DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 23220569, filed on December 29, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two-way phase measurements, including the identified first and second measurements, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is unclear to the Examiner as to whether said phase measurements are actually one-way or two-way as discussed in the 112-b rejection below. A drawing illustrating the direction to and/or from of the phase measurands could have mitigated this. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “two-way” is typically associated with a round-trip meaning a signal is transmitted and reflected back. Applicant states in a similar application, “A two-way phase measurement involves a first device transmitting while a second device is receiving and a second device transmitting while a first device is receiving.” See Application 18/661,977 Remarks dated 5/06/2026. Applicant appears to be describing two one-way phase measurements wherein one of the two one-way phase measurements is transmitted by a first and received by a second device, and the second of the two one-way phase measurements transmitted by the second device and received by the first device. This contradiction makes the claims ambiguous. Also, the equations in claims 9 and 11 appear to be representative of a one-way trip not a two-way trip. Please see the proof in the rationale of the rejection of claims 9 and 11 in the prior art rejection. Here, the delay appears to be
τ
=
(
R
-
ν
t
)
c
, one-way, instead of
τ
=
2
(
R
-
ν
t
)
c
, two-way. Moreover, the language of the claims do not make clear whether the first and second measurements of said plurality of two-way phase measurements are done by the same device or separate devices. As such, the metes and bounds of the claims are not fully defined, thus the claims are indefinite.
Dependent claims 2 – 11 and 13 are rejected due to dependency on rejected base claim. Independent claim 12 has similar limitations of that of independent claim 1.
Prosecution history of Application 18/661,977
Application 18/661,977 has similar claims. The primary reference is Romme (US 20200395978 A1) and Romme uses different frequencies to find different phase biases. see Romme Fig. 6. The Examiner believes a relevant issue is whether it would be reasonable to modify Romme to use the same frequency when Romme specifically uses different frequencies to find the different phase biases. The Examiner would like to know Applicant’s response. Modification with a neural network would be obvious as evidenced below in the 103 rejection. As such, Applicant should consider a 103-rejection based on Romme as primary reference as used in application 18/661,977 and consider said relevant issue presented by the Examiner wherein said relevant issue is whether it would be reasonable to modify Romme to use the same frequency when Romme specifically uses different frequencies to find the different phase biases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 7 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over McGiffin (US 20240163815 A1) filed March 23, 2022 in view of Nirula (US 20190353800 A1) and Official Notice.
As to claim 1 and 12 – 13, McGiffin discloses a method of phase-based ranging between a first device and a second device (Fig. 3), comprising:
receiving a plurality two-way phase-measurements between the first device and the second device performed at a plurality of frequencies (Not taught.);
identifying a first measurement and a second measurement of said plurality of two-way phase measurements having been performed at a same frequency (Fig. 2 steps 222 and 226 wherein it mathematically known that Doppler is proportional to the projected (relative) velocity onto the line-of-sight. See also Figs. 5 steps 552 – 556);
calculating a relative speed between said first device and said second device based at least on said first measurement and said second measurement (Para. 136 “the UE adjusts the time and frequency synchronization to compensate for a change in Doppler shift in signal transmission caused by velocity differences and corresponding geometry between the UE and the NTN node.”);
doppler compensating a plurality of measurements of said plurality of two-way phase measurements based on the calculated relative speed (Id.); and
calculating a distance between said first device and said second device based on the doppler compensated measurements (Fig. 5 step 564),
wherein said calculating comprises inputting the doppler compensated measurements to a neural network (Para. 211 “a UE may be required to continuously predict and pre-compensate for a Doppler shift, …”).
Assuming arguendo that the cited “predict and pre-compensate for a Doppler shift” is not a narrow enough of a teaching to meet the scope of neural network, the Examiner will supply a secondary reference in an effort to expedite prosecution.
In the same field of endeavor Nirula teaches Doppler predictive modeling including neural networks. See Nirula Paras. 17 and 57.
In view of the teachings of Nirula, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply neural networks as a tool because one of ordinary skill understands that neural networks improve efficiency, processing time, simplifying complexity and reduce errors.
The Examiner takes official notice of well-known (e.g., Wikipedia page, google search, etc.) technique of frequency division multiplexing FDMA wherein one of ordinary skill would be motivated to use FDMA, which is used across many disciplines (not esoteric), to mitigate interference thus improving signal quality.
As to claim 2, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each two-way phase measurement of said plurality of two-way phase measurements is a pair of in-phase, I, and quadrature, Q, measurements, a phase-magnitude-pair, or any other pair of numbers representable as a complex number (The Examiner takes official notice of I & Q channels in order to track phase thus improving accuracy. Communication systems have long used I & Q channels and radar evolved from communication systems.).
As to claim 3, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the frequencies of said plurality of two-way phase measurements are pseudo-randomly ordered in time (The Examiner takes official notice that pseudo-randomly numbered sequence and time multiplexing is common to reduce interference including interference from jamming. As of 9/01/2026 the search “(UE user satellite mobile 5g) same (interfer$4 spoof$3 jam$4) near15 (random$3 prn) near15 (tdm$1 otdm$1 time near2 multiplex$3)” provided 36 hits having a published date earlier than the filing date of this application.).
As to claim 7, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the pseudo-random order in time of the frequencies of said plurality of two-way phase measurements is according to US FCC regulation 47 CFR §15.247 (A government regulation requirement would be per se obvious wherein the motivation is to follow the law, as such the Examiner takes official notice.).
As to claim 8, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said relative speed is calculated based on a phase difference between said second measurement and said first measurement, said same frequency, and a time difference between said second measurement and said first measurement (McGiffin Fig. 3)
As to claim 9, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said relative speed is calculable as: v^=c∆ϕ-4πfv∆T wherein v^is the estimated relative speed, c is the speed of light, fv is said same frequency, ∆T is a time difference between said second measurement and said first measurement, and ∆ϕ is a phase difference between said second measurement and said first measurement.
Proof: The transmitted signal is modeled as
y
T
t
=
a
cos
(
2
π
f
t
+
θ
)
. The compressed delay is
τ
=
(
R
-
ν
t
)
c
where
c
=
f
λ
and
(
R
-
ν
t
)
represents the compression of the range due to the target’s motion or velocity vector. Remember this velocity is not speed but rather a radial velocity vector projected onto the line-of-sight LOS where
v
=
v
cos
θ
. Substituting for time delay:
y
R
t
+
τ
=
a
cos
(
2
π
f
(
t
+
(
R
-
ν
t
)
f
λ
)
+
θ
)
.
Rearranging terms:
y
R
t
+
τ
=
a
cos
(
2
π
f
-
ν
λ
t
+
2
π
R
λ
+
θ
)
which now clearly shows both the Doppler shift
ν
λ
and a phase/time delay
2
π
R
λ
wherein radial or vector velocity v =
v
cos
θ
. Distribute the
2
π
and solve for v. And c =
f
λ
.
The Equations might be written slightly different but the Examiner’s equation from the Examiner’s proof is narrower and thus teaches Applicant’s equations having broader terms; e.g., ΔT.
Also, these equations are obvious as evidenced by Application 18/661,977 Final 5/28/2026 Paras. 16 – 17.
As to claim 10, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a doppler compensation of said doppler compensating is calculated based on the frequency of the measurement, the estimated relative speed, the time of measurement at the first device and the time of measurement at the second device (McGiffin Fig. 3).
As to claim 11, McGiffin in view of Nirula and Official Notice teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a doppler compensation of said doppler compensating is calculable as: ϕ^doppler=-2πfv^c(tA+tB) wherein f is the frequency of the measurement, v^is the estimated relative speed, c is the speed of light, tA is a time of measurement at the first device and tB is a time of measurement at the second device (Inherent. See claim 9.).
Also, these equations are obvious as evidenced by Application 18/661,977 Final 5/28/2026 Paras. 16 – 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not specify reordering a subset of doppler compensated measurements before inputting into the neural network
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W JUSTICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648