DETAILED ACTION
Procedural Summary
This is responsive to the claims filed 12/23/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s IDS submission is acknowledged and provided herewith.
The Drawings filed on 12/23/2024 are noted.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: these claims recite “spade suite card characteristic”. It should instead read “spade suit card characteristic.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1’s preamble recites “A video poker gaming device” but the body recites “a display mounted to the cabinet and configured to display poker games to a player of “the video poker gaming machine.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the video poker gaming machine.” Dependent claims 2-6 inherit this discrepancy by nature of their dependencies. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7’s preamble recites “a video poker gaming machine” but the body of the claim recites “a display configured to display poker games to a player of the video poker gaming device.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the video poker gaming device. Dependent claims 8-10 inherit this discrepancy by nature of their dependencies. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites “the multiplier value awarded in the first poker game”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the multiplier value. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Each of Claims 1-20 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
The examiner follows the two step-analysis, as described in MPEP 2106 (available at https://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/s2106.html). The following diagram is an overview of the steps involved.
Step 1
Step 1 of the two step-analysis considers whether the claims fall into one of the four statutory categories of invention such as a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The instant invention claims a video poker gaming device and a video poker gaming machine in claims 1-20. As such, the claimed invention falls into the broad statutory categories of invention. However, claims that fall within one of the four statutory categories may nevertheless be ineligible if they encompass laws of nature, physical phenomena, or abstract ideas.
Step 2A
Step 2A has been further divided into two prongs as shown in the following diagram.
Under prong 1 of step 2A, the examiner considers whether the claim recites an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon. The term “abstract idea” is not interpreted as a layperson might. Instead, the term “abstract idea” is interpreted as described in legal opinions by courts.
According to MPEP 2106.04(a):
the Office has set forth an approach to identifying abstract ideas that distills the relevant case law into enumerated groupings of abstract ideas. The enumerated groupings are firmly rooted in Supreme Court precedent as well as Federal Circuit decisions interpreting that precedent, as is explained in MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2). This approach represents a shift from the former case-comparison approach that required examiners to rely on individual judicial cases when determining whether a claim recites an abstract idea. By grouping the abstract ideas, the examiners’ focus has been shifted from relying on individual cases to generally applying the wide body of case law spanning all technologies and claim types.
The enumerated groupings of abstract ideas are defined as:
1) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I);
2) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II); and
3) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 1, and similarly recited independent claims 7 and 11, recites rules for conducting a wagering game – allowing a player to predict a card characteristic, comparing the prediction to a dealt card at a designated position, and changing a payout or payout modifier when the prediction is correct. These limitations recite managing player behavior/following game rules and evaluating a prediction, which fall within certain methods of organizing human activity and/or mental processes. Both are abstract ideas under the 2019 PEG. Also see In re Smith, 815 F.3d 816 (Fed. Cir. 2016); In re Marco Guldenaar Holding B.V., 911 F.3d. 1157 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Thus the claims represent an abstract idea under Step 1.
Under prong 2 of step 2A, the examiner considers whether the additional elements in the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. To do so, the examiner looks to the following exemplary considerations, looking at the elements individually and in combination:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the method merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a conventional, generic devices. The additional elements of: display, input devices, wager acceptor, memory, processor, virtual deck, and credit meter are generically recited and provide a conventional technological environment for executing the game rules. For example, applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Furthermore, the additional elements do not serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in the independent Claims is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
Finally, under step 2B, the examiner evaluates whether the additional elements:
add a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
The present claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements recite display, input devices, wager acceptor, memory, processor, virtual deck, and credit meter. These additional elements are generically claimed components which enable a game to be conducted by performing the basic functions of: (i) receiving, processing, and storing data, (ii) automating mental tasks and (iii) receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application.
Furthermore, the recitation of the above-identified generic computer limitations in Claims 1-20 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Therefore, none of Claims 1-20 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, Claims 1-20 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and the 2019 PEG.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,790,734. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claim is either identical to, or an obvious variant of the patented claims (e.g., omitting the “multi-play poker game … plurality of concurrently played poker hands” limitations of certain family claims is a mere broadening that is not patentably distinct). The patented claims anticipate the more generic or broader claims now pending (instant Claims 1 to 20). That is, the rationale of In re Goodman applies here in that once Applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, Applicant is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent.
Claims 1-20 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the Claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,183,166. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claim is either identical to, or an obvious variant of the patented claims. The patented claims anticipate the more generic or broader claims now pending (instant Claims 1 to 20). That is, the rationale of In re Goodman applies here in that once Applicant has received a patent for a species or a more specific embodiment, Applicant is not entitled to a patent for the generic or broader invention without maintaining common ownership and ensuring that the term of the latter issued patent will expire at the end of the original term of the earlier issued patent.
AIA Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0148231 A1 to BERMAN et al. (Berman) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0087443 A1 to Milosevich et al. (Milosevich).
Regarding Claim 1, Berman discloses a video poker gaming device comprising:
a cabinet having one or more security locks (fig. 1);
a display mounted to the cabinet and configured to display poker games to a player of the video poker gaming machine (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes display 102, paras. [0029], [0031]);
a player input device attached to the cabinet and configured to receive inputs from a player (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes user interface 104, para. [0029]);
a wager input device mounted to the cabinet and structured to receive physical items associated with a currency value (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes user interface 104, [0029]-[0030]); and
a processor housed inside the cabinet (fig. 1, para. [0114]) and configured to:
display a poker game by dealing a poker hand comprising a plurality of virtual poker cards (figs. 2; 3A-3D, [0046]-[0049]);
identify a dealt card characteristic among the plurality of available card characteristics for one of the poker cards dealt to a particular position in the poker hand (figs. 2; 3A-3D, [0046]-[0049]).
However, Berman does not explicitly disclose:
facilitate player selection of a predicted card characteristic from a plurality of available card characteristics;
compare the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic; and
if the comparison results in a match of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic, award a payout modifier for use in the poker game.
In a related invention and analogous invention, Milosevich discloses a gaming system that enables facilitate player selection of a predicted card characteristic from a plurality of available card characteristics … compare the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic; …. and if the comparison results in a match of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic, award a payout modifier for use in the poker game ([0023], [0028-[0029], [0040]-[0041], [0056], [0062] discloses initial cards may be dealt to the player being dealt a power suit …After each of the initial cards dealt to the player have been revealed, an additional card from the set of randomized cards may be dealt for each of the initial cards of the randomly designated power suit for the current round of play, as indicated at 112. For example, a suit of each initial card dealt to the player may be compared to the randomly designated power suit … The power suit side bet bonus wager may be resolved by comparing a predicted characteristic of the power suit to an actual characteristic of the power suit. For example, a predicted color or predicted, specific suit may be compared to an actual color or an actual, specific suit of the power suit. When the predicted characteristic of the power suit matches the actual characteristic of the power suit, a bonus payout on the power suit side bet bonus wager may be paid to the player in some embodiments …In other examples in which the power suit matches the actual characteristics, the payout on the ante and play wagers may be increased by multiplying a base payout by a multiplier (e.g., 1.25, 1.5, 2) … multiple second designated areas 130 may be positioned in each player position 120, each second designated area 130 indicating a different player prediction for a characteristic (e.g., red, black, spades, diamonds, clubs, hearts) of a subsequently designated power suit).
Berman discloses a gaming system directed to the use of game modifiers between stages of a game played on a gaming device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berman to include the predicted card characteristic feature of Milosevich that offers an added game modifier to the play of the game in order to further add an additional element of excitement to playing the game and offers players added incentives at different stages of the game to foster continuation of play (Berman, [0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 1, wherein the payout modifier includes a multiplier value used to multiply awarded results for the poker hand of the poker game (Milosevich, [0046]-[0047], [0056] discloses awarding a multiplier value as an award payout).
Regarding Claim 3, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 1, wherein the particular position in the poker hand for which the dealt card characteristic is identified is a first card position of the poker hand (Milosevich, [0028]-[0029], [0040]).
Regarding Claim 4, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of a red-suited card characteristic and a black-suited card characteristic (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristic of the card could include the colors red or black).
Regarding Claim 5, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of a heart suit card characteristic, a diamond card characteristic, a club suit characteristic, and a spade suite card characteristic (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristics can be multiple, though still fewer than all, suits selected from spades, diamonds, clubs, and hearts).
Regarding Claim 6, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of card ranks (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristics can include one or more card ranks may be randomly designated as a power rank instead of randomly designating a power suit).
Regarding Claim 11, Berman discloses a video poker gaming device comprising:
a display configured to display poker games to a player of the gaming device (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes display 102, paras. [0029], [0031], [0037]);
a player input device configured to receive inputs from a player (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes user interface 104, para. [0029[);
a wager input device structured to identify and validate currency or currency based tickets (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes user interface 104, [0029]-[0030]); and
a processor (paras. [0114]-[-0115] discloses computing arrangement 1600 suitable for performing the gaming functions in accordance with the present invention typically includes a central processor (CPU) 1602) configured to:
deal a first poker hand including a first plurality of poker cards (figs. 2; 3A-3D, [0046]-[0049]);
identify a dealt card characteristic among the plurality of available card characteristics for a poker card of the first plurality of poker cards that is dealt to a particular position of the first poker hand (figs. 2; 3A-3D, [0046]-[0049]).
However, Berman does not explicitly disclose:
facilitate player selection of a predicted card characteristic from a plurality of available card characteristics;
compare the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic;
if the comparison results in a match of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic, award a payout modifier;
identify a first poker result of playing the first poker hand, and award a first poker result payout if the identified first poker result corresponds to a predetermined poker result having the first poker result payout associated therewith; and
increase the first poker result payout based on the awarded payout modifier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the payout modifier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic matching.
In a related invention and analogous invention, Milosevich discloses a gaming system that facilitate player selection of a predicted card characteristic from a plurality of available card characteristics; … compare the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic; … if the comparison results in a match of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic, award a payout modifier; … identify a first poker result of playing the first poker hand, and award a first poker result payout if the identified first poker result corresponds to a predetermined poker result having the first poker result payout associated therewith ([0023], [0028-[0029], [0040]-[0041], [0056], [0062] discloses initial cards may be dealt to the player being dealt a power suit …After each of the initial cards dealt to the player have been revealed, an additional card from the set of randomized cards may be dealt for each of the initial cards of the randomly designated power suit for the current round of play, as indicated at 112. For example, a suit of each initial card dealt to the player may be compared to the randomly designated power suit … The power suit side bet bonus wager may be resolved by comparing a predicted characteristic of the power suit to an actual characteristic of the power suit. For example, a predicted color or predicted, specific suit may be compared to an actual color or an actual, specific suit of the power suit. When the predicted characteristic of the power suit matches the actual characteristic of the power suit, a bonus payout on the power suit side bet bonus wager may be paid to the player in some embodiments …In other examples in which the power suit matches the actual characteristics, the payout on the ante and play wagers may be increased by multiplying a base payout by a multiplier (e.g., 1.25, 1.5, 2) … multiple second designated areas 130 may be positioned in each player position 120, each second designated area 130 indicating a different player prediction for a characteristic (e.g., red, black, spades, diamonds, clubs, hearts) of a subsequently designated power suit); and
increase the first poker result payout based on the awarded payout modifier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the payout modifier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic matching (paras. [0068], [0094]-[0098]).
Regarding Claim 12, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to:
deal at least one second poker hand including a second plurality of poker cards (Berman, figs. 1-2 depicts second stage game 212, which shows a second dealt hand of five cards, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]);
identify a second poker result of playing the second poker hand, and award a second poker result payout if the identified second poker result corresponds to a predetermined poker result having the second poker result payout associated therewith (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]); and
increase the second poker result payout based on the awarded payout modifier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the payout modifier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the predicted card characteristic and the dealt card characteristic matching (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 13, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of a red-suited card characteristic and a black-suited card characteristic (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristic of the card could include the colors red or black).
Regarding Claim 14, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of a heart suit card characteristic, a diamond card characteristic, a club suit characteristic, and a spade suite card characteristic (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristics can be multiple, though still fewer than all, suits selected from spades, diamonds, clubs, and hearts).
Regarding Claim 15, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of card ranks (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristics can include one or more card ranks may be randomly designated as a power rank instead of randomly designating a power suit).
Regarding Claim 16, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of available card characteristics includes a choice of a face card characteristic and a non-face card characteristic (Milosevich, [0030], [0056], [0062] discloses the characteristics can include one or more card ranks may be randomly designated as a power rank instead of randomly designating a power suit).
Regarding Claim 17, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 11, wherein the payout modifier includes a multiplier value used to multiply any first poker result payout (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 18, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 12, wherein the payout modifier includes a multiplier value used to multiply any second poker result payout (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 19, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 18, wherein the multiplier value awarded in the first poker game is reset to a predefined initial value when a previous poker game did not award a payout modifier (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, Berman in view of Milosevich discloses the video poker gaming device of claim 18, wherein the multiplier value awarded in the first poker game is incrementally increased according to a predetermined algorithm from a previously awarded payout modifier when a previous poker game did result in the awarding of the previously awarded payout modifier (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0148231 A1 to BERMAN et al. (Berman) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0087443 A1 to Milosevich et al. (Milosevich) and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/0045338 A1 to Dolloff et al.
Regarding Claim 7, Berman discloses a video poker gaming machine comprising:
a display configured to display poker games to a player of the video poker gaming device (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes display 102, paras. [0029], [0031], [0037]);
a player input device configured to receive inputs from a player (fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes user interface 104, para. [0029[);
a wager input device structured to receive physical items associated with a currency value ((fig. 1, gaming machine 100 includes user interface 104, [0029]-[0030]);
a memory configured to store a credit amount, at least one virtual deck of cards, and a current predicted card suit (paras. [0114]-[-0115] discloses computing arrangement 1600 suitable for performing the gaming functions in accordance with the present invention typically includes a central processor (CPU) 1602 coupled to random access memory (RAM) 1604 and some variation of read-only memory (ROM) 1606); and
a processor (paras. [0114]-[-0115] discloses computing arrangement 1600 suitable for performing the gaming functions in accordance with the present invention typically includes a central processor (CPU) 1602) configured to:
receive a signal that a physical item has been received by the wager input device (paras. [0029]-[0030], [0120] discloses the wager input module 1646 represents any mechanism for accepting coins, tokens, coupons, bills, electronic fund transfer (EFT), tickets, credit cards, smart cards, membership cards, etc., for which a participant inputs a wager amount);
increment the credit amount in the memory based on the currency value associated with the received physical item (paras. [0034]);
receive a signal to initiate a poker gaming event in response to placement of a wager, the wager decreasing the credit amount (paras. [0029], [0031]);
deal a first poker hand including a first plurality of poker cards (figs. 2; 3A-3D, [0046]-[0049]);
identify a dealt card suit for a poker card of the first plurality of poker cards that is dealt to a particular position of the first poker hand (figs. 2; 3A-3D, [0046]-[0049].
However, Berman does not explicitly disclose:
compare the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit;
if the comparison results in a match of the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit, award a random multiplier;
identify a first poker result of playing the first poker hand, and award a first poker result payout if the identified first poker result corresponds to a predetermined poker result having the first poker result payout associated therewith; and
increase the first poker result payout based on the awarded multiplier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the multiplier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit matching.
In a related invention, Milosevich discloses:
compare the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit; … if the comparison results in a match of the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit, award a random multiplier; … identify a first poker result of playing the first poker hand, and award a first poker result payout if the identified first poker result corresponds to a predetermined poker result having the first poker result payout associated therewith ([0023], [0028-[0029], [0040]-[0041], [0056], [0062] discloses initial cards may be dealt to the player being dealt a power suit …After each of the initial cards dealt to the player have been revealed, an additional card from the set of randomized cards may be dealt for each of the initial cards of the randomly designated power suit for the current round of play, as indicated at 112. For example, a suit of each initial card dealt to the player may be compared to the randomly designated power suit … The power suit side bet bonus wager may be resolved by comparing a predicted characteristic of the power suit to an actual characteristic of the power suit. For example, a predicted color or predicted, specific suit may be compared to an actual color or an actual, specific suit of the power suit. When the predicted characteristic of the power suit matches the actual characteristic of the power suit, a bonus payout on the power suit side bet bonus wager may be paid to the player in some embodiments …In other examples in which the power suit matches the actual characteristics, the payout on the ante and play wagers may be increased by multiplying a base payout by a multiplier (e.g., 1.25, 1.5, 2) … multiple second designated areas 130 may be positioned in each player position 120, each second designated area 130 indicating a different player prediction for a characteristic (e.g., red, black, spades, diamonds, clubs, hearts) of a subsequently designated power suit).
Berman discloses a gaming system directed to the use of game modifiers between stages of a game played on a gaming device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berman to include the predicted card characteristic feature of Milosevich that offers an added game modifier to the play of the game in order to further add an additional element of excitement to playing the game and offers players added incentives at different stages of the game to foster continuation of play (Berman, [0005]).
The combination of Berman and Milosevich, however, although Milosevich discloses a multiplier value, it does not explicitly disclose:
increase the first poker result payout based on the awarded multiplier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the multiplier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit matching.
Dolloff, discloses increase the first poker result payout based on the awarded multiplier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the multiplier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit matching (figs. 6E-6F, paras. [0015], [0103], [0132], [0149] discloses that multipliers may be randomly determined and that multipliers are provided for matching characteristics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the multiplier features with the combined system of Berman and Milosevich in order to provide an additional award opportunity for players during game play, as Dolloff’s multiplier feature, is a known, predictable form of award.
Regarding Claim 8, Berman in view of Milosevich and Dolloff discloses the video poker gaming machine of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to:
deal at least one second poker hand including a second plurality of poker cards (Berman, figs. 1-2 depicts second stage game 212, which shows a second dealt hand of five cards, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]);
identify a second poker result of playing the second poker hand, and award a second poker result payout if the identified second poker result corresponds to a predetermined poker result having the second poker result payout associated therewith (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]); and
increase the second poker result payout based on the awarded multiplier obtained in connection with play of the first poker hand, if the multiplier was awarded in connection with play of the first poker hand as a result of the current predicted card suit and the dealt card suit matching (Berman, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026], [0037]-[0040], [0045]).
Regarding Claim 9, Berman in view of Milosevich and Dolloff discloses the video poker gaming machine of claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to facilitate player selection of the current predicted card suit prior to dealing the first poker hand in the poker gaming event (Milosevich, para. [0030]).
Regarding Claim 10, Berman in view of Milosevich and Dolloff discloses the video poker gaming machine of claim 9, wherein facilitating player selection of the current predicted card suit prior to dealing the first poker hand in the poker gaming event includes providing a button configured to be activated by the player prior to dealing the first poker hand in the poker gaming event, and changing the current predicted card suit only upon the button being activated and a new predicted card suit being selected (Milosevich, para. [0066] discloses a round of activation button at the dealer station may alternatively be used to initiate random suit selection).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are examined above.
/S.N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715