DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/23/2025 and 6/3/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the Provisional filed on 12/27/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-28, and 31-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al. US 20240064705 (hereinafter “Chu”).
As to claim 1:
Chu discloses:
A first wireless device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (“It should also be noted that at least some of the operations for the methods described herein may be implemented using software instructions stored on a computer useable storage medium for execution by a computer. As an example, an embodiment of a computer program product includes a computer useable storage medium to store a computer readable program”, Chu [0076]) (FIG. 11, Chu), the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, from a second wireless device, a first message container that comprises a first set of one or more type-specific segments, a first type-specific segment of the first set of one or more type-specific segments including a first set of one or more type-specific parameters; receive, from the second wireless device, a second message container that comprises a second set of one or more type-specific segments, wherein the first type-specific segment and a second type-specific segment of the second set of one or more type-specific segments both correspond to a device type of the first wireless device; (“a wireless device includes a controller configured to generate a beacon frame and a beacon extension frame that follows the beacon frame and a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the beacon frame and the beacon extension frame to devices that are compatible with a wireless communications protocol”, Chu [0003]) (“In an embodiment, the beacon extension frame contains information specific to EHT operation or capabilities, HE operation or capabilities, VHT operation or capabilities, or HT operation or capabilities”, Chu [0019]) (“In an embodiment, a beacon needs to carry or contain the HT, VHT, HE, EHT Capabilities, Operation elements where some fields in those elements apply to HT, VHT, HE EHT only. In a first solution in non-UHR (HT, VHT, HE EHT) capabilities element, the fields that are specific to the respective PHY generation are optional fields”, Chu [0067])
and communicate one or more messages with the second wireless device in accordance with the first type-specific segment and the second type-specific segment. (“the wireless transceiver 1102 is configured to transmit the beacon frame and the beacon extension frame to devices that are compatible with a wireless communications protocol. In some embodiments, the wireless device is a wireless access point (AP). In some embodiments, the devices that are compatible with the wireless communications protocol include non-AP station (STA) devices. In some embodiments, the beacon extension frame contains Ultra High Reliability (UHR) information that is understandable by UHR STAs. In some embodiments, the beacon extension frame contains information specific to Extremely High Throughput (EHT) operation or capabilities, High Efficiency (HE) operation or capabilities, Very High Throughput (VHT) operation or capabilities, or High Throughput (HT) operation or capabilities”, Chu [0072])
As to claim 2:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first message container and the second message container are received via a primary channel. (“In some embodiments, the wireless communications system 100 described with reference to FIG. 1 involves single-link communications and the AP and the STA communicate through single communications links”, Chu [0042])
As to claim 3:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein a single physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) comprises the first message container and the second message container. (“In an embodiment, a communication link (e.g., link 1 202-1 or link 2 202-2) may include a BSS operating channel established by an AP (e.g., AP1 206-1 or AP2 206-2) that features multiple 20 MHz channels used to transmit frames (e.g., Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs), Beacon frames, management frames, etc.) between a first wireless device (e.g., an AP, an AP MLD, an STA, or an STA MLD) and a second wireless device (e.g., an AP, an AP MLD, an STA, or an STA MLD)”, Chu [0052])
As to claim 4:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) comprises the first message container and a second PPDU comprises the second message container. (“In an embodiment, a communication link (e.g., link 1 202-1 or link 2 202-2) may include a BSS operating channel established by an AP (e.g., AP1 206-1 or AP2 206-2) that features multiple 20 MHz channels used to transmit frames (e.g., Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs), Beacon frames, management frames, etc.) between a first wireless device (e.g., an AP, an AP MLD, an STA, or an STA MLD) and a second wireless device (e.g., an AP, an AP MLD, an STA, or an STA MLD)”, Chu [0052])
As to claim 5:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first type-specific segment comprises information to configure the device type of the first wireless device and one or more generations of device types prior to the device type, and wherein the second type-specific segment comprises information to configure the device type of the first wireless device. (“In some embodiments of the wireless communications system described herein, different associated STAs within range of an AP operating according to the UHR communication protocol are configured to operate according to at least one other communication protocol, which defines operation in a Basic Service Set (BSS) with the AP, but are generally affiliated with lower data throughput protocols”, Chu [0046]) (“Either the beacon frame or the beacon extension frame can carry or contain the information of the PHY/MAC generations that are older than UHR”, Chu [0058])
As to claim 6:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the second type-specific segment indicates an update to at least one parameter of the first set of one or more type-specific parameters. (“In one embodiment, the most basic information includes Service Set Identifier (SSID), security information, Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) information, critical update related information (Capability Information And Status Indication field, Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element), Traffic indication map (TIM)”, Chu [0055])
As to claim 7:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first type-specific segment, the second type-specific segment, or both, comprise an information element, a field, or both. (FIG. 4, Chu)
As to claim 8:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the second set of one or more type-specific segments included in the second message container comprises a type-specific segment having a value that has changed since reception of the first message container. (“Some examples of critical update are described as follows. In some embodiments, the Critical Update Flag, Nontransmitted BSSIDs Critical Update Flag, BSS parameters change count (BPCC), All Updates included that are carried in a beacon are applied to the information in the beacon, and the beacon extension. For example, when all the information related to BSS Parameters Change Count of an AP affiliated with an AP MLD is carried or contained in a beacon and/or a beacon extension with Critical Update Flag being equal to 1, the All Updates included related to the AP are set to 1. In an example, when either a beacon or a beacon extension of an AP in a link carries or contains the critical update, the BPCC of the AP in the AP's Beacon is increased and the Critical Update Flag of the AP in the AP's Beacon is set 1. In an example, when either a beacon or a beacon extension of an AP in a link carries or contains the critical update, the BPCC of the AP carried in another link is increased. In some embodiments, if a non-AP STA receives a beacon frame that indicates the existence of a beacon extension frame and All Updates Included being equal to 1 and the non-AP STA does not receive the following beacon extension frame, the non-AP STA may transmit a Probe Request frame or other management frame to request transmission of the information at least in the beacon extension frame. In this case, the non-AP STA may include the information that the beacon extension frame has not been received. In some embodiments, if a non-AP STA receives a beacon frame that indicates the existence of a beacon extension frame and the non-AP STA does not receive the following beacon extension frame, the non-AP STA may transmit a Probe Request frame or other management frame to request transmission of the information at least in the beacon extension frame”, Chu [0062])
As to claim 9:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to receive the first message container, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive the first message container including an indication that indicates that at least a first portion of the first set of one or more type-specific parameters is included in the first message container, that at least a second portion of the first set of one or more type-specific parameters is included in the second message container, or both, wherein the indication is based at least in part on the device type of the first wireless device. (“For example, a beacon frame indicating the existence of beacon extension may carry or contain the information specific to HE operation/capabilities, VHT operation/capabilities, and/or HT operation/capabilities. A first Beacon extension frame may carry or contain the information specific to UHR operation/capabilities. If the first beacon extension frame indicates the existence of Beacon extension, a second beacon extension frame may carry or contain the information specific to NG-UHR (NG referring to next generation) operation/capabilities, i.e., the operation/capabilities of the next generation of UHR. If the first beacon extension frame indicates no further existence of Beacon extension, the first beacon extension frame may carry or contain the information specific to UHR operation/capabilities. A beacon frame and the following beacon extension frame may be transmitted in a Short Interframe Space (SIFS). If a non-AP STA receives a beacon frame or a beacon extension frame that indicates the existence of beacon extension and the non-AP STA does not receive the following beacon extension frame, the non-AP STA may transmit a Probe Request frame or other management frame to request transmission of the beacon extension frame that has not been received by the non-AP STA. In this case, the non-AP STA may include the information of which beacon extension frame has not been received (e.g., first Beacon extension or second Beacon extension, etc.)”, Chu [0065])
As to claim 12:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the one or more messages are communicated with the second wireless device in accordance with one or more common parameters and the second set of one or more type-specific segments. (“In some embodiments, the beacon frame contains the basic information and beacon extension frame contains information specific to EHT operation or capabilities, HE operation or capabilities, VHT operation or capabilities, or HT operation or capabilities”, Chu [0073])
As to claim 13:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein at least the second message container includes an indication of which one or more type-specific segments are included in the first message container. (“In some embodiments, the Beacon frame has the indication that the AP supports the UHR while the Beacon doesn't include the UHR information, e.g., UHR Capabilities element, UHR Operation element. In one embodiment, the support of UHR is carried in one-bit subfield carried in the Extended Capabilities element”, Chu [0057])
As to claim 14:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to receive the second message container, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive the second message container comprising a plurality of frame check sequences, wherein each segment of the second set of one or more type-specific segments includes a respective frame check sequence of the plurality of frame check sequences. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 15:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to receive the second message container, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive the second message container comprising a plurality of message integrity codes, wherein each segment of the second set of one or more type-specific segments includes a respective message integrity code of the plurality of message integrity codes. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 16:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein: the second message container is a type-specific management frame which includes at least one of a first traffic indicator, a first timing synchronization function, an indication of one or more supported device types, a type-specific parameter update, a message integrity code, a frame check sequence, or any combination thereof, wherein the type-specific management frame corresponds to the device type of the first wireless device. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 17:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 16, wherein the first message container includes a second traffic indicator having a different format than the first traffic indicator, a different encoding than the first traffic indicator, or a different interpretation than the first traffic indicator, a second timing synchronization function having a different format than the first timing synchronization function, a different encoding than the first timing synchronization function, or a different interpretation than the first timing synchronization function, or both. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 18:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein at least one type-specific segment of the second set of one or more type-specific segments includes an indication of a length of the at least one type-specific segment. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 19:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first message container is a beacon frame and the second message container is one of a beacon extension frame, a probe response frame, or a management frame. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 20:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the first message container is one of a beacon extension frame, a probe response frame, or a management frame, and the second message container is a beacon frame. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 21:
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 22:
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 23:
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 24:
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 25:
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 26:
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 27:
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 28:
Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 31:
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 13 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 32:
Claim 32 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 18 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 33:
The second wireless device of claim 21, wherein the first wireless device is a wireless station or a non-access point station, and the second wireless device is an access point. (FIG. 1, Chu)
As to claim 34:
Chu discloses:
A first wireless device, comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (“It should also be noted that at least some of the operations for the methods described herein may be implemented using software instructions stored on a computer useable storage medium for execution by a computer. As an example, an embodiment of a computer program product includes a computer useable storage medium to store a computer readable program”, Chu [0076]) (FIG. 11, Chu), the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, from a second wireless device, a message extension container that comprises one or more segments, (“a wireless device includes a controller configured to generate a beacon frame and a beacon extension frame that follows the beacon frame and a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the beacon frame and the beacon extension frame to devices that are compatible with a wireless communications protocol”, Chu [0003]) (FIG. 3 and 4, Chu) the one or more segments including a common segment with one or more common parameters and a set of one or more type-specific segments, each type-specific segment of the set of one or more type-specific segments comprising a respective set of one or more type-specific parameters that correspond to a respective device type of a plurality of device types; (“In some embodiments, the beacon frame contains the basic information and beacon extension frame contains information specific to EHT operation or capabilities, HE operation or capabilities, VHT operation or capabilities, or HT operation or capabilities”, Chu [0073])(“In one embodiment, the most basic information includes Service Set Identifier (SSID), security information, Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) information, critical update related information (Capability Information And Status Indication field, Reduced Neighbor Report (RNR) element), Traffic indication map (TIM)”, Chu [0055])
and communicate one or more messages with the second wireless device in accordance with the one or more common parameters and a first set of one or more type-specific parameters from a first type-specific segment from the one or more segments that corresponds to a device type of the first wireless device. (FIG. 1, Chu)(“the wireless transceiver 1102 is configured to transmit the beacon frame and the beacon extension frame to devices that are compatible with a wireless communications protocol. In some embodiments, the wireless device is a wireless access point (AP). In some embodiments, the devices that are compatible with the wireless communications protocol include non-AP station (STA) devices. In some embodiments, the beacon extension frame contains Ultra High Reliability (UHR) information that is understandable by UHR STAs. In some embodiments, the beacon extension frame contains information specific to Extremely High Throughput (EHT) operation or capabilities, High Efficiency (HE) operation or capabilities, Very High Throughput (VHT) operation or capabilities, or High Throughput (HT) operation or capabilities”, Chu [0072])
As to claim 35:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 34, wherein, to communicate the one or more messages, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: communicate the one or more messages with the second wireless device in accordance with a second set of one or more type-specific parameters from one or more second type-specific segments from the one or more segments, the one or more second type-specific segments based at least in part on the device type of the first wireless device. (FIG. 1, Chu)(“the wireless transceiver 1102 is configured to transmit the beacon frame and the beacon extension frame to devices that are compatible with a wireless communications protocol. In some embodiments, the wireless device is a wireless access point (AP). In some embodiments, the devices that are compatible with the wireless communications protocol include non-AP station (STA) devices. In some embodiments, the beacon extension frame contains Ultra High Reliability (UHR) information that is understandable by UHR STAs. In some embodiments, the beacon extension frame contains information specific to Extremely High Throughput (EHT) operation or capabilities, High Efficiency (HE) operation or capabilities, Very High Throughput (VHT) operation or capabilities, or High Throughput (HT) operation or capabilities”, Chu [0072])
As to claim 36:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 34, wherein, to receive the message extension container, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive the message extension container comprising a plurality of frame check sequences, wherein each segment of the one or more segments includes a respective frame check sequence of the plurality of frame check sequences. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 37:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 34, wherein, to receive the message extension container, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive the message extension container comprising a plurality of message integrity codes, wherein each segment of the one or more segments includes a respective message integrity code of the plurality of message integrity codes. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 38:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 34, wherein the message extension container is a physical layer protocol data unit that comprises a plurality of beacon extension frames. (“In an embodiment, a communication link (e.g., link 1 202-1 or link 2 202-2) may include a BSS operating channel established by an AP (e.g., AP1 206-1 or AP2 206-2) that features multiple 20 MHz channels used to transmit frames (e.g., Physical Layer Convergence Protocol (PLCP) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs), Beacon frames, management frames, etc.) between a first wireless device (e.g., an AP, an AP MLD, an STA, or an STA MLD) and a second wireless device (e.g., an AP, an AP MLD, an STA, or an STA MLD)”, Chu [0052]) (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 39:
Chu discloses:
The first wireless device of claim 34, wherein the message extension container is one of a beacon extension frame, a probe response frame, or a management frame. (FIG. 4 – 10, Chu)
As to claim 40:
Claim 40 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 34 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 41:
Claim 41 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 36 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 42:
Claim 42 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 37 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 43:
Claim 43 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 38 from the perspective of the transmission side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alfarhan et al. US 20230337225 (hereinafter “Alfarhan”)
As to claim 10:
Chu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, in accordance with a first periodicity, one or more first message containers; and receive, in accordance with a second periodicity, one or more second message containers, wherein the second periodicity is greater than the first periodicity.
However, Alfarhan further teaches varying periodicity for different message containers which includes:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, in accordance with a first periodicity, one or more first message containers; and receive, in accordance with a second periodicity, one or more second message containers, wherein the second periodicity is greater than the first periodicity. (“A periodicity of a WTRU updating reference timing may be based on, for example, a service type. A WTRU may have different timing expectations (e.g., timing requirements) associated with different data types. For example, a WTRU with URLLC or time-sensitive communications (TSC) traffic may perform reference timing updates with a greater periodicity than for eMBB data”, Alfarhan [0174])
Chu and Alfarhan are analogous because they both pertain to transmitting different message types.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include varying periodicity for different message containers as described in Alfarhan into Chu. By modifying the method to include varying periodicity for different message containers as taught by Alfarhan, the benefits of improved timing configuration based on message types (Alfarhan [0174]) and reduced overhead (Chu [0053]) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Chu as described above does not explicitly teach:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, in accordance with a first periodicity, one or more first message containers each comprising one or more common parameters; and receive, in accordance with a second periodicity, one or more second message containers each comprising a second set of one or more type-specific parameters, wherein the second set of one or more type-specific parameters corresponds to the device type of the first wireless device.
However, Alfarhan further teaches varying periodicity for different message containers which includes:
The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to: receive, in accordance with a first periodicity, one or more first message containers each comprising one or more common parameters; and receive, in accordance with a second periodicity, one or more second message containers each comprising a second set of one or more type-specific parameters, wherein the second set of one or more type-specific parameters corresponds to the device type of the first wireless device. (“A periodicity of a WTRU updating reference timing may be based on, for example, a service type. A WTRU may have different timing expectations (e.g., timing requirements) associated with different data types. For example, a WTRU with URLLC or time-sensitive communications (TSC) traffic may perform reference timing updates with a greater periodicity than for eMBB data”, Alfarhan [0174])
Chu and Alfarhan are analogous because they both pertain to transmitting different message types.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include varying periodicity for different message containers as described in Alfarhan into Chu. By modifying the method to include varying periodicity for different message containers as taught by Alfarhan, the benefits of improved timing configuration based on message types (Alfarhan [0174]) and reduced overhead (Chu [0053]) are achieved.
As to claim 29:
Claim 29 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10 from the perspective of the transmission side.
As to claim 30:
Claim 30 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11 from the perspective of the transmission side.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471