CTNF 18/999,888 CTNF 91474 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “two limiting holes” in line 2 and “limiting holes” in line 4. It is confusing to the examiner if both are the same element or not. Examiner interpreted as the same claim limitation. Applicant is required to confirm the interpretation. Claim 14 recites “two limiting holes” in line 3 and “limiting holes” in line 6. It is confusing to the examiner if both are the same element or not. Examiner interpreted as the same claim limitation. Applicant is required to confirm the interpretation. Claims 2-13 are rejected being depend on claims 1 and 15-20 are rejected being depend on claim 14. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 5, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US Pub No. 2008/0283118 A1 and Ji hereinafter) in view of Jiang et al (US Patent No. 12058276 B2 and Jiang hereinafter) Regarding Claim 1, Ji discloses (figs. 1-12B) a hinge mechanism comprising: a fastening support (321) comprising two limiting holes disposed at an interval in a first direction (X); two end gears; limiting holes; a transmission assembly comprising: two first connecting members (324 and 325) located on two sides of the fastening support in the first direction, wherein the two first connecting members comprise end gears configured to couple to rotation portions located on a same side of the two first connecting members (fig.12B); and a transmission gear group located between the two end gears and engaged with the two end gears (fig.4); two first transmission shafts (HS1 and HS2) extending in a second direction (Y), wherein each of the two first transmission shafts passes through a corresponding end gear of the two end gears and a corresponding limiting hole of the limiting holes (fig.4), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein the two first transmission shafts are configured to rotate the two first connecting members relative to the fastening support (fig.4). PNG media_image1.png 662 742 media_image1.png Greyscale Ji does not explicitly disclose a clamping assembly configured to cooperate around circumferences of the two first transmission shafts relative to the fastening support in a limiting manner; wherein the clamping assembly comprises a first clamping member and a second clamping member, wherein the first clamping member and the second clamping member are sleeved on the two first transmission shafts and configured to clamp the fastening support and the transmission assembly in the second direction, and wherein the second clamping member is further configured to couple to the two first transmission shafts in a limiting manner in the second direction to make the second clamping member be proximate to the fastening support in the second direction; and a first elastic portion comprising: a first end configured to drive on the first clamping member; and a second end configured to drive on each of the two first transmission shafts. However, Jiang teaches (figs. 1-21) a clamping assembly configured to cooperate around circumferences of the two first transmission shafts (311 and 312) relative to the fastening support in a limiting manner; wherein the clamping assembly comprises a first clamping member (309) and a second clamping member (310), wherein the first clamping member and the second clamping member are sleeved on the two first transmission shafts and configured to clamp the fastening support and the transmission assembly (C1 and C2) in the second direction (fig.4), and wherein the second clamping member is further configured to couple to the two first transmission shafts in a limiting manner in the second direction to make the second clamping member be proximate to the fastening support (301) in the second direction; and a first elastic portion (314) comprising: a first end configured to drive on the first clamping member; and a second end configured to drive on each of the two first transmission shafts (fig.11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clamping assembly of Jiang to device of Ji in order to provide a position limiting member for the smoothness of folding of the display device and the synchronization of both sides (Jiang and Col 3, lines 10-15) Regarding Claim 5, Ji/Jiang discloses hinge mechanism of claim 1. Ji further teaches wherein the fastening support further comprises: a first part (P1) in the second direction, wherein the two limiting holes are provided on the first part; and a second part (P2) in the second direction, disposed between the two first transmission shafts, and configured to be fastened to a fastening portion (322-323, see annotated fig above). Regarding Claim 1, Ji discloses (figs. 1-12B) a foldable electronic device comprising: a hinge mechanism comprising: a fastening support (321) comprising two limiting holes disposed at an interval in a first direction (X); two end gears; limiting holes; a transmission assembly comprising: two first connecting members (324 and 325) located on two sides of the fastening support in the first direction, wherein the two first connecting members comprise end gears configured to couple to rotation portions located on a same side of the two first connecting members (fig.12B); and a transmission gear group located between the two end gears and engaged with the two end gears (fig.4); two first transmission shafts (HS1 and HS2) extending in a second direction (Y), wherein each of the two first transmission shafts passes through a corresponding end gear of the two end gears and a corresponding limiting hole of the limiting holes (fig.4), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein the two first transmission shafts are configured to rotate the two first connecting members relative to the fastening support (fig.4). PNG media_image1.png 662 742 media_image1.png Greyscale Ji does not explicitly disclose a clamping assembly configured to cooperate around circumferences of the two first transmission shafts relative to the fastening support in a limiting manner; wherein the clamping assembly comprises a first clamping member and a second clamping member, wherein the first clamping member and the second clamping member are sleeved on the two first transmission shafts and configured to clamp the fastening support and the transmission assembly in the second direction, and wherein the second clamping member is further configured to couple to the two first transmission shafts in a limiting manner in the second direction to make the second clamping member be proximate to the fastening support in the second direction; and a first elastic portion comprising: a first end configured to drive on the first clamping member; and a second end configured to drive on each of the two first transmission shafts. However, Jiang teaches (figs. 1-21) a clamping assembly configured to cooperate around circumferences of the two first transmission shafts (311 and 312) relative to the fastening support in a limiting manner; wherein the clamping assembly comprises a first clamping member (309) and a second clamping member (310), wherein the first clamping member and the second clamping member are sleeved on the two first transmission shafts and configured to clamp the fastening support and the transmission assembly (C1 and C2) in the second direction (fig.4), and wherein the second clamping member is further configured to couple to the two first transmission shafts in a limiting manner in the second direction to make the second clamping member be proximate to the fastening support (301) in the second direction; and a first elastic portion (314) comprising: a first end configured to drive on the first clamping member; and a second end configured to drive on each of the two first transmission shafts (fig.11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a clamping assembly of Jiang to device of Ji in order to provide a position limiting member for the smoothness of folding of the display device and the synchronization of both sides (Jiang and Col 3, lines 10-15) Regarding Claim 18, Ji/Jiang discloses the foldable electronic device of claim 14. Ji further teaches a base comprising a fastening portion (322-323), wherein the fastening support further comprises: a first part (P1) in the second direction, wherein the two limiting holes are provided on the first part; and a second part (P2) in the second direction, disposed between the two first transmission shafts, and configured to be fastened to a fastening portion (see annotated fig above) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-4, 6-13, 15-17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claims 2 and 15, the prior art fails to disclose, “wherein the transmission assembly further comprises a third end facing away from the fastening support, wherein the first clamping member is located at the third end and comprises a fourth end that faces the fastening support and that has two first cam surfaces, wherein each of the two first connecting members comprises a fifth end that faces the first clamping member and that has a second cam surface configured to abut against each of the two first cam surfaces.” Regarding claims 3 and 16, the prior art fails to disclose, wherein the fastening support further comprises a third end facing away from the transmission assembly, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises two second connecting members located on the two sides in the first direction, wherein each of the two second connecting members is configured to be coupled to the one rotation portion, wherein the second clamping member is located at the third end and comprises a fourth end that faces the fastening support and that has a first cam surface, wherein each of the two second connecting members is disposed between the second clamping member and the fastening support and comprises a fifth end that faces the second clamping member and has a second cam surface, wherein the first clamping member and the second clamping member are configured to clamp the two second connecting members, the fastening support, and the transmission assembly in the second direction, and wherein the first cam surface is configured to abut against the second cam surface.” Claims 4 and 17 are objected being depend on claims 3 and 16. Regarding claims 6 and 19, “wherein the transmission gear group comprises two middle gears, wherein the fastening support further comprises a limiting slot, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises a second transmission shaft extending in the second direction, configured to pass through the two middle gears, and inserted into the limiting slot to limit movement of the two middle gears relative to the fastening support.” Claims 7-13 are objected being depend on claim 6 and Claim 20 is objected being depend on claim 19. However, the prior art (Included in PTO 892), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)272-1602. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8 AM - 4:30 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Allen L Parker can be reached at 303-297-4722. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/999,888 Page 8 Art Unit: 2841