DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/7/26 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13-18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/7/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) fails to anticipate claim 1 because Morita fails to disclose a flywheel (see Remarks filed 4/7/26, Pages 6-7). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Element A of Modified Fig. 1 below has been relied upon as a flywheel. Element A points to a standard symbol for a gear of element 13 which is a geartrain per Para 34. A gear is reasonably interpreted as a type of flywheel under BRI when viewed in light of the specification because Applicant has not given a special definition to flywheel and thereby the ordinary meaning of the word is relied upon (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines flywheel as a wheel used for storing kinetic energy ("flywheel." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (20 April 2026)). Element A of Modified Fig. 1 below rotates per Fig. 1 and per the description in Para 34 - “…the crankshaft 11 is coupled to a mechanical oil pump 15 via a gear train 13. The mechanical oil pump 15 is driven by rotation of the crankshaft 11 of the engine 10…”. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a gear is a wheel with mass, and because this gear rotates it is a rotating wheel with mass, and therefore has a moment of inertia and resists changes in speed. This resistance in changing of speed of element A as it rotates necessarily means element A has stored kinetic energy. Therefore, under BRI a gear is a type of flywheel and Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant has argued Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) fails to anticipate claim 1 because Morita fails to disclose an engine housing (see Remarks filed 4/7/26, Pages 6-7). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Element B of Modified Fig. 1 below has been relied upon as an engine housing. Fig. 1 of Morita is a schematic diagram per Para 17, and element 10 is an internal combustion engine per Para 34. An internal combustion engine must include a type of housing to enclose the combustion to make it an internal combustion engine, and element B of Modified Fig. 1 below points to that part of element 10. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant has argued Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) fails to anticipate claim 1 because Morita fails to disclose a motor housing (see Remarks filed 4/7/26, Pages 6-7). Element C of Modified Fig. 1 below has been relied upon as a motor housing. Fig. 1 of Morita is a schematic diagram per Para 17, and element 20 is a motor generator per Para 32. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a motor generator necessarily includes an external structure with internal components and this external structure is thereby a type of motor housing. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant has argued claims 2-20 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1 (see Remarks filed 4/7/26, Pages 6-7). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904).
Re claim 1:
Morita discloses a hybrid motor (1, hybrid vehicle system - Para 31 (see Figs. 1-9 and Para 32)) for a fluid pump (15, oil pump - Para 34; 25, oil pump - Para 42; 80, valve unit - Para 34), comprising:
an engine (10, engine - Para 32) having a flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of flywheel)) and an engine housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing for element 10 is necessarily included at element B));
an electric motor (20, motor generator - Para 32) having an electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing of element 20 is necessarily included at element C));
at least one electrical storage battery (95, high voltage battery - Para 39) coupled to the electric motor (20)(Para 39);
a clutch (61, engine clutch - Para 36) rotatably connected to a shaft (11, crankshaft - Para 34), the shaft (11) extending from the flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the electric motor (20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above);
a controller (100, hybrid control unit - Para 52) configured to control the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4)) with inputs from an operator (see Figs. 1-3 and Fig. 3 at “REQUESTED DRIVING FORCE” and Para 59 and 61-64), inputs from the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(see Fig. 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize two way communication is shown between elements 100, 300, and 80 (see Paras 36-37))), and the controller (100) configured to control an output of the engine (10)(see Fig. 1 and Para 54) and the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 1 and Para 55);
an inverter (90, inverter - Para 39) coupled between the electric motor (20) and the controller (100)(see Fig. 1), the inverter (90) providing at least a charging setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where the first motor generator 20 functions as the generator, the inverter 90 charges the high-voltage battery 95 by converting AC power generated in the first motor generator 20 into DC power…”) and a power setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”); and
wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, the electric motor produces power which is stored in the at least one electrical storage battery (95)(Para 40) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting, the electric motor is providing power as the output (Para 40).
Re claim 3:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising:
a skid (Para 33 - “…hybrid traveling mode is a mode in which a vehicle is driven by a torque output from the engine and a torque output from at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50…”), the skid comprising: a base to fix the engine (10) and the electric motor (20) to (see Fig. 1 and Para 33 (vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of base to fix element 10 and 20 to perform function described in Para 33)), and a fuel tank (Para 34 - “..engine 10 is an internal combustion engine that generates torque by using gasoline…” (the vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of fuel tank in order to perform the function described between Paras 33-34)).
Re claim 7:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, power is stored until the at least one electrical storage battery (95) is fully charged (Para 64 - “…In the case where state of charge (SOC) of the high-voltage battery decreases in such a state, the motor ECU 400 may control electric power generation of the first motor generator 20…”) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting power is added from the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 65-66).
Re claim 8:
Morita discloses a hybrid motor (1, hybrid vehicle system - Para 31 (see Figs. 1-9 and Para 32)) for a fluid pump (15, oil pump - Para 34; 25, oil pump - Para 42; 80, valve unit - Para 34), comprising:
an engine (10, engine - Para 32) having a flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of flywheel)) and an engine housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing for element 10 is necessarily included at element B));
an electric motor (20, motor generator - Para 32) having an electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing of element 20 is necessarily included at element C));
a controller (100, hybrid control unit - Para 52) configured to control the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4));
an inverter (90, inverter - Para 39) coupled to the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 1), the inverter (90) providing at least a charging setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where the first motor generator 20 functions as the generator, the inverter 90 charges the high-voltage battery 95 by converting AC power generated in the first motor generator 20 into DC power…”) and a power setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”); and
wherein the controller controls the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4))), an output of the engine (10)(see Fig. 1 and Para 54), and the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 1 and Para 55).
Re claim 9:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 8 (as described above), further comprising:
at least one electrical storage battery (95, high voltage battery - Para 39) coupled to the electric motor (20)(Para 39) and a clutch (61, engine clutch - Para 36) rotatably connected to a shaft (11, crankshaft - Para 34), the shaft (11) extending from the flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the electric motor (20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Re claim 10:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 8 (as described above), wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, the electric motor produces power which is stored in at least one electrical storage battery (95)(Para 40) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting the electric motor is providing power as the output (Para 40).
Re claim 14:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, power is stored until the at least one electrical storage battery (95) is fully charged (Para 64 - “…In the case where state of charge (SOC) of the high-voltage battery decreases in such a state, the motor ECU 400 may control electric power generation of the first motor generator 20…”) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting power is added from the electric motor (20)(see Fig. 5 and Paras 65-66).
Re claim 15:
Morita discloses a hybrid motor (1, hybrid vehicle system - Para 31 (see Figs. 1-9 and Para 32)) for a fluid pump (15, oil pump - Para 34; 25, oil pump - Para 42; 80, valve unit - Para 34), comprising:
an inverter (90, inverter - Para 39) in communication with an alternator (50, motor generator - Para 32), at least one electrical storage battery (95, high voltage battery - Para 39), and a controller (100, hybrid control unit - Para 52)(see Fig. 1), the inverter (90) providing at least a charging setting (see Fig. 4 and Para 63 - “…When the vehicle speed slows down , the motor ECU 400 may drives at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50 in a regenerative manner , and causes the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50 to generate electric power by using kinetic energy of the vehicle”) and a power setting (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”);
the controller (100) in communication with an engine (10, engine - Para 32)(see Fig. 1), the engine having an engine housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing for element 10 is necessarily included at element B)), the controller (100) configured to control the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(Para 52 - “…a hybrid control unit (hybrid ECU) 100 that integrally controls the entire system...” (see Fig. 4)) with inputs from an operator (see Figs. 1-3 and Fig. 3 at “REQUESTED DRIVING FORCE” and Para 59 and 61-64), and inputs from the fluid pump (15, 25, 80)(see Fig. 1 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize two way communication is shown between elements 100, 300, and 80 (see Paras 36-37))), and the controller (100) configured to control an output of the engine (10)(see Fig. 1 and Para 54) and the alternator (50)(see Fig. 1 and Para 55); and
wherein when the inverter (90) is in the charging setting, the alternator (50) produces power which is stored in the at least one electrical storage battery (95)(see Fig. 4 and Para 63) and when the inverter (90) is in the power setting, an electric motor (20, motor generator - Para 32), the electric motor (20) having an electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing of element 20 is necessarily included at element C)), is providing power as the output (Para 40 - “…In the case where there first motor generator 20 functions as the starter motor, the driving motor, or the driving motor of the oil pump 25, the inverter 90 drives the first motor generator 20 by converting DC power supplied from the high-voltage battery 95 into AC power…”).
Re claim 16:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 15 (as described above), wherein:
the engine (10) has a flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of flywheel)) and an engine housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of housing for element 10 is necessarily included at element B));
the at least one electrical storage battery (95) is coupled to the electric motor (20)(Para 39); and
a clutch (61, engine clutch - Para 36) rotatably connected to a shaft (11, crankshaft - Para 34), the shaft (11) extending from the flywheel (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the electric motor (20)(see Modified Fig. 1 above).
Re claim 18:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 16 (as described above), further comprising: a skid (Para 33 - “…hybrid traveling mode is a mode in which a vehicle is driven by a torque output from the engine and a torque output from at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50…”), the skid comprising: a base to fix the engine (10) and the electric motor (20) to (see Fig. 1 and Para 33 (vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of base to fix element 10 and 20 to perform function described in Para 33)), and a fuel tank (Para 34 - “..engine 10 is an internal combustion engine that generates torque by using gasoline…” (the vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of fuel tank in order to perform the function described between Paras 33-34)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904), as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 above, in view of Skaff et al. (U.S. 2010/0265050).
Re claim 2, 11, and 17:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claims 1, 10, and 15 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose the hybrid motor further comprising a display for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor and having a user selectable engine feature.
Skaff teaches a hybrid motor (10, hybrid electric vehicle - Para 24) comprising a display (64, information display system - Para 22) for displaying parameters of conditions of the hybrid motor (see Fig. 2 at 94 and Para 25) and having a user selectable engine feature (78, driver-selectable gauges - Para 24)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Skaff, thereby including a display in the hybrid motor of Morita for displaying parameters of the hybrid motor conditions of Morita and having a user selectable engine feature, all as taught by Skaff, for the advantage of being able to convey the state of the HEV to the operator (Skaff; Para 25).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904), as applied to claims 3 and 18 above, in view of Sakamoto (U.S. 2015/0303660).
Re claims 4 and 19:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claims 3 and 18 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lifting belt for fixing the inverter to the skid.
Sakamoto teaches a hybrid motor (Fig. 1 (see Para 23)) comprising a lifting belt (3, bracket - Para 25 (see Figs .1-2 and Para 26)) for fixing an inverter (53, inverter - Para 23) to a skid (see Fig. 1 and Paras 25-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Sakamoto, thereby including a lifting belt for fixing the inverter of Morita to the skid of Morita in the way taught by Sakamoto, for the advantage of being able to fix the inverter in place while preventing vibration from being transmitted to the inverter (Sakamoto; see Figs. 1-2 and Para 26).
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904), as applied to claims 3 and 18 above, in view of Chaney (U.S. 2005/0274556).
Re claim 5:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 3 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lower section having removable trays for housing the at least one electric storage battery.
Chaney teaches a hybrid motor (1, hybrid-electric powered vehicle - Para 35) comprising a lower section (5, chassis - Para 35 (see Figs. 1-4)) having removable trays (39, battery tray - Para 40) for housing at least one electric storage battery (4)(see Figs. 1-4 and Para 40) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Chaney, thereby including a lower section having removable trays in the hybrid motor of Morita for housing the at least one storage battery of Morita in the way taught by Chaney, for the advantage of providing structural integrity while reducing weight (Chaney; Para 46).
Re claim 20:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 18 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lower section of the skid having removable trays for housing the at least one electrical storage battery.
Chaney teaches a hybrid motor (1, hybrid-electric powered vehicle - Para 35) comprising a lower section of a skid (5, chassis - Para 35 (see Figs. 1-4)) having removable trays (39, battery tray - Para 40) for housing at least one electrical storage battery (4)(see Figs. 1-4 and Para 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Chaney, thereby including a lower section having removable trays in the hybrid motor of Morita for housing the at least one storage battery of Morita in the way taught by Chaney, for the advantage of providing structural integrity while reducing weight (Chaney; Para 46).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Cook et al. (U.S. 2006/0222524).
Re claim 6:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 1 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose an elastomeric coupler coupled to the electric motor housing and to the fluid pump.
Cook teaches an elastomeric coupler (30, bracket - Para 32 (see Fig. 2 at 38a, 38b, and Para 39)) coupled to an electric motor (12, electric motor - Para 29) housing (at 12 (see Fig. 2 and Para 32 - “…motor 12 housings…”)) and to a fluid pump (14, pump - Para 29)(see Fig. 2 and Para 32).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the electric motor housing and fluid pump of Morita after that of Cook, thereby including an elastomeric coupler coupled to the electric motor housing and to the fluid pump of Morita in the way taught by Cook, for the advantage of absorbing relative movement between pump and motor and thereby preventing pump and motor from moving away from each other during operation (Cook; Para 32).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904), as applied to claim 8 above, in view of Simonvich (U.S. 11,732,736).
Re claim 12:
Morita discloses the hybrid motor (1) for the fluid pump (15, 25, 80) of claim 8 (as described above), further comprising a skid (Para 33 - “…hybrid traveling mode is a mode in which a vehicle is driven by a torque output from the engine and a torque output from at least one of the first motor generator 20 and the second motor generator 50…”), the skid comprising a base to fix the engine housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) and the electric motor housing (Modified Fig. 1 above - C) to (see Modified Fig. 1 above and Para 33 (vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of base to fix element 10 and 20 to perform function described in Para 33)), and a fuel tank (Para 34 - “..engine 10 is an internal combustion engine that generates torque by using gasoline…” (the vehicle referenced in Para 33 would necessarily include a type of fuel tank in order to perform the function described between Paras 33-34)).
Morita fails to specifically disclose the skid below the engine housing and the electric motor housing.
Simonvich teaches a skid (120, slab - Col. 4, Line 61) below an engine housing (at 20 (see Fig. 1 and Col. 2, Lines 48-49 - “…engine 20 includes an SAES bell housing…”))) and an electric motor housing (at 50 (see Col. 3, Lines 16-17 where element 50 is described as an electrical generator motor and see Fig. 1 at element 50 where a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of electric motor housing is shown))(see Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the kid of Morita after that of Simonvich, thereby arranging the skid of Morita below the engine housing of Morita and the electric motor housing of Morita in the way taught by Simonvich, for the advantage of being able to provide mounting for the drive system in a way that protects the engine (Simonvich; Col. 4, Line 61 - Col. 5, Line 15).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (U.S. 2017/0282904) in view of Simonvich (U.S. 11,732,736), as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chaney (U.S. 2005/0274556).
Re claim 13:
Morita/Simonvich teaches the hybrid motor (Morita; 1) for the fluid pump (Morita; 15, 25, 80) of claim 12 (as described above).
Morita fails to disclose a lower section having removable trays for housing at least one electrical storage battery.
Chaney teaches a hybrid motor (1, hybrid-electric powered vehicle - Para 35) comprising a lower section (5, chassis - Para 35 (see Figs. 1-4)) having removable trays (39, battery tray - Para 40) for housing at least one electrical storage battery (4)(see Figs. 1-4 and Para 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the hybrid motor of Morita after that of Chaney, thereby including a lower section having removable trays in the hybrid motor of Morita for housing the at least one storage battery of Morita in the way taught by Chaney, for the advantage of providing structural integrity while reducing weight (Chaney; Para 46).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 4/24/26