DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/28/26 has been entered. Claims 2, 4, 11, and 17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 6, 8, and 15-16 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the engine within the engine housing” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “having a user selectable engine feature” in lines 6-7 should be --having s-- .
Claim 16 is objected to because “the engine having a flywheel” should be --the engine has a flywheel--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The limitation “the engine within the engine housing” in independent claims 1, 8, and 15 was not described in the original disclosure in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and each claim is rejected for this reason. Claims 3, and 5-7 depend from claim 1 and inherit the 112 deficiency of their parent claim. Claims 9-10, and 12-14 depend from claim 8 and inherit the 112 deficiency of their parent claim. Claims 16, and 18-20 depend from claim 15 and inherit the 112 deficiency of their parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8-10, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Das (WO 2015/040632 A2), and further in view of Sondur et al. (U.S. 2020/0095926).
Re claim 1:
Morita discloses a hybrid motor (1, hybrid vehicle system - Para 31 (see Figs. 1-9 and Para 32)) for a fluid pump (15, oil pump - Para 34; 25, oil pump - Para 42; 80, valve unit - Para 34), comprising:
an engine (10, engine - Para 32) having a flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of flywheel))
an electric motor (20, motor generator - Para 32) having an electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing of element 20 is necessarily included at element C));
at least one electrical storage battery (95, high voltage battery - Para 39) coupled to the electric motor (20)(Para 39);
a clutch (61, engine clutch - Para 36) rotatably connected to a shaft (11, crankshaft - Para 34), the shaft (11) extending from the flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the electric motor (20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above);
a controller (100, hybrid control unit - Para 52) configured to control the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4)) with inputs from an operator (see Figs. 1-3 and Fig. 3 at “REQUESTED DRIVING FORCE” and Para 59 and 61-64), inputs from the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(see Fig. 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize two way communication is shown between elements 100, 300, and 80 (see Paras 36-37))), and the controller (100) configured to control an output of the engine (10)(see Fig. 1 and Para 54) and the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 1 and Para 55);
;
an inverter (90, inverter - Para 39) coupled between the electric motor (20) and the controller (100)(see Fig. 1), the inverter (90) providing at least a charging setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where the first motor generator 20 functions as the generator, the inverter 90 charges the high-voltage battery 95 by converting AC power generated in the first motor generator 20 into DC power…”) and a power setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”)
wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, the electric motor produces power which is stored in the at least one electrical storage battery (95)(Para 40) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting, the electric motor is providing power as the output (Para 40).
Morita fails to disclose a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor and having user selectable engine features; nor the charging setting and power setting being one of the user selectable engine features.
Das teaches a hybrid motor (see Fig. 1 and Para 13 - “…a parallel type hybrid vehicle…”) comprising a display (21, display panel - Para 14; 20 mode selection switch - Para 13 (elements 21 and 20 are collectively a type of display per as shown in Fig. 1 and per description in Para 14)) for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor (see Fig. 3 at 73-74 and Para 31) and having user selectable engine features (see Fig. 3 at 70, Para 14 ( “…four operating modes are named as a hybrid economy mode, a hybrid power mode, an engine mode and an electric mode…”), and Para 30), a charging setting (Para 14 - “…engine mode…” (see Paras 15, 23, and 35)) and power setting (Para 14 - “…electric mode” (see Paras 15 and 24)) being one of the user selectable engine features (see Fig. 3 at 70, Para 14 ( “…four operating modes are named as a hybrid economy mode, a hybrid power mode, an engine mode and an electric mode…”), and Para 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Das, thereby making the hybrid motor of Morita comprise a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor of Morita and having user selectable engine features including charging setting and power setting, all in the way taught by Das, for the advantage of giving more discretion to the user (Das; Para 7),
Morita/Das fails to disclose an engine housing, the engine within the engine housing.
Sondur teaches a hybrid motor (Para 19 - “…hybrid vehicles…”) comprising an engine (430, engine - Para 41) within an engine housing (502, exterior housing - Para 46)(see Figs. 4-5 and Para 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das after that of Sondur, thereby making the hybrid motor of Morita include an engine housing with the engine of Morita within the engine housing, in the way taught by Sondur for the advantage of protecting the engine (Sondur; see Figs. 4-5 (element 430 clearly shown protected by element 502)).
Re claim 3:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 1 (as described above).
Morita further discloses the hybrid motor (1) further comprising:
a skid (Para 33 - “…hybrid traveling mode is a mode in which a vehicle is driven by a torque output from the engine and a torque output from at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50…”), the skid comprising: a base to fix the engine (10) and the electric motor (20) to (see Fig. 1 and Para 33 (vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of base to fix element 10 and 20 to perform function described in Para 33)), and a fuel tank (Para 34 - “..engine 10 is an internal combustion engine that generates torque by using gasoline…” (the vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of fuel tank in order to perform the function described between Paras 33-34)).
Re claim 7:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 1 (as described above).
Morita further discloses wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, power is stored until the at least one electrical storage battery (95) is fully charged (Para 64 - “…In the case where state of charge (SOC) of the high-voltage battery decreases in such a state, the motor ECU 400 may control electric power generation of the first motor generator 20…”) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting power is added from the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 65-66).
Re claim 8:
Morita discloses a hybrid motor (1, hybrid vehicle system - Para 31 (see Figs. 1-9 and Para 32)) for a fluid pump (15, oil pump - Para 34; 25, oil pump - Para 42; 80, valve unit - Para 34), comprising:
an engine (10, engine - Para 32) having a flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of flywheel))
an electric motor (20, motor generator - Para 32) having an electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing of element 20 is necessarily included at element C));
a controller (100, hybrid control unit - Para 52) configured to control the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4));
an inverter (90, inverter - Para 39) coupled to the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 1), the inverter (90) providing at least a charging setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where the first motor generator 20 functions as the generator, the inverter 90 charges the high-voltage battery 95 by converting AC power generated in the first motor generator 20 into DC power…”) and a power setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”)
wherein the controller controls the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4))), an output of the engine (10)(see Fig. 1 and Para 54), and the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 1 and Para 55).
Morita fails to disclose a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor and having user selectable engine features; nor the charging setting and power setting being one of the user selectable engine features.
Das teaches a hybrid motor (see Fig. 1 and Para 13 - “…a parallel type hybrid vehicle…”) comprising a display (21, display panel - Para 14; 20 mode selection switch - Para 13 (elements 21 and 20 are collectively a type of display per as shown in Fig. 1 and per description in Para 14)) for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor (see Fig. 3 at 73-74 and Para 31) and having user selectable engine features (see Fig. 3 at 70, Para 14 ( “…four operating modes are named as a hybrid economy mode, a hybrid power mode, an engine mode and an electric mode…”), and Para 30), a charging setting (Para 14 - “…engine mode…” (see Paras 15, 23, and 35)) and power setting (Para 14 - “…electric mode” (see Paras 15 and 24)) being one of the user selectable engine features (see Fig. 3 at 70, Para 14 ( “…four operating modes are named as a hybrid economy mode, a hybrid power mode, an engine mode and an electric mode…”), and Para 30).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Das, thereby making the hybrid motor of Morita comprise a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor of Morita and having user selectable engine features including charging setting and power setting, all in the way taught by Das, for the advantage of giving more discretion to the user (Das; Para 7),
Morita/Das fails to disclose an engine housing, the engine within the engine housing.
Sondur teaches a hybrid motor (Para 19 - “…hybrid vehicles…”) comprising an engine (430, engine - Para 41) within an engine housing (502, exterior housing - Para 46)(see Figs. 4-5 and Para 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das after that of Sondur, thereby making the hybrid motor of Morita include an engine housing with the engine of Morita within the engine housing, in the way taught by Sondur for the advantage of protecting the engine (Sondur; see Figs. 4-5 (element 430 clearly shown protected by element 502)).
Re claim 9:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 8 (as described above).
Morita further discloses the hybrid motor (1) further comprising: at least one electrical storage battery (95, high voltage battery - Para 39) coupled to the electric motor (20)(Para 39) and a clutch (61, engine clutch - Para 36) rotatably connected to a shaft (11, crankshaft - Para 34), the shaft (11) extending from the flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the electric motor (20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Re claim 10:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 8 (as described above).
Morita further discloses wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, the electric motor produces power which is stored in at least one electrical storage battery (95)(Para 40) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting the electric motor is providing power as the output (Para 40).
Re claim 14:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 10 (as described above).
Morita further discloses wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, power is stored until the at least one electrical storage battery (95) is fully charged (Para 64 - “…In the case where state of charge (SOC) of the high-voltage battery decreases in such a state, the motor ECU 400 may control electric power generation of the first motor generator 20…”) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting power is added from the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 65-66).
Re claim 15:
Morita discloses a hybrid motor (1, hybrid vehicle system - Para 31 (see Figs. 1-9 and Para 32)) for a fluid pump (15, oil pump - Para 34; 25, oil pump - Para 42; 80, valve unit - Para 34), comprising:
an inverter (90, inverter - Para 39) in communication with an alternator (50, motor generator - Para 32), at least one electrical storage battery (95, high voltage battery - Para 39), and a controller (100, hybrid control unit - Para 52)(see Fig. 1), the inverter (90) providing at least a charging setting (see Fig. 4 and Para 63 - “…When the vehicle speed slows down , the motor ECU 400 may drives at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50 in a regenerative manner , and causes the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50 to generate electric power by using kinetic energy of the vehicle”) and a power setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”);
the controller (100) in communication with an engine (10, engine - Para 32)(see Fig. 1), REQUESTED DRIVING FORCE” and Para 59 and 61-64), and inputs from the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(see Fig. 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize two way communication is shown between elements 100, 300, and 80 (see Paras 36-37))), and the controller (100) configured to control an output of the engine (10)(see Fig. 1 and Para 54) and the alternator (50)(see Fig. 1 and Para 55);
wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, the alternator (50) produces power which is stored in the at least one electrical storage battery (95)(see Fig. 4 and Para 63) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting, an electric motor (20, motor generator - Para 32), the electric motor (20) having an electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing of element 20 is necessarily included at element C)), is providing power as the output (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”).
Morita fails to disclose a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor and having user selectable engine features.
Das teaches a hybrid motor (see Fig. 1 and Para 13 - “…a parallel type hybrid vehicle…”) comprising a display (21, display panel - Para 14; 20 mode selection switch - Para 13 (elements 21 and 20 are collectively a type of display per as shown in Fig. 1 and per description in Para 14)) for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor (see Fig. 3 at 73-74 and Para 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Das, thereby making the hybrid motor of Morita comprise a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor of Morita and having user selectable engine features, all in the way taught by Das, for the advantage of giving more discretion to the user (Das; Para 7),
Morita/Das fails to disclose the engine having an engine housing, the engine within the engine housing.
Sondur teaches a hybrid motor (Para 19 - “…hybrid vehicles…”) comprising an engine (430, engine - Para 41) within an engine housing (502, exterior housing - Para 46)(see Figs. 4-5 and Para 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das after that of Sondur, thereby making the hybrid motor of Morita include an engine housing with the engine of Morita within the engine housing, in the way taught by Sondur for the advantage of protecting the engine (Sondur; see Figs. 4-5 (element 430 clearly shown protected by element 502)).
Re claim 16:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 15 (as described above).
Morita further discloses wherein: the engine (10) having a flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of flywheel))); the at least one electrical storage battery (95) is coupled to the electric motor (20)(Para 39); and a clutch (61, engine clutch - Para 36) rotatably connected to a shaft (11, crankshaft - Para 34), the shaft (11) extending from the flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the electric motor (20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Re claim 18:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 16 (as described above).
Morita further discloses the hybrid motor (1) further comprising: a skid (Para 33 - “…hybrid traveling mode is a mode in which a vehicle is driven by a torque output from the engine and a torque output from at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50…”), the skid comprising: a base to fix the engine (10) and the electric motor (20) to (see Fig. 1 and Para 33 (vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of base to fix element 10 and 20 to perform function described in Para 33)), and a fuel tank (Para 34 - “..engine 10 is an internal combustion engine that generates torque by using gasoline…” (the vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of fuel tank in order to perform the function described between Paras 33-34))
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Das (WO 2015/040632 A2) and Sondur et al. (U.S. 2020/0095926), as applied to claims 3 and 18 above, and further in view of Chaney (U.S. 2005/0274556).
Re claim 5:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 3 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lower section having removable trays for housing the at least one electric storage battery.
Chaney teaches a hybrid motor (1, hybrid-electric powered vehicle - Para 35) comprising a lower section (5, chassis - Para 35 (see Figs. 1-4)) having removable trays (39, battery tray - Para 40) for housing at least one electric storage battery (4)(see Figs. 1-4 and Para 40) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das/Sondur after that of Chaney, thereby including a lower section having removable trays in the hybrid motor of Morita for housing the at least one storage battery of Morita in the way taught by Chaney, for the advantage of providing structural integrity while reducing weight (Chaney; Para 46).
Re claim 20:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 18 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lower section of the skid having removable trays for housing the at least one electrical storage battery.
Chaney teaches a hybrid motor (1, hybrid-electric powered vehicle - Para 35) comprising a lower section of a skid (5, chassis - Para 35 (see Figs. 1-4)) having removable trays (39, battery tray - Para 40) for housing at least one electrical storage battery (4)(see Figs. 1-4 and Para 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das/Sondur after that of Chaney, thereby including a lower section having removable trays in the hybrid motor of Morita for housing the at least one storage battery of Morita in the way taught by Chaney, for the advantage of providing structural integrity while reducing weight (Chaney; Para 46).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Das (WO 2015/040632 A2) and Sondur et al. (U.S. 2020/0095926), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cook et al. (U.S. 2006/0222524)
Re claim 6:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 1 (as described above).
Morita/Das/Sondur fails to disclose an elastomeric coupler coupled to the electric motor and to the fluid pump.
Cook teaches an elastomeric coupler (30, bracket - Para 32 (see Fig. 2 at 38a, 38b, and Para 39)) coupled to an electric motor (12, electric motor - Para 29) and to a fluid pump (14, pump - Para 29)(see Fig. 2 and Para 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the electric motor housing and fluid pump of Morita/Das/Sondur after that of Cook, thereby including an elastomeric coupler coupled to the electric motor housing and to the fluid pump of Morita in the way taught by Cook, for the advantage of absorbing relative movement between pump and motor and thereby preventing pump and motor from moving away from each other during operation (Cook; Para 32).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Das (WO 2015/040632 A2) and Sondur et al. (U.S. 2020/0095926), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Simonvich (U.S. 11,732,736).
Re Claim 12:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 8 (as described above).
Morita further discloses the hybrid motor (1) further comprising a skid (Para 33 - “…hybrid traveling mode is a mode in which a vehicle is driven by a torque output from the engine and a torque output from at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50…”), the skid comprising a base to fix the engine housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) and the electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C) to (see Modified Fig. 1 above and Para 33 (vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of base to fix element 10 and 20 to perform function described in Para 33)), and a fuel tank (Para 34 - “..engine 10 is an internal combustion engine that generates torque by using gasoline…” (the vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of fuel tank in order to perform the function described between Paras 33-34)).
Morita/Das/Sondur fails to specifically disclose the skid below the engine housing and the electric motor housing.
Simonvich teaches a skid (120, slab - Col. 4, Line 61) below an engine housing (at 20 (see Fig. 1 and Col. 2, Lines 48-49 - “…engine 20 includes an SAES bell housing…”))) and an electric motor housing (at 50 (see Col. 3, Lines 16-17 where element 50 is described as an electrical generator motor and see Fig. 1 at element 50 where a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of electric motor housing is shown))(see Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the kid of Morita/Das/Sondur after that of Simonvich, thereby arranging the skid of Morita below the engine housing of Morita and the electric motor housing of Morita in the way taught by Simonvich, for the advantage of being able to provide mounting for the drive system in a way that protects the engine (Simonvich; Col. 4, Line 61 - Col. 5, Line 15)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Das (WO 2015/040632 A2) and Sondur et al. (U.S. 2020/0095926) and Simonvich (U.S. 11,732,736), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chaney (U.S. 2005/0274556).
Re claim 13:
Morita/Das/Sondur/Simonvich teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 12 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lower section having removable trays for housing at least one electrical storage battery.
Chaney teaches a hybrid motor (1, hybrid-electric powered vehicle - Para 35) comprising a lower section (5, chassis - Para 35 (see Figs. 1-4)) having removable trays (39, battery tray - Para 40) for housing at least one electrical storage battery (4)(see Figs. 1-4 and Para 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das/Sondur/Simonvich after that of Chaney, thereby including a lower section having removable trays in the hybrid motor of Morita for housing the at least one storage battery of Morita in the way taught by Chaney, for the advantage of providing structural integrity while reducing weight (Chaney; Para 46).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Das (WO 2015/040632 A2) and Sondur et al. (U.S. 2020/0095926), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Sakamoto (U.S. 2015/0303660).
Re claim 19:
Morita/Das/Sondur teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 18 (as described above).
Morita/Das/Sondur fails to disclose a lifting belt for fixing the inverter to the skid.
Sakamoto teaches a hybrid motor (Fig. 1 (see Para 23)) comprising a lifting belt (3, bracket - Para 25 (see Figs .1-2 and Para 26)) for fixing an inverter (53, inverter - Para 23) to a skid (see Fig. 1 and Paras 25-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita/Das/Sondur after that of Sakamoto, thereby including a lifting belt for fixing the inverter of Morita to the skid of Morita in the way taught by Sakamoto, for the advantage of being able to fix the inverter in place while preventing vibration from being transmitted to the inverter (Sakamoto; see Figs. 1-2 and Para 26).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 9/11/26