DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2023-221134 filed on 12/27/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 12/23/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 12/23/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-10 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a guideline display program configured to be executed by a computer in an image data generation device, the image data generation device including the computer and a display, the computer being configured to generate image data on an image, the image being formed by ejecting ink from an ejection head provided in a printing device onto a printed medium placed on a platen provided in the printing device, the display being configured to display the image data, the guideline display program comprising instructions which, when executed by the computer, cause the computer to execute: a setting step of causing the display to display a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region, the guideline being allowed to have a display setting independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen; and a display step of causing the display to display the line and of causing the display to display the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen”.
The claim limitation of “the guideline display program comprising instructions which, when executed by the computer, cause the computer to execute: a setting step of causing the display to display a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region, the guideline being allowed to have a display setting independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen; and a display step of causing the display to display the line and of causing the display to display the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “by a computer” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a computer” language, “setting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually displaying the guideline setting screen indicating printable region and independent of line related to platen region. Similarly, the limitations of “displaying” to display the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “by a computer” language, “setting” & “displaying” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that an image data generation apparatus should be displaying the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a computer to perform both the setting & displaying steps. The computer in last step is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic control unit performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer to perform both the setting & displaying steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2-9 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 1 are obviously claimed either directly or indirectly the same subject matter as found in the claim 1 and are therefore rejected for depending from a rejected base claim 1 and for not overcoming the rejection of the base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 3-4, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aramaki et al. [hereafter Aramaki], US Pub 2018/0007233 in view of Baxter et al. [hereafter Baxter], US Pub 2012/0320429.
As to claim 1 [independent], Aramaki teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium [fig. 1, element 102 or 103 or 126; 0044-0045, 0050-0052] storing a guideline display program [0044-0045, 0050-0052] configured to be executed by a computer in an image data generation device, the image data generation device including the computer and a display [figs. 3-4, elements 300, 303; 0026-0028, 0060, 0066, 0073 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300. Further, Aramaki teaches that the setting screen 303 allowed the user to have a display setting may be or may be not independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen, where a printing paper area 300 may be displayed which indicates position and size of a paper sheet when the paper sheet is printed. When scan is actually performed, the reading guide area 301 is controlled to be transparent, and the other area is shielded],
the computer being configured to generate image data on an image, the image being formed by ejecting ink from an ejection head provided in a printing device onto a printed medium placed on a platen provided in the printing device [figs. 3-4, elements 300, 303; 0026-0028, 0060, 0066, 0073 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300. Further, Aramaki teaches that the setting screen 303 allowed the user to have a display setting may be or may be not independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen, where a printing paper area 300 may be displayed which indicates position and size of a paper sheet when the paper sheet is printed. When scan is actually performed, the reading guide area 301 is controlled to be transparent, and the other area is shielded],
the display being configured to display the image data [figs. 3-4; 0043, 0066-0067 Aramaki teaches that the display 122 configured to display the image data],
the guideline display program comprising instructions which, when executed by the computer, cause the computer to execute [fig. 1, element 102 or 103 or 126; 0044-0045, 0050-0052]:
a setting step of causing the display to display a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region [fig. 3, element 300; 0026-0028, 0060 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300], the guideline being allowed to have a display setting independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen [figs. 3-4, elements 300, 303; 0026-0028, 0060, 0066, 0073 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300. Further, Aramaki teaches that the setting screen 303 allowed the user to have a display setting may be or may be not independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen, where a printing paper area 300 may be displayed which indicates position and size of a paper sheet when the paper sheet is printed. When scan is actually performed, the reading guide area 301 is controlled to be transparent, and the other area is shielded]; and
Aramaki doesn’t teach a display step of causing the display to display the line and of causing the display to display the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen.
Baxter teaches a display step of causing the display to display the line and of causing the display to display the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen [fig. 2; 0025-0029 Baxter teaches that the displaying the line 218 and displaying the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baxter teaching to display the line and the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region set on the setting screen to modify Aramaki’s teaching to equipped with scanning module that scans scan items, a transparent platen supports items for scanning by the scanning module and includes a display layer i.e. organic LED layer, that is partially translucent, and displays an image to a user through the platen for guiding the user on a scanning area, in which the scanning material/items are placed, is in the center of the platen, or top-left depending upon the size of the paper selected for printing a scanned image on, the area in which the scanning material is aligned on the platen varies. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide a display layer to display optical data i.e. error message, displayed on a user interface display for providing feedback to the user to communicate with the user without impeding image quality or copying process.
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Baxter teaches an acquisition step of acquiring a size of the platen [0003, 0032-0033 Baxter teaches that the scanning area, in which the scanning papers/documents are placed, is in the center of the platen, or top-left, and depending upon the size of the paper selected for printing a scanned image on, the area in which the scanning papers/documents is aligned on the glass platen area varies],
wherein in the display step, a position of the guideline displayed on the display is changed according to the acquired size of the platen [fig.2; 0003, 0032-0033 Baxter teaches that the scanning area, in which the scanning papers/documents are placed, is in the center of the platen, or top-left, and depending upon the size of the paper selected for printing a scanned image on, the area in which the scanning papers/documents is aligned on the glass platen area varies].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baxter teaching to display the line and the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region set on the setting screen to modify Aramaki’s teaching to equipped with scanning module that scans scan items, a transparent platen supports items for scanning by the scanning module and includes a display layer i.e. organic LED layer, that is partially translucent, and displays an image to a user through the platen for guiding the user on a scanning area, in which the scanning material/items are placed, is in the center of the platen, or top-left depending upon the size of the paper selected for printing a scanned image on, the area in which the scanning material is aligned on the platen varies. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide a display layer to display optical data i.e. error message, displayed on a user interface display for providing feedback to the user to communicate with the user without impeding image quality or copying process.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Baxter teaches wherein in the display step, the guideline is displayed using a color different from a color of the line [0032, 0035 Baxter teaches that the guideline steps are obviously displayed using a color different from the line color].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baxter teaching to display the line and the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region set on the setting screen to modify Aramaki’s teaching to equipped with scanning module that scans scan items, a transparent platen supports items for scanning by the scanning module and includes a display layer i.e. organic LED layer, that is partially translucent, and displays an image to a user through the platen for guiding the user on a scanning area, in which the scanning material/items are placed, is in the center of the platen, or top-left depending upon the size of the paper selected for printing a scanned image on, the area in which the scanning material is aligned on the platen varies. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide a display layer to display optical data i.e. error message, displayed on a user interface display for providing feedback to the user to communicate with the user without impeding image quality or copying process.
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Aramaki teaches teaches wherein the information on the guideline is not included in the image data [0046-0048].
As to claim 10 [independent], Aramaki teaches a guideline display method for an image data generation device configured to create image data on an image to be printed on a printed medium placed on a platen, the guideline display method comprising [figs. 3-4, elements 300, 303; 0026-0028, 0060, 0066, 0073 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300. Further, Aramaki teaches that the setting screen 303 allowed the user to have a display setting may be or may be not independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen, where a printing paper area 300 may be displayed which indicates position and size of a paper sheet when the paper sheet is printed. When scan is actually performed, the reading guide area 301 is controlled to be transparent, and the other area is shielded]:
displaying a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region [fig. 3, element 300; 0026-0028, 0060 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300], the guideline being allowed to have a display setting independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen [figs. 3-4, elements 300, 303; 0026-0028, 0060, 0066, 0073 Aramaki teaches that the glass platen 201 displaying on display 122, a setting screen of a guideline indicating a printable region 300. Further, Aramaki teaches that the setting screen 303 allowed the user to have a display setting may be or may be not independent of a line indicating a platen region that is a region of the platen, where a printing paper area 300 may be displayed which indicates position and size of a paper sheet when the paper sheet is printed. When scan is actually performed, the reading guide area 301 is controlled to be transparent, and the other area is shielded]; and
Aramaki doesn’t teach displaying the line and displaying the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen.
Baxter teaches displaying the line and displaying the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen [fig. 2; 0025-0029 Baxter teaches that the displaying the line 218 and displaying the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region, the guideline being set on the setting screen].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baxter teaching to display the line and the guideline on at least an inner side of the platen region set on the setting screen to modify Aramaki’s teaching to equipped with scanning module that scans scan items, a transparent platen supports items for scanning by the scanning module and includes a display layer i.e. organic LED layer, that is partially translucent, and displays an image to a user through the platen for guiding the user on a scanning area, in which the scanning material/items are placed, is in the center of the platen, or top-left depending upon the size of the paper selected for printing a scanned image on, the area in which the scanning material is aligned on the platen varies. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide a display layer to display optical data i.e. error message, displayed on a user interface display for providing feedback to the user to communicate with the user without impeding image quality or copying process.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 2, 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 (abstract idea), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claim 2 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein, in the display step, any one of a first-direction guideline along a first direction in the platen region indicated by the line, a second-direction guideline along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in the platen region, or the first-direction guideline and the second-direction guideline is displayed as the guideline, the first direction in which a conveying unit provided in the printing device is configured to convey the printed medium”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claims 5-8 are allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the platen includes: a first end located on one side in a first direction in which a conveying unit provided in the printing device is configured to convey the printed medium; a second end located on another side in the first direction; a third end located on one side in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction; and a fourth end located on another side in the second direction, in the setting step, a screen is displayed for designating at least one of a first distance from the first end to an inner position of the platen, a second distance from the second end to the inner position of the platen, a third distance from the third end to the inner position of the platen, and a fourth distance from the fourth end to the inner position of the platen, and in the display step, the guideline is displayed in at least one of a position away from the first end by the first distance, a position away from the second end by the second distance, a position away from the third end by the third distance, or a position away from the fourth end by the fourth distance., wherein, among a region of the inner position of the platen, a region up to the inner position that is the position away from the first end by the first distance, a region up to the inner position that is the position away from the second end by the second distance, a region up to the inner position that is the position away from the third end by the third distance, and a region up to the inner position that is the position away from the fourth end by the fourth distance, are a region not printed on the printed medium., wherein the region not printed on the printed medium is a region in which the printed medium is pressed by a pressing member included in the printing device and configured to press the printed medium toward the platen in a case where the ejection head ejects ink., further causing the computer to execute an acquisition step of acquiring a size of the pressing member, wherein in the display step, a position of the guideline displayed on the display is changed according to the acquired size of the pressing member”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
//HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682