DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 December, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2 and 9 include the phrase “maximum endurance target value of the host device” which is not a well-known term in the art as written. As the applicant may act as their own lexicographer (see MPEP § 2111.01 Part A), the definition provided in ¶ 0046 of the term as “the maximum number of data bits that may be written from the host device to the data storage device” has been used to interpret the claim limitation. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in the event this interpretation is unintentional or incorrect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakchuare et al (U.S. Patent No. 9,570,159), hereinafter referred to as Wakchuare.
Wakchuare teaches a method performed by a data storage device (Fig. 1 SSD), the method comprising: receiving, by a controller of the data storage device, a data from a host device (Column 7, lines 19-21); detecting, by the controller of the data storage device, a failure in a power support component of the data storage device (Column 7, lines 33-41 disclose detecting a power failure and triggering data management); creating, by the controller, a block of single level cells (SLC) comprising one or more groups of memory cells from one or more blocks of multi-level cells (Column 2, lines 7-11 controller may allocate MLC cells as SLC; Fig. 1 cells are grouped into blocks), in a persistent memory of the data storage device (Column 8, lines 33-39 SLC memory is a reserved area for power loss; Fig. 5A shows data written to SLC (580) may be restored after power loss (585-595), meaning the SLC memory area is persistent), based on values of predefined data storage parameters (Column 2, lines 7-11 some predefined data storage parameter must functionally be used by a controller to create and identify a separate SLC region and MLC region, for example total size); and storing, by the controller, the data in the block of SLC (Fig. 5B step 581).
Claim 1 is additionally rejected with claims 2-6 and 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0385191).
In regard to claim 1, Zhou teaches a method performed by a data storage device (Fig. 1 memory subsystem 110), the method comprising: receiving, by a controller of the data storage device, a data from a host device (¶ 0040, lines 1-6); detecting, by the controller of the data storage device, a failure in a power support component of the data storage device (¶ 0065, lines 1-2); creating, by the controller, a block of single level cells (SLC) comprising one or more groups of memory cells from one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0065, lines 2-6), in a persistent memory of the data storage device (¶ 0025, lines 26-28 disclose using the method to mitigate data loss from writing to volatile memory, e.g. the SLC memory is persistent), based on values of predefined data storage parameters (¶ 0065 SLC blocks are created based on values in a look up table of blocks e.g. parameters); and storing, by the controller, the data in the block of SLC (¶ 0068).
As for claim 2, the previously cited references teach the method of claim 1. Additionally, Zhou teaches converting MLC blocks to SLC based on parameters including: an erasure cycle value of a total number of cells in the data storage device (Zhou ¶ 0053 discloses maintaining a target SLC block amount and ¶ 0076 discloses selecting blocks (e.g. some total number of cells) for SLC conversion based on a program-erase-cycle count), a maximum endurance target value of the host device (according to instant specification ¶ 0046, effectively equivalent to device operational lifetime (i.e. remaining program erase cycles as known in the art) mentioned in Zhou ¶ 0054), endurance of total number of memory cells in the one or more blocks of multi-level cells to serve the host device (¶ 0054, lines 4-9 target value may be based on endurance of second subset blocks e.g. normal host serving blocks), a maximum erasure cycle (¶ 0054, lines 4-17 disclose that target quantities of SLC may be based on an operational lifetime measured relative to expected average PEC counts, meaning that a maximum erasure cycle for the cells must be factored into such a calculation), a size of each of the one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0060, regions are formed based on page size ratio e.g. size of an MLC block will determine the number of SLC blocks), an average erasure cycle (¶ 0054, lines 9-15 average PEC cycle is a consideration), and a total data value written from the host device to the persistent memory of the data storage device before an occurrence of the failure of the power support component (If drawing only from a free block pool as disclosed (¶ 0076), the maintained number of SLC blocks is bound by the total number of currently occupied blocks (i.e. total data written)), achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 3, the previously cited references teach the method of claim 1. Additionally, Zhou teaches an embodiment wherein the creating, by the controller, the block of SLC comprises: determining, by the controller, a number of blocks to be extracted from the one or more blocks of multi-level cells for creating the block of SLC based on endurance of a total number of memory cells in the one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0054, lines 1-9 target number of SLC blocks may be based on expected operational lifetime of the device i.e. endurance of all cells); extracting, by the controller, the determined number of blocks from the one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0054, lines 30-35 blocks may be garbage collected to permit inclusion in SLC subset); and creating, by the controller, the block of SLC from the extracted one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0054, lines 35-45 the subset is generated and then maintained as needed), achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 4, the previously cited references teach the method of claim 1. Additionally, Zhou teaches an embodiment wherein the creating, by the controller, the block of SLC further comprises determining a count of the block of SLC based on a function of a total number of memory blocks in the data storage device and a predetermined number of the one or more blocks of multi-level cells required in the data storage device. Zhou ¶ 0053 discloses maintaining a target SLC block amount and ¶ 0054 discloses that the amount may be designated based on the operational lifetime of the whole device (i.e. must be some function of the total number of blocks; see lines 1-4). The amount may be additionally based on equalizing the endurance of SLC and MLC regions (lines 4-15), which must result in some ratio of SLC to MLC blocks according to write amplification. This ratio is a function of a predetermined number of MLC blocks, achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 5, the previously cited references teach the method of claim 4. Additionally, Zhou teaches an embodiment wherein the predetermined number of the one or more blocks of multi-level cells required in the data storage device is determined (¶ 0053 discloses maintaining a target SLC block amount and ¶ 0054 discloses that the amount may be designated based on equalizing the endurance of SLC and MLC regions (lines 4-15), which must result in some ratio of SLC to MLC blocks and therefore a predetermined number of MLC blocks) based on at least one of: a Write Amplification Factor (WAF) corresponding to the respective one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0054, lines 15-17), a remaining erasure cycle (¶ 0054, lines 4-8 operational lifetime), and a size of the one or more blocks of multi-level cells (¶ 0060, regions are formed based on page size ratio e.g. size of an MLC block will determine the ratio of SLC blocks vs MLC blocks). Additionally, if drawing only from a free block pool as disclosed (¶ 0076), the maintained number of SLC blocks and therefore the maintained number of MLC blocks are bound by the remaining write capacity of the one or more blocks of multi-level cells, achieving the claimed limitation.
As for claim 6, the previously cited references teach the method of claim 1. Additionally, Zhou teaches an embodiment further comprising transferring the data from the block of SLC to the one or more blocks of multi-level cells based on predefined SLC parameters. Zhou ¶ 0070, lines 20-24 disclose transferring blocks from SLC to MLC based on a target value of SLC data i.e. a predefined SLC parameter.
As for claim 8, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 1 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 9, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 2 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 10, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 3 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 11, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 4 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 12, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 5 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
As for claim 13, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 6 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Pratt (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0050627).
In regard to claim 7, the previously cited references teach the method of claim 6. Additionally, Zhou teaches an embodiment wherein the predefined SLC parameters comprise data capacity of the block of SLC. Zhou ¶ 0070, lines 20-24 disclose folding blocks from SLC to MLC based on a target value of SLC data written i.e. the number of SLC blocks folded would be based on their data capacity. Zhou does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claim 7. However, Pratt teaches folding SLC blocks based on SLC parameters including design (¶ 0055, lines 1-8 number of power cycles needed to avoid an over-temperature state e.g. thermal design power) and a halt state of the block (¶ 0055, lines 14-18 disclose a flag to prevent data transfer out of SLC), achieving the claimed limitation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the disclosure of Pratt in order to address potential damage caused by higher temperatures during data migration (¶ 0055, lines 1-6). As for claim 14, Applicant is directed to the rejection of claim 7 as the claims include the same limitations and are therefore rejected on the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0241765) is directed to methods of wear leveling using SLC and MLC blocks.
“GD-FTL” is directed to preserving memory device endurance by swapping blocks to SLC modes over time.
/ZAKARIA MOHAMMED BELKHAYAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2139
/REGINALD G BRAGDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2139