DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 9 June 2026. Claims 1
and 4-22 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1
and 14, as well as the addition of claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1 and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 14 have been further amended to recite “…receiving expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation; and updating the virtual representation based upon the received expert opinion data. While the specification seems to support the expert selecting or recommending design changes to the AI Engine, the specification does not appear to support or disclose “expert opinion data” as claimed.
5. Claim 22 recites the “designing the customized VTD…is further based upon historical data from one or more prior patients suffering from their own ailment”. While the specification appears to provide support for “…a new design to be optimized using historic intelligence from prior patient data of patients that had similar characteristics etc.” at [0306] of the instant publication, this does not provide support for one or more prior patients “suffering from their own ailment”.
7. Claims 8 and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. At line 1 of claim 8, it is unclear if “user-specific data” is the same as or different than “user-specific data” recited at line 3 of claim 1. A suggested amendment to claim 8 is -- the user-specific data--.
9. Claim 14 at line 12 recites “the user’s anatomy". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
10. Claim 14 at line 13 recites “the at least one VTD". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
11. Claim 22 at line 3 recites “their own ailment”. It is unclear what constitutes “their own ailment”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite a method of providing a customized vaginal therapeutic device via receiving data, generating a model and designing the VTD.
Claim 1 merely recites the steps of "receiving user-specific data characterizing…anatomical measurements" which amounts to a practitioner obtaining data that could be printed matter; "generating an anatomical model based on the…data" which could amount to sketching a model on paper using the data; "designing a virtual representation of the customized VTD…based on the generated anatomical model..." which could also amount to thinking about the data and defining the geometry/material composition mentally, then drawing the model on paper (“designing” in this instance does not require implementation on a computer/computing device); receiving expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation (which could amount to a practitioner/user verbally recommending modifications or a practitioner/user receiving such recommended modifications on printed paper); updating the virtual representation based upon the received expert opinion data (which could amount to a practitioner/user simply “updating” or changing the virtual representation via the avenues noted above); and providing data characterizing the defined geometry and the defined material composition..." which also could amount to a practitioner providing data that could be on a piece of paper or printed matter.
Claim 14 recite similar steps, in addition to "updating a virtual representation of the first VTD based on the user-specific data and the received expert opinion data" which does not further define over a step of adjusting/updating a virtual representation that could be sketched on paper, or using pen/paper to write down different measurements/data points in a drawn virtual representation as indicated above. Therefore, claims 1 and 14 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the method can be performed in the mind, in addition to being implemented with pen/paper by a practitioner.
While claims 1 and 14 do recite the additional element of a model, which is a computational model, machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence engine, such a generating/updating step is recited as being implemented using a generic computer application (computational model, a machine-learning algorithm or artificial intelligence engine) lacking any further specification. As such, it amounts to no more than merely adding a step of “apply it” (or equivalent thereof) with respect to the computational model, algorithm or AI engine. However, such a machine learning model for image analysis is well-understood and conventional in the art as suggested by U.S. Patent No. 8,457,710 and U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0027667.
Dependent claims 4 and 21 do recite the additional element of a CAD file containing data of a 3D model, however providing a CAD file containing 3D information of a model is well-understood and conventional in the art of image processing as suggested by U.S. Patent No. 8,457,710 and U.S. Patent No. 10,687,977.
Dependent claims 5-7, 12, 13, 15-17 and 22 merely limit the generic steps to the types of measurements/data.
Dependent claim 8 does recite the additional limitation of including a biometric sensor, however a biometric sensor is well-understood and conventional in the art of monitoring/sensing properties of internal tissues as suggested by U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0027667 and U.S. Patent No. 10,687,977.
Dependent claims 9-11 and 18-20 recite a step of fabricating the VTD according to the defined geometry/material composition, however such a step does not preclude an additional step of using pen/paper to "fabricate" or draw the VTD according to the gathered data regarding the geometry/material of the VTD.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1 and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardart et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,687,977) in view of Myers et al. (WO 2017/152029) and further in view of McGregor et al. (U.S Pub. No. 2015/0170416). Regarding claim 1, Hardart et al. (hereinafter Hardart) discloses a method of providing a customized vaginal therapeutic device (VTD) for a user (“customized pessary”) comprising:
receiving user-specific data characterizing one or more anatomical measurements of a user’s anatomy (data which forms a dataset of fill volume for each balloon in the balloon matrix - col. 5, lines 7-15; or data from the fill volumes is recorded then used to create a physical model for further manipulation – col. 5, lines and 29-41)
generating an anatomical model based on the received user-specific data, the model including one or more anatomical features of the user (volume of balloons 27-30 determines radial dimensions 127-130 of a modeled ring pessary - col. 4, lines 61-64; or data then used to create a physical model for further manipulation as described above at col. 5, lines and 29-41),
designing a virtual representation of the customized VTD with a predetermined computational model, a machine learning algorithm and/or an artificial intelligence engine based on the generated anatomical model, the virtual representation having a defined geometry (col. 5, lines 4-6 and col. 5, lines 15-26) for the customized VTD to treat at least one ailment (urinary incontinence) of the user (“modeled ring pessary” as shown in Fig. 4B and described above at col. 4, lines 61-64; or data which was used to create the physical model is then scanned and the resulting computational model is used for further manipulation and/or manufacturing of the pessary – col. 5, lines 29-41); and
providing data characterizing the defined geometry of the customized VTD (col. 4, line 67 – vol. 5, lines 1-6).
While Hardart fails to disclose explicitly that the model defines the material composition, which is further provided as data, Myers et al. (hereinafter Myers) teaches a method of providing a customized VTD, as likewise disclosed by Hardart, wherein the pessary may comprise materials of different compliance, such that one end is compliant enough to facilitate insertion into the patient and another portion less compliant to enable the pessary to resist forces related to cervical shortening [0086]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a model for creating a personalized VTD/pessary as taught by Hardart, to define the material composition of the VTD as suggested by Meyers, as Hardart recognizes the creation of a personalized pessary with individual dimensions/geometry for 3D printing (col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, lines 1-2 and 36-41), which would necessitate the type of material in order to print, and Myers teaches that the pessary may be formed of different materials dependent upon the function served on each region of the pessary ([0086], [0089] and [0090]), and further that the pessary will be formed based on the model, wherein the suggested manufacturing processes (e.g., 3D printing, injection molding and additive manufacturing) would also require data defining the material composition of the pessary for its subsequent construction [0096].
However, the combination of Hardart and Myers fails to disclose explicitly further steps of: receiving expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation; and updating the virtual representation based upon the received expert opinion data. McGregor et al. (hereinafter McGregor) teaches improvements of systems/processes for generating 3D geometric models that correspond to the shape of an imaged 3D physical object, such as customized vaginal inserts/stents [0122], for the purpose of transforming the 3D models to manufacturing of such objects (see Abstract and [0012], wherein additional modifications may be made to the geometry model [0012], such as a change in parameters set by a user or technician depending on application and user preferences (“expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation; and updating the virtual representation…based upon the data”), to ensure a custom fit ([0016] and [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize data based on the particular application/user preferences to update the model as taught by McGregor, in a method for providing a customized vaginal device as taught by Hardart and Myers, as Hardart recognizes the model may allow a clinician to manipulate the model to experiment with various designs and shapes of a customized pessary (col. 5, lines 23-28 and 36-39) and McGregor teaches that such manipulations/modifications to the model itself eliminate the need to physically modify a device which has already been copied [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Hardart teaches the provided data comprises a CAD file containing a virtual three-dimensional model of the customized VTD (col. 4, lines 61-67 – col. 5, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Hardart teaches that the one or more anatomical measurements include data derived from a clinical assessment (col. 2, lines 3-21 and col. 5, lines 7-15).
Regarding claim 6, while Hardart discloses that the data comprises measurements of anatomical landmarks of the user’s anatomy (col. 3, lines 36-48 and col. 4, lines 35-45), Hardart does not disclose explicitly that the clinical assessment comprises a Pelvic Organs Prolapse Quantification (POP-Q). Hardart does make such obvious in light of the teaching of a calculation of dimensions of the vaginal canal for purposes of modeling a pessary to be designed (see Abstract), which is where the measurements for the POP-Q are taken.
Regarding claim 7, Hardart teaches that the one or more anatomical measurements include imaging-derived data (col. 5, lines 50-64), however Hardart does not disclose explicitly that that imaging is ultrasound. Myers teaches a method of providing a customized VTD, as likewise disclosed by Hardart, wherein the patient-specific pessary can be designed by measuring a patient’s anatomy via one or both of a transabdominal or transvaginal ultrasound [0091].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize ultrasound imaging as disclosed by Hardart, in a method for imaging vaginal tissue for modeling a customized pessary as taught by Hardart, as Hardart recognizes various imaging modalities such as CT, MRI and other imaging solutions may be utilized to measure/assess the internal tissue (col. 5, lines 50-64), and Myers teaches that transabdominal or transvaginal ultrasound facilitates design of a complementary pessary which approximates a specific patient’s cervical and vaginal dimensions ([0091]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 8, Hardart teaches that the user-specific data comprises data provided by at least one biometric sensor (col. 1, lines 19-24 and col. 5, lines 50-64).
Regarding claim 9, while Hardart teaches fabricating the customized VTD according to the defined geometry via 3D printing (col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, lines 1-2 and 36-41), Hardart fails to disclose explicitly that the fabricating is also according to the defined material composition. Myers teaches a method of providing a customized VTD, as likewise disclosed by Hardart, wherein the pessary may comprise materials of different compliance, such that one end is compliant enough to facilitate insertion into the patient and another portion less compliant to enable the pessary to resist forces related to cervical shortening [0086]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the personalized VTD/pessary as taught by Hardart, according to a defined material composition as suggested by Meyers, as Hardart recognizes the creation of a personalized pessary with individual dimensions/geometry for 3D printing (col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, lines 1-2 and 36-41), which would necessitate the type of material in order to print, and Myers teaches that the pessary may be formed of different materials dependent upon the function served on each region of the pessary ([0086], [0089] and [0090]), and further that the pessary will be formed based on the model, wherein the suggested manufacturing processes (e.g., 3D printing, injection molding and additive manufacturing) would also require data defining the material composition of the pessary for its subsequent construction [0096].
Regarding claims 10 and 11, while Hardart does not disclose explicitly that the fabricating of the customized VTD is accomplished via at least one additive manufacturing technique, or at least one non-additive manufacturing technique, Hardart makes such obvious as Hardart discloses utilizing the resulting personalized model for 3D printing ("additive manufacturing technique") and/or manufacturing which would result in a physical version of the VTD, which would be used to prepare a mold ("non-additive manufacturing technique”) used to manufacture customized pessaries (col. 4, lines 61-65 – col. 5, lines 1-6 and 36-41).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Hardart teaches that the user-specific data includes user quality-of-life information which includes one or more performance goals of the user (achieving urinary continence) (col. 4, lines 40-45 and col. 1, lines 16-19).
Regarding claim 14, Hardart discloses a method of providing a customized vaginal therapeutic device (VTD) for a user (“customized pessary”) comprising:
receiving user-specific data including clinical information characterizing user response information (col. 1, lines 55-60; col. 5, lines 7-15 and 29-41) for a first VTD designed to treat a first user ailment (intended use);
updating a virtual representation of the first VTD 102 based on the received user-specific data using a predetermined computational model (Fig. 4B and col. 4, lines 61-64; “updating” also discussed at col. 1, lines 58-60 – “New pessary designs can be created, and previously created measurements evaluated”),
the first VTD defining a geometry for a second VTD to treat the first user ailment (intended use, but the first VTD 102 defines a geometry for a ring pessary 102 as shown in Fig. 4A and described at col. 4, lines 61-64),
the first VTD being based upon a generated model of the user’s anatomy (which is conducted by filling balloons of the device shown in Fig. 4A; it is noted that this limitation does not positively recite the generation of a model of the user’s anatomy);
designing the second VTD based on the updated first VTD, the second VTD having the defined geometry (col. 5, lines 7-20 – “This dataset is entered into a function that outputs a pessary model, which is essentially a set of rules for making a customized pessary. The size of the dataset may range from the fill volume for a single balloon, to the fill volume for each balloon of the balloon matrix. For instance, FIGS. 4A and 4B depict an example in which a ring pessary is determined by the data of four balloons, whereas FIG. 9 depicts an example in which a ring pessary with a “saddle” shaped urethral support 127 may even be determined by the volume of a single balloon 27”);
and providing data characterizing the defined geometry of the designed second VTD (col. 4, line 67 – vol. 5, lines 1-6).
While Hardart fails to disclose explicitly that the first VTD defines a material composition for a second VTD, which is further provided as data, Myers et al. (hereinafter Myers) teaches a method of providing a customized VTD, as likewise disclosed by Hardart, wherein the pessary may comprise materials of different compliance, such that one end is compliant enough to facilitate insertion into the patient and another portion less compliant to enable the pessary to resist forces related to cervical shortening [0086]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a model/virtual representation for creating a personalized VTD/pessary as taught by Hardart, to define the material composition of the VTD as suggested by Meyers, as Hardart recognizes the creation of a personalized pessary with individual dimensions/geometry for 3D printing (col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, lines 1-2 and 36-41), which would necessitate the type of material in order to print, and Myers teaches that the pessary may be formed of different materials dependent upon the function served on each region of the pessary ([0086], [0089] and [0090]), and further that the pessary will be formed based on the model/virtual representation, wherein the suggested manufacturing processes (e.g., 3D printing, injection molding and additive manufacturing) would also require data defining the material composition of the pessary for its subsequent construction [0096].
While Hardart does not disclose explicitly that the defined geometry of the designed second VTD is different than a corresponding geometry of the first VTD, Myers makes such obvious as Myers discloses a step of validating that the custom-fit pessary by running a computational simulation of the pessary geometry placed within a computer model of the patient's anatomy [0091], and further that a multitude of pessaries may be provided in a range of sizes and shapes dependent upon the needs of a particular patient [0089]. In combination, these teachings would obviate the provision of another VTD with a different geometry/material composition, to ensure each patient has a custom fit.
However, the combination of Hardart and Myers fails to disclose explicitly further steps of: receiving expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation; and updating a virtual representation of the first VTD based upon the received expert opinion data to result in an updated virtual representation of a second VTD. McGregor et al. (hereinafter McGregor) teaches improvements of systems/processes for generating 3D geometric models that correspond to the shape of an imaged 3D physical object, such as customized vaginal inserts/stents [0122], for the purpose of transforming the 3D models to manufacturing of such objects (see Abstract and [0012], wherein additional modifications may be made to the geometry model [0012], such as a change in parameters set by a user or technician depending on application and user preferences (“expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation; and updating the virtual representation…based upon the data…to result in an updated virtual representation of a second VTD”), to ensure a custom fit a particular 3D device and customized models ([0016], [0035] and [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize data based on the particular application/user preferences to update the model as taught by McGregor, in a method for providing a customized vaginal device as taught by Hardart and Myers, as Hardart recognizes the model may allow a clinician to manipulate the model to experiment with various designs and shapes of a customized pessary (col. 5, lines 23-28 and 36-39) and McGregor teaches that such manipulations/modifications to the model itself eliminate the need to physically modify a device which has already been copied [0012]).
Regarding claim 15, the clinical information comprises one or more of professional assessment information (col. 1, lines 46-60 of Hardart) and user quality-of-life information (assessing patient's comfort level due to optimal or sub-optimal fit - col. 1, lines 32-42 and col. 4, lines 35-45 of Hardart).
Regarding claim 16, while Hardart teaches that the user quality-of-life information includes symptoms related to the first user ailment while a VTD is worn by the user (col. 1, lines 32-42 and col. 4, lines 35-45), Hardart does not explicitly that that it is while a first VTD is worn. However, Hardart makes such obvious as for any user wearing a VTD, the goal of the modeling mechanism/system of Hardart is to create a customized fit to the user (col. 1, lines 52-60 and col. 5, lines 35-41) and allow the clinician to create/update new pessary designs and shapes (col. 5, lines 23-28; and col. 1, lines 58-60).
Regarding claim 17, the user quality-of-life information includes one or more performance goals of the user (achieving urinary continence) (col. 4, lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 18, while Hardart teaches fabricating the customized VTD according to the defined geometry via 3D printing (col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, lines 1-2 and 36-41), Hardart fails to disclose explicitly that the fabricating is also according to the defined material composition. Myers teaches a method of providing a customized VTD, as likewise disclosed by Hardart, wherein the pessary may comprise materials of different compliance, such that one end is compliant enough to facilitate insertion into the patient and another portion less compliant to enable the pessary to resist forces related to cervical shortening [0086]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fabricate the personalized VTD/pessary as taught by Hardart, according to a defined material composition as suggested by Meyers, as Hardart recognizes the creation of a personalized pessary with individual dimensions/geometry for 3D printing (col. 4, line 67 – col. 5, lines 1-2 and 36-41), which would necessitate the type of material in order to print, and Myers teaches that the pessary may be formed of different materials dependent upon the function served on each region of the pessary ([0086], [0089] and [0090]), and further that the pessary will be formed based on the model, wherein the suggested manufacturing processes (e.g., 3D printing, injection molding and additive manufacturing) would also require data defining the material composition of the pessary for its subsequent construction [0096].
Regarding claims 19 and 20, while Hardart does not disclose explicitly that the fabricating of the customized VTD is accomplished via at least one additive manufacturing technique, or at least one non-additive manufacturing technique, Hardart makes such obvious as Hardart discloses utilizing the resulting personalized model for 3D printing ("additive manufacturing technique") and/or manufacturing which would result in a physical version of the VTD, which would be used to prepare a mold ("non-additive manufacturing technique”) used to manufacture customized pessaries (col. 4, lines 61-65 – col. 5, lines 1-6 and 36-41).
Regarding claim 21, Hardart teaches the provided data comprises a CAD file containing a virtual three-dimensional model of the designed second VTD (col. 4, lines 61-67 – col. 5, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 22, Hardart fails to disclose wherein the designing the customized VTD with a predetermined computational model, a machine learning algorithm and/or an artificial intelligence engine is further based upon historical data from one or more prior patients suffering from their own ailment. Myers teaches that the CAD model used material parameters and loading/boundary conditions from previously reported studies [00114]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design a customized VTD as taught by Hardart, based on historical data gathered in previous studies from previous patients as suggested by Myers, as Hardart recognizes new pessary designs and models can be created based on previously collected data (col 1, lines 53-60), and Myers teaches that previously reported studies provide essential parameters for creation of the model [00114].
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant’s arguments filed 9 June 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 8 and 14-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered, however new grounds of rejection are given above in light of the amendments.
16. Applicant’s arguments filed 9 June 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 4-21 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant contends that designing and updating a virtual representation of a customized vaginal therapeutic device is inherently a computer-based process that cannot be performed in the mind alone and must take place on a computer. However, this argument is not persuasive. As noted in the rejection above, "designing a virtual representation of the customized VTD…based on the generated anatomical model..." could also amount to thinking about the data and defining the geometry/material composition mentally, then drawing the model on paper. Thus, the step is not entirely performed by the mind, but implemented via pen/paper. Therefore, it is noted in this instance that “designing” does not require implementation on a computer/computing device. To address the point of a computer-based process and that the updating step must take place on a computer, merely invoking/applying a generic computer/model as a tool rather than reciting the generic computer/model as being specifically configured to implement the abstract idea, or integrating the generic computer/model into a practical application, merely reads on the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f). See MPEP with respect to “ Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2).
Applicant further contends that the pending claims are directed to an improvement to the technical field of VTD design by providing a patient with a tailored VTD by integrating anatomical data and expert data into a virtual representation that can be manipulated to address user-specific pain points and concerns. While it is acknowledged that the specification may summarize such, and be directed thereto, the claim language does not reflect such a description. Additionally, this does not recite the generic computer/model as being specifically configured to implement the abstract idea, or integrating the generic computer/model into a practical application.
Applicant also contends that the process of fabricating can generally refer to manufacturing or constructing something from base materials and refers to a real, tangible process resulting in a physical object that cannot occur within the human mind, nor with pen/paper. However, this argument is not persuasive. While the rejection above does not suggest that the fabricating step occurs within the human mind, the claims do not preclude an interpretation of the step of using pen/paper to "fabricate" or draw the VTD according to the gathered data regarding the geometry/material of the VTD.
17. Applicant’s arguments filed 9 June 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 4-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Hardart (‘977) in view of Myers (‘029) have been fully considered, however new grounds of rejection are presented above under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Hardart (‘977) in view of Myers (‘029) and McGregor (‘416) in light of the amendments. Regarding claims 1 and 14, Applicant contends that Hardart nor Myers teach the newly presented limitations of “receiving expert opinion data recommending one or more modifications to the virtual representation" of a customized VTD, and "updating the virtual representation based upon the received expert opinion data”. The amendment warranted incorporation of a new reference (McGregor) to teach such limitations as indicated in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791