4; Col. 10, lines 26-36; col. 11, lines 16-22; col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 11) extends in a radial direction with respect to said first axis of rotation (axis of rotation Ax) (Abstract; Figs. 3-4) and projects from said support body (cutting unit 3’) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Col. 11, lines 1 to col. 12, line 5); and wherein said at least one blade (cutting member(s) 30) (Fig. 4; Col. 10, lines 26-36; col. 11, lines 16-22; col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 11) is associated with said support body (cutting unit 3’) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Col. 11, lines 1 to col. 12, line 5) by means of a pin or a fixing screw (Fig. 4; Col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutting unit disclosed in Johannson with the removable blades taught in Hagberg with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the changing of broken or worn blades. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutting unit disclosed in Johannson with the removable blades taught in Hagberg with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 14, Johannson discloses the cutting unit according to claim 1 (see above). However, Johannson does not expressly disclose that said protection disc has at least one opening at a distance from said second axis of rotation equal to a distance of said pin or said fixing screw from said first axis of rotation, said at least one opening selectively allowing, depending on the mutual orientation between said support body and said protection disc, access to said pin or said fixing screw, in order to perform a maintenance or replacement operation on said at least one blade; and wherein said cutting plate comprises a plurality of blades angularly equidistant from each other around said first axis of rotation. Nevertheless, Hagberg teaches a cutting unit wherein said protection disc (skid plate 5) (Abstract; Fig. 4) has at least one opening (aperture(s) 13’) (Fig. 4; Col. 13, lines 13-27) at a distance from said second axis of rotation (axis of rotation Ax) (Abstract; Figs. 3-4) equal to a distance of said pin or said fixing screw from said first axis of rotation (axis of rotation Ax) (Abstract; Figs. 3-4), said at least one opening selectively allowing, depending on the mutual orientation between said support body (cutting unit 3’) (Abstract; Fig. 4; Col. 11, lines 1 to col. 12, line 5) and said protection disc (skid plate 5) (Abstract; Fig. 4), access to said pin or said fixing screw (Fig. 4; Col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 5), in order to perform a maintenance or replacement operation (Fig. 4; Col. 13, lines 13-27) on said at least one blade (cutting member(s) 30) (Fig. 4; Col. 10, lines 26-36; col. 11, lines 16-22; col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 11); and wherein said cutting plate comprises a plurality of blades (cutting member(s) 30) (Fig. 4; Col. 10, lines 26-36; col. 11, lines 16-22; col. 12, line 33 to col. 13, line 11) angularly equidistant from each other around said first axis of rotation (axis of rotation Ax) (Abstract; Figs. 3-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutting unit disclosed in Johannson with the apertures in the protection disc to allow maintenance or replacement operation on said removable blades taught in Hagberg with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the changing of broken or worn blades without requiring removal of the protection disc. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cutting unit disclosed in Johannson with the apertures in the protection disc to allow maintenance or replacement operation on said removable blades taught in Hagberg with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Swedish Pat. Pub. No. SE 544 710 C2 to Ekdahl et al. relates to a lawnmower cutter assembly comprising a knife carrier arrangement and a skid plate arrangement. Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN 116982465 A to Elonsson et al. relates to a robotic mower with an anti-skid plate.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671