CTNF 18/999,549 CTNF 98976 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4 cites “wherein the hinge device includes”. Appropriate correction is required to address lack of colon (“:”). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun ( KR 101069242 B1; “Hyun” hereinafter), in view of Zhang et al et al (JP3179328U; “Zhang” hereinafter) . Regarding claim 1 , Hyun teaches: a hinge device (100, fig. 1) that rotatably connects a first chassis (10, fig. 1) and a second chassis (20, fig. 1) each having a flat shape, the hinge device comprising: a first shaft (120) configured to extend in a first direction (see ‘1D’ in annotated fig. 3 below) along a connection edge (see annotated fig. 6 below) between the first chassis and the second chassis, and be pivotally supported to be rotatably to the first chassis (figs. 4-5) in a vicinity (see annotated fig. 6 below) of the connection edge to the second chassis (examination of figs. 5-6 teaches this limitation) ; a second shaft configured (140) to extend in the first direction (fig. 3) and be fixed to the second chassis (through element 130, figs. 2-5) in the vicinity of the connection edge to the first chassis (see annotated fig. 6 below) ; a crank (130, fig. 3) configured to connect the first shaft and the second shaft (figs. 2-3); a slider (113a, fig. 3) configured to be provided on the first chassis (through 110, figs 3-5) to be slidable in a second direction (see ‘2D’ in annotated fig. 3 below, along 1511a and 1521a, figs. 2-5) orthogonal to the first direction; and a link (150, figs. 2-4) configured to pivotally support the slider in the first direction (figs. 2-3) and pivotally support the second shaft (figs. 2-6) , wherein as the first chassis and the second chassis rotate from a closed state (fig. 4) in which the first chassis and the second chassis are stacked to an open state (fig. 6) , the link protrudes from a non-facing surface of the second chassis in the closed state (see annotated fig. 4 below, and figs. 5-6) . PNG media_image1.png 208 327 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 514 652 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 213 613 media_image3.png Greyscale Hyun suggest, but does not explicitly disclose: the crank configured to connect the first shaft and the second shaft in a non-rotatable manner. However, Zhang teaches: a link (12, fig. 1) configured to connect a first shaft (35, fig. 1) and a second shaft (25, fig. 1) in a non-rotatable manner (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 2-4, where the flat portion of the shafts match the flat portions on the openings disposed in 121 and 122), and allows rotation of link 20 and link 30 (figs. 7-10) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to set the crank as being configured to connect the first shaft and the second shaft of Hyun in a non-rotatable manner as taught by Zhang, by way of fixing the central portion shaft 120 in hole 131a, allowing rotation of element 110 through distal ends of shaft 120, and fixing the central portion of shaft 140 in hole 131b, allowing rotation 151 and 152 through distal ends of shaft 140. in element 110, in order to provide a non-rotatable pivot member to functionally enable the hinge, for the advantage of reducing rotational wear on holes 131a and 131b . The claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known pivoting/rotation techniques recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143). Regarding claim 2 , Hyun in view of Zhang teaches the limitation of claim 1, and Hyun further teaches: further comprising: a base plate (110, fig. 3) configured to be fixed to the first chassis (figs. 4-6) , guide the slider to be slidable (figs. 3-6) , and pivotally support the first shaft (figs. 3-6) . Regarding claim 3 , Hyun in view of Zhang teaches the limitation of claim 2, and Hyun further teaches: wherein the base plate has two axis support portions that pivotally support the first shaft (see annotated fig. 3 below) , and the crank is provided between the two axis support portions (fig. 2) . PNG media_image4.png 486 528 media_image4.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6 , Hyun in view of Zhang teaches the limitation of claim 1, and Hyun further teaches: wherein the link forms a continuous surface with a surface of the connection edge in the closed state (examination of fig. 6 teaches this limitation) . Regarding claim 9 , Hyun teaches: an electronic apparatus (assembly of fig. 1) in which a first chassis (10, fig. 1) and a second chassis (20, fig. 1) each having a flat shape are rotatably connected to each other by a hinge device (100, fig. 1) , wherein the hinge device includes a first shaft (120) configured to extend in a first direction (see ‘1D’ in annotated fig. 3 below) along a connection edge (see annotated fig. 6 below) between the first chassis and the second chassis, and be pivotally supported to be rotatably to the first chassis (figs. 4-5) in a vicinity (see annotated fig. 6 below) of the connection edge to the second chassis (examination of figs. 5-6 teaches this limitation) ; a second shaft configured (140) to extend in the first direction (fig. 3) and be fixed to the second chassis (through element 130, figs. 2-5) in the vicinity of the connection edge to the first chassis (see annotated fig. 6 below) ; a crank (130, fig. 3) configured to connect the first shaft and the second shaft (figs. 2-3), a slider (113a, fig. 3) configured to be provided on the first chassis (through 110, figs 3-5) to be slidable in a second direction (see ‘2D’ in annotated fig. 3 below, along 1511a and 1521a, figs. 2-5) orthogonal to the first direction; and a link (150, figs. 2-4) configured to pivotally support the slider in the first direction (figs. 2-3) and pivotally support the second shaft (figs. 2-6) , wherein as the first chassis and the second chassis rotate from a closed state (fig. 4) in which the first chassis and the second chassis are stacked to an open state (fig. 6) , the link protrudes from a non-facing surface of the second chassis in the closed state (see annotated fig. 4 below, and figs. 5-6) . PNG media_image1.png 208 327 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 514 652 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 213 613 media_image3.png Greyscale Hyun suggests but does not explicitly disclose: the crank configured to connect the first shaft and the second shaft in a non-rotatable manner. However, Zhang teaches: a link (12, fig. 1) configured to connect a first shaft (35, fig. 1) and a second shaft (25, fig. 1) in a non-rotatable manner (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 2-4, where the flat portion of the shafts match the flat portions on the openings disposed in 121 and 122), and allows rotation of link 20 and link 30 (figs. 7-10) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to set the crank as being configured to connect the first shaft and the second shaft of Hyun in a non-rotatable manner as taught by Zhang, by way of fixing the central portion shaft 120 in hole 131a, allowing rotation of element 110 through distal ends of shaft 120, and fixing the central portion of shaft 140 in hole 131b, allowing rotation 151 and 152 through distal ends of shaft 140. in element 110, in order to provide a non-rotatable pivot member to functionally enable the hinge, for the advantage of reducing rotational wear on holes 131a and 131b . The claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known pivoting/rotation techniques recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun ( KR 101069242 B1; “Hyun” hereinafter), in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lin et al (US 20200080357; “Lin” hereinafter) . Regarding claim 7, Hyun in view of Zhang teaches the limitation of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein a torque applying portion configured to apply a rotational torque is provided on the first shaft. However, Lin2 teaches: a torque applying portion (110, fig. 1B) configured to apply a rotational torque (¶[0021]) is provided on a first shaft (112, fig. 1B) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of Hyun in view of Zhang and include a torque applying portion as taught by Lin, with the first shaft of Hyun, such that a torque applying portion configured to apply a rotational torque is provided on the first shaft, in order to hold the first and second chassis in a stable manner at a desired angular posture while ensuring a smooth rotational movement operation between the first and second chassis. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun, in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Wen et al (US 20240152187; “Wen” hereinafter) . Regarding claim 8, Hyun in view of Zhang teaches the limitation of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach: wherein a keyboard is provided on a facing surface of the first chassis with respect to the second chassis, and a ventilation hole is provided on the non-facing surface. However, Wen teaches: a keyboard (unnumbered, fig. 2A, ¶[0026]) is provided on a facing surface (S1, fig. 2A) of a first chassis with respect to the second chassis (120) , and a ventilation hole (121, fig. 1A) connected to a fan (150, fig. 3) is provided on a non-facing surface (S2, ¶[0027]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the first chassis of Hyun in view of Zhang, and include Wen’s keyboard, fan, ventilation hole arrangement, in order to improve heat dissipation performance and provide an input module (¶[0027]). The claim would have been obvious because the particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as evidenced by Wen. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of a plurality of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (§MPEP 2143) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 4 , the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-2, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the slider has a rectangular shape surrounding the base plate . None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination. Regarding claim 5 , the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: further comprising: an input/output device configured to slide in the second direction together with the slider or a vicinity of an axis support portion of the slider in the link, wherein the input/output device is covered with a cover in the closed state and is exposed from the cover in the open state . None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is: US 20230084065 A1 Electronic Device and Foot Structure. This invention relates generally to a hinge module that is coupled to the first housing and the second housing, the hinge module comprising a rotation gear, a gear assembly comprising a pinion gear rotatably coupled to the rotation gear, a rack gear configured to slide in a first axial direction based on rotation of the pinion gear. US 20200183451 A1 Foldable Electronic Device. This invention generally relates to a first body, a second body, a pivot module, a linkage mechanism, and an input module. The pivot module is connected to the first body and the second body. The second body is pivoted on the first body through the pivot module. The linkage mechanism is disposed in the first body and is connected to the pivot module. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER KRIM whose telephone number is (703)756-1246. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am -4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen L Parker can be reached at (303) 297-4722. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 8 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 9 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,549 Page 10 Art Unit: 2841