Detailed Action
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 5, 7-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Each of claims 5 and 7-14 depends on claim 1 and claim 20 depends on claim 15 but each of claims 5, 7-14, and 20 recites elements that depend on elements recited in other dependent claims, thus creating issues of undefined scope for a person of ordinary skill in the art. See the list below:
claim 5 recites “receiving a fifth user operation” but there are no second, third, or fourth user operations recited prior;
claim 7 recites “displaying a fifth interface” but there are no third or fourth interfaces recited, and “receiving a sixth user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, or fifth user operations recited;
claim 8 recites “receiving a seventh user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth or sixth user operations recited;
claim 9 recites “receiving an eighth user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, or seventh user operations recited;
claim 10 recites “receiving a tenth user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, or ninth user operations recited, and “modifying the first content to seventh content” but there are no third, fourth, fifth, sixth, or seventh content recited;
claim 11 recites “receiving an eleventh user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, or tenth user operations recited;
claim 12 recites “wherein the first card set further comprises a sixth card” but there are no second, third, fourth, or fifth cards recited, and “receiving a twelfth user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, or eleventh user operations recited;
claim 13 recites “first card set further comprises a seventh card” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, or sixth cards recited, and “receiving a thirteenth user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, or twelfth user operations recited;
claim 14 recites “receiving a fourteenth user operation” but there are no second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, twelfth, or thirteenth user operations recited, “displaying a seventh interface” but there are no third, fourth, fifth, or sixth interfaces recited, and “obtaining eighth content comprised in a ninth card in the first card set” but there are no third, forth, fifth, sixth, or seventh content recited or a second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, or eighth card recited; and
claim 20 recites “displaying a third interface” but there is no second interface recited, “receiving a third user operation” but there is no second user operation recited, and “displaying a fourth interface, wherein the fourth interface comprises a third card in the first card set” but there is no second card recited.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to mental processes without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites obtaining a first key word entered by a user; and generating a first card set in response to the first user operation, wherein the first card set comprises a first card, the first card comprises first content and second content, the first web page comprises the first content, and the second web page comprises the second content. Obtaining a key word is obtaining data and a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper, and generating a first card set is generating data and also a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 1 recites additional elements of sending a first search request to a network device, wherein the first search request indicates the first key word; receiving a search result set from the network device based on the first search request; displaying a first interface, wherein the first interface indicates the search result set, the search result set comprises a first search result and a second search result, the first search result is related to a first web page, and the second search result is related to a second web page; receiving a first user operation; and displaying a second interface after the first user operation, wherein the second interface comprises the first card. Receiving a search result set and receiving a user operation are input steps and insignificant extra-solution activity; and sending a first search request, displaying a first interface, and displaying a second interface are output steps and also insignificant extra-solution activity. Examiner notes specification paragraph 0003 states “content displayed by the terminal (especially a terminal such as a mobile phone with a small size) at a time is limited. Therefore, the user needs to spend a large amount of time searching for the required content, search efficiency is low, and user experience is poor.” Specification paragraphs 0006-0085 describes different steps taken by the invention, many of which are not recited, plus the claim steps do not recite a particular improvement in any technology or function of a computer per MPEP 2106.04(d) and do not recite any unconventional steps in the invention per MPEP 2106.05(a). Therefore, the recited mental processes are not integrated into a practical application. Taking the claim as a whole, the input and output steps are each recited broadly and amount to sending and receiving data across a network per the claims (“to/from a network device”) and specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and are each routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II. Thus the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited mental processes.
Independent claim 15 recites obtaining first information related to the first web page, wherein the first information is a first key word used for searching for the first web page, or the first information is obtained based on a selection operation performed by a user on the first web page; and generating a first card set in response to the first user operation, wherein the first card set comprises a first card, the first card comprises first content of the first web page and second content of the first web page, and both the first content and the second content are associated with the first information. Obtaining first information is obtaining data and a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper, and generating a first card set is generating data and also a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 15 recites additional elements of displaying a first web page; receiving a first user operation; and displaying a first interface after the first user operation, wherein the first interface comprises the first card. Receiving a user operation is an input step and insignificant extra-solution activity, and displaying a web page and a first interface are output steps and also insignificant extra-solution activity. Examiner notes specification paragraph 0003 describing problems in the art and 0006-0085 describing how the invention addresses said problems, many of which are not recited, plus the claim steps do not recite a particular improvement in any technology or function of a computer per MPEP 2106.04(d) and do not recite any unconventional steps in the invention per MPEP 2106.05(a). Therefore, the recited mental processes are not integrated into a practical application. Taking the claims as a whole, the input and output steps are each recited broadly and amount to sending and receiving data across a network per the claims (“to/from a network device”) and specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and are each routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II. Thus the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited mental processes.
Claim 2 recites receiving a second user operation performed on the first search result in the first interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; displaying the first web page, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; receiving a third user operation, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; generating a second card set in response to the third user operation, wherein the second card set comprises a second card, and the first card comprises third content of the first web page and fourth content of the first web page, and generating data is recited broadly and is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; and displaying a third interface, wherein the third interface comprises the second card, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II.
Claim 3 recites receiving a selection operation performed by the user on the first web page, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; obtaining first information based on the selection operation, and obtaining data is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; receiving a fourth user operation, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; generating a third card in response to the fourth user operation, wherein the third card is in the second card set, the third card comprises fifth content of the first web page and sixth content of the first web page, and both the fifth content and the sixth content are associated with the first information; and displaying a fourth interface, wherein the fourth interface comprises the third card, and generating a third card is generating data and is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 4 recites wherein the first card set further comprises a fourth card, the first card comprises content of a first type, the fourth card comprises content of a second type, and the first type is different from the second type, and a card is data and a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper.
Claim 5 recites receiving a fifth user operation, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; in response to the fifth user operation, selecting the first search result and the second search result from the search result set, and selecting a search result is a judgement and a mental process; and generating the first card set based on the first search result and the second search result, and generating a card set is generating data and is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 6 recites wherein a first similarity between the first content and the first key word is greater than a second similarity between the second content and the first key word, the first content is located before the second content, and determining similarity is judgement and a mental process; or wherein the first search result is located before the second search result, the first content is located before the second content, and locating a search result in a display (specification paragraph 0131) is displaying data, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II).
Claim 7 recites displaying a fifth interface, wherein the fifth interface comprises a first control, the fifth interface is a desktop of the electronic device, a leftmost screen, or a favorites page of a first application, and the first control is associated with the first card set, and displaying an interface is displaying data, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II); receiving a sixth user operation performed on the first control, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and displaying a sixth interface, wherein the sixth interface comprises a fifth card in the first card set, and displaying an interface is displaying data, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II). Claim 8 recites receiving a seventh user operation performed on the first content in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and displaying the first web page, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II).
Claim 9 recites receiving an eighth user operation performed on the first card in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and deleting the first card in response to the eighth user operation, and deleting data is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; or receiving a ninth user operation performed on the first content in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and deleting the first content in response to the ninth user operation, and deleting data is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 10 recites receiving a tenth user operation performed on the first content in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; modifying the first content to seventh content in response to the tenth user operation, and modifying data is recited broadly and is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; and displaying the seventh content in the first card, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II).
Claim 11 recites receiving an eleventh user operation performed on the first content in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; adjusting display positions of the first content and the second content in the first card in response to the eleventh user operation, which is displaying data and recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II); and after the adjusting, displaying the first card, wherein the first content in the first card is located after the second content, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II). Claim 12 recites receiving a twelfth user operation performed on the first content in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and moving the first content from the first card to the sixth card in response to the twelfth user operation, wherein in response to the twelfth user operation, the first card does not comprise the first content, and the sixth card comprises the first content, and moving data is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II.
Claim 13 recites receiving a thirteenth user operation performed on the first card in the second interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and combining the first card and the seventh card into an eighth card in response to the thirteenth user operation, wherein the eighth card comprises content in the first card and content in the seventh card, and combining cards is combining data and is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 14 recites receiving a fourteenth user operation, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; displaying a seventh interface, wherein the seventh interface comprises content of a card in the first card set, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; receiving a fifteenth user operation performed on the seventh interface, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; obtaining eighth content comprised in a ninth card in the first card set based on the fifteenth user operation, and obtaining content is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; receiving a sixteenth user operation, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; generating a tenth card in response to the sixteenth user operation, wherein the tenth card is in the first card set, and the tenth card comprises the eighth content, and generating a card is generating data and a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; and displaying an eighth interface, wherein the eighth interface comprises the tenth card, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II.
Claim 16 recites obtaining the first key word entered by the user, and obtaining content is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper; sending a first search request to a network device, wherein the first search request indicates the first key word, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; receiving a search result set from the network device based on the first search request, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; displaying a second interface, wherein the second interface comprises the search result set, the search result set comprises a first search result and a second search result, the first search result is related to the first web page, and the second search result is related to a second web page; receiving a second user operation performed on the first search result, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II; and displaying the first web page in response to the second user operation, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II.
Claim 17 recites wherein, based on that the first information is the information obtained based on the selection operation performed by the user on the first web page, the first information comprises at least one of a text, a picture, an audio, or a video in the first web page, and comprising data is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 18 recites wherein, based on that the first information comprises the at least one of the text, the picture, the audio, or the video in the first web page, the first card set further comprises a second card, the first card comprises content of a first type, the second card comprises content of a second type, and the first type is different from the second type, and comprising data is a mental process accomplishable in the human mind or on paper. Claim 19 recites wherein a first similarity between the first content and the first information is greater than a second similarity between the second content, the first content in the first card is located before the second content, and locating a search result in a display (specification paragraph 0131) is displaying data, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II); or wherein the first content in the first web page is located before the second content, the first content in the first card is located before the second content, and locating a search result in a display (specification paragraph 0131) is displaying data, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II). Claim 20 recites displaying a third interface, wherein the third interface comprises a first control, the third interface is a desktop of the electronic device, a leftmost screen, or a favorites page of a first application, and the first control is associated with the first card set, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II); receiving a third user operation performed on the first control, which is recited broadly and amounts to receiving data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II); and displaying a fourth interface, wherein the fourth interface comprises a third card in the first card set, which is recited broadly and amounts to sending data across a network per specification paragraph 0138 and figures 1A and 1B, and is routine and conventional activities per the list of such activities in MPEP 2106.05(d) part II).
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al (US 20250131045), hereafter known as Jiang.
With respect to claim 1, Jiang teaches:
obtaining a first key word entered by a user (paragraph 0046 obtain keyword for search);
sending a first search request to a network device, wherein the first search request indicates the first key word (paragraph 0046 perform a search, paragraph 0050 sent across a network);
receiving a search result set from the network device based on the first search request (paragraph 0046 receive search result set);
displaying a first interface, wherein the first interface indicates the search result set, the search result set comprises a first search result and a second search result, the first search result is related to a first web page, and the second search result is related to a second web page (paragraphs 0053, 0049, 0077 display interface with search result set, content for each result);
receiving a first user operation (paragraph 0087 receive trigger operation);
generating a first card set in response to the first user operation, wherein the first card set comprises a first card, the first card comprises first content and second content, the first web page comprises the first content, and the second web page comprises the second content (paragraph 0087, 0091 generate full snippet of search result); and
displaying a second interface after the first user operation, wherein the second interface comprises the first card (paragraphs 0087, 0091 after trigger operation display complete snippet of content in a second interface).
With respect to claim 15, Jiang teaches:
displaying a first web page (paragraph 0045 display webpage for receiving keyword for search);
obtaining first information related to the first web page, wherein the first information is a first key word used for searching for the first web page, or the first information is obtained based on a selection operation performed by a user on the first web page (paragraph 0046 obtain keyword for search content, paragraphs 0053, 0077 display search results with snippets for search results);
receiving a first user operation (paragraph 0092 pressing the “expand” button 205 on the interface);
generating a first card set in response to the first user operation, wherein the first card set comprises a first card, the first card comprises first content of the first web page and second content of the first web page, and both the first content and the second content are associated with the first information (paragraph 0087, 0091 generate full snippet of search result); and
displaying a first interface after the first user operation, wherein the first interface comprises the first card (paragraphs 0087, 0091 after trigger operation display complete snippet of content in a second interface).
With respect to claim 16, Jiang teaches:
obtaining the first key word entered by the user (paragraph 0046 obtain keyword for search);
sending a first search request to a network device, wherein the first search request indicates the first key word (paragraph 0046 perform a search, paragraph 0050 sent across a network);
receiving a search result set from the network device based on the first search request (paragraph 0046 receive search result set);
displaying a second interface, wherein the second interface comprises the search result set, the search result set comprises a first search result and a second search result, the first search result is related to the first web page, and the second search result is related to a second web page (paragraphs 0053, 0077 display interface with snippets of web pages from search result set);
receiving a second user operation performed on the first search result (paragraph 0087 receive trigger operation); and
displaying the first web page in response to the second user operation (paragraphs 0087, 0091 after trigger operation display complete snippet of content in a second interface).
Relevant Prior Art
During his search for prior art, Examiner found the following references to be relevant to Applicant's claimed invention. Each reference is listed on the Notice of References form included in this office action:
Chen (US 20240086450) teaches displaying contents by region on a result page related to a search, does not teach a second interface of a webpage or a second webpage with result contents (paragraphs 0006-0022, 0094, 0204—0106 figure 2);
Povlopolou et al (US 11,868,380) teaches receiving queries via a speech processing service and querying a dataset using topics and subtopics, generates answer portions from different websites and presents a summary of all answers via sentence compression, does not teach displaying results from different webpages (columns 6-10 lines 52-65 figures 2B, 3); and
Fontes et al (US 8,527,491) teaches a keyword search, obtain search results, display an interface with first and second snippets from webpages, receive a user selection, then display expanded text from the selected result, does not teach displaying expanded text for additional webpages (column1 lines 51-59, columns 5-8 lines 31-29 figures 4-9).
Inquiry
/BRUCE M MOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154 10/29/25