DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,212,613 (hereinafter Rensburg), in view of US Publication Number 2006/0031779 (hereinafter Theurer). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationales.
Rensburg in view of Theurer discloses obtaining, through a first device an application to share, wherein the application has a first window size; determining, using a machine learning model, a primary portion of the application to share, wherein the primary portion has a second window size that is smaller than the first window size; causing the primary portion of the application to be shared and displayed on a second device (Rensburg, claims 1 and 4); wherein the determining the primary portion comprises determining based on a type of the content to share (Rensburg, claim 2); wherein the determining the primary portion comprises determining based on a type of the application to share (Rensburg, claim 2 and Theurer [0083], a person with ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the concept of determining primary portion based on the shared application as suggested by Theurer because both Rensburg and Theurer disclose sharing screen data based on the type of shared data and Theurer suggests the sharing could be based on the type of shared application, and the motivation is to improve relevance of shared data and enhance privacy control with the particular application); wherein the determining the primary portion comprises determining based on an audio input (Rensburg, claim 5); wherein the determining the primary portion is recursive (Rensburg, claim 3); generating a notification to a participant based on the primary portion of the content (Rensburg, claim 7); providing a participant with the ability to adjust the primary portion (Theurer, figure 3, [0070], user configure to adjust share screen, a person with ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the concept to provide the participant with the ability to adjust the shared data as suggested by Theurer because both Rensburg and Theurer disclose sharing screen data and Theurer further suggests the sharing could be adjusted by the participant, and the motivation is to allow user control over the sharing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theurer et al. US Publication Number 2006/0031779, hereinafter Theurer, in view of Zhang et al., US Publication Number 2023/0214958, hereinafter Zhang, and Chittampally et al., US Publication Number 2022/0414241, hereinafter Chittampally.
Referring to claim 1, Theurer discloses a computer-implemented method ([0002]) for adjusting content shared during communication sessions (abstract, figures 3, 4A-C, 5E), comprising:
obtaining, through a first device (source node 100) an application (screen data 310; [0083], application 416) to share([0070], [0083], application 416 desired to be screen shared; [0088][0089], source node share screen data to consumer node 150; figure 4C, the shared screen data could be a displayed application from the source node; ), wherein the application has a first window size ([0089], screen view 450 is view as the first window size);
determining a primary portion of the application to share (page 7 [0070], page 10 [0088][0089], portion of screen is specified to be shared);
causing the primary portion of the application to be shared and displayed on a second device (consumer node 150)(page 8 [0074], page 11 [0096], figure 4B, step 478, shared screen displayed on the consumer node).
Theurer does not explicitly teach the use of machine learning model to determine the sharing portion.
Chittampally discloses the machine learning model is used to determine the sharing content ([0005][0033], the machine learning model is used to identifying sharing content).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the idea of determining the primary portion based on Machine Learning (ML) technique into Theurer as suggested by Chittampally, because both Theurer and Chittampally discloses screen sharing to hide certain item (Theurer, [0048], Chittampally, [0005][0033]), and Chittampally suggests an use of Machine Learning techniques to identify sharing portion (Chittampally, page 1 [0005][0033]).
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Theurer to enhance security by provide additional filtering using Machine Learning techniques as suggested by Chittampally.
Furthermore, Theurer does not explicitly teach wherein the primary portion has a second window size that is smaller than the first window size.
Zhang discloses the shared screen could be cropped such that only the focus area (smailler second window size) is sent (see title and [0140], figure 7 and 8B).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify/crop the window size of the original screen (first window size) to only focus area (figures 7, 8B, cropped area is smaller than the original screen) as suggested by Zhang because both Chittampally and Zhang discloses sharing only portion of the data and Zhang further suggests to send only the focus area to the second device ([0140], figures 7 and 8B).
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Theurer to improve sharing quality and facilitate data transmission by sending only the focus information.
Referring to claim 2, Theurer in view of Chittampally and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the primary portion comprises determining based on a type of the content to share (Theurer, [0006][0048], non-private and non-confidential information are determined types of content to be shared).
Referring to claim 3, Theurer in view of Chittampally and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the primary portion comprises determining based on a type of the application to share (Theurer, [0083], application 416 may comprise any type and/or form of software capable of running or being displayed in the display 230a of the source node 100; each application has its own type for its primary portion to be determined).
Referring to claim 4, Theurer in view of Chittampally and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, Chittampally further discloses device inputs including voice input (page 2 [0017], page 4 [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the voice input of Chittampally in Theurer, because both Theurer and Chittampally discloses screen sharing based on user initiation/input (Theurer, abstract, Chittampally, abstract) and Chittampally suggests the input could be a voice input (Chittampally, page 1 [0005]).
A person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to Theurer to allow hands-free vocal control as suggested by Chittampally.
Referring to claim 5, Theurer in view of Chittampally and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the primary portion is recursive (Theurer, [0099], [0101][0102], updating screen with determined changes is viewed as the recursive primary portion determination).
Referring to claim 6, Theurer in view of Chittampally and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: providing a participant (user) with the ability to adjust the primary portion (Theurer, figure 3, [0070], the screen sharing presenter 325 allows a user to configure or specify the portion of the visible screen area of the display 230 of the computing device 200a for which to share or provide screen data 310).
Referring to claim 7, Theurer in view of Chittampally and Zhang, discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a notification to a participant based on the primary portion of the content (Theurer, [0100], steps 564 and 572, screen change generated sent to the user is viewed as a notification to a participant based on the primary portion of the content).
Referring to claims 8-20, the claims encompass the same scope of the invention as that of the claims 1-7. Therefore, claims 8-20 are rejected on the same ground as the claims 1-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objection made. Applicant must show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Liang-che Alex Wang
June 1, 2026
/LIANG CHE A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447