DETAILED ACTION
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 6, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US Pub. 2016/0154290).
In regard to claim 1, Brown discloses an insulated glazing unit (IGU) as shown in Fig. 1A, comprising: a first pane, a second pane, and one or more seals, wherein the first pane (110) and the second pane (115) run parallel to one another (See [0066] and [0112]), and wherein the one or more seals form a glazing interior space with the first pane and the second pane; wherein the glazing interior space comprises one or more recipient devices and a plurality of busbars (two busbars 110), wherein each of the plurality of busbars is coupled to at least one of the one or more recipient devices (Fig 2E window controller 220 includes a plurality sensors as claimed recipient devices); a conductor (1010 as shown in Fig 10A), comprising a plurality of conducting elements (1010 a-c, see [0121]), wherein each of the conducting elements is respectively electrically connected to different ones of the plurality of busbars (1125a and 1125b shown in Figs 11A-C) providing respective ones of at least one of power and control signal received from a controller (140 shown in Fig 1A) for one or more recipient devices, wherein the conductor penetrates at least one of the one or more seals at a location where at least two of the plurality of busbars are available for connection (See [0140]).
In regard to claim 2, Brown discloses the IGU of claim 1, wherein the conductor is directly connected to the controller in an exterior space with respect to the IGU as shown in Fig 1, 10A-F and 11A-C).
In regard to claim 3, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein the conductor is connected via one or more wires (1030) to the controller in an exterior space with respect to the IGU (see [126]).
In regard to claim 4, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein the conductor comprises two or more legs that respectively include two or more of the plurality of conducting elements (1010a-c) and penetrate the at least one seal of the one or more seals (Fig 10A).
In regard to claim 5, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein the conductor comprises two or more legs that respectively include a single (1010a) one of the pluralities of conducting elements and penetrate the at least one seal of the one or more seals (Fig 10A).
In regard to claim 6, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein the conductor comprises a single leg (1010a) that includes the plurality of conducting elements and penetrates the at least one seal of the one or more seals.
In regard to claim 7, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more recipient devices (sensors) is an electrochromic device (Fig 2E).
In regard to claim 8, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein at least one of the conducting elements (pogo pin 1010a) is soldered to one of the plurality of busbars using a pin (1006, see [0121]0).
In regard to claim 9, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein at least one of the conducting elements (1010b) is respectively soldered to one of the plurality of busbars using a pad (1015, see [0122]).
In regard to claim 10, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, further comprising a spacer with two pane contact surfaces that run parallel to one another, wherein a first pane contact surface is connected with the first pane and a second pane contact surface is connected with the second pane, wherein the first pane contact surface and the second contact pane surface are connected via the one or more seals (see [0066]).
In regard to claim 11, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 1, wherein the conductor is a flexible conductor that is placed next to another surface of the spacer that does not contact the first pane or the second pane (see Fig 10A).
In regard to claim 12, similar scope to claims 1-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 13 similar scope to claims 1-4 and 8, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 14 similar scope to claims 1-4 and 9, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 15 similar scope to claims 1-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 16 similar scope to claims 1-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 17 similar scope to claims 1-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 18 similar scope to claims 1-4 and 10, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
In regard to claim 19, Brown discloses The IGU of claim 12, wherein the conductor is a flat conductor (1015) with a thickness less than half of at one seal of the one or more seals of the IGU (1004), wherein the one or more legs penetrate the at least one seal to reach the two or more of the plurality of busbars (See Fig.10A).
In regard to claim 20, similar scope to claims 1-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638