DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farjad-rad (US 2013/0315290 and Farjad hereinafter) in view of Vayrynen (US 2002/0141598).
Regarding claim 1, Farjad discloses a signal processing device [fig. 1] comprising: a receiver [110 except 145] that receives a signal [115]; a transmitter [120] that transmits the signal received by the receiver; and a controller [145], wherein the receiver includes an equalizer circuit [125] that compensates attenuation of the signal received, and the controller: detects a threshold voltage [Vth] of a transistor [transistor in 125, fig. 5] included in the signal processing device; when the threshold voltage detected is lower than or equal to a predetermined voltage value [predetermine Vth], sets a current of the equalizer circuit to be lower than or equal to a predetermined current value [reduce voltage Vth(step 325)]; and when the threshold voltage detected is higher than the predetermined voltage value [see step 320], sets the current of the equalizer circuit to be higher than the predetermined current value [step 330]. Farjad does not explicitly disclose the transmitter includes a noise cancelling circuit that reduces noise included in a processed signal generated in the receiver, deactivates the noise cancelling circuit and activates the noise cancelling circuit.
However, Vayrynen discloses [see fig. 1] a transmitter [6 including elements 1-5, fig. 1] includes a noise cancelling circuit [3] that reduces noise included in a processed signal generated in the receiver, deactivates the noise cancelling circuit and activates the noise cancelling circuit [par. 16-23]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Farjad by incorporating a noise cancelling circuit as thought in Vayrynen in order to activate and deactivate automatic noise cancellation when it is required.
Regarding claim 8, Farjad discloses a method of controlling a signal processing device [fig. 1] that includes: a receiver [110 except 145] that receives a signal [115]; and a transmitter [120] that transmits the signal received by the receiver, the receiver including an equalizer circuit [125] that compensates attenuation of the signal received, the method comprising: determining whether a threshold voltage [Vth] of a transistor [transistor in 125, fig. 5] included in the signal processing device is lower than or equal to a predetermined voltage value [predetermine Vth]; when the threshold voltage of the transistor included in the signal processing device is determined to be lower than or equal to a predetermined voltage value, setting a current of the equalizer circuit to be lower than or equal to a predetermined current value [reduce voltage Vth(step 325)]; and when the threshold voltage of the transistor included in the signal processing device is determined to be higher than the predetermined voltage value [see step 320], setting the current of the equalizer circuit to be higher than the predetermined current value [step 330]. Farjad does not explicitly disclose the transmitter includes a noise cancelling circuit that reduces noise included in a processed signal generated in the receiver, deactivates the noise cancelling circuit and activates the noise cancelling circuit.
However, Vayrynen discloses [see fig. 1] a transmitter [6 including elements 1-5, fig. 1] includes a noise cancelling circuit [3] that reduces noise included in a processed signal generated in the receiver, deactivates the noise cancelling circuit and activates the noise cancelling circuit [par. 16-23]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Farjad by incorporating a noise cancelling circuit as thought in Vayrynen in order to activate and deactivate automatic noise cancellation when it is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842