DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 23, 2024; June 23, 2025 and August 27, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on December 23, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417 recites wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to:
receive, via broadcast signaling, configuration information indicating a same-physical cell identity (PCI) satellite switch from a first satellite to a second satellite (col. 44, lines 61-63);
suspend uplink transmission with the first satellite in response to the same-PCI satellite switch (col. 45, lines 3-4); and
perform the same-PCI satellite switch to the second satellite based on the configuration information indicating the same-PCI satellite switch (col. 45, lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417 recites wherein the configuration information comprises an indication of a start time and an indication of an end time for the same-PCI satellite switch from the first satellite to the second satellite (col. 44, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417 recites, wherein the processor is configured to start a resynchronization for the same-PCI satellite switch based on the configuration information (col. 45, lines 1-2).
Claims 4-10 correspond to claim 2-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417.
Regarding claim 11, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417 recites a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising:
receiving, via broadcast signaling, configuration information indicating a same-physical cell identity (PCI) satellite switch from a first satellite to a second satellite (col. 45, line 41 – col. 46, line 5);
suspending uplink transmission with the first satellite in response to the same-PCI satellite switch (col. 46, lines 8-9); and
performing the same-PCI satellite switch to the second satellite based on the configuration information indicating the same-PCI satellite switch (col. 46, lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 12, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417 recites wherein the configuration information comprises an indication of a start time and an indication of an end time for the same-PCI satellite switch from the first satellite to the second satellite (col. 46, lines 25).
Regarding claim 13, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417 recites, further comprising starting a resynchronization for the same-PCI satellite switch based on the configuration information (col. 46, lines 6-7).
Claims 14-20 correspond to claim 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,417.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura et al. (hereinafter “Uemura”, US 2025/0357999) in view of Lauridsen et al. (hereinafter “Lauridsen”, US 2023/0072679).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Uemura discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (i.e., terminal apparatus 10 as shown in Fig. 2) comprising:
a processor (i.e., processing unit 11 as shown in Fig. 2) configured to:
receive, configuration information indicating a same-physical cell identity (PCI) satellite switch from a first satellite to a second satellite (i.e., receiving control information includes time information related to switching time from the first satellite to a second satellite, and information indicating that the first cell and the second cell have the same physical cell IDs as described in abstract, paragraphs 0010, 0023, 0081-0082, and as shown in Fig. 6);
suspend uplink transmission with the first satellite in response to the same-PCI satellite switch (i.e., suspending the uplink transmission in response to detecting cell switching in S4 as described in paragraphs 0086 and 0093); and
perform the same-PCI satellite switch to the second satellite based on the configuration information indicating the same-PCI satellite switch (i.e., performing the switch over from the first satellite to the second satellite as shown in Fig. 6).
Uemura, however, does not expressly disclose receive, via broadcast signaling, configuration information.
In a similar endeavor, Lauridsen discloses random access procedure selection. Lauridsen also discloses receive, via broadcast signaling, configuration information (i.e., the configuration message is received at the UE comprises an RA preamble index and/or PRACH occasion as described in paragraphs 0151-0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to establish a connection with the network.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the configuration information comprises an indication of a start time and an indication of an end time for the same-PCI satellite switch from the first satellite to the second satellite (i.e., the start and end time as described in paragraphs 0084 and 0090).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the processor is configured to start a resynchronization for the same-PCI satellite switch based on the configuration information (i.e., resynchronization as described in paragraphs 0094-0096).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the processor is configured to perform the same-PCT satellite switch during a time period associated with the resynchronization (i.e., the UE acquires synchronization of the downlink signal and performs control based on switching timing as described in paragraphs 0086-0090).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the processor is configured to start the resynchronization based on the indication of the start time and the indication of the end time for the same-PCI satellite switch (i.e., the timing is based on the cell switching notification information received from the first cell or the basis of the UL validity time included in the system information received from the first cell as described in paragraph 0089).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the processor is configured to perform one or more resynchronization procedures in response to the same-PCI satellite switch (i.e., performing resynchronization procedure in S8 of Fig. 6 and as described in paragraph 0096).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the one or more resynchronization procedures comprise a timing advance calculation, a doppler compensation, a power control procedure, or a measurement procedure (i.e., using timing advance as described in paragraph 0097).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Uemura also discloses wherein the processor is configured to transmit assistance information that comprises a resynchronization duration, an indication that the WTRU can perform a synchronization procedure prior to the same-PCI satellite switch, and an indication of a time that the WTRU can resume communication with the second satellite after the same-PCI satellite switch (i.e., using the cell configuration information assigned in a dedicated manner in the first cell as is in the uplink resynchronization as described in paragraph 0096).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uemura in view of Lauridsen and further in view of Ji et al. as cited in IDS dated December 23, 2024 (hereinafter “Ji”, US 2024/0179591).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Uemura and Lauridsen disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above but do not expressly disclose features of these claims.
In a similar endeavor, Ji discloses an efficient configuring of a non-terrestrial network connection. Ji also discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive a configuration for the resynchronization that comprises a condition to declare resynchronization failure or resources to indicate successful resynchronization to the second satellite (i.e., the UE receives set of connection configurations as described in paragraphs 0075, 0093, 0108 and 0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to ensure the UE to be able to connect to a network successfully.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Uemura, Lauridsen and Ji disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Ji also discloses wherein the processor is configured to transmit a resynchronization successful indication in response to successful resynchronization to the second satellite (i.e., the UE transmits an indication that it applies the switching as described in paragraphs 0122-0123).
Conclusion
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644