Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramani et al. (US 20200168119 A1) in view of Whitehead et al. (US 20200311032 A1) and Furutani et al. (US 20200301645 A1).
Claim 1 Ramani teaches a system comprising:
a database (FIG. 2, AR Project Data 50) coupled to a network and storing: a learning course content, (FIG. 2, ¶0039, one or more augmented reality interactive learning experiences) and a plurality of problems or questions associated with the learning course content; (FIG. 2, ¶0039, the interactive learning experiences comprising problems) and
a server (FIG. 2, Cloud Server 40) including a computing device coupled to a network and including at least one processor (FIG. 2, Processor 42) executing instructions within a memory (FIG. 2, Memory 44) which, when executed, cause the system to:
generate, for display within a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a learner client device, (FIG. 3, ¶0068 and ¶0064, GUI screen 11 of the pen-enabled computer 12 operated by at least one student) the collaborative environment, (FIG. 24, ¶0142, generate a combine workpage of the combined screens 11 of the teacher computer 10 and the student computer 12) wherein the collaborative environment is configured to be manipulated by both the learner client device and an instructor client device in an asynchronous manner and a real time manner, (FIG. 24, ¶0142, wherein the screen is the combination of the screens of the teacher computer and the student computer, i.e. they are manipulated by the independently, i.e. asynchronously, and in real-time) wherein manipulation of the collaborative environment includes modification of a canvas element of the shared canvas space by one or both of the learner client device and the instructor device. (FIG. 24, ¶0142, wherein manipulated modifies the virtual common workpage shared by the devices)
However, Ramani does not explicitly teach receive, from a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a learner client device, a request to generate a collaborative environment including a shared canvas space, and
receive, from the GUI, a problem selection, and automatically generate, for display within the collaborative environment, at least one new problem or problem set based on the problem selection.
From a related technology, Whitehead teaches receive, from the GUI, (FIG. 1B, GUI 106, ¶0088) a problem selection, and automatically generate, for display within the collaborative environment, at least one new problem or problem set based on the problem selection. (¶0088, receiving a selection of a button to move to a new question and the displaying a new question, i.e. problem)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in order to manage and shift through a plurality of different and new problems as taught by Whitehead in order to more effectively utilize network resources.
However, Ramani in view of Whitehead does not explicitly teach receive, from a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a learner client device, a request to generate a collaborative environment including a shared canvas space.
From a related technology, Furutani teaches receive, from a graphical user interface (GUI) displayed on a learner client device, a request to generate a collaborative environment including a shared canvas space. (¶0150, receiving a request to start a remote sharing processes comprising an electronic whiteboard, i.e. a shared canvas space)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead in incorporate an initiation function as described in Furutani in order to effective utilize network resources.
Claim 2 Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the system to automatically generate the at least one new problem or problem set by:
identifying data associated with the problem selection, (Whitehead, ¶0088, wherein the next question button identifies data associated with the set of questions) wherein the data includes at least one of a concept associated with the problem selection, (Whitehead, ¶0088, wherein the questions are related to a common concept, of at least a quiz or a subject matter for a quiz) a learning objective associated with the problem selection, or a user data associated with an operator of the learner client device; and
generating at least one question based on the data. (Whitehead, ¶0088, generating the next question based on the associated data)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani to incorporate robust selection option as in Whitehead in order to effective utilize network resources.
Claim 3 Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the system to automatically generate the at least one new problem or problem set by:
selecting, from the database, at least one of a profile or a user history data associated with an operator of the learner client device; (Ramani, step 450, ¶0073, reviewing the student user history and corresponding inputs) and
generating at least one question based on the at least one of the profile or the user history data. (Ramani, step 450, ¶0073, generating an additional question based on the user history data)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani to incorporate user histories as described in Ramani in order to effective utilize network resources.
Claim 4 Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the system to:
identify a current level of understanding by an operator of the learner client device; (Ramani, FIG. 6, step 460, ¶0074, identifying an understanding based on user inputs in the form of supplemental AR content associated with the user’s input and understanding)
automatically generate the at least one new problem or problem set based on the problem selection and the current level of understanding. (Ramani, FIG. 6, step 470, ¶0076, generating supplemental AR content based on the user’s understanding)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani to incorporate assessing user understandings as described in Ramani in order to effective utilize network resources.
Claim 5 Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the system to:
based on a response to the at least one new problem or problem set from the learner client device, determine whether an operator of the learner client device has met a learning objective; (Ramani, FIG. 6, step 460, ¶0074, identifying an understanding based on user inputs in the form of supplemental AR content associated with the user’s input and understanding, wherein the input requires further supplemental material) and
in response to a determination that the operator has not met the learning objective, automatically generate, for display within the collaborative environment, at least one additional new problem or problem set. (Ramani, FIG. 6, step 470, ¶0076, generating supplemental AR content based on the user’s understanding)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani to incorporate assessing user understandings as described in Ramani in order to effective utilize network resources.
Claim 6 Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the problem selection includes a number of times that an operator of the first learner client device has asked for help, (Ramani, ¶0052, selection option for help) and
the instructions, when executed, cause the system to automatically generate the at least one new problem or problem set when the number of times exceeds a threshold. (Ramani, ¶0063, wherein explanatory augmented content is provided when a help option is selected, wherein the threshold is zero)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead, and Furutani to incorporate an help functions as described in Ramani in order to effective utilize network resources when addressing questions.
Claim 7 Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani teaches Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the problem selection includes at least one of a user selection of one of the plurality of problems or questions, (Whitehead, ¶0088, wherein the problem selection includes the selection of the next of the plurality of questions) or a user selection of a portion of one of the plurality of problems or questions.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ramani in view of Whitehead, Furutani to incorporate robust selection option as in Whitehead in order to effective utilize network resources.
Claims 8-14 are taught by Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani as described for Claim 1-7.
Claims 15-20 are taught by Ramani in view of Whitehead and Furutani as described for Claim 1-6.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444