DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 21 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 December 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,683,744 to Jolly et al. (“Jolly”) in view of Cheng et al.; A Programmable Dual-Regime Spray for Large-Scale and Custom-Designed Electronic Textiles; Adv. Mater. 2022, 34, 2108021; (“Cheng”).
With regard to Claims 1, 5, and 9, Jolly teaches a process of forming electrically conductive polymer in-situ on a fabric substrate to fabricate a conductive textile comprising combining monomer solution and oxidizing agent in a mixing chamber and depositing the mixed solution on the substrate through a deposition nozzle (see Abstract; FIG. 1; Col. 2, Lns. 20-33; Col. 2, Ln. 65 through Col. 3, Ln. 4; Col. 4, Lns. 8-11; Col. 4, Ln. 62 through Col. 5, Ln. 6).
Jolly describes separate storage of monomer and oxidizing agent and mixing to initiate polymerization prior to deposition (see FIG. 1; Col. 4, Ln. 62 through Col. 5, Ln. 6); however the reference does not teach atomization of material prior to mixing. Chang is similarly directed to producing conductive textiles, and teaches a dual-regime spray process wherein conductive material is atomized prior to introduction into a mixing chamber (see Abstract; § 2.1; FIG. 1). According to Chang, the disclosed process enables direct custom writing of conductive patterns at sub-millimeter resolution (see Abstract; Pg. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the dual-regime spray process of Chang to combine and deposit conductive polymer in the method of Jolly in order to form custom patterns of conductive material.
With regard to Claims 2 and 10, Chang teaches mixing at a first air flow speed and depositing through the nozzle at a greater air flow speed via application of atomization pressure (see Pg. 2).
With regard to Claims 3 and 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed different pressures to atomize and convey each of the monomer and oxidizing agent throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in obtaining a desired degree of flow for mixing in the process of Jolly in view of Chang.
With regard to Claims 4 and 12, Chang teaches air as a carrier gas and directing the gas through the mixing chamber in a tortuous path prior to entering the deposition nozzle (see FIG. 1).
With regard to Claim 6, Chang teaches forming sensing elements (see Pg. 7, § 3).
With regard to Claim 8, Jolly teaches polypyrrole (see Abstract).
2. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jolly in view of Chang as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 4,803,096 to Kuhn et al. (“Kuhn”).
With regard to Claim 7, Jolly teaches oxidative polymerization of pyrrole monomer via iron (III) chloride (see Abstract); however the reference does not expressly teach iron (III) chloride hexahydrate. Kuhn is similarly directed to production of electrically conductive textile materials, and teaches ferric chloride hexahydrate as an oxidizing agent for polymerization of pyrrole monomer (see Abstract; Col. 14, Lns. 5-19; Col. 21, Lns. 30-41). Jolly is noted as citing Kuhn as teaching known in-situ polymerization techniques (see Jolly at Col. 1, Lns. 26-34). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed iron (III) chloride hexahydrate as an oxidizing agent in the method of Jolly in view of Chang with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712