DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office action is in response to the claims filed on 12/23/2024,
Claims 16-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Neill et al. (US 5,904,131).
As to claim 16 O’Neill discloses a system comprising:
a mass-flow throttle (56) operatively connected with an internal combustion (60) engine for
controlling a mass-flow through an input of the internal combustion engine (column 2 lines 25-35), wherein the mass flow is a mass flow of gaseous fuel or air or a mixture of the air and the gaseous fuel (column 2 lines 20-25);
an oxygen sensor (column 4 lines 35-45) positioned in an exhaust manifold (70) associated with the internal combustion engine (60), the exhaust manifold positioned downstream of the mass-flow throttle (56), the oxygen sensor being configured to sense an oxygen content in the gaseous fuel (column 1 lines 35-40); and one or more controllers (80) associated with the internal combustion engine (60) the one or more controller’s being
configured to:
receive a first data signal relating to a mass flow of the gaseous fuel (column 2 lines 1-10);
receive a second data signal relating to a mass flow of the air (column 5 lines 5-30);
receive a third data signal relating to the oxygen content in the gaseous fuel (column 2 lines 45-50),
determine an actual air-fuel ratio based on the oxygen content in the gaseous fuel (column 12 line 25);
determine a target air-fuel ratio for the internal combustion engine (column 5 lines 1-5);
calculate an error measure based on a difference between the actual air-fuel ratio and the target air-fuel ratio (column 5 lines 30-45);
infer one or more fuel properties based on the error measure and a fuel property database (the property is fuel mass flow, see column 5 lines 45-50)
including fuel properties corresponding to respective measures of error (see it listed as an error term in column 5 lines 45-50); and
adjust an operating condition of the internal combustion engine based on the one or more fuel properties. (Compensator 132 further refines and limits this error term as a function of Ma and the open loop fuel signal output by operator 120 to provide a closed loop fuel flow signal 136 column 5 lines 45-50).
As to claim 17 O’Neill discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the one or more controllers are configured to infer the one or more fuel properties based on the fuel property database interpolating known fuel properties (the fuel flow amount) associated with the error measure in the fuel property database. (Compensator 132 further refines and limits this error term as a function of Ma and the open loop fuel signal output by operator 120 to provide a closed loop fuel flow signal 136 column 5 lines 45-50).
As to claim 18 O’Neill discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the one or more controllers comprises an engine control module (ECM) (80) of the internal combustion engine (60).
As to claim 19 O’Neill discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the one or more controllers are configured to adjust the operating condition (fuel flow) of the internal combustion engine based on the one or more fuel properties by:
determining a target operating condition of the internal combustion engine corresponding to the one or more fuel properties based on the fuel property database; and
controlling the operating condition of the internal combustion engine to achieve the target operating condition (target air-fuel ratio).
As to claim 20 O’Neill discloses the system of claim 19, wherein determining the target operating condition of the internal combustion engine corresponding to the one or more fuel properties comprises
determining a target spark advance corresponding to the one or more fuel properties based on interpolating known fuel properties associated with the one or more fuel properties in the fuel property database (the engine is a spark ignited engine column 2 lines 55-60 it is a running engine therefore the spark advance or timing is already interpolated or else the engine would not run).
As to claim 21. (New) The system of claim 19, wherein determining the target operating condition of the internal combustion engine corresponding to the one or more fuel properties comprises determining a load limit corresponding to the one or more fuel properties based on interpolating known fuel properties associated with the one or more fuel properties in the fuel property database. (Engines all operate according to the load limit of the fuel. When the engine is stalling because the fuel amount is not creating enough power the operator will give more throttle increasing the fuel amount and air amount to prevent the stall,) (column 4 lines 10-25 shown the throttles that operate to the load limit of maintaining a engine idle) (column 10 lines 55-60 discloses the throttle controlling the performance of the engine)
Conclusion
SHERMAN D. MANLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747