DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,500. For double patenting to exist as between the rejected claims and patent claims, it must be determined that the rejected claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. In order to make this determination, it first must be determined whether there are any differences between the rejected claims and patent claims and, if so, whether those differences render the claims patentably distinct.
Claims 1-18 recite a roofing product/method. It is clear that all the elements of the application claims are to be found in the patent claims. The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus more specific (specifically, claims 1 and 9 of the patent claims includes the adhesive comprising a specific adhesive material). Thus, the invention of the patent claims is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-12, 14, and 17-18 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simonis (11,053,686).
Simonis teaches a roofing product comprising:
a roofing composite comprising: a cap layer 22,
and a reinforcing material 12;
an adhesive (silane adhesive, col. 3, lines 48-50, col. 7, lines 35-41, fig. 1),
wherein the adhesive comprises a moisture-cure adhesive (col. 3, lines 48-50); and a roofing membrane 20 with a coating 14,
wherein the roofing membrane comprises a styrene-butadiene-styrene modified bitumen membrane, a thermoplastic polyolefin membrane, or a polyvinyl chloride membrane, col. 10, lines 44-48;
wherein the coating is positioned between the adhesive and the roofing membrane, fog. 1, and
wherein the roofing membrane is capable of being formed as a roll good with sufficient force applied to roll the membrane.
2. Simonis teaches the roofing product according to claim 1, Simonis further teaching the adhesive directly contacts the roofing membrane, fig. 1.
3. Simonis teaches the roofing product according to claim 1, Simonis further teaching the adhesive excludes a foam adhesive (foam is not disclosed).
5. Simonis teaches the roofing product according to claim 1, Simonis further teaching the coating is selected so as to reduce oil migration from the roofing membrane to the roofing composite (abstract, col. 4, lines 33-36).
6. Simonis teaches the roofing product according to claim 1, Simonis further teaching the coating is an acrylic coating (“polyacrylonate”).
9. Simonis teaches a method of installation comprising:
obtaining a roofing membrane 20,
wherein the roofing membrane comprises:
a styrene-butadiene-styrene-modified bitumen membrane, a thermoplastic polyolefin membrane, or a polyvinyl chloride membrane (col. 10, lines 44-47), and
a coating 14,
wherein the coating is on a top surface of the roofing membrane, installing a bottom surface of the roofing membrane to a roofing substrate 18, fig. 3,
obtaining a roofing composite 12,22 that is separate from the roofing membrane,
wherein the roofing composite comprises: a cap layer 22, and a reinforcing material 12,
obtaining an adhesive (hot melt) that is separate from the roofing membrane and the roofing composite,
wherein the adhesive comprises a moisture-cure adhesive, applying the adhesive to the top surface of the roofing membrane that is installed on the roofing substrate, fig. 1, and
adhering the roofing composite to the adhesive that is applied to the top surface of the roofing membrane so as to form a composite roofing membrane on the roofing substrate.
10. Simonis teaches the method according to claim 9, Simonis further teaching applying the adhesive to the top surface of the roofing membrane comprises directly applying the adhesive to the top surface without any intervening layer, fig. 3.
11. Simonis teaches the method according to claim 9, Simonis further teaching the coating is selected so as to reduce oil migration from the roofing membrane to the roofing composite, abstract, col. 4, lines 33-37).
12. Simonis teaches the method according to claim 9, Simonis further teaching the coating is an acrylic coating (“polyacrylonate”).
14. Simonis teaches the method according to claim 9, Simonis further teaching the adhesive excludes a foam adhesive (foam is not taught).
17. Simonis teaches a roofing system comprising:
a composite roofing membrane comprising:
a roofing membrane 20;
a roofing composite comprising a cap layer 22, and a reinforcing material 12;
an adhesive, fig. 1, positioned between the roofing membrane and the roofing composite, wherein the adhesive comprises a moisture cure adhesive (col. 3, lines48-50), and
wherein the adhesive comprises a silane-terminated polymer, a polymethylmethacrylate or combinations thereof; and
a roofing substrate, fig. 1, wherein the composite roofing membrane is disposed on the roofing substrate.
18. Simonis teaches the roofing system according to claim 17, Simonis further teaching the composite roofing membrane further comprises a coating 14 on a top surface of the roofing membrane, and wherein the coating is an acrylic coating (“polyacrylonate”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-8, 13, and 15-16 - are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonis.
4 and 15. Simonis does not expressly reach the adhesive has a thickness of 10 mils to 40 mils. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Simonis composite roofing membrane to have the adhesive with the thickness as claimed for strength, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the thickness of the layer of adhesive according to the required structural characteristics of the membrane.
7 and 13. Simonis does not expressly reach the coating has a thickness of 1 mils to 10 mils. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Simonis composite roofing membrane to have the coating with the thickness as claimed for strength, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the thickness of the layer of coating according to the required structural characteristics of the membrane.
8 and 16. Simonis does not expressly reach the roofing composite has a thickness from 10 mils to 40 mils. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the Simonis composite roofing membrane to have the composite thickness as claimed for strength, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the thickness of the layer of coating according to the required structural characteristics of the membrane.
Conclusion
/DANIEL J KENNY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3633