DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR1020220103575, filed on 18th August, 2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites the limitation(s): "The electronic device of claim 16" on PG(s). 6, Line(s) 19; examiner suggests amending this to: “The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 16”; see Claim 16 for an example;
Claim 18 recites the limitation(s): "The electronic device of claim 15" on PG(s). 7, Line(s) 6; examiner suggests amending this to: “The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15”; see Claim 16 for an example;
Claim 19 recites the limitation(s): "The electronic device of claim 15" on PG(s). 7, Line(s) 13; examiner suggests amending this to: “The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15”; see Claim 16 for an example; and
Claim 20 recites the limitation(s): "The electronic device of claim 15" on PG(s). 8, Line(s) 1; examiner suggests amending this to: “The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15”; see Claim 16 for an example.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US 20190392055 A1), hereinafter referenced as Rose, in view of Zavesky et al. (US 20230410159 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zavesky.
Regarding Claim 1, Rose discloses an electronic device (Rose, [0031]: teaches a client device 106 <read on electronic device> and a cloud-based system 102), comprising:
memory storing a plurality of images (Rose, [0031]: teaches client device 106 and cloud-based system 102 including memory for storage of data and software applications; [0029]: teaches digital media files being stored in memory, which includes digital images (e.g., photographs) and digital video); and
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, configured (Rose, [0031]: teaches client device 106 and cloud-based system 102 including a processor for accessing data and executing applications) to
generate a content to be displayed [[in a virtual space of metaverse]] using the plurality of images (Rose, [0037]: teaches generating an output <read on content> that indicates one or more objects detected in digital media files; [0029]: teaches digital media files including digital images <read on images> (e.g., photographs) and digital video), wherein
at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to (Rose, [0031]: teaches client device 106 and cloud-based system 102 including a processor for accessing data and executing applications):
select a plurality of images [[corresponding to a user position]] among the plurality of images (Rose, [0036]: teaches performing object recognition/detection by object recognition client 110 and/or object recognition engine 124 on captured image data <read on images>; [0036]: further teaches using on-device model index 111 and/or cloud-based model index 126 that includes "2D patterns or profiles of objects that may be matched to portions of 2D image data <read on selected images> (e.g., video frames) captured by one or more vision sensors (e.g., 107)"),
obtain an object keyword included in each of the selected plurality of images (Rose, [0040]: teaches a topic identification engine 132 being configured to identify "one or more topics <read on object keyword> of potential relevance to one or more users" in a digital media file (e.g., images <read on selected images>)),
determine an object to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on a frequency of the object keyword obtained through each of the selected plurality of images (Rose, [0049]: teaches an object frequency engine 128 being configured "to determine a frequency of one or more objects across a corpus of digital media files (e.g., stored in index 130 or even in index 122) retrieved and/or created by a population of users," where the objects are identified (i.e., topics) and are categorized by relevancy (i.e., desks and tables being labeled as furniture)), and
generate an object content corresponding to the determined object (Rose, [0037]: teaches training a machine learning model "to generate output <read on object content> that indicates one or more objects detected <read on determined object> in digital media files").
However, Rose does not explicitly disclose
generate a content to be displayed in a virtual space of metaverse using the plurality of images; and
select a plurality of images corresponding to a user position among the plurality of images.
Zavesky discloses
generate a content to be displayed in a virtual space of metaverse using the plurality of images (Zavesky, [0036]: teaches generating personalized recommendations/reviews <read on generated content> of metaverse objects in a virtual environment); and
select a plurality of images corresponding to a user position among the plurality of images (Zavesky, [0070]: teaches an immersion evaluation platform 202 determining that a metaverse object near a user <read on user position> "belongs to the same or a similar class as that of one or more other metaverse objects with which the user has (or the user's cohorts have) previously engaged (e.g., food-related immersions)," and concluding that the metaverse object is relevant to the user; [0069]: teaches the immersion evaluation platform 202 using image/text analysis <read on selecting images> of the user's prior interaction, which is interpreted to be a plurality of images that correspond to the user's position).
Zavesky is analogous art with respect to Rose because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing relevant data to the user based on prior user-behavior. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display relevant content based on the user's profile and proximity to certain metaverse objects as taught by Zavesky into the teaching of Rose. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to predict and personalize the user's environment with relevant metaverse objects that said user is or might be interested in, thereby offering unique immersive experiences for each user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavesky with Rose.
Regarding Claim 11, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a method. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Rose discloses a method of controlling an electronic device (Rose, [0080]: teaches a storage subsystem 824 <read on electronic device> including logic to perform methods), comprising:…
Thus, Claim 11 is met by Rose according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the electronic device corresponds to a method.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Rose discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing computer instructions that when executed by at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, of an electronic device, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to (Rose, [0002]: teaches a computer-readable media (transitory and non-transitory) that leverages digital media files retrieved and/or created by users to predict/determine topics of potential relevance to the users; [0031]: teaches client device 106 and cloud-based system 102 <read on electronic device> including a processor for accessing data and executing applications <read on computer instructions>):…
Thus, Claim 15 is met by Rose according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the electronic device corresponds to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
Regarding Claims 2, 12, and 16, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device, the method, and the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Claims 1, 11, and 15 respectively. Additionally, Rose further discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
identify a frequency of each of obtained object keywords (Rose, [0048]: teaches an object frequency engine 128 determining a frequency of one or more objects across a corpus of digital media files based on topics <read on obtained object keywords>),
select a plurality of first object keywords in which the identified frequency are equal to or greater than a specified value among the plurality of object keywords (Rose, [0041]: teaches determining a detected object's measure of prominence being compared to a threshold <read on specified value>, which then determines "whether (or how much) the object (and more generally, a topic <read on selected first object keywords> determined from the object) should be deemed of potential relevance to the user"), and
determine an object to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on the selected plurality of first object keywords (Rose, [0049]: teaches an object frequency engine 128 being configured "to determine a frequency of one or more objects across a corpus of digital media files (e.g., stored in index 130 or even in index 122) retrieved and/or created by a population of users," where the objects are identified (i.e., topics) and are categorized by relevancy (i.e., desks and tables being labeled as furniture)).
Regarding Claims 3, 13, and 17, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device, the method, and the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Claims 2, 12, and 16 respectively. Additionally, Rose further discloses wherein at least one processor is configured to:
identify semantic similarity between [[the user position and]] the plurality of first object keywords (Rose, [0049]: teaches categorizing relevant objects into one topic <read on semantic similarity>, such as desks and furniture being topics for furniture; Note: the examiner is interpreting the claim as the identified keywords that are similar to each other are considered as part of a single class),
select second object keywords having semantic similarity in which the identified semantic similarity is equal to or greater than a specified value among the plurality of first object keywords (Rose, [0041]: teaches determining a detected object's measure of prominence being compared to a threshold <read on specified value>, which then determines "whether (or how much) the object (and more generally, a topic <read on selected second object keywords> determined from the object) should be deemed of potential relevance to the user"; [0041]: further teaches detecting the number of objects of a particular type in one or more images (e.g., three apples depicted in a picture may be more probative of relevance than one apple), where the topic identification engine 132 determines and considers the detected object's measure of prominence <read on semantic similarity>, which is compared to a threshold <read on specified value>), and
based on the selected second object keywords, determine an object to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse (Rose, [0049]: teaches an object frequency engine 128 being configured "to determine a frequency of one or more objects across a corpus of digital media files (e.g., stored in index 130 or even in index 122) retrieved and/or created by a population of users," where the objects are identified (i.e., topics) and are categorized by relevancy (i.e., desks and tables being labeled as furniture)).
However, Rose does not explicitly disclose
identify semantic similarity between the user position and the plurality of first object keywords.
Zavesky discloses
identify semantic similarity between the user position and the plurality of first object keywords (Zavesky, [0070]: teaches an immersion evaluation platform 202 determining that a metaverse object near a user <read on user position> "belongs to the same or a similar class as that of one or more other metaverse objects with which the user has (or the user's cohorts have) previously engaged (e.g., food-related immersions)," and concluding that the metaverse object is relevant to the user).
Zavesky is analogous art with respect to Rose because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing relevant data to the user based on prior user-behavior. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display relevant content based on the user's profile and proximity to certain metaverse objects as taught by Zavesky into the teaching of Rose. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to predict and personalize the user's environment with relevant metaverse objects that said user is or might be interested in, thereby offering unique immersive experiences for each user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavesky with Rose.
Regarding Claims 4, 14, and 18, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device, the method, and the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Claims 1, 11, and 15 respectively. Additionally, Rose further discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
identify a number of object keywords corresponding to each image (Rose, [0048]: teaches an object frequency engine 128 determining a frequency <read on identified number of object keywords> of one or more objects across a corpus of digital media files based on topics),
identify a frequency of the object keywords based on the number of the identified object keywords (Rose, [0048]: teaches an object frequency engine 128 determining a frequency of one or more objects across a corpus of digital media files based on topics; Note: the examiner is interpreting the "number of object keywords" and the "frequency of object keywords" as similar terminologies), and
based on a plurality of keywords corresponding to one image including the same object keywords in multiple times, identify the number of the same object keywords with respect to the one image as one (Rose, [0049]: teaches categorizing relevant objects into a topic, such as desks and furniture being topics for furniture; Note: the examiner is interpreting the claim as the identified keywords that are similar to each other are considered as part of a single class).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device of Claim 1. Additionally, Rose further discloses wherein the electronic device further comprises
a display (Rose, [0078]: teaches a display), wherein
at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to control the electronic device to (Rose, [0077]: teaches computer system 810 including at least one processor 814):
transmit the object content to a server (Rose, [0084]: teaches sending and receiving content from a content server),
receive a virtual space image including the object content from the server (Rose, [0060]: teaches "the user acquires another digital image 4502 <read on received virtual space image> that once again depicts the son," where the son is wearing a different t-shirt that does not depict the same symbol <read on object content>), and
display the received virtual space image (Rose, FIG. 4 teaches the displayed digital image 4502).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device of Claim 7. Rose does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 8; however, Zavesky discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
control the display to display a UI to display at least one image corresponding to the object content at positions corresponding to the object content within the virtual space image (Zavesky, [0102]: teaches a user interface (UI) that includes one or more selectable options for interacting with a personalized recommendation/review <read on displayed image> that corresponds to a metaverse object <read on content object>; [0104]: teaches the system detecting the user moving away from a metaverse object <read on position of content object>).
Zavesky is analogous art with respect to Rose because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing relevant data to the user based on prior user-behavior. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display relevant content based on the user's profile and proximity to certain metaverse objects as taught by Zavesky into the teaching of Rose. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to predict and personalize the user's environment with relevant metaverse objects that said user is or might be interested in, thereby offering unique immersive experiences for each user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavesky with Rose.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device of Claim 1. Additionally, Rose further discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
[[identify whether the number of a plurality of images corresponding to the user position among the plurality of images is equal to or greater than a specified number, and]]
[[based on the number of the plurality of images corresponding to the user position among the plurality of images being equal to or greater than the specified number]], obtain an object keyword included in each of the selected plurality of images (Rose, [0040]: teaches a topic identification engine 132 being configured to identify "one or more topics <read on object keyword> of potential relevance to one or more users" in a digital media file (e.g., images <read on selected images>)).
However, Rose does not expressly disclose
identify whether the number of a plurality of images corresponding to the user position among the plurality of images is equal to or greater than a specified number, and
based on the number of the plurality of images corresponding to the user position among the plurality of images being equal to or greater than the specified number, obtain an object keyword included in each of the selected plurality of images.
Zavesky discloses
identify whether the number of a plurality of images corresponding to the user position among the plurality of images is equal to or greater than a specified number (Zavesky, [0104]: teaches the user being within a personalized recommendation/review of a metaverse object <read on user position> for longer than a threshold period of time <read on specified number>; Note: it should be noted that the threshold period of time is being interpreted as the number of frames (i.e., captured images) captured of a user within a specific location), and
based on the number of the plurality of images corresponding to the user position among the plurality of images being equal to or greater than the specified number, obtain an object keyword included in each of the selected plurality of images (Zavesky, [0104]: teaches the user being within a personalized recommendation/review of a metaverse object <read on user position> for longer than a threshold period of time <read on specified number>).
Zavesky is analogous art with respect to Rose because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing relevant data to the user based on prior user-behavior. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display relevant content based on the user's profile and proximity to certain metaverse objects as taught by Zavesky into the teaching of Rose. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to predict and personalize the user's environment with relevant metaverse objects that said user is or might be interested in, thereby offering unique immersive experiences for each user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavesky with Rose.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device of Claim 1. Rose does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 10; however, Zavesky discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
sense the user position in real time (Zavesky, [0051]: teaches data regarding the location <read on real time user position> of the user), and
based on the user position being sensed as being changed from a first position to a second position, select a plurality of images corresponding to the first position among the plurality of images (Zavesky, [0104]: teaches the system detecting the user moving away <read on user position being changed from 1st position to 2nd position> from a metaverse object; [0069]: teaches the immersion evaluation platform 202 using image/text analysis <read on selecting images> of the user's prior interaction, which is interpreted to be a plurality of images that correspond to the user's position).
Zavesky is analogous art with respect to Rose because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing relevant data to the user based on prior user-behavior. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display relevant content based on the user's profile and proximity to certain metaverse objects as taught by Zavesky into the teaching of Rose. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to predict and personalize the user's environment with relevant metaverse objects that said user is or might be interested in, thereby offering unique immersive experiences for each user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavesky with Rose.
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose et al. (US 20190392055 A1), hereinafter referenced as Rose, in view of Zavesky et al. (US 20230410159 A1), hereinafter referenced as Zavesky as applied to Claims 1 and 15 above respectively, and further in view of Xin et al. (US 20210056756 A1), hereinafter referenced as Xin.
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device and the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Claims 1 and 15 respectively. Additionally, Rose further discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
[[identify whether the user position is a specified position,]]
[[based on the user position being identified not to be in the specified position]], obtain a background keyword of each of the selected plurality of images (Rose, [0042]: teaches detecting an object in the background and determining its type <read on obtained background keyword>, where a topic identification engine 132 considers "how many objects are detected in a particular digital media file"),
[[determine a background to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse]] based on a frequency of the background keyword corresponding to each of the selected plurality of images (Rose, [0042]: teaches detecting an object in the background and determining its type <read on obtained background keyword>, where a topic identification engine 132 considers "how many objects are detected <read on frequency of background keyword> in a particular digital media file"), and
[[generate a background content corresponding to the determined background and object contents corresponding to the determined object.]]
However, Rose does not expressly disclose
identify whether the user position is a specified position,
based on the user position being identified not to be in the specified position, obtain a background keyword of each of the selected plurality of images,
determine a background to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on a frequency of the background keyword corresponding to each of the selected plurality of images, and
generate a background content corresponding to the determined background and object contents corresponding to the determined object.
Zavesky discloses
identify whether the user position is a specified position (Zavesky, [0066]: teaches the immersion evaluation platform determining the relevance of metaverse objects based on the user's behavior/action in the immersive environment "(e.g., walking to specific rooms <read on identify specified position> in the immersive environment and not to other rooms, engaging with metaverse objects of certain colors or shapes, but not those having other colors or shapes, etc.)"; Note: "specified position" is being interpreted as the user being in a specific position),
based on the user position being identified not to be in the specified position, obtain a background keyword of each of the selected plurality of images (Zavesky, [0068]: teaches the immersion evaluation platform 202 identifying, "based on metaverse object usage information and the user's location, that the user is visiting a new area <read on user position not being in specified position>, is near an immersive landmark object, and that other users tend to engage with the object at the current time of day"; [0070]: teaches the immersion evaluation platform 202 determining the relevance of metaverse objects (e.g., same/similar class/type <read on obtained keyword>, shape, size, etc.); [0016]: teaches metaverse objects can be, but not limited to, "triggers to join other immersions"),
[[determine a background to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on a frequency of the background keyword corresponding to each of the selected plurality of images, and]]
[[generate a background content corresponding to the determined background and object contents corresponding to the determined object.]]
Zavesky is analogous art with respect to Rose because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing relevant data to the user based on prior user-based behavior. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to display relevant content based on weighted topics in a metaverse environment as taught by Zavesky into the teaching of Rose. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to determine which types of metaverse objects for generation and display based on the user's interested topics, thereby offering unique and personalized metaverse experiences. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zavesky with Rose.
However, the combination of Rose and Zavesky does not expressly disclose
determine a background to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on a frequency of the background keyword corresponding to each of the selected plurality of images, and
generate a background content corresponding to the determined background and object contents corresponding to the determined object.
Xin discloses
determine a background to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on a frequency of the background keyword corresponding to each of the selected plurality of images (Xin, [0075]: teaches an environment rule 10421 (i.e., the 3D environment model rule) being used to "select a corresponding model <read on determined background> based on an environment keyword <read on background keyword> appearing in a title, a label, an introduction, or a content description," such as generating a mountain model for texts, such as "mountain range""), and
generate a background content corresponding to the determined background and object contents corresponding to the determined object (Xin, [0080]: teaches a particle rule 10425 being used to "adjust and control a corresponding particle parameter <read on background content> based on a keyword appearing in a title, a label, an introduction, or a content description," which corresponds to the selected movie content <read on object contents>).
Xin is analogous art with respect to Rose, in view of Zavesky because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing an immersive virtual reality experience. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to update the surrounding virtual environment based on the selected content as taught by Xin into the teaching of Rose, in view of Zavesky. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to dynamically update the surrounding environment based on user interaction and position (i.e., a user approaching a movie theater and selecting a horror-themed movie, which results in changes to the material and lighting of the surrounding area), resulting in a more immersive user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xin with Rose, in view of Zavesky.
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, the combination of Rose and Zavesky discloses the electronic device and the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of Claims 1 and 15 respectively. The combination of Rose and Zavesky does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 6 and 20; however, Xin disclose wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
identify a plurality of texts obtained for a period corresponding to the user position (Xin, [0077]: teaches identifying a movie emotion type from "a title, an introduction, or a content description <read on identified texts>"; [0123]: teaches the system generating selection instructions for target content in response to a user's input, which is all done in a given execution time <read on period>),
obtain a plurality of emotion keywords corresponding to the identified plurality of texts (Xin, [0077]: teaches the identified emotion types <read on obtained emotion keywords> of movie content), and
determine a background to be reflected on the virtual space of the metaverse based on the obtained emotion keyword and the user position (Xin, [0073]: teaches matching rule 1042 that performs "matching on the identified keyword to obtain a target 3D environment model <read on background> and target 3D environment data <read on user position>").
Xin is analogous art with respect to Rose, in view of Zavesky because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely providing an immersive virtual reality experience. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to update the surrounding virtual environment based on the selected content as taught by Xin into the teaching of Rose, in view of Zavesky. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to dynamically update the surrounding environment based on user interaction and position (i.e., a user approaching a movie theater and selecting a horror-themed movie, which results in changes to the material and lighting of the surrounding area), resulting in a more immersive user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Xin with Rose, in view of Zavesky.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huh (US 20230196650 A1) discloses a system that provides metaverse-based images in real-time; and
Yuya (US 20240221240 A1) discloses a system that determines the relationship between a real object and a user in real space.
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614