DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-24 are currently pending in the instant application. Applicants have canceled claims 1-20 and added new claims 21-24 in an amendment filed on February 27, 2025. Claims 21-24 are rejected in this Office Action.
I. Priority
The instant application is a CON of 17/338,368, filed on June 3, 2021 PAT 12,221,433 which is a CON of 16/888,197, filed on May 29, 2020 ABN which is a CON of 16/446,360, filed on June 19, 2019 PAT 10,717,722 which is a CON of PCT/US2019/037067, filed on June 13, 2019 which claims benefit of US Provisional Application 62/684,681, filed on June 13, 2018.
II. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 27, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
III. Rejections
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,221,433. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Applicants claim
Determining the Scope and Content of the Issued Patent
Claim 1 of the issued patent claims
Ascertaining the Differences Between the Instant Application and the Issued Patent
The instant application claims a kit comprising the same compound that the issued patent’s claim is drawn to.
Finding Prima Facie Obviousness
The scope of the compound in the patented claim 1 and the scope of the claims 21-24 of the instant application overlap and include patented subject matter in the instant claims. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prepare and claim the scope of the compounds in the issued patent again in the instant application since the scope already patented falls within the full scope of the instant claims 21-24. As a result, the claims are rejected under obviousness-type double patenting.
Claims 21-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,717,722. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Applicants claim
Determining the Scope and Content of the Issued Patent
Claim 1 of the issued patent claims
Ascertaining the Differences Between the Instant Application and the Issued Patent
The instant application claims a kit comprising the same compound that the issued patent’s claim is drawn to in claim 9.
Finding Prima Facie Obviousness
The scope of the compound in the patented claims 1-9 and the scope of the claims 21-24 of the instant application overlap and include patented subject matter in the instant claims. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prepare and claim the scope of the compounds in the issued patent again in the instant application since the scope already patented falls within the full scope of the instant claims 21-24. As a result, the claims are rejected under obviousness-type double patenting.
35 USC § 103 - OBVIOUSNESS REJECTION
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Graham v. John Deere Co. set forth the factual inquiries necessary to determine obviousness under 35 U.S.C. §103(a). See Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966). Specifically, the analysis must employ the following factual inquiries:
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (US 2012/0189539 A1) in view of Abu-Jaish, et al. and Wang, et al. (US 2014/0199234 A1). Applicants claim
.
The Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Wang, et al. (US 2012/0189539 A1) teaches BCL-2/BCL-XL inhibitors. The invention is represented by the general formula:
(see page 8) and further teaches the species
(See compound 205, page 95).
Abu-Jaish, et al. teaches prodrugs and more specifically the use of a phosphate prodrug which is linked to a free hydroxyl group and increases the aqueous solubility of the compound (see page 14).
Wang, et al. (US 2014/0199234 A1) which teaches BCL-2/BCL-XL inhibitors with similar structures that have a hydroxyl group phosphorylated such as the compound
(see compound 3, page 9) which maintains the BCL-2/BCL-XL inhibitory activity.
The Difference Between the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between the prior art of Wang, et al. (US 2012/0189539 A1) and the instant compounds is that the instant compound has the
group phosphorylated as a prodrug whereas the prior art’s compound does not. The other prior art references teaches the use of a phosphate group on free hydroxyl groups as a prodrug.
Prima Facie Obviousness-The Rational and Motivation (MPEP §2142-2413)
In In re Thornberg, 103 F. 2s 387 (CCPA 1966), it was well established that in determining obviousness, a combination of references need not result precisely in applicant’s structure. Rather, the question is whether the invention would have been obvious in light of the combination. The prior art teaches the compound
which is similar to the claimed compound
which is a prodrug of the prior art’s compound. It is well known in the art to prepare phosphate prodrugs of well-known compounds for the purpose of increasing the water solubility of the compound as taught in the Abu-Jaish, et al. reference. The second Wang, et al .reference teaches compounds with similar structures and the same utility that have a phosphate group attached the same group as seen in the instant compound and the activity was maintained. Therefore, it would be within one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a phosphate prodrug of the known compound
as a BCL-2 inhibitor having increased aqueous solubility with a reasonable expectation for success. Phosphate prodrugs are well known in the art and would be obvious to prepare. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to prepare a phosphate prodrug of
based on the teachings of the preferred embodiments in the prior art references. A strong prima facie obviousness has been established.
IV. Conclusion
/SHAWQUIA JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626