DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-18 are pending. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-18 are under examination on the merits. Claims 1, 6-10, 13 are amended. Claims 5, 11, 19 are cancelled. Claims 12 is previously cancelled.
4. The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
5. Applicant's arguments filed 10/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, thus claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-18 stand rejected as set forth in Office action dated 04/19/2019 and further discussed in the Response to Arguments below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Joe Fu (US Pub. No. 2009/0124481 A1, hereinafter “’481”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘481 teaches an optical glass (Page 1, [0003]) comprising
SiO2: 3-65 mol%, B2O3-: 3-65 mol%, Yb2O3:0-55 mol%, Lu2O3 (Lu is La): 0-55 mol%, and P2O5-: 0-20 mol%, and Ga2O3:0-30 mol% (Page 7, Claim 8). ‘481 does not expressly teach a glass having a transmittance of 30% or less for light having a wavelength of 940 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm.
However, pertaining specifically to claim 1, since ‘481 teaches the identical or substantially identical a glass comprising ytterbium as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have expected that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. light transmittance, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the glass having a transmittance of 30% or less for light having a wavelength of 940 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm). If there is any difference between the product of ‘481 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic
and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 2: The disclosure of ‘481 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘481 does not expressly teach the glass, having a transmittance of 78% or more for light having a wavelength of 850 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm.
However, since ‘481 teaches the identical or substantially identical a glass comprising ytterbium as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have expected that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. light transmittance, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the glass, having a transmittance of 78% or more for light having a wavelength of 850 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm). If there is any difference between the product of ‘481 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
"Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 3: The disclosure of ‘481 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘481 does not expressly teach the glass, wherein an absolute value ΔλIR50 of a difference between λIRL50 and λIRS50 is 100 nm to 160 nm, wherein λIRL50 is a wavelength on a long wavelength side and λIRS50 is a wavelength on a short wavelength side among wavelengths at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 1100 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm.
However, since ‘481 teaches the identical or substantially identical a glass comprising ytterbium as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have expected that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. light transmittance, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the glass, wherein an absolute value ΔλIR50 of a difference between λIRL50 and λIRS50 is 100 nm to 160 nm, wherein λIRL50 is a wavelength on a long wavelength side and λIRS50 is a wavelength on a short wavelength side among wavelengths at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 1100 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm). If there is any difference between the product of ‘481 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
"Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 4: The disclosure of ‘481 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘481 does not expressly teach the glass, having a Young's modulus of 100 GPa to 150 GPa.
However, since ‘481 discloses the identical or substantially identical a glass comprising ytterbium as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have expected that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. Young's modulus, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the glass having a Young's modulus of 100 GPa to 150 GPa). If there is any difference between the product of ‘481 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
"Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claims 6-7: ‘481 teaches the optical glass (Page 1, [0003]) comprising SiO2: 3-65 mol%, B2O3-: 3-65 mol%, Yb2O3:0-55 mol%, and P2O5-: 0-20 mol% (Page 7, Claim 8).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 8: ‘481 teaches the optical glass (Page 1, [0003]) comprising Yb2O3:0-55 mol%, and ZrO2-: 0-10 mol% (Page 7, Claim 8).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 9: ‘481 teaches the optical glass (Page 1, [0003]) comprising Yb2O3:0-55 mol%, and 65 mol% or more of a total SiO2 and B2O3 -(i.e., SiO2: 3-65 mol%, B2O3-: 3-65 mol%) (Page 7, Claim 8).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 10: ‘481 teaches the optical glass (Page 1, [0003]) comprising Yb2O3:0-55 mol%, wherein total content of (Al2O3-: 0-30 mol%, GeO2: 0-30 mol%, Ga2O3:0-30 mol%, P2O5-: 0-20 mol%)/ total content of SiO2: 3-65 mol%, and B2O3-: 3-65 mol%) is less than 0.1 (Page 7, Claim 8).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 13: ‘481 teaches the optical glass (Page 1, [0003]) comprising Yb2O3:0-55 mol%, and Al2O3-: 0-30 mol% (Page 7, Claim 8).
Thus, the subject as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549.
Regarding claim 15: ‘481 discloses the glass, wherein the glass is used for an optical filter (Page 1, [0003]).
It is submitted that the limitation “for an optical filter” is interpreted as an intended use since there is no apparent structural difference required by the composition other than that recited in the body of the claim (see MPEP 2111.02, II).
Regarding claims 16-18: The disclosure of ‘447 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘447 is silent with regard to an optical filter comprising the glass, an optical device comprising the glass, and an optical device comprising: the glass, and an optical filter having a light absorption characteristic different from that of the glass.
However, it is submitted that claims 16-18 are merely intended uses of the composition and therefore are not given patentable weight. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
8. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Joe Fu (US Pub. No. 2009/0124481 A1, hereinafter “’481”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Futoshi Suzuki (JP 2017-095301 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’301”).
Regarding claim 14: The disclosure of ‘481 is adequately set forth in paragraph 7 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘481 does not expressly teach the glass having a thickness of 0.1 mm or more and less than 10 mm
However, ‘301 teaches an optical glass (Page 5/14, [0001]) comprising SiO2: 10 mol%, B2O3-:25 mol%, P2O5-:5 mol%, Yb2O3:50 mol%, and Al2O3:10 mol% in Example 4 (Page 11/14, [0038], Table1, Example 4), wherein the obtained glass material was polished to a thickness of 1 mm (12/14, [0042]-[0043]).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since choosing an appropriate glass thickness from the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 10/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
In response to Applicant’s argument that Fu’481 discloses broad composition ranges for a large number of components and does not teach or suggest the specific combination of four components required by the amended Claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claim “Comprising” language
leaves the claim open for the inclusion of unspecified ingredients even in major amounts, see Ex parte Davis et al., 80 USPQ 448 (PTO Ed. App. 1948). Also, the broad “comprising” and “containing” terminology do not exclude the presence of other ingredients in the composition, unlike the narrow “consisting of” language, see Swain v.Crittendon, 332 F 2d 820,14 1 USPQ 8 11 (CCPA 1964).
Furthermore, in cases involving overlapping ranges, the court have consistently held that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness . . . . . . . .
Selecting a narrow range from within a somewhat broader range disclosed in a prior art reference is no less obvious than identifying a range that simply overlaps a disclosed range. In fact, when as here, the claimed ranges are completely encompassed by the prior art, the conclusion is even more compelling than in cases of mere overlap. [(Citations omitted.)]
In response to Applicant’s argument that Fu’481 is directed to a different technical purposed than the claimed composition
The examiner respectfully disagrees. It is submitted that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant, In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972); In re Dillon, 91 9 F.2d 688,16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). Also, while there must be motivation to make the claimed invention, there is no requirement that the prior art provide the same reason as the applicant to make the claimed invention, Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300,1302 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993).
In response to Applicant’s argument that Fu’481does not recognize this technical problem or suggest selecting the claimed components to result in a glass having the claimed transmittance characteristics at 940 nm.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Since ‘481 teaches the identical or substantially identical a glass comprising ytterbium as the recited claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have expected that the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. light transmittance, would be expected to be the same as claimed (i.e., the glass having a transmittance of 30% or less for light having a wavelength of 940 nm in terms of a thickness of 0.4 mm). If there is any difference between the product of ‘481 and the product of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I). Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic
and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
The applicant is invited to submit any declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 to overcome the rejection based upon reference applied under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as set forth in this Office action to compare their invention product (i.e., the glass composition) and show the product is actually different from and unexpectedly better than the teachings of the references. It is submitted that the burden is on the applicant to establish that the results are in fact unexpected, unobvious, and of statistical and practical significance. See MPEP 716.02(b). See also Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992), and such a showing also must be commensurate with the scope of the claimed invention, i.e., must bear a reasonable correlation to the scope of the claimed invention.
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
10/20/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov