DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,207,204. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claims 1 and 1 of the patent. That is, claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1 and 11 of the patent. Broad claims in continuation application are rejected as obvious double patenting over previously narrow claims. For example, claim 1 of the present invention is the same as claim 1 of the patent except that the “an antenna system configured to transmit and receive radio signals” and “determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the apparatus is being held, is being carried or is on a person's body” limitation was not recited. Therefore, claim 1 is broader than claim 1 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,7,8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Price et al. discloses an apparatus (user device/mobile phone) (fig. 1 number 104, fig. 3 number 300, col. 3 lines 40-43 and col. 11 lines 13-20), comprising: an inertial sensor system (one or more inertial sensor) (fig. 3 number 399 and col. 12 lines 5-19) including at least one inertial sensor (fig. 3 number 399 and col. 12 lines 5-19); a proximity sensor system (i.e. one or more proximity sensors) (fig. 3 number 366 and col. 11 lines 37-39) including at least one proximity sensor (fig. 3 number 366 and col. 11 lines 37-39); and a control system (fig. 3 number 330) configured for: receiving inertial sensor data from the inertial sensor system (col. 12 lines 19-23); determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the apparatus is being held (detection of the hand) (fig. 5 number 599), the user device within the hand (fig. 5 numbers 505 and 599), is being carried or is on a person's body (fig. 5, col. 15 lines 58-col. 16 line 8). Price et al. differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose deactivate the proximity sensor system in accordance with a maximum permissible exposure limit associated with the mobile device and responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating that the mobile device is being held, is being carried, or is on a person's body. Kang et al. teaches an electronic device (abstract), comprising deactivating a proximity sensor system if a processor (460)(P:0115) determines that a inertial sensor (motion sensor) (423) indicates that the apparatus is being held (user holding the electronic device)(P:0115). Kang et al. further teaches when detecting no movement of the electronic device 400 or detecting the user's walking (i.e. acceleration threshold), the first processor 460 can provide second notification information to the second processor 470. Based on the second notification information, the second processor 470 can return the display 440 to the original state and thus display contents on the display 440 (i.e. determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates accelerations equal to or exceeding an acceleration threshold)(P:0116). Rimini teaches to address MPE proximity sensor failure and keep the mobile device within regulatory limits for exposure, a mobile device may include a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) sensor control unit to actively monitor the transmitted and received signals associated with the MPE proximity sensors to verify that the MPE proximity sensor is operating properly. Upon detecting an anomaly in any of these signals, such as a value drop below a given threshold or other indication that the MPE proximity sensor is not functioning properly, the MPE proximity sensor control unit 280 will inform the AP (application processor, or other processor or controller) which in would control a display on the device to show a warning message on informing the end user about the sensor malfunction, requesting that the device not be used and/or requesting that the device be repaired. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Price et al. with deactivate the proximity sensor system in accordance with a maximum permissible exposure limit associated with the mobile device and responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating that the mobile device is being held, is being carried, or is on a person's body in order to deactivate the proximity sensor since the user is holding the user device when transmitting a telephone call to a distant party that meets the maximum exposure limit that would not harm the user body, as taught by Kang et al. and Rimini..
Regarding claim 7, Price et al. discloses the inertial sensor system includes at least one accelerometer or at least one gyroscope (col. 12 lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 8, Price et al. discloses an antenna system (one or more antennas) configured to transmit and receive radio signals (col. 11 lines 18-25).
Regarding claim 20, Price et al. discloses a method of controlling a mobile device (user device)(abstract and fig. 7 number 700), comprising: an inertial sensor system (one or more inertial sensor) (fig. 3 number 399 and col. 12 lines 5-19) including at least one inertial sensor (fig. 3 number 399 and col. 12 lines 5-19); a proximity sensor system (i.e. one or more proximity sensors) (fig. 3 number 366 and col. 11 lines 37-39) including at least one proximity sensor (fig. 3 number 366 and col. 11 lines 37-39); and a control system (fig. 3 number 330) configured for: receiving inertial sensor data from the inertial sensor system (col. 12 lines 19-23); determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the apparatus is being held (detection of the hand) (fig. 5 number 599), the user device within the hand (fig. 5 numbers 505 and 599), is being carried or is on a person's body (fig. 5, col. 15 lines 58-col. 16 line 8). Price et al. differs from claim 20 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose deactivate the proximity sensor system in accordance with a maximum permissible exposure limit associated with the mobile device and responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating that the mobile device is being held, is being carried, or is on a person's body. Kang et al. teaches an electronic device (abstract), comprising deactivating a proximity sensor system if a processor (460)(P:0115) determines that a inertial sensor (motion sensor) (423) indicates that the apparatus is being held (user holding the electronic device)(P:0115). Kang et al. further teaches when detecting no movement of the electronic device 400 or detecting the user's walking (i.e. acceleration threshold), the first processor 460 can provide second notification information to the second processor 470. Based on the second notification information, the second processor 470 can return the display 440 to the original state and thus display contents on the display 440 (i.e. determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates accelerations equal to or exceeding an acceleration threshold)(P:0116). Rimini teaches to address MPE proximity sensor failure and keep the mobile device within regulatory limits for exposure, a mobile device may include a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) sensor control unit to actively monitor the transmitted and received signals associated with the MPE proximity sensors to verify that the MPE proximity sensor is operating properly. Upon detecting an anomaly in any of these signals, such as a value drop below a given threshold or other indication that the MPE proximity sensor is not functioning properly, the MPE proximity sensor control unit 280 will inform the AP (application processor, or other processor or controller) which in would control a display on the device to show a warning message on informing the end user about the sensor malfunction, requesting that the device not be used and/or requesting that the device be repaired. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Price et al. with deactivate the proximity sensor system in accordance with a maximum permissible exposure limit associated with the mobile device and responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating that the mobile device is being held, is being carried, or is on a person's body in order to deactivate the proximity sensor since the user is holding the user device when transmitting a telephone call to a distant party that meets the maximum exposure limit that would not harm the user body, as taught by Kang et al. and Rimini..
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0107296).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini differs from claim 2 and 3 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a portion of the control system is included in a wearable device and a first portion included in a wearable device, and a second portion included in the mobile device. Zhang et al. teaches UE 102 can be a mobile device such as a cellular phone, a smartphone, a tablet computer, a wearable device (P:0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini with a portion of the control system is included in a wearable device and a first portion included in a wearable device, and a second portion included in the mobile device in order for the mobile phone to be connected to the users belt for handsfree when communicating with a distant party, as taught by Zhang et al. .
5. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Rosen (US 2015/0054639).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini differs from claim 4 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose determine that the inertial sensor data indicates that the mobile device is being held, is being carried, or is on the person's body based on determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates micro-motions characteristic of human contact. Rosen teaches the accelerometer of the mobile phone may be used to detect the vibrations/tremors associated with the person's hand holding the mobile phone (P:0272). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini with determine that the inertial sensor data indicates that the mobile device is being held, is being carried, or is on the person's body based on determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates micro-motions characteristic of human contact in order to allow the user holding the user device to transmitting a telephone call to a distant party that would meets the maximum exposure limit that would not harm the user from radiation, as taught by Rosen.
6. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Lefebre (US 10,578,640) (IDS).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini differs from claim 6 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose implement, via the control system, a neural network trained to determine whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the mobile device is being held, is being carried or is on a person's body. held, is being carried or is on a person's body. Lefebre teaches implementing, via device fitted with inertial sensors (col. 13, claim 1), a neural network (neural learning process) trained to determine whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the apparatus is carried by the user (col. 13, claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini with implementing, via the control system, a neural network trained to determine whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the apparatus is being held, is being carried or is on a person's body in order to provide a function approximation, or regression analysis, including time series prediction and modeling when determining the motion and proximity of the user device carried by the user, as taught by Lefebre.
7. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above in further view of Leabman (US 2022/0045554).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini differs from claim 9 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose lower a transmission power of the antenna system or cease transmission by the antenna system responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating that the apparatus is being held, is being carried, or is on the person's body. Leabman teaches a gyroscope can determine orientation of the electronic device, whereby a particular orientation may be associated with an interaction with a sensitive object (e.g., a human holding a phone to his head or a phone in a pocket), whereas other orientations may be associated with a lack of interaction with a sensitive object (e.g., laying horizontal, especially when in conjunction with lack of movement determined by the accelerometer and further when in conjunction with the passage of a threshold time period since movement last occurred). Even small movements detected by a gyroscope may indicate that the electronic device may be in the presence of or may being held by a human being, so transmission should cease. The gyroscope of the electronic device 91100 can measure a rate of rotation of the electronic device 91100 around a particular axis and is able to sense motion including both vertical and horizontal rotation of the electronic device 91100 (P:2276), The measured period of the time by the clock 91110 may indicate a time-period during which there is a risk that the transmission of power waves to charge or power the electronic device 91100 may expose the user to unsafe or undesirable radiation levels as the user may be less than a pre-defined proximity to the electronic device 91100 (P:2276). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini with lower a transmission power of the antenna system or cease transmission by the antenna system responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating that the apparatus is being held, is being carried, or is on the person's body in order to cease transmission and prevent the user from unsafe radiation from the user equipment that is in motion and held in the user hand when transmitting a telephone call to a distant party, as taught by Leabman.
8. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above in further view of Sudo et al. (US 2021/0005955)(IDS).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini differs from claim 10 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the antenna system is configured to transmit at least some radio signals at frequencies of 6 gigahertz or more. Sudo et al. teaches a mobile terminal (fig. 1 number 10) comprising an antenna module (fig. 1 number 100 and P:0025) is configured to transmit at least some radio signals at requencies of 6 gigahertz or more (P:0006 and P:0025) and a plurality of antenna elements is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals (P:0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to modify the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini with the antenna system is configured to transmit at least some radio signals at frequencies of 6 gigahertz or more and the antenna system is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals in order for the user device antenna system to transmit data in 5G, so that an increase in the communication speed and improvement in the communication quality are aimed to be achieved, as taught by Sudo et al..
9. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) and Rimini (US 2020/0336222) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above in further view of Brunel (US 2020/0076488).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini differs from claim 11 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the antenna system is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals. Brunel teaches a mobile device comprising an antenna array configured to transmit beamformed radio signals (fig. 6a and P:0208). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary to skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Price et al., Kang et al. and Rimini with the antenna system is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals in order for the user device to steer a beam toward a base station for wireless location services when determining its location, as taught by Brunel..
10. Claim(s) 12,13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Price et al. discloses an apparatus (user device/mobile phone) (fig. 1 number 104, fig. 3 number 300, col. 3 lines 40-43 and col. 11 lines 13-20), comprising: an inertial sensor system (one or more inertial sensor) (fig. 3 number 399 and col. 12 lines 5-19) including at least one inertial sensor (fig. 3 number 399 and col. 12 lines 5-19); a proximity sensor system (i.e. one or more proximity sensors) (fig. 3 number 366 and col. 11 lines 37-39) including at least one proximity sensor (fig. 3 number 366 and col. 11 lines 37-39); and a control system (fig. 3 number 330) configured for: receiving inertial sensor data from the inertial sensor system (col. 12 lines 19-23); determining whether the inertial sensor data indicates that the apparatus is being held (detection of the hand) (fig. 5 number 599), the user device within the hand (fig. 5 numbers 505 and 599), is being carried or is on a person's body (fig. 5, col. 15 lines 58-col. 16 line 8). Price et al. differs from claim 12 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose deactivate the proximity sensor system responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating one or more accelerations equal to or exceeding an acceleration threshold. Kang et al. teaches an electronic device (abstract), comprising deactivating a proximity sensor system if a processor (460)(P:0115) determines that a inertial sensor (motion sensor) (423) indicates that the apparatus is being held (i.e. no motion and/or data indicating equal acceleration threshold, the user holding the electronic device)(P:0115). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Price et al. with deactivate the proximity sensor system responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating one or more accelerations equal to or exceeding an acceleration threshold in order to deactivate the proximity sensor since the user is holding the user device when transmitting a telephone call to a distant party which minimizes component processing within the user device, as taught by Kang et al. and Rimini.
Regarding claim 16, Price et al. discloses an antenna system (one or more antennas) configured to transmit and receive radio signals (col. 11 lines 18-25).
11. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) as applied to claims 12 and 16 above in further view of Leabman (US 2022/0045554).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Price et al. and Kang et al. differs from claim 17 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose lower a transmission power of the antenna system or cease transmission by the antenna system responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating the one or more accelerations equal to or exceeding the acceleration threshold. Leabman teaches a gyroscope can determine orientation of the electronic device, whereby a particular orientation may be associated with an interaction with a sensitive object (e.g., a human holding a phone to his head or a phone in a pocket), whereas other orientations may be associated with a lack of interaction with a sensitive object (e.g., laying horizontal, especially when in conjunction with lack of movement determined by the accelerometer and further when in conjunction with the passage of a threshold time period since movement last occurred). Even small movements detected by a gyroscope may indicate that the electronic device may be in the presence of or may being held by a human being, so transmission should cease. The gyroscope of the electronic device 91100 can measure a rate of rotation of the electronic device 91100 around a particular axis and is able to sense motion including both vertical and horizontal rotation of the electronic device 91100 (P:2276), The measured period of the time by the clock 91110 may indicate a time-period during which there is a risk that the transmission of power waves to charge or power the electronic device 91100 may expose the user to unsafe or undesirable radiation levels as the user may be less than a pre-defined proximity to the electronic device 91100 (P:2276). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Price et al. and Kang et al. with lower a transmission power of the antenna system or cease transmission by the antenna system responsive to the inertial sensor data indicating the one or more accelerations equal to or exceeding the acceleration threshold in order to cease transmission and prevent the user from unsafe radiation from the user equipment that is in motion and held in the user hand when transmitting a telephone call to a distant party, as taught by Leabman.
12. Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) as applied to claim 12 above in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0107296) .
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the combination of Price et al., and Kang et al. differs from claims 14 and 15 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose a portion of the control system is included in a wearable device and a first portion included in a wearable device, and a second portion included in the mobile device. Zhang et al. teaches UE 102 can be a mobile device such as a cellular phone, a smartphone, a tablet computer, a wearable device (P:0030). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of the combination of Price et al., and Kang et al. with a portion of the control system is included in a wearable device and a first portion included in a wearable device, and a second portion included in the mobile device in order for the mobile phone to be connected to the users belt for handsfree when communicating with a distant party, as taught by Zhang et al. .
13. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) as applied to claims 12 and 16 above in further view of Sudo et al. (US 2021/0005955)(IDS).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Price et al., and Kang et al. differs from claim 18 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the antenna system is configured to transmit at least some radio signals at frequencies of 6 gigahertz or more. Sudo et al. teaches a mobile terminal (fig. 1 number 10) comprising an antenna module (fig. 1 number 100 and P:0025) is configured to transmit at least some radio signals at frequencies of 6 gigahertz or more (P:0006 and P:0025) and a plurality of antenna elements is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals (P:0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify to modify the combination of Price et al., and Kang et al. with the antenna system is configured to transmit at least some radio signals at frequencies of 6 gigahertz or more and the antenna system is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals in order for the user device antenna system to transmit data in 5G, so that an increase in the communication speed and improvement in the communication quality are aimed to be achieved, as taught by Sudo et al..
14. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al. (US 8,886,247) (IDS) in view of Kang et al. (US 2017/0244827) (IDS) as applied to claims 12 and 16 above in further view of Brunel (US 2020/0076488).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Price et al., and Kang et al. differs from claim 19 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the antenna system is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals. Brunel teaches a mobile device comprising an antenna array configured to transmit beamformed radio signals (fig. 6a and P:0208). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary to skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Price et al., and Kang et al. with the antenna system is configured to transmit beamformed radio signals in order for the user device to steer a beam toward a base station for wireless location services when determining its location, as taught by Brunel..
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schub et al. (US 2014/0315592) discloses a wireless device with dynamically adjusted maximum transmit powers.
/KEITH FERGUSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648