DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This communication is a Final Office Action, in response to the communication received on 07/14/2026. Therefore, Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection which has been necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In Claim 1, the recitation, “wherein the attitude controller module is configured to determine an air density around the aerial vehicle based on detected air pressure and detected air temperature while an elevation of the aerial vehicle changes; and wherein the control system is configured to adjust a maximum allowable kinematic change based on the determined air density, generate revised torque values by the adjusted maximum allowable kinematic change, and determine motor speed commands for the one or more motors based on the revised torque value.” does not have support in the Specification.
In claims 8 and 15, the recitation, “adjusting, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient based on the density of the air and an air temperature.” does not have support in the Specification.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3-6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman et al. ( USP 9,422,055) in view of Du et al. (CN-205844898) in view of LIAO et al. (CN-105035332) in view of Crosman, III eta l. (USP 2017/0015201) in view of Zhang (DERWENT-2017-16328J (CN-106444813)),further in view of Powell et al. (USP 2016/0216718).
As Per Claim 1, Beckman et al. (Beckman) teaches, an aerial vehicle (via 102, 202,501, 600, Figs. 1,2, 5 and 6) comprising: one or more motors (“The UAV 102 may include motors 108(1), 108(2), 108(3), . . . , 108(N)., col.2, line 50- col.3 line 16,Fig.1 ) a control system (via UAV control system 610, col.13, lines 35-47, Figs. 5-6).
However, Beckman does not explicitly teach control system comprising: an attitude controller module configured to: compare each kinematic change to a threshold value of the aerial vehicle; determine an angular position of the aerial vehicle; and detect a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes; wherein the control system is configured to: generate torque values based on the kinematic change; generate revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change based upon the density of the air around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; and determine a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values; wherein the attitude controller module is configured to determine an air density around the aerial vehicle based on detected air pressure and detected air temperature while an elevation of the aerial vehicle changes; and wherein the control system is configured to adjust a maximum allowable kinematic change based on the determined air density, generate revised torque values by the adjusted maximum allowable kinematic change, and determine motor speed commands for the one or more motors based on the revised torque value.
In an analogous Art, DU et al. (Du) teaches, a unmanned aerial vehicle control device wherein, controller comprising: an attitude controller module ( via control device being equipped with a real time processing module, flight control module, and attitude calculating module) configured to: compare each kinematic change to a threshold value of the aerial vehicle ([Abstract, Claims, Page 2-page 3 ); determine an angular position of the aerial vehicle; ( via state estimation module measuring roll angle, pitch angle, course angle and attitude angle, See Page 2 , 2nd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman and Du before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman to include the teachings (the attitude calculating module) of Du and configure with the system of Beckman in order to obtain attitude information and/or position information acquired by the attitude control module and facilitate in-flight stability control of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to facilitate in-flight stability control of the UAV (i.e., an added feature to enhance smooth flight of the UAV).
However, Beckman in view of Du does not explicitly teach, detect a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes;
In a related field of art, LIAO et al.(LIAO) teaches, drone flight control system wherein, detect a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes;( via “main controller 4 being connected with air flow direction receiving , module (41), air density receiving module (42), the air density receiving module (42) for receiving air density sensor (203) collect the air density” See Claims).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman and Du and LIAO before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman to include the teachings (air density receiving module and air density sensor) of LIAO and configure with the system of Beckman in order to obtain receiving air density at different elevation and controlling the attitude to ensure in-flight stability of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to facilitate in-flight stability control of the UAV (i.e., an added feature to enhance smooth flight of the UAV).
However, Beckman in view of Du and LIAO does not explicitly teach, wherein the attitude controller module is configured to determine an air density around the aerial vehicle based on detected air pressure and detected air temperature while an elevation of the aerial vehicle changes.
In an analogous art, Crosman et al. (Crosman) discloses, a vehicle 100 being equipped with a monitoring operation system 216. “The system 216 includes a pressure sensor 218, a temperature sensor 220, and a controller 222. The pressure sensor 218 and the temperature sensor 220 are configured to measure atmospheric pressure P and atmospheric temperature T respectively…. The controller 222 can therefore receive the atmospheric pressure P and the atmospheric temperature T from the pressure sensor 218 and the temperature sensor 220 respectively.”[0028]… “The controller 222 then determines air density D on the basis of the received atmospheric pressure P and atmospheric temperature T. In an embodiment, the pressure sensor 218 and the temperature sensor 220 can be beneficially configured to measure the atmospheric pressure P and the atmospheric temperature T in
real-time.”[0029], Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman and Du and LIAO and Crosman before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman to include the teachings (controller, pressure sensor, temperature sensor etc.) of Crosman
configure with the system of Beckman in order to compute air density from air pressure and air temperature at different elevation (in real-time) and controlling the attitude to ensure in-flight stability of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to facilitate in-flight stability control of the UAV (i.e., an added feature to enhance smooth flight of the UAV).
However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO and Crosman does not explicitly teach
wherein the control system is configured to: generate torque values based on the kinematic change; generate revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change based upon the density of the air around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; and determine a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values; and wherein the control system is configured to adjust a maximum allowable kinematic change based on the determined air density, generate revised torque values by the adjusted maximum allowable kinematic change, and determine motor speed commands for the one or more motors based on the revised torque value.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches, wherein the control system is configured to: generate torque values based on the kinematic change; generate revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; ( via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2) and wherein the control system is configured to adjust a maximum allowable kinematic change ( via converging speed, non-linear property model establishing efficiency,(controlling) roll angle and small angle assumption precision, simplifying processing steps, comparing roll angle, pitch angle of an angle assumption model, avoiding controller design model deviation, See (Page 2-Basic-Abstarct: advantage ),
generate revised torque values by the adjusted maximum allowable kinematic change,
(via , using Euler-Lagrange equation , determining Euler angel vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle, via speed convergence, (controlling) roll angle and small angle assumption precision, simplifying processing steps, comparing roll angle, pitch angle of an angle assumption model, determining yaw , pitch torque and obtaining roll torque matrix ( Page -2 whole page).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du , LIAO, Crosman and Zhang before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman to include the teachings ( T-S fuzzy model) of Zhang and configure with the system of Beckman in order to determine yaw, roll and pitching torque, by using air density and adjusting (controlling) roll angle, yaw angle, pitch angle control, computing revised torque to rotate its propeller, control the attitude and movement of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to generate lift /thrust and control rotational motion of UAV( i.e., UAV flight control).
However, Beckman Du, LIAO, Crosman and Zhang does not explicitly teach,
determining a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values; and determining motor speed commands for the one or more motors based on the revised torque value.
In a related field of art, Powell et al. (Powell) teaches, system and method for limiting HVAC motor torque, wherein determining a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values, and determining motor speed commands for the one or more motors based on the revised torque value. ( via system controller 105 being equipped with algorithm and coupled with controller 110, determining motor speed from torque, see ([0017], [0018], [0028], [0030], Ref. Claim 2, Fig. 1, Fig.2 (steps 214, 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang, and Powell before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman, to include the teachings (algorithm) of Powell in order to compute motor speed from torque/revised torque to control propeller operation. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to compute motor speed for controlling the torque magnitude of the propeller of the UAV ( i.e., precision torque supply to UAV, safe flight).
As per Claim 3, Beckman as modified by Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches, wherein the attitude controller module reduces a maximum allowable change in velocity and/or acceleration as the density of air decreases. (LIAO : via “main controller 4 being connected with air flow direction receiving , module (41), air density receiving module (42), the air density receiving module (42) for receiving air density sensor (203) collect the air density” See Claims). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 4, Beckman as modified by Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches, a flight subsystem; and a telemetric subsystem module in communication with the flight subsystem to provide the kinematic changes to the flight subsystem (Du :[Abstract, Claims, Page 2-page 3). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 5, Beckman as modified by Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 4. However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches, wherein the flight subsystem is configured to calculate an input and provide the input to a motor controller module so that the one or more motors are controlled to change a position of the aerial vehicle (Zhang : via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2). (See claim 1 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 6, Beckman as modified by Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches, wherein kinematic changes comprise: rotations per minute (RPM) of a propeller.(Beckman : col.12, line 61- col.13, line 10; also col.2, lines 15-45, col.12, lines 43-60, Figs. 5, 6A).
As per Claim 7, Beckman as modified by Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 6. However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell teaches, wherein the attitude controller module updates a predefined limit of the RPM of the one or more motors.(Beckman : col.12, line 61- col.13, line 10; also col.2, lines 15-45, col.12, lines 43-60, Figs. 5, 6A).
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Beckman et al. ( USP 9,422,055) in view of Du et al. (CN-205844898) in view of LIAO et al. (CN-105035332) , in view of Crosman, III et al. (USP 2017/0015201) in view of Zhang ( DERWENT -2017-16328J ( CN-106444813)), further in view of Powell et al. (USP 2016/0216718) in view of Al Masoud ( USP 2017/0225781).
As per Claim 2, Beckman as modified by Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Beckman in view of Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell does not explicitly teach, wherein the angular position of the aerial vehicle comprises angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity.
In a related field of Art, Al Masoud teaches, emergency unmanned aerial vehicle and method for deploying an unmanned aerial vehicle wherein, wherein the angular position of the aerial vehicle comprises angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity. (IMU presenting angular position, angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity [0027], [0073], [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du, LIAO, Crosman, Zhang and Powell and Al Masoud before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman, to include the teachings (IMU) of Al Masoud in order to get angular position in form of angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity format.
9. Claims 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (CN-205844898) in view of LIAO et al. (CN-105035332) in view of Zhang ( DERWENT -2017-16328J ( CN-106444813)), in view of Crosman, III et al. (USP 2017/0015201) further in view of Powell et al. ( USP 2016/0216718).
As Per Claim 8, Du et al. (Du) teaches, a method ( performed by a UAV ) comprising: comparing, with an attitude control module, kinematic changes to a threshold value of an aerial vehicle; ; (via control device being equipped with a real time processing module, flight control module, and attitude calculating module)
([Abstract, Claims, Page 2-page 3); determining, with the attitude control module, an angular position of the aerial vehicle; (via state estimation module measuring roll angle, pitch angle, course angle and attitude angle, See Page 2 , 2nd paragraph).
However, Du does not explicitly teach, determining, with the attitude control module, a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes; generating, with a control system, torque values based on the kinematic change; generating, with the control system, revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change based upon the density of the air around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; determining a motor speed of each of one or more motors based on the revised torque values;
and adjusting, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient based on the density of the air and an air temperature.
In a related field of art, LIAO et al.(LIAO) teaches, drone flight control system wherein, determining, with the attitude control module, a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes;( via “main controller 4 being connected with air flow direction receiving , module (41), air density receiving module (42), the air density receiving module (42) for receiving air density sensor (203) collect the air density” See Claims).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Du and LIAO before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Du to include the teachings (air density receiving module and air density sensor) of LIAO and configure with the system of Du in order to obtain receiving air density at different elevation and controlling the attitude to ensure flight stability of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to facilitate in-flight stability control of the UAV (i.e., an added feature to enhance smooth flight of the UAV).
However, Du in view of LIAO does not explicitly teach, generating, with a control system, torque values based on the kinematic change; generating, with the control system, revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change based upon the density of the air around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; determining a motor speed of each of one or more motors based on the revised torque values; and adjusting, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient based on the density of the air and an air temperature.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches, generating, with a control system, torque values based on the kinematic change; generating, with the control system, revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; ( via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2); and adjusting, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient (via using Euler-Lagrange equation , determining Euler angel vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle, via speed convergence, (controlling) roll angle and small angle assumption precision, simplifying processing steps, comparing roll angle, pitch angle of an angle assumption model, determining yaw , pitch torque and obtaining roll torque matrix, avoiding controller design model deviation, See (Page 2-Basic-Abstarct: advantage ).
However, Beckman Du, LIAO and Zhang does not explicitly teach, calculating the density of the air and an air temperature.
In an analogous art, Crosman et al. (Crosman) discloses, a vehicle monitoring system being equipped with controller having pressure sensor, temperature sensor, and controller determining air density from air pressure and temperature in real-time, [0028-0029], Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du , LIAO, Zhang and Crosman before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman to include the teachings ( T-S fuzzy model) of Zhang and controller of Crosman and configure with the system of Beckman in order to determine yaw, roll and pitching torque, using air density and adjusting (controlling) roll angle, yaw angle, pitch angle control, computing revised torque to rotate its propeller, to control the attitude and movement of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to generate lift /thrust and control rotational motion of UAV( i.e., UAV flight control).
However, Beckman Du, LIAO, Zhang and Crosman does not explicitly teach,
determining a motor speed of each of one or more motors based on the revised torque values.
In a related field of art, Powell et al. (Powell) teaches, system and method for limiting HVAC motor torque, wherein determining a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values ( via system controller 105 being equipped with algorithm and coupled with controller 110, determining motor speed from torque, see ([0017], [0018], [0028], [0030], Ref. Claim 2, Fig. 1, Fig.2 (steps 214, 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman, to include the teachings (algorithm) of Powell in order to compute motor speed from torque/revised torque to control propeller operation. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to compute motor speed for controlling the torque magnitude of the propeller of the UAV ( i.e., precision torque supply to UAV, safe flight).
As per Claim 10, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 8. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches, reducing, with the attitude controller module, a maximum allowable change in velocity and/or acceleration as the density of air decreases. (LIAO : via “main controller 4 being connected with air flow direction receiving , module (41), air density receiving module (42), the air density receiving module (42) for receiving air density sensor (203) collect the air density” See Claims). (See claim 8 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As per Claim 11, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 8. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches, providing the kinematic changes to a flight subsystem via a telemetric subsystem module that is in communication with the flight subsystem ((Du : ([Abstract, Claims, Page 2-page 3).
As per Claim 12, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches, calculating, with the flight subsystem, an input and providing the input to a motor controller so that the one or more motors are controlled to change a position of the aerial vehicle (Zhang : via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2). (See claim 8 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine.).
As Per Claim 15, Du et al. ( Du) teaches, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations (Du: It is inherent as the UAV control device comprising different modules), comprising operations to: compare, with an attitude control module, kinematic changes to a threshold value of an aerial vehicle (via control device being equipped with a real time processing module, flight control module, and attitude calculating module) ([Abstract, Claims, Page 2-page 3); determine, with the attitude control module, an angular position of the aerial vehicle; (via state estimation module measuring roll angle, pitch angle, course angle and attitude angle, See Page 2 , 2nd paragraph).
However, Du does not explicitly teach, determine, with the attitude control module, a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes; generate, with a control system, torque values based on the kinematic change; generate, with the control system, revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change based upon the density of the air around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; and module; determine a motor speed of each of one or more motors based on the revised torque values; and adjust, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient based on the density of the air and an air temperature.
In a related field of art, LIAO et al.(LIAO) teaches, drone flight control system wherein, determine, with the attitude control module, a density of air around the aerial vehicle as elevation of the aerial vehicle changes; ;( via “main controller 4 being connected with air flow direction receiving , module (41), air density receiving module (42), the air density receiving module (42) for receiving air density sensor (203) collect the air density” See Claims).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Du and LIAO before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Du to include the teachings (air density receiving module and air density sensor) of LIAO and configure with the system of Du in order to obtain receiving air density at different elevation and controlling the attitude to ensure flight stability of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to facilitate in-flight stability control of the UAV (i.e., an added feature to enhance smooth flight of the UAV).
However, Du in view of LIAO does not explicitly teach, generate, with a control system, torque values based on the kinematic change; generate, with the control system, revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change based upon the density of the air around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; and; determine a motor speed of each of one or more motors based on the revised torque values; and adjust, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient based on the density of the air and an air temperature.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches, generate, with a control system, torque values based on the kinematic change; generate, with the control system, revised torque values by adjusting a maximum allowable kinematic change around the aerial vehicle determined by the attitude controller module; (via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2), and adjust, with a conditions adjustment module of the control system, a thrust coefficient and a drag coefficient (via using Euler-Lagrange equation , determining Euler angel vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle, via speed convergence, (controlling) roll angle and small angle assumption precision, simplifying processing steps, comparing roll angle, pitch angle of an angle assumption model, determining yaw , pitch torque and obtaining roll torque matrix, avoiding controller design model deviation, See (Page 2-Basic-Abstarct: advantage ).
However, Beckman Du, LIAO and Zhang does not explicitly teach, calculating the density of the air and an air temperature.
In an analogous art, Crosman et al. (Crosman) discloses, a vehicle monitoring system being equipped with controller having pressure sensor, temperature sensor, and controller determining air density from air pressure and temperature in real-time, [0028-0029], Fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du , LIAO, Zhang and Crosman before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman to include the teachings ( T-S fuzzy model) of Zhang and controller of Crosman and configure with the system of Beckman in order to determine yaw, roll and pitching torque, using air density and adjusting (controlling) roll angle, yaw angle, pitch angle control, computing revised torque to rotate its propeller, to control the attitude and movement of the UAV. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to generate lift /thrust and control rotational motion of UAV( i.e., UAV flight control).
However, Beckman Du, LIAO, Zhang and Crosman does not explicitly teach,
determining a motor speed of each of one or more motors based on the revised torque values.
In a related field of art, Powell et al. (Powell) teaches, system and method for limiting HVAC motor torque, wherein determining a motor speed for the one or more motors based on the revised torque values ( via system controller 105 being equipped with algorithm and coupled with controller 110, determining motor speed from torque, see ([0017], [0018], [0028], [0030], Ref. Claim 2, Fig. 1, Fig.2 (steps 214, 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Beckman, Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Beckman, to include the teachings (algorithm) of Powell in order to compute motor speed from torque/revised torque to control propeller operation. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to compute motor speed for controlling the torque magnitude of the propeller of the UAV ( i.e., precision torque supply to UAV, safe flight).
As per Claim 17, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 15. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches, reduce, with the attitude controller module, a maximum allowable change in velocity and/or acceleration as the density of air decreases (LIAO : via “main controller 4 being connected with air flow direction receiving , module (41), air density receiving module (42), the air density receiving module (42) for receiving air density sensor (203) collect the air density” See Claims). (See claim 15 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine).
As per Claim 18, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 15. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches, provide the kinematic changes to a flight subsystem via a telemetric subsystem module that is in communication with the flight subsystem (Du : via control device being equipped with a real time processing module, flight control module, and attitude calculating module) ([Abstract, Claims, Page 2-page 3 ); via state estimation module measuring roll angle, pitch angle, course angle and attitude angle, See Page 2 , 2nd paragraph).
As per Claim 19, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 18. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches, calculate, with the flight subsystem, an input and provide the input to a motor controller so that the one or more motors are controlled to change a position of the aerial vehicle (Zhang : via a T-S fuzzy model based four-rotor attitude controlling method, involving establishing four-rotor attitude dynamic equation of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), by using Euler-Lagrange equation. Determining Euler angle vector, yaw angle, pitch angle and roll angle. Determining, Input, yaw and pitching torque of a system for obtaining a roll torque matrix… transmitting T-S fuzzy control output to rotary wing UAV power distribution system , See Basic-Abstract: NOVELTY , Figs. 1-2). (See claim 15 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine).
10. Claim 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Du et al. (CN-205844898) in view of LIAO et al. (CN-105035332) in view of Zhang (DERWENT -2017-16328J ( CN-106444813)) in view of Crosman, III et al. (USP 2017/0015201) in view of Powell et al. ( USP 2016/0216718) further in view of Al Masoud ( USP 2017/0225781).
As per Claim 9, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 8. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell does not explicitly teach, wherein the angular position of the aerial vehicle comprises angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity.
In a related field of Art, Al Masoud teaches, emergency unmanned aerial vehicle and method for deploying an unmanned aerial vehicle, wherein the angular position of the aerial vehicle comprises angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity ( via IMU presenting angular position, angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity [0027], [0073], [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman, Powell and Al Masoud before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Du, to include the teachings (IMU) of Al Masoud in order to get angular position in form of angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity format.
As per Claim 16, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 15. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell does not explicitly teach, wherein the angular position of the aerial vehicle comprises angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity.
In a related field of Art, Al Masoud teaches, emergency unmanned aerial vehicle and method for deploying an unmanned aerial vehicle, wherein the angular position of the aerial vehicle comprises angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity (via IMU presenting angular position, angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity [0027], [0073], [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman, Powell and Al Masoud before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Du, to include the teachings (IMU) of Al Masoud in order to get angular position in form of angular acceleration/deceleration and angular velocity format.
11. Claims 13, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (CN-205844898) in view of LIAO et al. (CN-105035332) in view of Zhang ( DERWENT -2017-16328J ( CN-106444813)) in view of Crosman, III et al. (USP 2017/0015201) in view of Powell et al. ( USP 2016/0216718) further in view of Beckman et al. ( USP 9,422,055).
As per Claim 13, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 8. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell does not explicitly teach, wherein the kinematic changes comprise: revolutions per minute (RPMs) of a propeller .
In a related field of Art, Beckman teaches, varying a speed of one or more motors in an unmanned aerial vehicle to reduce unwanted sound, wherein the kinematic changes comprise: revolutions per minute (RPMs) of a propeller (Beckman : col.12, line 61- col.13, line 10; also col.2, lines 15-45, col.12, lines 43-60, Figs. 5, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman, Powell and Beckman before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Du, to include the teachings (center of gravity module ) of Beckman in order to counteract changes to RPMS to individual motors to modify flight, maneuverability, and center of gravity.
As per Claim 14, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell and Beckman teaches the limitation of Claim 13. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman, Powell and Beckman teaches, wherein the attitude controller module updates a pre- defined limit of the RPMs of the one or more motors (Beckman : col.12, line 61- col.13, line 10; also col.2, lines 15-45, col.12, lines 43-60, Figs. 5, 6A). (See claim 13 above for rationale supporting obviousness, motivation, and reason to combine).
As per Claim 20, Du as modified by LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell teaches the limitation of Claim 18. However, Du in view of LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell does not explicitly teach, wherein the kinematic changes comprise: rotations per minute (RPM) of a propeller, and wherein the attitude controller module updates a predefined limit of the RPM of the one or more motors.
In a related field of Art, Beckman teaches, varying a speed of one or more motors in an unmanned aerial vehicle to reduce unwanted sound, wherein the kinematic changes comprise: rotations per minute (RPM) of a propeller, (Beckman : col.12, line 61- col.13, line 10; also col.2, lines 15-45, col.12, lines 43-60, Figs. 5, 6A) and wherein the attitude controller module updates a predefined limit of the RPM of the one or more motors (Beckman : col.12, line 61- col.13, line 10; also col.2, lines 15-45, col.12, lines 43-60, Figs. 5, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Du, LIAO, Zhang, Crosman and Powell, and Beckman before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Du, to include the teachings ( center of gravity module ) of Beckman in order to counteract changes to RPMS to individual motors to modify flight, maneuverability, and center of gravity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C