DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 12/23/2024. Claims 1 - 16 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 5, 8, 10 – 11, 13 – 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rintel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0026612, hereinafter “Rintel”) in view of Yeung et al. (WO Pub. No. WO2019128109A1, hereinafter “Yeung”) and Fujino et al. (JP Pub. No. JPH0258484A, hereinafter “Fujino”).
Regarding Claim 1, Rintel teaches
An electronic device for providing a video call (see Rintel Paragraph [0023], video call ongoing between the projection unit 100 and another communications device), the electronic device comprising:
a projector (see Rintel Paragraph [0004], The rotating projection module is configured to project images onto at least one surface in the environment);
a camera (see Rintel Paragraph [0004], A portable projection unit is described which has a rotating capture module and a rotating projection module. The capture module has at least one color camera);
a sensor configured to obtain a distance from an external object (see Rintel Paragraph [0004], The capture module has at least one color camera, at least one microphone and at least one depth camera, Paragraph [0030], The scene reconstruction module 414 comprises software and/or hardware which receives depth and/or color image data from the rotating capture module and computes characteristics of surfaces in the environment such as 3D position, size, texture, color, reflectivity, intensity, position with respect to other surfaces in the environment. The 3D reconstruction may comprise a truncated signed distance function or other representation of a surface);
memory storing at least one instruction (see Rintel Paragraph [0058], Computer storage media, such as memory 1012, includes volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions); and
at least one processor operably connected to the projector, the camera, the sensor, and the memory (see Rintel Figure 10, one or more processors 1008 are connected to the projection unit(s) 1000, the capture module 1028 (which contains at least one color camera, at least one microphone and at least one depth camera), and the memory 1012),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one instruction to (see Rintel Paragraph [0057], Computing-based device 1034 comprises one or more processors 1008 which may be microprocessors, controllers or any other suitable type of processors for processing computer executable instructions to control the operation of the device):
capture a user through the camera to obtain a first user video based on the video call being executed (see Rintel Paragraph [0029], FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of functional components of an example projection unit 400 such as the projection unit 100 of FIGS. 1 to 3. It comprises a rotating capture module 300 with at least one depth camera 402, at least one microphone 404 and at least one color camera 406. The cameras may capture sequences of images, Paragraph [0039], Images of the user are captured by the projection unit. The captured images and sound are transmitted as part of a video call to a remote party),
control the projector so that a video call screen comprising the video of the user is projected (see Rintel Figure 5, in which users are in a video call displaying each other on a projector, Paragraph [0043], The captured images of the user may be transmitted as part of a video call for example, to another entity, using the communications component, Paragraph [0019], projection unit 100 which projects images 102, 114 of a video call onto a surface in the respective room).
Rintel does not expressively teach
identify a horizontal correction angle and a vertical correction angle based on the first user video, a rotational angle of the camera, a projection angle of the projector, and a sensing value obtained through the sensor,
obtain a frontal video of the user based on the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle, and
However, Yeung teaches
identify a horizontal correction angle and a vertical correction angle based on the first user video, a rotational angle of the camera, a projection angle of the projector, and a sensing value obtained through the sensor (see Yeung Abstract, capturing a face image and determining a position of the face; calculating an angle of an image capturing direction according to the position of the face; adjusting the angle of the image capturing direction according to the calculated angle of the image capturing direction; calculating a projection angle at which the projection device needs to change according to the adjusted angle of the image capturing direction; adjusting the projection angle according to the calculated projection angle of the projection device; and projecting according to the adjusted projection angle, so that the projected content is displayed directly opposite the face, and Page 4, when the image acquisition device is used to collect the face image, the face image is collected by the image collection device, and the face detection algorithm is used to detect the face and determine the position of the face in the current frame relative to the image capture device. The image collection device includes: image acquisition of a conventional two-dimensional human face and a three-dimensional depth ranging function. The image acquisition device may be a binocular camera or an infrared camera with an optional infrared lens, the image acquisition device may also provide body language [gesture] information to the motion recognition module (Page 7)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device for video calls comprising a projector, camera, distance sensor, memory and processor configured to capture a user through the camera and obtain a first user video during a video call (as taught in Rintel), with identifying horizontal and vertical correction angles based on a first user video, the camera’s rotational angle, the projector’s projection angle, and the sensor data (as taught in Yeung), the motivation being to use collected data to adjust projection angle in real time to display the user in a manner that allows the user’s face to always be at the center of the image so that the tracked user always has the visual enjoyment of the projected picture, which enhances the viewing experience of the user (see Yeung Abstract and Page 5).
Rintel in view of Yeung does not expressively teach
obtain a frontal video of the user based on the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle,
However, Fujino teaches
obtain a frontal video of the user based on the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle (see Fujino Page 1, synthesizes a person image having a line of sight facing the direction of the person image, Claim 1, A means to calculate a rotation angle from a position coordinate of a detected person image, A means to send out a calculated rotation angle to another party terminal, A look which turned to a right-and-left picture of said two sheets in the direction of a partner person image according to a rotation angle of a partner person image which was detected at the mating terminal side using same means),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device for video calls comprising a projector, camera, distance sensor, memory and processor configured to capture a user through the camera and obtain a first user video during a video call (as taught in Rintel), with identifying horizontal and vertical correction angles based on a first user video, the camera’s rotational angle, the projector’s projection angle, and the sensor data (as taught in Yeung), the motivation being to use collected data to adjust projection angle in real time to display the user in a manner that allows the user’s face to always be at the center of the image so that the tracked user always has the visual enjoyment of the projected picture, which enhances the viewing experience of the user (see Yeung Abstract and Page 5).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device that provides a video call, comprising a projector, camera, sensor, memory, and a processor, capturing a user through the camera to obtain a first user video, identifying horizontal and vertical correction angle based on the first user video, the camera’s rotational angle, the projector’s projection angle, and sensor data, and controlling the projector to display a video call screen comprising user video (as taught in Rintel in view of Yeung), with obtaining a frontal video of a user based on a first user video, a horizontal correction angle, and a vertical correction angle (as taught in Fujino), the motivation being to provide a video conference in which the line of sight of the users is modified to imitate natural eye contact (see Fujino Page 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino teaches
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
obtain a first distance between the electronic device and a center of a projection surface based on a first sensing value obtained through the sensor (see Yeung Page 2, the actual distance between the projection device and the projection plane is calculated in real time),
obtain a second distance between the electronic device and a face of the user based on a second sensing value obtained through the sensor (see Yeung Page 2, calculating the distance between the face and the image acquisition device), and
identify the horizontal correction angle based on the first distance, the second distance, and a first rotational angle of the camera (see Yeung Abstract, capturing a face image and determining a position of the face; calculating an angle of an image capturing direction according to the position of the face; adjusting the angle of the image capturing direction according to the calculated angle of the image capturing direction; calculating a projection angle at which the projection device needs to change according to the adjusted angle of the image capturing direction; adjusting the projection angle according to the calculated projection angle of the projection device; and projecting according to the adjusted projection angle, so that the projected content is displayed directly opposite the face, Page 2, By calculating the distance between the face and the image acquisition device in the vertical direction, the projection device is rotated and the actual distance between the projection device and the projection plane is calculated in real time, when the angle of rotation is such that the actual distance between the projection device and the projection plane and the projection device are positive to the face When the distances of the opposite projection planes are equal, the angle of rotation is the direction in which the projection device needs to be projected).
Regarding Claim 4, Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino teaches
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
rotate the first user video in a first direction based on the horizontal correction angle (see Fujino Page 1, synthesizes a person image having a line of sight facing the direction of the person image, Claim 1, A means to calculate a rotation angle from a position coordinate of a detected person image, A means to send out a calculated rotation angle to another party terminal, A look which turned to a right-and-left picture of said two sheets in the direction of a partner person image according to a rotation angle of a partner person image which was detected at the mating terminal side using same means), and
rotate the first user video in a second direction based on the vertical correction angle to obtain the frontal video of the user (see Fujino Page 1, synthesizes a person image having a line of sight facing the direction of the person image, Claim 1, A means to calculate a rotation angle from a position coordinate of a detected person image, A means to send out a calculated rotation angle to another party terminal, A look which turned to a right-and-left picture of said two sheets in the direction of a partner person image according to a rotation angle of a partner person image which was detected at the mating terminal side using same means).
Regarding Claim 5, Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino teaches
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
input the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle to a trained neural network model to obtain the frontal video of the user (see Fujino Page 1, synthesizes a person image having a line of sight facing the direction of the person image, Claim 1, A means to calculate a rotation angle from a position coordinate of a detected person image, A means to send out a calculated rotation angle to another party terminal, A look which turned to a right-and-left picture of said two sheets in the direction of a partner person image according to a rotation angle of a partner person image which was detected at the mating terminal side using same means).
Regarding Claim 8, Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino teaches
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
obtain a second user video using the camera while performing the video call (see Yeung Page 7, the first direction control unit 804 calculates the angle between the face of the face calculated by the first calculation and analysis unit 803 in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction with respect to the image acquisition unit 802. The image acquisition unit 802 is adjusted and the face is always located at the center of the subsequently acquired image, in which subsequent or second videos are obtained and rotated),
identify a rotational angle of a face of the user based on the second user video (see Yeung Page 7, the first direction control unit 804 calculates the angle between the face of the face calculated by the first calculation and analysis unit 803 in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction with respect to the image acquisition unit 802. The image acquisition unit 802 is adjusted and the face is always located at the center of the subsequently acquired image), and
rotate the frontal video of the user based on the rotational angle of the face of the user (see Yeung Page 7, the first direction control unit 804 calculates the angle between the face of the face calculated by the first calculation and analysis unit 803 in the vertical direction and the horizontal direction with respect to the image acquisition unit 802. The image acquisition unit 802 is adjusted and the face is always located at the center of the subsequently acquired image).
Regarding Claims 10 – 11 and 13 - 14, they are rejected similarly as Claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 5, respectively. The method can be found in Rintel (Paragraph [0047], method).
Regarding Claim 11, Rintel teaches
An electronic device for providing a video call (see Rintel Paragraph [0023], video call ongoing between the projection unit 100 and another communications device), the electronic device comprising:
a projector (see Rintel Paragraph [0004], The rotating projection module is configured to project images onto at least one surface in the environment);
a camera (see Rintel Paragraph [0004], A portable projection unit is described which has a rotating capture module and a rotating projection module. The capture module has at least one color camera);
a communication interface (see Rintel Paragraph [0028], The projection unit 100 comprises a communications component which may be part of the computing device 306 or may be provided in a cylindrical component 308 of the stacked arrangement of FIG. 3. The communications component is configured to enable the projection unit to communicate with other entities over a communications network using wired and/or wireless communications, Paragraph [0057], The computing-based device 1034 may be in communication with one or more content sources 1004 via a communications network 1002 using a communications interface 1010);
memory storing at least one instruction (see Rintel Paragraph [0058], Computer storage media, such as memory 1012, includes volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions); and
at least one processor operably connected to the projector, the camera, the communication interface, and the memory (see Rintel Figure 10, one or more processors 1008 are connected to the projection unit(s) 1000, the capture module 1028 (which contains at least one color camera, at least one microphone and at least one depth camera), the memory 1012, and the communications interface 1010),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the at least one instruction to (see Rintel Paragraph [0057], Computing-based device 1034 comprises one or more processors 1008 which may be microprocessors, controllers or any other suitable type of processors for processing computer executable instructions to control the operation of the device):
capture a user through the camera to obtain a first user video based on the video call being executed (see Rintel Paragraph [0029], FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram of functional components of an example projection unit 400 such as the projection unit 100 of FIGS. 1 to 3. It comprises a rotating capture module 300 with at least one depth camera 402, at least one microphone 404 and at least one color camera 406. The cameras may capture sequences of images, Paragraph [0039], Images of the user are captured by the projection unit. The captured images and sound are transmitted as part of a video call to a remote party);
control the communication interface to transmit the video to a correspondent terminal of the video call (see Rintel Paragraph [0039], The captured images and sound are transmitted as part of a video call to a remote party).
Rintel does not expressively teach
identify a horizontal correction angle and a vertical correction angle based on: the first user video, a rotational angle of the camera, and a projection angle of the projector;
obtain a frontal video of the user based on: the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle;
However, Yeung teaches
identify a horizontal correction angle and a vertical correction angle based on: the first user video, a rotational angle of the camera, and a projection angle of the projector (see Yeung Abstract, capturing a face image and determining a position of the face; calculating an angle of an image capturing direction according to the position of the face; adjusting the angle of the image capturing direction according to the calculated angle of the image capturing direction; calculating a projection angle at which the projection device needs to change according to the adjusted angle of the image capturing direction; adjusting the projection angle according to the calculated projection angle of the projection device; and projecting according to the adjusted projection angle, so that the projected content is displayed directly opposite the face, and Page 4, when the image acquisition device is used to collect the face image, the face image is collected by the image collection device, and the face detection algorithm is used to detect the face and determine the position of the face in the current frame relative to the image capture device. . The image collection device includes: image acquisition of a conventional two-dimensional human face and a three-dimensional depth ranging function. The image acquisition device may be a binocular camera or an infrared camera with an optional infrared lens, the image acquisition device may also provide body language [gesture] information to the motion recognition module (Page 7));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device for video calls comprising a projector, camera, communication interface, memory and processor configured to capture a user through the camera and obtain a first user video during a video call (as taught in Rintel), with identifying horizontal and vertical correction angles based on a first user video, the camera’s rotational angle, and the projector’s projection angle (as taught in Yeung), the motivation being to use collected data to adjust projection angle in real time to display the user in a manner that allows the user’s face to always be at the center of the image so that the tracked user always has the visual enjoyment of the projected picture, which enhances the viewing experience of the user (see Yeung Abstract and Page 5).
Rintel in view of Yeung does not expressively teach
obtain a frontal video of the user based on: the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle;
However, Fujino teaches
obtain a frontal video of the user based on: the first user video, the horizontal correction angle, and the vertical correction angle (see Fujino Page 1, synthesizes a person image having a line of sight facing the direction of the person image, Claim 1, A means to calculate a rotation angle from a position coordinate of a detected person image, A means to send out a calculated rotation angle to another party terminal, A look which turned to a right-and-left picture of said two sheets in the direction of a partner person image according to a rotation angle of a partner person image which was detected at the mating terminal side using same means); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device for video calls comprising a projector, camera, communication interface, memory and processor configured to capture a user through the camera and obtain a first user video during a video call (as taught in Rintel), with identifying horizontal and vertical correction angles based on a first user video, the camera’s rotational angle, and the projector’s projection angle (as taught in Yeung), the motivation being to use collected data to adjust projection angle in real time to display the user in a manner that allows the user’s face to always be at the center of the image so that the tracked user always has the visual enjoyment of the projected picture, which enhances the viewing experience of the user (see Yeung Abstract and Page 5).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device that provides a video call, comprising a projector, camera, communication interface, memory, and a processor, capturing a user through the camera to obtain a first user video, identifying horizontal and vertical correction angle based on the first user video, the camera’s rotational angle, and the projector’s projection angle, and controlling the projector to display a video call screen comprising user video (as taught in Rintel in view of Yeung), with obtaining a frontal video of a user based on a first user video, a horizontal correction angle, and a vertical correction angle (as taught in Fujino), the motivation being to provide a video conference in which the line of sight of the users is modified to imitate natural eye contact (see Fujino Page 1).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rintel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0026612, hereinafter “Rintel”) in view of Yeung et al. (WO Pub. No. WO2019128109A1, hereinafter “Yeung”), Fujino et al. (JP Pub. No. JPH0258484A, hereinafter “Fujino”) and Saban (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0398781).
Regarding Claim 6, Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but does not expressively teach
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
generate an avatar video based on the frontal video of the user, and
control the projector so that the video call screen comprising the generated avatar video is projected.
However, Saban teaches
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
generate an avatar video based on the frontal video of the user (see Saban Paragraph [0010], obtaining a video stream that includes image of a user; using elements appearing in the video stream to generate a transformation factor to convert pixel distance in the video stream to actual physical distance in the real world; using the image of the user appearing in the video stream to generate an avatar of the user), and
control the projector so that the video call screen comprising the generated avatar video is projected (see Saban Paragraph [0010], projecting the avatar in an orientation corresponding to the orientation of the user; continuously monitoring the orientation of the user in the video stream and adjusting the orientation of the avatar to correspond to changes in the orientation of the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device that provides a video call, comprising a projector, camera, sensor, memory, and a processor, capturing a user through the camera to obtain a first user video, identifying horizontal and vertical correction angle based on the first user video, the camera’ rotational angle, the projector’s projection angle, and sensor data, and obtaining a frontal video of a user based on a first user video, a horizontal correction angle, and a vertical correction angle and controlling the projector to display a video call screen comprising an adjusted user video (as taught in Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino), with generating an avatar based on video of a user and displaying the avatar in a video stream (as taught in Saban), the motivation being to utilize an avatar in a video stream that appears as if the user is looking directly at a camera positioned behind the screen, even though the image is taken by a camera positioned above or besides the screen while the user is not looking at the camera but is looking at the screen (see Saban Paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 15, it is rejected similarly as Claim 6. The method can be found in Rintel (Paragraph [0047], method).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rintel et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0026612, hereinafter “Rintel”) in view of Yeung et al. (WO Pub. No. WO2019128109A1, hereinafter “Yeung”), Fujino et al. (JP Pub. No. JPH0258484A, hereinafter “Fujino”) and Zheng (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0186649).
Regarding Claim 9, Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but does not expressively teach
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
identify a speaker among multiple users based on the multiple users being in the first user video, and
identify the horizontal correction angle and the vertical correction angle based on the identified speaker.
However, Zheng teaches
The electronic device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to:
identify a speaker among multiple users based on the multiple users being in the first user video (see Zheng Figure 1, showing a director system in a local conference site, Paragraph [0254], FIG. 6E is a schematic diagram 5 of a video image according to this application. Referring to FIG. 6E, the video image shot by the second director camera is a panoramic image, and the panoramic image includes face images of all participants in the conference site, Abstract, The director device determines a current speaker based on second video information collected by the first camera), and
identify the horizontal correction angle and the vertical correction angle based on the identified speaker (see Zheng Paragraph [0129], the current speaker may be determined in the following implementation: A horizontal angle and a vertical angle corresponding to each face image in the video information shot by the first camera at the current moment may be obtained).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an electronic device that provides a video call, comprising a projector, camera, sensor, memory, and a processor, capturing a user through the camera to obtain a first user video, identifying horizontal and vertical correction angle based on the first user video, the camera’ rotational angle, the projector’s projection angle, and sensor data, and obtaining a frontal video of a user based on a first user video, a horizontal correction angle, and a vertical correction angle and controlling the projector to display a video call screen comprising an adjusted user video (as taught in Rintel in view of Yeung and Fujino), with identifying a speaker among multiple users in a video and identifying horizontal and vertical correction angles based on the identified speaker (as taught in Zheng), the motivation being to automatically identify the active speaker in a video conference and adjust the video conference screen to appropriately align with that speaker (see Zheng Paragraphs [0010], [0129] and [0257]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/CARISSA A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691