DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 12/23/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagelin et al. EP 1929920 A1 (henceforth referred to as Hagelin).
As for claim 1, Hagelin teaches a dishwasher (paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1: part 1), comprising: a washing compartment (paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1: part 2) comprising a door (paragraphs [0023] and [0025]; Fig. 2: part 5; in a “conventional dishwasher” a door provides the first wall of the washing compartment) attached thereto; a detergent dispenser (paragraph [0027]; Fig. 1: part 6) mounted on the door (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; as the dispenser is mounted on the first wall, in the embodiment of a “conventional dishwasher” this would be the door); a water conduit (paragraph [0031]; Fig. 2: part 10) mounted within the washing compartment and in fluid communication with a water outlet (paragraph [0031]; Fig. 2: part 7), and wherein the water conduit extends in a first direction (Fig. 2), and the water outlet extends at a fixed angle relative to the first direction to be positioned above the detergent dispenser when the dishwasher is operating (paragraph [0031]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 2, Hagelin further teaches that the detergent dispenser comprises a cavity and a set of tablet restraints configured to retain a detergent tablet in the cavity (paragraph [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 5, Hagelin further teaches that an upper section of the detergent dispenser comprises an opening configured to allow water from the water outlet to enter the detergent dispenser (paragraphs [0032] and [0035]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 6, Hagelin further teaches that the water outlet is spaced apart from the detergent dispenser (paragraphs [0032] and [0035]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 7, Hagelin teaches a dishwasher (paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1: part 1), comprising: a washing compartment (paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1: part 2) comprising a door (paragraphs [0023] and [0025]; Fig. 2: part 5; in a “conventional dishwasher” a door provides the first wall of the washing compartment) attached thereto; a detergent dispenser (paragraph [0027]; Fig. 1: part 6) mounted on the door (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; as the dispenser is mounted on the first wall, in the embodiment of a “conventional dishwasher” this would be the door), the detergent dispenser comprising a cavity configured to receive a detergent tablet (Fig. 1); a water conduit (paragraph [0031]; Fig. 2: part 10) mounted within the washing compartment and in fluid communication with a water outlet (paragraph [0031]; Fig. 2: part 7); and wherein the water outlet is fixedly positioned above the detergent dispenser (paragraph [0031]; Figs. 1-2) and the water outlet comprises a nozzle (paragraph [0032]; Fig. 2: part 11) directed downward to release water downward towards the detergent dispenser when the dishwasher is operating (paragraph [0031]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 8, Hagelin further teaches that the cavity comprises a rear wall, an open side opposite the rear wall and facing towards the washing compartment when the door is in a closed position, and a bottom surface extending from the rear wall to the open side (paragraph [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 9, Hagelin further teaches that the detergent dispenser further comprises a protrusion attached to the bottom surface of the cavity (paragraph [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 11, Hagelin further teaches that the detergent dispenser further comprises at least one opening at an upper section of the cavity configured to receive the water from the nozzle when the door is in a closed position (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 14, Hagelin teaches a dishwasher (paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1: part 1), comprising: a washing compartment (paragraph [0023]; Fig. 1: part 2) comprising a door (paragraphs [0023] and [0025]; Fig. 2: part 5; in a “conventional dishwasher” a door provides the first wall of the washing compartment) attached thereto; a detergent dispenser (paragraph [0027]; Fig. 1: part 6) mounted on the door (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; as the dispenser is mounted on the first wall, in the embodiment of a “conventional dishwasher” this would be the door), the detergent dispenser comprising a cavity having a bottom surface, a protrusion attached to the bottom surface and configured to retain a detergent tablet in the cavity (paragraph [0027]; Figs. 1-2), and an opening at an upper section of the cavity; a water conduit (paragraph [0031]; Fig. 2: part 10) mounted within the washing compartment and in fluid communication with a water outlet (paragraph [0031]; Fig. 2: part 7), and wherein the water outlet is fixed above the detergent dispenser and is directed downward to release water downward towards the detergent dispenser when the dishwasher is operating (paragraph [0031]; Figs. 1-2), and the opening is configured to receive the water from the water outlet when the door is in a closed position (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 15, Hagelin further teaches that the cavity comprises a rear wall and an open side opposite the rear wall and facing towards the washing compartment when the door is in the closed position, wherein the bottom surface extends from the rear wall to the open side (paragraph [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 18, Hagelin further teaches that the detergent dispenser further comprises a lid configured to selectively close the open side of the cavity (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
As for claim 19, Hagelin further teaches that the lid is configured to be moved to an open lid position in which the lid forms the opening configured to receive the supply of water (paragraphs [0023] and [0027]; Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagelin et al. EP 1929920 A1 (henceforth referred to as Hagelin).
Hagelin teaches the features as per above.
As for claim 3, Hagelin differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the tablet restraints are located at a bottom surface of the cavity in the detergent dispenser. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As for claim 4, Hagelin differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the bottom surface has a sloped surface. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
As for claim 12, Hagelin differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the bottom surface is sloped downwardly towards the washing compartment. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
As for claim 17, Hagelin differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the bottom surface of the cavity is sloped downwardly towards the washing compartment, and the protrusion is located at a lower end of the bottom surface. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 13, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Hagelin et al. EP 1929920 A1, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the protrusion comprises a plurality of teeth extending from the bottom surface of the cavity. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dishwasher taught by Hagelin as claimed.
Conclusion
/LEVON J SHAHINIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711