DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claim 1, as originally filed, is currently pending and has been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. ( USP 2017/0134631) in view of Zhang ( DERWENT -2017-16328J ( CN-106444813)), in view of Tan et al. (USP 2007/0222674) further in view of Powell et al. ( USP 2016/0216718).
As Per Claim 1, Zhao et al. (Zhao teaches, an aerial vehicle ( via a movable object 118, 310, in Figs.1, 3), comprising: one or more motors; ( via “The movement mechanisms 106 can include one or more of rotors, propellers, blades, engines, motors, ..”, [0029], Fig.1) one or more sensors configured to detect data; (via “The sensing system 108 can include one or more sensors”, [0031], Fig.1, also see , sensor 303,[0066], [ Fig.3); a control system configured to: ( via “a controller 304 on board the movable object 310 for generating the control data”, [0052]).
However, Zhao does not explicitly teach, generate torque values based on the data; generate revised torque values by validating sub-torque values representing a minimum amount of torque to maintain the aerial vehicle at a hover status; and determine a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches, wherein, generate torque values based on the data; ( via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao and Zhang before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Zhao to include the teachings ( T-S fuzzy model )
of Zhang and configure with the system of Zhao in order to determine yaw, roll and pitching torque to rotate its propeller, control the attitude and movement of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to generate lift /thrust and control rotational motion of UAV( i.e., UAV flight control).
However, Zhao and Zhang does not explicitly teach, generate revised torque values by validating sub-torque values representing a minimum amount of torque to maintain the aerial vehicle at a hover status.
Examiner interprets, “validating torque” as ‘calibrating torque’.
In an analogous art, Tan et al. (Tan) teaches, a system for tracking real-time positions and correcting past position errors of a mobile object using multiple positioning techniques with DGPS, INS and motion sensors, wherein, generate revised torque values by validating sub-torque values representing a minimum amount of torque to maintain the aerial vehicle at a hover status; (via the system being equipped with a navigation fusion and decision-making module 211 (Figs. 2,3) receiving data from four main sub-modules: data correlation processing module 310, data fusion priority decision module 311, data fusion method/filter selection module 312, and data fusion computation module 313, [0058], [0059], and “the decision making module 211 to support the determination of the calibrated position data”, [0038], lines 15-16), Figs. 3, 2 and 1),[0067], [[0068], also see [0034][0038], Figs. 1-3).
Furthermore, Tan does not teach, generating a sub-torque values representing a minimum amount of torque to maintain the aerial vehicle at a hover status.
Therefore, like implementing an iterative position validation module in the data fusion computation module 313, to output as a real-time calibration position data in Tan et al. , it would be obvious to output calibrated sub-torque (Yaw torque, Pitch torque and Roll torque) data in real-time to represent a minimum torque required by the UAV to maintain a flight status (hover status).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Tan before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Zhao, to include the teachings ( iterative position validation modules , fusion and decision making module etc.) of Tan and configure with the system of Zhao in order to decision making module making calibrated torque data and supplying calibrated data to the UAV to maintain flight operation (hover status). Motivation to combine the two teachings is, real-time position data correction and supplying precision data for flight operation (i.e., an added feature to enhance safe flight of UAV).
However, Zhao in view of Zhang and Tan does not explicitly teach, determining a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values.
In a related field of art, Powell et al. (Powell) teaches, system and method for limiting HVAC motor torque, wherein determining a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values. ( via system controller 105 being equipped with algorithm and coupled with controller 110, determining motor speed from torque, see ([0017], [0018], [0028], [0030], Ref. Claim 2, Fig. 1, Fig.2 (steps 214, 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhao, Zhang, Tan and Powell before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Zhao, to include the teachings (algorithm) of Powell in order to compute motor speed from torque. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to compute motor speed for controlling the torque magnitude of the propeller of the UAV ( i.e., precision torque supply to UAV, safe flight).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C