DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leslie et al. (US 10,502,059 B2) hereinafter Leslie.
Regarding claim 1, Leslie teaches a gas turbine engine (Fig. 1), comprising:
an annular engine flange having an engine flange attachment flange (EFAF) (58) that includes a plurality of EFAF apertures (100) (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 4-19) each of the plurality of EFAF apertures having an EFAF aperture inner diameter (Fig. 3);
an annular center body having a center body assembly (68), the center body assembly extending axially between a forward end and an aft end (Fig. 3, Col. 6, lines 4-19) the center body assembly having a center body assembly attachment flange (CBAAF) (68) disposed at the forward end of the center body assembly, the CBAAF including a plurality of CBAAF apertures (94) (Figs. 2-3), each of the plurality of CBAAF apertures having an CBAAF aperture inner diameter (Figs. 2-3), wherein the CBAAF aperture inner diameter is greater than the EFAF aperture inner diameter (Fig. 3 shows the inner diameter of aperture 94 larger than inner diameter of aperture 100), and wherein the EFAF is disposed forward from the CBAAF (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 4-19); and
a plurality of fastener assemblies, each of the plurality of fastener assembly assemblies including:
a fastener having a collar (80) disposed axially between a first attachment segment and a second attachment segment (Figs. 3-4; (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 4-19), wherein the collar has an outer radial surface disposed at a collar outer diameter, and wherein the collar outer diameter is greater than the EFAF aperture inner diameter and lesser than the CBAAF aperture inner diameter (Figs. 3-4 shows the outer diameter of collar greater that the inner diameter of aperture 100);
a first nut (74) (Fig. 3, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3); and
a second nut (72) (Fig. 3, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3);
wherein in an assembled form, the collar of each of the plurality of fastener assemblies said fastener assembly is are disposed within a respective said CBAAF aperture and is in contact with the engine flange (Col. 7, lines 1-18) and the first nut is threadedly engaged with the first attachment segment to fix the fastener to the engine flange, and the second nut is threadedly engaged with the second attachment segment to fix the center body assembly attachment flange to the engine flange (Figs. 3-4, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3).
Regarding claim 2, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Leslie further teaches each of the plurality of fastener assemblies includes a first washer (118) disposed between the first nut and the engine flange, the first washer (FW) having an FW inner diameter that receives the first attachment segment of the respective fastener and a FW outer diameter that is greater than the EFAF aperture inner diameter of the respective EFAF aperture (Fig. 3; Col. 7, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 3, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Leslie further teaches each of the plurality of fastener assemblies includes a second washer (76) disposed between the second nut and the center body assembly attachment flange, the second washer (SW) having an SW inner diameter that receives the second attachment segment of the respective fastener and a SW outer diameter that is greater than the CBAAF aperture inner diameter of the respective CBAAF aperture (Fig. 3, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3).
Regarding claim 4, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Leslie further teaches the collar of each said fastener has a collar axial thickness and the center body assembly attachment flange has a CBAAF axial thickness, and the collar axial thickness is less than the CBAAF axial thickness (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Leslie further teaches the collar the second attachment segment (SAS) has a SAS outer diameter, and the SAS outer diameter is less than the collar outer diameter (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Leslie teaches A fastener assembly for attaching a first flange (FF) (58) to a second flange (SF) (68), the first flange having a plurality of FF apertures (100) each having a FF aperture inner diameter (Fig. 3; Col. 6, lines 4-19 , and the second flange having a plurality of SF apertures (94) each having an SF aperture inner diameter, wherein the SF aperture inner diameter is greater than the FF aperture inner diameter (Fig. 3 shows the inner diameter of aperture 94 larger than inner diameter of aperture 100), the fastener assembly comprising:
a fastener having a collar (80) disposed axially between a first attachment segment and a second attachment segment (Figs. 3-4), wherein the collar has an outer radial surface disposed at a collar outer diameter, and wherein the collar outer diameter is greater than the FF aperture inner diameter and lesser than the SF aperture inner diameter (Fig. 3 show the outer diameter of collar 80 is greater than inner dimeter of aperture 100 and lesser than the inner diameter of aperture 94);
a first nut; and
a second nut;
wherein in an assembled form, the collar of the fastener is disposed within a respective said SF aperture and is in contact with the first flange and the first nut is threadedly engaged with the first attachment segment to fix the fastener to the first flange, and the second nut is threadedly engaged with the second attachment segment to fix the second flange to the second flange (Figs. 3-4, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3).
Regarding claim 8, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Leslie further teaches a first washer (118) configured to be disposed between the first nut and the first flange, the first washer (FW) having an FW inner diameter that receives the first attachment segment of the fastener and a FW outer diameter that is greater than the FF aperture inner diameter of the respective FF aperture (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Leslie further teaches a second washer (76) disposed between the second nut and the second flange, the second washer (SW) having an SW inner diameter that is configured to receive the second attachment segment of the fastener and a SW outer diameter that is greater than the SF aperture inner diameter of the respective SF aperture (Fig. 3, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3).
Regarding claim 10, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Leslie further teaches the collar of the fastener has a collar axial thickness and the second flange has a SF axial thickness, and the collar axial thickness is less than the SF axial thickness (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Leslie further teaches the second attachment segment (SAS) has a SAS outer diameter, and the SAS outer diameter is less than the collar outer diameter (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leslie in view of Cochran (US 11,390,393 B2).
Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Leslie including the center body includes an interior region.
Leslie fails to teach an acoustic element disposed in the interior region.
However, Cochran teaches a center body having an interior region (Fig. 4) which is coupled to an engine case (50) by a fastener assembly (Fig. 4). Leslie further teaches the interior region of the center body includes an acoustic element (64) (Fig. 4, Col. 4, lines 38-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Leslie by providing an acoustic element in the interior region of the center body as taught by Leslie for the purpose of attenuate noise.
Claim(s) 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leslie in view of Farabow, III et al. (US 2022/0235673 A1) hereinafter Farabow.
Leslie teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Leslie further teaches an exhaust assembly (32) (Fig. 1; Col. 7, lines 10-15). Leslie fails to teach the annular flange and the annular center body form the exhaust assembly.
However, Farabow teaches a gas turbine engine comprising an annular flange (34a) and a center body flange (34b) each comprising a plurality of apertures (Figs. 3) and a plurality of fasteners passing the apertures to connect the annular flange and the center body flange (Fig. 3) (para. 0021). Farabow teaches that the annular flange and the center body flange form an exhaust assembly (Fig. 2; para. 0016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Leslie such that the annular flange and the center body flange form an exhaust assembly as all claimed parts were known and would have yielded none but an expected result; namely connecting components in an exhaust assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 12, Leslie teaches a method of assembling an annular engine flange to an annular center body assembly (58) (Figs. 3-4), the engine flange (EF), having a plurality of EF apertures, each EF aperture having an EF aperture inner diameter (Figs. 3-4; Col. 6, lines 4-19), a center body assembly (CBA) (68) having a plurality of CBA apertures (94) (Figs. 3-4), each CBA aperture having an CBA aperture inner diameter, wherein the CBA aperture inner diameter is greater than the EF aperture inner diameter (Figs. 3-4; Col. 6, lines 4-19),
the method comprising:
providing a plurality of fastener assemblies (Figs. 3-4), each said fastener assembly including:
a fastener having a collar (80) disposed axially between a first attachment segment and a second attachment segment (Figs. 3-4), wherein the collar has an outer radial surface disposed at a collar outer diameter, and wherein the collar outer diameter is greater than the FF aperture inner diameter and lesser than the SF aperture inner diameter (Figs. 3-4);
a first nut (74); and a second nut (72) (Fig. 3, Col. 5, line 58-Col. 6, line 3);
inserting a first attachment segment of a respective fastener into an EF aperture and fixing the respective fastener to the engine flange using a respective said first nut (Figs. 3-4), wherein when the respective said fastener is fixed to the engine flange, the first nut holds a lateral side surface of the collar of the respective fastener in contact with the engine flange; coupling the center body to the engine flange by receiving each said second attachment segment within a respective said CB aperture, wherein when said center body and said engine flange are coupled, the collar of each said fastener is received within a respective said CB aperture; (Figs. 3-4); and fixing the center body to the engine flange using a respective said second nut threadedly engaged with a respective said second attachment segment (Figs. 3-4).
Leslie fails to teach: mounting a thread protector sleeve over the second attachment segment of each said fastener; receiving said threaded protector sleeve within a respective said CB aperture and removing the threaded protector sleeve from said second attachment segment. There is no teaching or suggestion in the art to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shillings to arrive at the combination of elements in claim 12.
Conclusion
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745